yes, therapy helps!
Fibromyalgia: causes, symptoms and treatments

Fibromyalgia: causes, symptoms and treatments

November 27, 2021

A caress, a simple touch, move or simply do nothing are things that most people find pleasant and pleasant. We usually enjoy the sensations that our body transmits to us, unless they cause us some kind of discomfort or pain .

However, this exception is the norm for many people who feel pain chronically in most of their body without there being any clear disease that causes it. These are people who suffer from fibromyalgia .

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is fibromyalgia?

Fibromyalgia is a known disease that is characterized mainly by the presence of a constant Musculoskeletal pain distributed throughout the body . This pain is diffuse and non-specific and lasts more than three months of persistence.


It also highlights a hypersensitization of different points of the organism, called trigger points, in which there is usually hyperalgesia. The threshold is decreased from which a perception becomes painful , so that the slightest touch on these points can trigger sensations of great pain.

The symptoms

It has been seen that Often these people suffer from symptoms of depression and anxiety , symptoms that may be a consequence of the chronicity of their condition and the lack of knowledge of the causes of their condition. However, it has also been indicated that their presence may be part of the symptoms of the disorder. They tend to suffer from sleep problems such as insomnia of conciliation or frequent awakenings, which in turn facilitates their discomfort and fatigue.


It is also not uncommon for muscle stiffness to appear in the form of cramps, seizures and even tremors. It is also common for those who suffer from fibromyalgia tend to fatigue with great ease without having to make much effort for it. Sometimes these symptoms are added to the presence of other disorders , but these do not explain the generalized pain.

The medical analysis of the patients does not reflect any indication of alterations or injuries that may cause pain. In fact, for many years it has come to be considered a somatomorphic disease , given that there are no signs of real injuries even though the suffering and perceived pain are real. However, today it is considered a rheumatic disease. It is more frequent in women than in men.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 13 types of pain: classification and characteristics"

Causes of this disorder

Fibromyalgia is a disorder for which even today they do not know the exact causes, not having been located in this disease no specific injury that can generate widespread pain .


However, the investigations carried out point to a malfunction in the transmission of serotonin and substance P, which is altered in many of these patients. Specifically, a decrease in serotonin levels has been detected while there is an increase in substance P (the latter is highly involved in the perception of pain).

The altered levels of these substances could cause a abnormal reaction of nervous circuits and the pathways linked to the sensation of pain, causing the organism to interpret different sensations as painful.

In addition, it has been considered that it may be due to aspects such as sensitivity to nickel or gluten (although without reaching intolerance), but there is still not enough data about it.

It has also been considered that the presence of stressful and / or traumatic events can contribute to the beginning of the disorder and to its maintenance, especially when taking into account that it is frequent to be present together with alterations in mood or anxiety . This, as we have indicated previously, may be due to the patient feeling helpless and desperate because he can not give an explanation to his condition.

  • Related article: "Chronic pain: what it is and how it is treated from Psychology"

Treatment of fibromyalgia

Due to the definitive lack of knowledge of the causes of fibromyalgia, the treatment that is usually applied focuses on alleviating its symptoms and improving the quality of life of the patient from a multidisciplinary perspective.

Pharmacological intervention

At the pharmacological level, they have been applied hypnotic-sedatives such as benzodiazepines, antidepressants and anticonvulsants with the purpose of reducing fatigue, possible muscle spasms and depressive and anxious symptoms.

They are also commonly used analgesics and anti-inflammatories in order to try to reduce the level of perceived pain.

Psychological intervention

At the psychological level, it is recommended to use multimodal programs that take into account a large number of essential factors to improve the state of the subject in question.

Within these programs, the use of relaxation, meditation and biofeedback strategies in order to try to reduce the intensity of the pain and have greater capacity to manage it. Physical exercise has proven useful in the treatment, especially those of aerobic type that are performed in the water.

Necessary that the patient is able to express their feelings and fears as well as working on these and feelings of helplessness that may have, so that the subject self-perpetrated as more competent and able to control the situation.

It also helps that the patient try to give meaning to the pain and reinterpret it , looking for that is able to establish different strategies that allow him to confront the disorder.

Psychoeducation for the patient and his environment It is also fundamental, as it is reassuring to receive information about the problem in question (we must bear in mind that most of the subjects do not know what is happening to them) and strategies to apply in order to reduce it. In addition, the fact that there are no injuries can lead the environment to think that the person may be simulating a disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • Clariana, S.M. and De los RiĆ³s, P. (2012). Health Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Smith, H.S .; Harris, R. & Claw, D. (2011). Fibromyalgia: An Afferent Processing Disorder Leading to Complex Pain Generalized Syndrome. Pain Physician; 14

Fibromyalgia (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Fibromyalgie: causes, symptômes et traitements

Fibromyalgie: causes, symptômes et traitements

Août 3, 2022

Une caresse, un simple toucher, bouger ou tout simplement ne rien faire sont des choses que la plupart des gens trouvent agréables et agréables. Nous apprécions habituellement les sensations que notre corps nous transmet, à moins qu'ils ne nous causent une sorte de gêne ou de douleur .

Cependant, cette exception est la norme pour de nombreuses personnes qui ressentent une douleur chronique dans la majeure partie de leur corps sans aucune maladie claire qui la provoque. Ce sont des gens qui souffrent de fibromyalgie .

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que la fibromyalgie?

La fibromyalgie est une maladie connue caractérisée principalement par la présence d’une constante Douleur musculo-squelettique distribuée dans tout le corps . Cette douleur est diffuse et non spécifique et dure plus de trois mois de persistance.


Il met également en évidence une hypersensibilisation de différents points de l'organisme, appelés points de déclenchement, dans lesquels il y a généralement une hyperalgésie. Le seuil est diminué à partir duquel une perception devient douloureuse , de sorte que le moindre contact sur ces points puisse déclencher des sensations de grande douleur.

Les symptomes

On a vu que Souvent, ces personnes souffrent de symptômes de dépression et d'anxiété , symptômes pouvant être une conséquence de la chronicité de leur état et du manque de connaissances des causes de leur état. Cependant, il a également été indiqué que leur présence pourrait faire partie des symptômes du trouble. Ils ont tendance à souffrir de problèmes de sommeil, tels que l'insomnie de la conciliation ou des réveils fréquents, ce qui facilite leur malaise et leur fatigue.


Il n’est pas rare non plus que la raideur musculaire se manifeste sous la forme de crampes, de convulsions et même de tremblements. Il est également fréquent que ceux qui souffrent de fibromyalgie tendent à se fatiguer très facilement sans avoir à faire beaucoup d’efforts. Parfois ces symptômes s'ajoutent à la présence d'autres troubles , mais ceux-ci n'expliquent pas la douleur généralisée.

L'analyse médicale des patients ne donne aucune indication d'altération ou de blessure pouvant causer de la douleur. En fait, depuis de nombreuses années il est venu à être considéré comme une maladie somatomorphe , étant donné qu’il n’ya aucun signe de blessures réelles même si la souffrance et la douleur perçue sont réelles. Cependant, aujourd'hui, il est considéré comme une maladie rhumatismale. Il est plus fréquent chez les femmes que chez les hommes.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 13 types de douleur: classification et caractéristiques"

Causes de ce trouble

La fibromyalgie est un trouble dont ils ne connaissent pas encore la cause exacte, car ils ne sont pas localisés dans cette maladie. aucune blessure spécifique pouvant générer une douleur généralisée .


Cependant, les investigations effectuées font apparaître un dysfonctionnement de la transmission de la sérotonine et de la substance P, qui est altéré chez bon nombre de ces patients. Plus précisément, une diminution des taux de sérotonine a été détectée alors que la substance P augmentait (cette dernière est fortement impliquée dans la perception de la douleur).

Les niveaux modifiés de ces substances pourraient causer une réaction anormale des circuits nerveux et les voies liées à la sensation de douleur, amenant l'organisme à interpréter différentes sensations comme douloureuses.

En outre, il a été considéré que cela pourrait être dû à des aspects tels que la sensibilité au nickel ou au gluten (bien que sans atteindre l'intolérance), mais il n'y a toujours pas assez de données à ce sujet.

Il a également été considéré que la présence d’événements stressants et / ou traumatiques peut contribuer au début de la maladie et à son maintien, en particulier en tenant compte du fait qu’il est fréquent d’être présent. avec altération de l'humeur ou de l'anxiété . Comme nous l'avons indiqué précédemment, cela peut être dû au fait que le patient se sent impuissant et désespéré car il ne peut pas expliquer son état.

  • Article connexe: "La douleur chronique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-elle traitée par la psychologie"

Traitement de la fibromyalgie

En raison du manque définitif de connaissances sur les causes de la fibromyalgie, le traitement généralement appliqué est axé sur le soulagement de ses symptômes et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie du patient dans une perspective multidisciplinaire.

Intervention pharmacologique

Au niveau pharmacologique, ils ont été appliqués hypnotiques-sédatifs tels que les benzodiazépines, les antidépresseurs et les anticonvulsivants dans le but de réduire la fatigue, les spasmes musculaires possibles et les symptômes dépressifs et anxieux.

Ils sont également couramment utilisés analgésiques et anti-inflammatoires afin d'essayer de réduire le niveau de douleur perçue.

Intervention psychologique

Sur le plan psychologique, il est recommandé d’utiliser des programmes multimodaux qui prennent en compte un grand nombre de facteurs essentiels pour améliorer l’état du sujet en question.

Au sein de ces programmes, l’utilisation de stratégies de relaxation, de méditation et de biofeedback afin de tenter de réduire l'intensité de la douleur et d'avoir une plus grande capacité à la gérer. L'exercice physique s'est avéré utile dans le traitement, en particulier ceux de type aérobie qui sont effectués dans l'eau.

Il faut que le patient puisse exprimer ses sentiments et ses peurs ainsi que de travailler sur ceux-ci et les sentiments d'impuissance qui peuvent en résulter, de sorte que le sujet s'auto-perpétue comme plus compétent et capable de contrôler la situation.

Cela aide aussi le patient essayer de donner un sens à la douleur et de la réinterpréter , en cherchant qui est capable d’établir différentes stratégies qui lui permettent de faire face au désordre.

Psychoéducation pour le patient et son environnement Il est également fondamental, car il est rassurant de recevoir des informations sur le problème en question (il faut garder à l’esprit que la plupart des sujets ne savent pas ce qui leur arrive) et sur les stratégies à appliquer pour le réduire. De plus, le fait qu’il n’y ait pas de blessures peut amener l’environnement à penser que la personne simule un trouble.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clariana, S.M. et De los Riós, P. (2012). Psychologie de la santé Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Smith, H.S .; Harris, R. & Claw, D. (2011). La fibromyalgie: un trouble de traitement afférent conduisant à une douleur complexe Syndrome généralisé. Médecin de la douleur; 14

Fibromyalgie Symptômes, causes et traitement (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes