yes, therapy helps!
Serotonin: 6 effects of this hormone in your body and mind

Serotonin: 6 effects of this hormone in your body and mind

May 23, 2022

The human brain is an organ of such complexity that in its interior there are thousands of chemical substances interacting so that we can experience things and perceive reality as we do.

Our behavior has biological bases that influence us decisively, and among these biological factors that make us what we are are substances like serotonin . Let's see what makes this hormone so special, and how it influences our brain.

Serotonin: what effects does this hormone have on your body and mind?

Some of these substances can only be found in certain types of cells and have very specific functions (so many of them must still be discovered), but others act both in the brain and outside of it. This is the case, for example, of serotonin, also known as 5-HT.


The 5-HT is deeply integrated into the functioning of the human body and learning from memory all its functions can be very intricate. However, in this summary you can know six of the main effects that serotonin has on the human body .

1. It has a fundamental role in digestion

Serotonin is a substance that behaves like a hormone in the blood and acts as a neurotransmitter in the brain. That is to say, serotonin is one of the units of communication that neurons capture and emit to influence one another, creating brain activation dynamics and chain effects. Thus, serotonin favors the crossing of information between neurons and that, beyond the brain, serves very different purposes. In fact, the highest concentrations of serotonin are not in the brain but in the gastrointestinal tract .


It is in the intestines where one of the most relevant functions of serotonin becomes important: the regulation of digestion. Too high levels of serotonin are linked to the appearance of diarrhea, while an excessive deficit of this substance can cause constipation. Further, it also influences the appearance (or absence) of appetite .

2. Regulates positive and negative moods

Serotonin can be found in large quantities by many parts of the body, and therefore a general mismatch in the production of this substance can have drastic effects on several factors that affect our way of feeling and behaving .

Specifically, serotonin has been associated for many years with the symptoms of depression, since people with a disorder of this type tend to have low concentrations of 5-HT in their blood. However, it is not known to what extent is the deficit of serotonin what produces depression or vice versa.


3. Controls the body temperature level

Among the basic maintenance functions of the integrity of our body that we associate with serotonin is also the thermal regulation . This is a very delicate balance, because a difference of a few degrees of body temperature can suppose the massive death of large groups of cellular tissues.

Neurons, for example, are especially sensitive in this regard.

4. Influences sexual desire

A correlation between serotonin levels and sexual libido has been found. High levels of 5-HT are associated with a lack of sexual desire, while low levels would promote the appearance of behaviors aimed at satisfying this need.

In addition, serotonin also seems to have an effect on the ability of humans to fall in love and feel love for another person. You can discover it in this article:

  • "The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug"

5. Reduce levels of aggressiveness

Serotonin also serves to stabilize the emotional state of the human being in situations of tension. Specifically, it serves to inhibit the aggressiveness and violent behaviors that may result from it. Thus, the most impulsive and violent people tend to have lower levels of serotonin acting on key points in the brain than those that are more peaceful.

In addition, this substance is especially bad with testosterone , a hormone that, acting on the neurons making them more insensitive to serotonin, enhances aggressive behavior.

6. Regulates the sleep cycle

Throughout the day, serotonin levels rise and fall describing the curves that mark the circadian rhythm, which is the schedule that our body follows to know when to sleep and when not, and that therefore regulates our sleep and wakefulness. Thus, the levels of 5-HT tend to reach their maximum in the sunniest moments of the day, while during deep sleep they fall to their minimum.

In this way the serotonin production influences regulating our capacity to sleep, favoring or hindering the conciliation of sleep. Something similar happens with another substance called melatonin.

Discovering the serotonin excess syndrome

Serotonin is found in all healthy human beings, but its excess can trigger problems. What happens when our body generates too much serotonin ? It is not a trivial question, since there is a pathology associated with this excess of serotonin.

The excessive consumption of drugs against depression (the so-called "antidepressants"), which basically are responsible for stimulating the production of the hormone serotonin, can have a negative effect on our body. You can discover it by reading this article, where we explain exactly what this syndrome consists of and what symptoms it presents:

  • "Serotonin syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Bibliographic references:

  • Afifi, A.K. and Bergman, R.A. (1999) Functional neuroanatomy. McGraw Hill.
  • Martin, J.H. (1997). Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas. Madrid: Prentice Hall.
  • Paxinos, G. and Mai, J. (2004). The human nervous system. Academic Press, Inc.
  • Valverde, F. (2002). Structure of the cerebral cortex. Intrinsic organization and comparative analysis of the neocortex. Journal of Neurology. 34 (8).



6 Effects Dopamine Has On The Body (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sérotonine: 6 effets de cette hormone dans le corps et l'esprit

Sérotonine: 6 effets de cette hormone dans le corps et l'esprit

Septembre 24, 2022

Le cerveau humain est un organe d'une telle complexité qu'il existe dans son intérieur des milliers de substances chimiques en interaction qui nous permettent de faire l'expérience de choses et de percevoir la réalité comme nous le faisons.

Notre comportement a des bases biologiques qui nous influencent de manière décisive, et parmi ces facteurs biologiques qui font de nous ce que nous sommes sont des substances telles que sérotonine . Voyons ce qui rend cette hormone si spéciale et son influence sur notre cerveau.

Sérotonine: quels sont les effets de cette hormone sur votre corps et votre esprit?

Certaines de ces substances ne peuvent être trouvées que dans certains types de cellules et ont des fonctions très spécifiques (il en reste donc beaucoup à découvrir), mais d'autres agissent à la fois dans le cerveau et à l'extérieur. C’est le cas, par exemple, de la sérotonine, également appelée 5-HT.


Le 5-HT est profondément intégré au fonctionnement du corps humain et l’apprentissage par la mémoire de toutes ses fonctions peut être très complexe. Cependant, dans ce résumé, vous pouvez savoir six des principaux effets de la sérotonine sur le corps humain .

1. Il a un rôle fondamental dans la digestion

La sérotonine est une substance qui se comporte comme une hormone dans le sang et qui agit comme un neurotransmetteur dans le cerveau. C'est-à-dire que la sérotonine est l'une des unités de communication que les neurones capturent et émettent pour s'influencer les uns les autres, créant ainsi une dynamique d'activation du cerveau et des effets en chaîne. Ainsi, la sérotonine favorise le croisement des informations entre neurones et, au-delà du cerveau, sert des objectifs très différents. En fait, les concentrations les plus élevées de sérotonine ne se trouvent pas dans le cerveau, mais dans la tractus gastro-intestinal .


C'est dans les intestins que l'une des fonctions les plus importantes de la sérotonine devient importante: la régulation de la digestion. Des niveaux trop élevés de sérotonine sont liés à l'apparition de diarrhée, alors qu'un déficit excessif de cette substance peut causer la constipation. En outre, il influence également l'apparition (ou l'absence) d'appétit .

2. Régule les humeurs positives et négatives

La sérotonine est présente en grande quantité dans de nombreuses parties du corps. Par conséquent, un déséquilibre général dans la production de cette substance peut avoir des effets dramatiques sur la santé. plusieurs facteurs qui affectent notre façon de nous sentir et de nous comporter .

Plus précisément, la sérotonine est associée aux symptômes de la dépression depuis de nombreuses années, car les personnes atteintes de ce type de troubles ont tendance à avoir de faibles concentrations de 5-HT dans leur sang. Cependant, on ne sait pas dans quelle mesure le déficit en sérotonine cause la dépression ou inversement.


3. Contrôle le niveau de température corporelle

Parmi les fonctions de maintenance de base de l’intégrité de notre corps que nous associons à la sérotonine figure également la régulation thermique . C'est un équilibre très délicat, car une différence de quelques degrés de température corporelle peut supposer la mort massive de grands groupes de tissus cellulaires.

Les neurones, par exemple, sont particulièrement sensibles à cet égard.

4. Influence le désir sexuel

Une corrélation entre les niveaux de sérotonine et la libido sexuelle a été trouvée. Des niveaux élevés de 5-HT sont associés à un manque de désir sexuel, alors que de faibles niveaux favoriseraient l'apparition de comportements visant à satisfaire ce besoin.

En outre, la sérotonine semble également avoir un effet sur la capacité des humains à tomber amoureux et à ressentir l'amour pour une autre personne. Vous pouvez le découvrir dans cet article:

  • "La chimie de l'amour: un médicament très puissant"

5. Réduire les niveaux d'agressivité

La sérotonine sert également à stabiliser l'état émotionnel de l'être humain en situation de tension. Plus précisément, il sert à inhiber l'agressivité et les comportements violents qui peuvent en découler. Ainsi, les personnes les plus impulsives et les plus violentes ont tendance à avoir des niveaux de sérotonine plus bas qui agissent sur des points clés du cerveau que ceux qui sont plus pacifiques.

En outre, cette substance est particulièrement mauvais avec la testostérone , une hormone qui, agissant sur les neurones en les rendant plus insensibles à la sérotonine, améliore le comportement agressif.

6. Régule le cycle de sommeil

Tout au long de la journée, les niveaux de sérotonine montent et descendent, décrivant les courbes marquant le rythme circadien. C’est le programme que notre corps suit pour savoir quand dormir ou non, et qui régule donc notre sommeil et notre état de veille. Ainsi, les niveaux de 5-HT ont tendance à atteindre leur maximum dans les moments les plus ensoleillés de la journée, tandis que pendant le sommeil profond, ils tombent à leur minimum.

De cette façon, la production de sérotonine influence notre capacité à dormir, favorisant ou empêchant la conciliation du sommeil. Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec une autre substance appelée mélatonine.

Découverte du syndrome de sérotonine en excès

La sérotonine est présente chez tous les êtres humains en bonne santé, mais son excès peut entraîner des problèmes. Qu'est-ce qui se passe quand notre corps génère trop de sérotonine ? Ce n'est pas une question triviale, car il existe une pathologie associée à cet excès de sérotonine.

La consommation excessive de médicaments contre la dépression (les "antidépresseurs"), qui sont essentiellement responsables de la stimulation de la production de l'hormone sérotonine, peut avoir des effets néfastes sur notre corps. Vous pouvez le découvrir en lisant cet article, où nous expliquons exactement en quoi consiste ce syndrome et quels symptômes il présente:

  • "Syndrome sérotoninergique: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Afifi, A.K. et Bergman, R.A. (1999) Neuroanatomie fonctionnelle. McGraw Hill.
  • Martin, J.H. (1997). Neuroanatomie Texte et atlas. Madrid: Prentice Hall.
  • Paxinos, G. et Mai, J. (2004). Le système nerveux humain. Academic Press, Inc.
  • Valverde, F. (2002). Structure du cortex cérébral. Organisation intrinsèque et analyse comparative du néocortex. Journal de neurologie. 34 (8).



Comment Déjouer Les Hormones Qui te Font Prendre du Poids (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes