yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the limits of the madness of R. D. Laing

The theory of the limits of the madness of R. D. Laing

October 5, 2022

Psychiatry has not always been a controversial field of work, but what is clear is that it has always had a direct effect on the lives of many people. That is why, especially in the first half of the twentieth century, began to question vigorously the way in which health institutions managed the treatment given to people with mental disorders.

One of the representatives of this stream of claims was Ronald David Laing, a controversial Scottish psychiatrist who devoted a good part of his life to questioning the limits of psychiatry and madness as a concept.

  • Related article: "Antipsychiatry: history and concepts of this movement"

Who was R. D. Laing? Short biography

R. D. Laing was born in Glasgow in 1927. He studied medicine in the same city and, later, worked as a psychiatrist in the British Army, where he was interested in investigating the role of stress in mental health.


In the year 1965. R. D. Laing opened the Philadelphia Association , an institution that offers training to mental health professionals and, at the same time, treatment for patients. In addition, he opened a project in which therapists and patients coexisted.

The objective that Laing set was to put pressure on psychiatry to adopt a much more humanistic approach in which the cultural and psychosocial aspects of the experience of mental disorder were also considered. However, when proposing alternatives, it could only indicate the directions in which it could be advanced, without developing them.

The theory of the madness of R. D. Laing

Laing believed that there is no categorical border that separates sanity from madness. This principle was opposed to the psychiatric practice of the time , that well into the twentieth century consisted in part of hacking patients in psychiatric centers with few means; fundamentally, an attempt was made to isolate people with mental disorders from the rest of the population, a way of hiding a social problem, while they were medicated to deal simply with problems that were understood to be individual and not collective.


On the other hand, that idea according to which madness and normality are part of the same spectrum he married well with the theoretical proposal of psychoanalysis . However, the current initiated by Sigmund Freud also presented ideas that in the eyes of the defenders of antipsychiatry are limiting, since it establishes a strong determinism in which the environmental influence of the past conditions us and practically forces us to protect our consciousness of thoughts and memories that can cause our entire mental life to go into severe crises on a regular basis.

Thus, the theory of the limits of the madness of R. D. Laing was different from both hegemonic psychiatry and psychoanalysis.

Against the stigmatization of the disease

Laing noted that although mental illness has always generated stigmatization, the way in which psychiatry treats patients can also nourish and perpetuate that depersonalization and disparagement.


For this psychiatrist, for example, schizophrenia, being the serious mental illness that we all know, is not so much an internal problem of the person as or A understandable reaction to events that can not be accepted , which are too disturbing. In this way, to know the disorder well we must know the cultural filter through which the person experiences his life.

That is, according to Laing's theory, mental disorder is nothing more than an expression of anguish, something linked to one's own experiences and not failures that can only be explained by examining the brain. That is why it is necessary to study the social and cultural dynamics, the way in which the environment affects the person.

Laing's ideas lead to think that Psychosis is, in reality, attempts to express oneself of the person with disorders of schizophrenic type, and that therefore are not in themselves something bad, something that deserves the exclusion of that person by the rest of society.

Psychotherapy without drugs

As for R. D. Laing the disorder does not have an original cause in the brain, but in the interaction, it does not make sense to base the therapeutic interventions on the medication and the use of psychotropic drugs. This was a widespread idea among the defenders of antipsychiatry, and he defended it with vehemence. As a substitute, Laing tried to make initiatives to understand the symbolisms that are expressed through the symptoms of mental disorder.

This approach was controversial, since would mean leaving many patients without relief in exchange for postponing their solution until the internal logic of his problem was understood.

On the other hand, Laing's ideas are still seriously questioned today, since there is no evidence that in mental disorders there are causes that operate in a symbolic way. However, the pressure that both he and his antipsychiatry colleagues made to improve the patients' living conditions has paid off, and psychiatry is currently treating these people much better.


Seth Farber Ph.D, 10-30-08 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des limites de la folie de R. D. Laing

La théorie des limites de la folie de R. D. Laing

Septembre 26, 2022

La psychiatrie n’a pas toujours été un domaine de travail controversé, mais il est clair qu’elle a toujours eu un effet direct sur la vie de nombreuses personnes. C’est pourquoi, surtout dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, la question de la manière dont les établissements de santé géraient le traitement des personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux a commencé à être remise en question.

L’un des représentants de ce courant de revendications était Ronald David Laing, un psychiatre écossais controversé qui a consacré une bonne partie de sa vie à questionner les limites de la psychiatrie et de la folie en tant que concept.

  • Article connexe: "Antipsychiatrie: histoire et concepts de ce mouvement"

Qui était R. D. Laing? Brève biographie

R. D. Laing est né à Glasgow en 1927. Il a étudié la médecine dans la même ville et a ensuite exercé les fonctions de psychiatre dans l'armée britannique, où il s'intéressait au rôle du stress dans la santé mentale.


En l'an 1965. R. D. Laing a ouvert la Philadelphia Association , une institution qui offre une formation aux professionnels de la santé mentale et, en même temps, un traitement pour les patients. En outre, il a ouvert un projet dans lequel les thérapeutes et les patients coexistaient.

L'objectif visé par Laing était de faire pression sur la psychiatrie pour qu'elle adopte une approche beaucoup plus humaniste, dans laquelle les aspects culturels et psychosociaux de l'expérience du trouble mental soient également pris en compte. Cependant, en proposant des alternatives, il ne pouvait qu'indiquer les directions dans lesquelles il pourrait être avancé, sans les développer.

La théorie de la folie de R. D. Laing

Laing croyait qu'il n'y avait pas de frontière catégorique qui sépare la santé mentale de la folie. Ce principe était opposé à la pratique psychiatrique de l'époque jusque dans le vingtième siècle, il consistait en partie à pirater des patients dans des centres psychiatriques avec peu de moyens; fondamentalement, on a tenté d'isoler les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux du reste de la population, ce qui permettait de dissimuler un problème social, alors qu'elles étaient traitées avec un médicament pour traiter simplement des problèmes considérés comme individuels et non collectifs.


D'autre part, cette idée selon laquelle la folie et la normalité font partie du même spectre il s'est bien marié avec la proposition théorique de la psychanalyse . Cependant, le courant initié par Sigmund Freud a également présenté des idées qui sont limitantes aux yeux des défenseurs de l'antipsychiatrie, car il établit un fort déterminisme dans lequel l'influence environnementale du passé nous conditionne et nous oblige pratiquement à protéger notre conscience des pensées. et des souvenirs qui peuvent entraîner régulièrement toute notre vie mentale dans des crises graves.

Ainsi, la théorie des limites de la folie de R. D. Laing était différente de la psychiatrie hégémonique et de la psychanalyse.

Contre la stigmatisation de la maladie

Laing a noté que, bien que la maladie mentale ait toujours généré de la stigmatisation, la manière dont la psychiatrie traite les patients peut aussi nourrir et perpétuer cette dépersonnalisation et ce dénigrement.


Pour ce psychiatre, par exemple, la schizophrénie, en tant que maladie mentale grave que nous connaissons tous, n’est pas tant un problème interne de la personne qu’elle. vous Une réaction compréhensible à des événements qui ne peuvent être acceptés qui sont trop dérangeants. De cette façon, pour bien connaître le désordre, nous devons connaître le filtre culturel à travers lequel la personne expérimente sa vie.

C'est-à-dire que, selon la théorie de Laing, les troubles mentaux ne sont rien d'autre qu'une expression de l'angoisse, quelque chose qui est lié à nos propres expériences et non à des échecs qui ne peuvent être expliqués que par un examen du cerveau. C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire d'étudier les dynamiques sociales et culturelles, la manière dont l'environnement affecte la personne.

Les idées de Laing donnent à penser que La psychose est en réalité une tentative d'expression de la personne atteinte de troubles de type schizophrénique, et qui ne constituent donc pas en soi quelque chose de mauvais, qui mérite l’exclusion de cette personne par le reste de la société.

Psychothérapie sans médicaments

Quant à R. D. Laing, le trouble n'a pas de cause originale dans le cerveau, mais dans l'interaction, il n'a pas de sens de baser les interventions thérapeutiques sur les médicaments et l'utilisation de psychotropes. C'était une idée répandue parmi les défenseurs de l'antipsychiatrie et il la défendit avec véhémence. En guise de substitut, Laing a tenté de prendre des initiatives pour comprendre les symbolismes exprimés par les symptômes du trouble mental.

Cette approche était controversée, car signifierait laisser de nombreux patients sans secours en échange du report de leur solution jusqu'à ce que la logique interne de son problème a été comprise.

D'autre part, les idées de Laing sont toujours sérieusement remises en question, car rien ne prouve que, dans le cas des troubles mentaux, certaines causes agissent de manière symbolique. Cependant, les pressions exercées par lui-même et ses collègues antipsychiatriques pour améliorer les conditions de vie des patients ont porté leurs fruits et la psychiatrie les traite beaucoup mieux.


Jawad "le logeur" interné après une crise de folie / IZI NEWS (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes