yes, therapy helps!
Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst

Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst

May 24, 2022

Sigmund Freud He is, perhaps, the most famous, controversial and charismatic thinker of twentieth-century psychology.

His theories and his work have left an important mark on the way in which explanations have been given for decades in childhood, personality, memory, sexuality or therapy. Many psychologists have been influenced by his work, while others have developed their ideas in opposition to him.

Nowadays, scientific psychology develops outside the ideas of Sigmund Freud. However, that does not detract from this researcher's historical value. Next we will review his life and his work.

  • Related article: "The 31 best books of Psychology that you can not miss"

Sigmund Freud and Psychoanalysis

Freud is the father of psychoanalysis, a method that aims to treat mental illness. Freudian psychoanalysis is a theory that attempts to explain the behavior of human beings and is based on the analysis of unconscious sexual conflicts that originate in childhood. This theory holds that the instinctual impulses that are repressed by consciousness remain in the unconscious and affect the subject. The unconscious is not observable by the patient: the psychoanalyst is the one who must make these unconscious conflicts accessible through the interpretation of dreams, failed acts and free association .


The concept called "free association", is a technique that seeks that the patient expresses, during therapy sessions, all their ideas, emotions, thoughts and images as they are presented, without restrictions or orderings. After this opening, the psychoanalyst must determine what factors, within those manifestations, reflect an unconscious conflict.

  • Maybe you're interested: "We raffled 5 copies of the book" Psychologically Speaking "!"

The relationship of Sigmund Freud with Charcot and Breuer: Origin of Psychoanalysis

To understand his theory, we must know that everything started in Paris, where Sigmund Freud was thanks to a scholarship. There he spent a lot of time next to Jean-Martin Charcot , a famous neurologist studious of the hypnotic phenomenon, and thus begins his interest in the suggestion and study of hysteria. Once the scholarship was completed, Freud returned to Vienna and shared Charcot's theories with other doctors, but everyone rejected him. Josef Breuer , a friend of yours.


Further, Breuer played an important role in the life of Sigmund Freud as a father figure , advising him in the different aspects of the career they shared, supporting him financially so that he could establish his office as a private doctor, creating the cathartic method and writing with him the inaugural work of the history of psychoanalysis.

The famous case of Anna O.

In case of Anna O. (his real name was Bertha Pappenheim) marked a before and after in the career of a young Freud . Anna O. was a patient of Breuer who suffered hysteria, but both took charge of her problem. The patient was a young woman who fell ill in the fall of 1880. When she was 21 years old, her father unexpectedly fell ill and was forced to take care of him. So much was her attention to her father, that the great carelessness that she gave herself led her to anemia and weakness. But these problems; who soon prostrated her in bed, were followed by even more alarming discomforts: paralysis, a serious disturbance of language and other symptoms that appear after the death of her father, and for which she is diagnosed as hysterical.


Breuer's treatment focused on inducing the patient to a hypnotic state and persuading her to recall the circumstances prior to the first appearance of each of the symptoms suffered. Upon leaving the hypnotic trance, these hysterical symptoms were disappearing one by one. The doctor performed this treatment twice a day, and Anna O. used to call it "cure by the word". Breuer baptized him as method cathartic . In the case of Anna O. it was concluded that she had suffered sexual abuse in her childhood by a family member, and although it seemed that the therapy worked, there was a sexual transference between the patient and the doctor. Then there were problems with a false pregnancy of the patient, in love with her therapist, and Breuer left harassed by the jealousy of his wife.

Breuer and hysteria

Breuer concluded that the patients who showed the symptoms of hysteria did not have physical ailments but, in reality, their symptoms were the result of the permanent action of certain traumatic experiences of the past and that they had been repressed, although not forgotten , and also, that when releasing these repressed thoughts, externalizing them and accepting them in a conscious way, the symptoms disappeared. At first, Breuer did not make his discoveries public, but he shared them with Freud. The latter used this method, but left hypnosis aside and instead established the procedure of "free association".

Later, the relationship between Breuer and Freud began to decline due to several discussions in the scientific field. Breuer adhered to a classical scientistic conception that did not accept the total separation between physiology and psychology, while Freud bet on the creation of a whole new theoretical system for psychology and absolute independence of any other medical branch. On the other hand, Breuer conceived the cathartic method with hypnosis, but without the adoption of "free association" or other modifications and extensions suggested by Sigmund Freud. The friendship ended up being definitively broken by the year of a joint publication.

The unconscious mind

Sigmund Freud developed a topographic map of the mind in which he described the characteristics of the structure and functioning of the mind. In this model, the conscious mind is only the tip of the iceberg . In the unconscious mind many of our primitive impulses and desires that are mediated by the preconsciousness .

Freud discovered that some events and desires caused so much fear and pain to his patients, that they remained guarded in the dark subconscious , affecting the behavior in a negative way. This happened due to the process he called "repression". In his theory gives great importance to the unconscious mind, since the goal of psychoanalysis is to make aware what is bothering the unconscious.

The psychic instances

Later, Freud developed a model of the mind that was composed of IT, ME and SUPER-ME, and called it the "psychic apparatus". As he IT , the I Y SUPER-YO they are not physical areas, but hypothetical conceptualizations of important mental functions.

  • The IT operates at the unconscious level. It responds to the pleasure principle and is composed of two types of biological instincts or impulses that he called Eros and Thanatos . Eros, or life instinct, helps individuals survive; directs activities that sustain life such as breathing, food or sex. The energy created by the impulses of life is known as libido. In contrast, the Thanatos or death instinct, are a series of destructive forces that are present in all living beings. When the energy is directed towards others, it is expressed in aggressions and violence. Freud thought that Eros has more power than Thanatos, and it makes it easier for people to survive instead of self-destruct.
  • The I (or ego) develops during childhood. Its objective is to satisfy the demands of IT within social acceptance. In contrast to IT, the I follows the reality principle and operates in the conscious and the subconscious.
  • The SUPER-YO (or superego) is responsible for ensuring that moral standards are followed, so it acts with the principle of morality and motivates us to act with a socially acceptable and responsible behavior. The SUPER-ME can make a person feel guilty for not following the rules. When there is a conflict between the objectives of IT and the SUPER-ME, the ME acts as a mediator. The self has defense mechanisms to prevent the anxiety of these conflicts. These levels or instances overlap, that is, they are integrated and in this way the human psyche works. This is a process that goes from the moment a person is born.

When one is born is all IT, your needs for food, hygiene, sleep and contact must be met immediately, because it does not have the ability to wait, that is, it is governed by a pleasure principle, it is impatient. Little by little he learns to wait, he perceives that someone encourages him, distinguishes situations, that is the moment in which the SELF emerges and as he grows he continues with his learning.

Among these learnings he distinguishes that there are things that he can not do and others that he does, then it is when the SUPER-YO begins to form. A child is orienting his behavior as indicated by the adults who are giving him prizes or punishments according to whether or not he responds to the norms or indications that they give.

The defense mechanisms

Freud speaks to us about defense mechanisms, such as the techniques of the unconscious, which are responsible for minimizing the consequences of events that are too intense. In this way, through these mechanisms, the individual is able to function normally.It is a response of the SELF, which defends itself both from the excessive pressure of IT, when it demands the satisfaction of impulses, and from the excessive control of the SUPER-ME; Thanks to them, the SELF also protects itself from the presence of past traumatic experiences.

The defense mechanisms are incorrect ways of solving the psychological conflict and can lead to disturbances in the mind, behavior, and in the most extreme cases to the somatization of the psychological conflict and the physical dysfunctions that express it. These are some of the defense mechanisms:

Displacement

It refers to the redirection of an impulse (usually an assault) towards a person or an object. For example, someone who is frustrated with their boss and kicks their dog.

Sublimation

It is similar to displacement, but the impulse is channeled into a more acceptable form. A sexual drive sublimates towards a non-sexual purpose, pointing to socially valued objects, such as artistic activity, physical activity or intellectual research.

Repression

It is the mechanism that Freud discovered first. It makes reference to that the I erase events and thoughts that would be painful if they were kept at the conscious level.

Projection

It refers to individuals who attribute their own thoughts, motives or feelings to another person. The most common projections can be aggressive behaviors that provoke a feeling of guilt, and fantasies or sexual thoughts.

Negation

It is the mechanism by which the subject blocks external events so that they are not part of the consciousness and deals with evident aspects of reality as if they did not exist. For example, a smoker who refuses to face smoking can cause serious health problems.

If you want to know more about this topic, you can visit the article "Defense Mechanisms"

Stages of Freud's theory

The era in which the author of psychosexual theory lived, and in which it was usual the strong repression of sexual desires, especially in the female sex, Sigmund Freud understood that there was a relationship between neurosis and sexual repression. Therefore, it was possible to understand the nature and variety of the disease by knowing the patient's sexual history.

Freud considered that children are born with a sexual desire that they must satisfy, and that there are a series of stages, during which the child seeks pleasure from different objects. This is what led to the most controversial part of his theory: the theory of psychosexual development.

Oral stage

It begins with the birth and continues during the first 18 months of life. This stage is focused on the pleasure in the mouth, that is the erogenous zone. The child sucks everything he finds because that is pleasurable and he knows his surroundings. Therefore, in this phase the child already experiments with his sexuality. If the adult, for example, forbids him to suck his finger, hand, etc. It is obstructing you to explore and explore your surroundings. Which can bring future problems for the child.

Anal stage

The anal phase of development occurs between 18 months and three years of age. In this stage the child's and parents' concern revolves around the year, it is the stage of toilet training. Sexual enjoyment for the child is in defecation. He feels that he is thus surrendering a production of his body, a part of himself and that is why it is so important to him.

It is a stage of great importance and it is essential that sphincter control is done progressively, without pressure. Mishandling this stage will have a negative impact on future behavior.

Phallic stage

The phallic phase of Sigmund Freud's theory begins at three years and extends to six years. In this stage the genitals are the object of pleasure and interest in sexual differences and genitals appears, so it is very important not to repress and properly manage this stage, since it could obstruct the capacity for research, knowledge and general learning . Freud says that men begin to experience sexual feelings towards their mothers and see their parents as competitors, so they fear being castrated, a process that results in the Oedipus Complex. Later the children identify with their parents and repress the feelings towards their mothers to leave behind this phase.

Latency stage

Freud's latency phase develops between six years and the onset of puberty. It coincides with the school stage and for a long time it was mistakenly believed that sexuality was dormant, latent. What happens is that during this period the child's interest focuses on knowing, learning and researching. A good management of the previous stages contributes very favorably to school success.

Genital stage

This phase occurs at puberty, and once again, the focus is on the genitals. Individuals show curiosity about genital sexuality and it is essential that they find in their parents and in the adult world the openness and availability to talk about sex and to clarify and answer their questions.

Analysis of dreams

Freud considered that dreams were important in order to explain what happened in the unconscious, because while we dream the defenses of the I are not present. Because of this, much repressed material becomes conscious, albeit in a distorted way. Remembering fragments of dreams can help uncover buried emotions and memories. Therefore, dreams play an important role in the unconscious mind and serve to give clues as to how it operates.

Sigmund Freud distinguished between manifest content (what is remembered from the dream) and latent content , the symbolic meaning of the dream (what it tries to say). The first is superficial and the second is manifested through the language of dreams. The author of the "Theory of the Interpretation of Dreams" mentions that all dreams represent the realization of a wish on the part of the dreamer, including nightmares. According to his theory, the "censorship" of dreams produces a distortion of their content. So what may seem like a set of meaningless dreamed images, through analysis and its "deciphering" method, can really be a set of coherent ideas.

Curiosities about the life of Freud

We recently published this article that may be of help to complement your knowledge about the figure of the Austrian psychoanalyst:

"10 curiosities about the life of Sigmund Freud"

Legacy of this great thinker

Freudian ideas caused a great impact, and his work brought together a large group of followers. Among them can be cited: Karl Abraham, Sandor Ferenczi, Alfred Adler, Carl Gustav Jung, Otto Rank and Ernest Jones. Some, like Adler and Jung, moved away from the principles of Freud and created their own psychological conception.

There is no doubt that Psychoanalysis has been revolutionary for psychology and it has served as the basis for the development of a large number of psychological theories and schools. In its beginnings, and even today, it has been a doctrine that has awakened great passions, for and against . Possibly one of the main criticisms, refers to the lack of objectivity in the observation and the difficulty of deriving specific hypotheses verifiable from this theory, but however much they criticize it, in the development of psychology, there is a before and a after this famous character.


PSYCHOTHERAPY - Sigmund Freud (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'oeuvre du célèbre psychanalyste

Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'oeuvre du célèbre psychanalyste

Janvier 24, 2023

Sigmund Freud Il est peut-être le penseur le plus célèbre, le plus controversé et le plus charismatique de la psychologie du vingtième siècle.

Ses théories et son travail ont laissé une marque importante dans la manière dont des explications ont été données pendant des décennies dans l'enfance, la personnalité, la mémoire, la sexualité ou la thérapie. De nombreux psychologues ont été influencés par son travail, tandis que d'autres ont développé leurs idées en opposition à lui.

De nos jours, la psychologie scientifique se développe en dehors des idées de Sigmund Freud. Cependant, cela n'enlève rien à la valeur historique de ce chercheur. Ensuite, nous passerons en revue sa vie et son travail.

  • Article connexe: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

Sigmund Freud et la psychanalyse

Freud est le père de la psychanalyse, une méthode visant à traiter les maladies mentales. La psychanalyse freudienne est une théorie qui tente d'expliquer le comportement des êtres humains. Elle est basée sur l'analyse de conflits sexuels inconscients qui naissent de l'enfance. Selon cette théorie, les impulsions instinctives réprimées par la conscience restent dans l'inconscient et affectent le sujet. L’inconscient n’est pas observable par le patient: c’est le psychanalyste qui doit rendre ces conflits inconscients accessibles à travers le interprétation de rêves, actes manqués et association libre .


Le concept appelé "association libre" est une technique qui cherche à exprimer le patient, lors de séances de thérapie, toutes ses idées, émotions, pensées et images telles qu'elles se présentent, sans restriction ni ordre. Après cette ouverture, le psychanalyste doit déterminer quels facteurs, au sein de ces manifestations, reflètent un conflit inconscient.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Nous avons tiré au sort 5 exemplaires du livre" Psychological Speaking "!"

La relation de Sigmund Freud avec Charcot et Breuer: origine de la psychanalyse

Pour comprendre sa théorie, il faut savoir que tout a commencé à Paris, où Sigmund Freud était grâce à une bourse. Il a passé beaucoup de temps à côté de Jean-Martin Charcot , célèbre neurologue studieux du phénomène hypnotique, commence donc à s'intéresser à la suggestion et à l’étude de l’hystérie. Une fois la bourse terminée, Freud est revenu à Vienne et a partagé les théories de Charcot avec d'autres médecins, mais tout le monde l'a rejeté. Josef Breuer , un de vos amis.


En outre, Breuer a joué un rôle important dans la vie de Sigmund Freud en tant que figure paternelle , le conseillant dans les différents aspects de la carrière qu'ils partageaient, le soutenant financièrement pour qu'il puisse s'installer comme médecin privé, créant la méthode cathartique et écrivant avec lui l'œuvre inaugurale de l'histoire de la psychanalyse.

Le célèbre cas d'Anna O.

Le cas de Anna O. (son vrai nom était Bertha Pappenheim) marqué un avant et après dans la carrière d'un jeune Freud . Anna O. était une patiente de Breuer qui souffrait d'hystérie, mais toutes deux se sont chargées de son problème. La patiente était une jeune femme qui est tombée malade à l’automne 1880. À l'âge de 21 ans, son père est tombé malade et a été obligé de prendre soin de lui. Son attention était tellement portée sur son père que la grande négligence qu’elle s’est donnée la conduisit à l’anémie et à la faiblesse. Mais ces problèmes qui l'ont bientôt prosternée au lit, ont été suivis d'inconfort encore plus alarmants: paralysie, trouble grave du langage et autres symptômes apparaissant après le décès de son père et pour lesquels elle est diagnostiquée hystérique.


Le traitement de Breuer visait à inciter la patiente à un état hypnotique et à la persuader de se rappeler les circonstances antérieures à la première apparition de chacun des symptômes ressentis. En quittant la transe hypnotique, ces symptômes hystériques disparaissaient un à un. Le médecin effectuait ce traitement deux fois par jour et Anna O. l'appelait «guérir par le mot». Breuer l'a baptisé comme méthode cathartique . Dans le cas d'Anna O., il a été conclu qu'elle avait été victime d'abus sexuel dans son enfance par un membre de la famille et, même s'il semblait que la thérapie fonctionnait, il existait un transfert sexuel entre la patiente et le médecin. Ensuite, il y avait des problèmes avec une fausse grossesse de la patiente, amoureuse de son thérapeute, et Breuer est parti harcelé par la jalousie de sa femme.

Breuer et l'hystérie

Breuer a conclu que les patients qui présentaient les symptômes de l'hystérie n'avaient pas de mal physique, mais que leurs symptômes étaient en réalité le résultat de l'action permanente de certaines expériences traumatiques du passé et qu'ils avaient été réprimés sans pour autant être oubliés. et aussi que lors de la libération de ces pensées refoulées, de leur extériorisation et de leur acceptation consciente, les symptômes ont disparu. Au début, Breuer n'a pas rendu ses découvertes publiques, mais il les a partagées avec Freud. Ce dernier a utilisé cette méthode, mais a laissé l'hypnose de côté et a mis en place la procédure de "libre association".

Plus tard, la relation entre Breuer et Freud a commencé à se détériorer suite à plusieurs discussions dans le domaine scientifique. Breuer adhérait à une conception scientifique classique qui n'acceptait pas la séparation totale entre physiologie et psychologie, tandis que Freud misait sur la création d'un tout nouveau système théorique pour la psychologie et l'indépendance absolue de toute autre branche médicale. D'autre part, Breuer a conçu la méthode cathartique avec l'hypnose, mais sans l'adoption de "l'association libre" ou d'autres modifications et extensions suggérées par Sigmund Freud. L’amitié finit par être définitivement brisée l’année de la publication conjointe.

L'inconscient

Sigmund Freud a développé une carte topographique de l'esprit dans laquelle il décrit les caractéristiques de la structure et du fonctionnement de l'esprit. Dans ce modèle, l’esprit conscient n’est que le la pointe de l'iceberg . Dans l’inconscient, beaucoup de nos impulsions et désirs primitifs qui sont médiés par le préconscience .

Freud a découvert que certains événements et désirs causaient tant de peur et de souffrance à ses patients, que ils sont restés gardés dans le subconscient sombre , affectant le comportement de manière négative. Cela est dû au processus qu'il a appelé "répression". Dans sa théorie, l’inconscient revêt une grande importance, puisque la psychanalyse a pour but de faire prendre conscience de ce qui dérange l’inconscient.

Les instances psychiques

Plus tard, Freud développa un modèle d'esprit composé d'IT, ME et SUPER-ME, et l'appela "l'appareil psychique". Les deux IT , le Je et Super-yo ce ne sont pas des zones physiques, mais des conceptualisations hypothétiques d'importantes fonctions mentales.

  • Le IT fonctionne au niveau inconscient. Il répond au principe de plaisir et est composé de deux types d’instincts biologiques qu’il a appelés Eros et Thanatos . Eros, ou instinct de vie, aide les individus à survivre; dirige des activités qui soutiennent la vie, telles que la respiration, la nourriture ou le sexe. L'énergie créée par les pulsions de la vie s'appelle la libido. En revanche, les Thanatos ou instinct de mort sont une série de forces destructrices présentes dans tous les êtres vivants. Lorsque l’énergie est dirigée vers les autres, elle se traduit par des agressions et de la violence. Freud pensait que Eros avait plus de pouvoir que Thanatos et que cela permettait aux gens de survivre plus facilement que de s'autodétruire.
  • Le Je (ou ego) se développe pendant l'enfance. Son objectif est de satisfaire les exigences de l'informatique au sein de l'acceptation sociale. Contrairement à l'informatique, le je suit le principe de réalité et opère dans le conscient et le subconscient.
  • Le Super-yo (ou le surmoi) est chargé de veiller à ce que les normes morales soient suivies, de sorte qu'il agit conformément au principe de la moralité et nous motive à adopter un comportement socialement acceptable et responsable. Le SUPER-ME peut amener une personne à se sentir coupable de ne pas suivre les règles. En cas de conflit entre les objectifs informatiques et le SUPER-ME, le ME agit en tant que médiateur. Le soi a des mécanismes de défense pour prévenir l'angoisse de ces conflits. Ces niveaux ou instances se chevauchent, c'est-à-dire qu'ils sont intégrés et que la psyché humaine fonctionne. C'est un processus qui commence à partir du moment où une personne est née.

Quand on est né, c'est tout, il faut satisfaire immédiatement vos besoins en nourriture, hygiène, sommeil et contact, car il n'a pas la capacité d'attendre, c'est-à-dire qu'il est régi par un principe de plaisir, il est impatient. Petit à petit, il apprend à attendre, il s'aperçoit que quelqu'un l'encourage, distingue des situations, c'est le moment où le SELF émerge et, à mesure qu'il grandit, il poursuit son apprentissage.

Parmi ces enseignements, il distingue certaines choses qu’il ne peut pas faire et d’autres qu’il fait; c’est alors que le SUPER-YO commence à se former. Un enfant oriente son comportement comme indiqué par les adultes qui lui décernent des prix ou des punitions selon qu'il répond ou non aux normes ou aux indications qu'il donne.

Les mécanismes de défense

Freud nous parle de mécanismes de défense, tels que les techniques de l'inconscient, qui sont chargés de minimiser les conséquences d'événements trop intenses. De cette manière, grâce à ces mécanismes, l’individu est capable de fonctionner normalement.C'est une réponse du SELF, qui se défend à la fois de la pression excessive de l'informatique, lorsqu'elle demande la satisfaction d'impulsions, et du contrôle excessif du SUPER-ME; Grâce à eux, le SELF se protège également de la présence d'expériences traumatiques passées.

Les mécanismes de défense sont des moyens incorrects de résoudre le conflit psychologique et peuvent conduire à des troubles de l'esprit, du comportement et, dans les cas les plus extrêmes, à la somatisation du conflit psychologique et des dysfonctionnements physiques qui l'expriment. Voici quelques-uns des mécanismes de défense:

Déplacement

Il fait référence à la réorientation d'une impulsion (généralement une agression) vers une personne ou un objet. Par exemple, quelqu'un qui est frustré par son patron et qui donne un coup de pied à son chien.

Sublimation

C'est semblable au déplacement, mais l'impulsion est canalisée dans une forme plus acceptable. Une pulsion sexuelle se sublime dans un but non sexuel et renvoie à des objets socialement valorisés, tels que l'activité artistique, l'activité physique ou la recherche intellectuelle.

La répression

C'est le mécanisme que Freud a découvert en premier. Il fait référence au fait que j'efface les événements et les pensées qui seraient douloureuses si elles étaient maintenues au niveau de la conscience.

Projection

Il fait référence aux personnes qui attribuent leurs propres pensées, motivations ou sentiments à une autre personne. Les projections les plus courantes peuvent être des comportements agressifs qui provoquent un sentiment de culpabilité, des fantasmes ou des pensées sexuelles.

Déni

C'est le mécanisme par lequel le sujet bloque les événements extérieurs pour qu'ils ne fassent pas partie de la conscience et traitent des aspects évidents de la réalité comme s'ils n'existaient pas. Par exemple, un fumeur qui refuse de fumer peut causer de graves problèmes de santé.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce sujet, vous pouvez visiter l'article "Mécanismes de défense"

Les étapes de la théorie de Freud

À l’époque où vivait l’auteur de la théorie psychosexuelle et dans lequel il était habituel de subir une forte répression des désirs sexuels, en particulier chez les femmes, Sigmund Freud comprenait qu’il existait un lien entre névrose et répression sexuelle. Par conséquent, il était possible de comprendre la nature et la variété de la maladie en connaissant les antécédents sexuels du patient.

Freud considérait que les enfants naissent avec un désir sexuel qu'ils doivent satisfaire et qu'il existe une série d'étapes au cours desquelles l'enfant recherche le plaisir à partir d'objets différents. C'est ce qui a conduit à la partie la plus controversée de sa théorie: la théorie du développement psychosexuel.

Stade oral

Cela commence avec la naissance et continue pendant les 18 premiers mois de la vie. Cette étape est centrée sur le plaisir en bouche, c'est-à-dire la zone érogène. L'enfant tète tout ce qu'il trouve parce que c'est agréable et qu'il connaît son environnement. Par conséquent, dans cette phase, l'enfant expérimente déjà sa sexualité. Si l'adulte, par exemple, lui interdit de se sucer le doigt, la main, etc. Cela vous empêche d'explorer et d'explorer votre environnement. Qui peut apporter des problèmes futurs pour l'enfant.

Stade anal

La phase anale du développement se situe entre 18 mois et 3 ans. A ce stade, l'inquiétude de l'enfant et de ses parents tourne autour de l'année, c'est le stade de l'apprentissage de la propreté. La jouissance sexuelle chez l'enfant est dans la défécation. Il sent qu'il abandonne ainsi une production de son corps, une partie de lui-même et c'est pourquoi il est si important pour lui.

C'est une étape d'une grande importance et il est essentiel que le contrôle du sphincter se fasse progressivement, sans pression. Une mauvaise gestion de cette étape aura un impact négatif sur le comportement futur.

Stade phallique

La phase phallique de la théorie de Sigmund Freud commence à trois ans et s'étend sur six ans. A ce stade, les organes génitaux font l’objet de plaisir et l’intérêt pour les différences sexuelles et les organes génitaux apparaît, il est donc très important de ne pas réprimer et gérer correctement ce stade, car il pourrait entraver la capacité de recherche, de connaissance et d’apprentissage général . Freud dit que les hommes commencent à éprouver des sentiments sexuels envers leur mère et voient leurs parents comme des compétiteurs. Ils craignent donc d'être castrés, processus qui aboutit au complexe d'Œdipe. Plus tard, les enfants s'identifient à leurs parents et répriment les sentiments envers leur mère pour qu'ils abandonnent cette phase.

Stade de latence

La phase de latence de Freud se développe entre six ans et le début de la puberté, elle coïncide avec le stade scolaire et on a longtemps cru à tort que la sexualité était dormante, latente. Ce qui se passe, c’est que pendant cette période, l’intérêt de l’enfant se concentre sur la connaissance, l’apprentissage et la recherche. Une bonne gestion des étapes précédentes contribue très favorablement à la réussite scolaire.

Stade génital

Cette phase se produit à la puberté et, encore une fois, l'accent est mis sur les organes génitaux. Les individus manifestent de la curiosité pour la sexualité génitale et il est essentiel qu'ils trouvent chez leurs parents et dans le monde des adultes l'ouverture et la disponibilité nécessaires pour parler de sexualité et pour clarifier et répondre à leurs questions.

Analyse des rêves

Freud considérait que les rêves étaient importants pour expliquer ce qui se passait dans l'inconscient, car pendant que nous rêvons, les défenses du moi ne sont pas présentes. Pour cette raison, beaucoup de matériel réprimé devient conscient, bien que de manière déformée. Se souvenir de fragments de rêves peut aider à découvrir des émotions et des souvenirs enfouis. Par conséquent, les rêves jouent un rôle important dans l’inconscient et servent à donner des indices sur la façon dont ils fonctionnent.

Sigmund Freud a distingué entre contenu manifeste (ce dont on se souvient du rêve) et contenu latent , la signification symbolique du rêve (ce qu’il essaie de dire). Le premier est superficiel et le second se manifeste à travers le langage des rêves. L'auteur de la "Théorie de l'interprétation des rêves" mentionne que tous les rêves représentent la réalisation d'un souhait du rêveur, y compris des cauchemars. Selon sa théorie, la "censure" des rêves produit une distorsion de leur contenu. Ainsi, ce qui peut sembler être un ensemble d’images rêvées sans signification, grâce à l’analyse et à sa méthode de "déchiffrement", peut en réalité être un ensemble d’idées cohérentes.

Curiosités sur la vie de Freud

Nous avons récemment publié cet article qui pourrait vous aider à compléter vos connaissances sur la figure du psychanalyste autrichien:

"10 curiosités sur la vie de Sigmund Freud"

Héritage de ce grand penseur

Les idées freudiennes ont eu un impact considérable et son travail a rassemblé un grand nombre de disciples. Parmi eux, citons Karl Abraham, Sandor Ferenczi, Alfred Adler, Carl Gustav Jung, Otto Rank et Ernest Jones. Certains, comme Adler et Jung, se sont éloignés des principes de Freud et ont créé leur propre conception psychologique.

Il n'y a aucun doute que La psychanalyse a été révolutionnaire pour la psychologie et il a servi de base au développement d’un grand nombre de théories psychologiques et d’écoles. A ses débuts, et même aujourd’hui, c’est une doctrine qui s’est éveillée grandes passions, pour et contre . L’une des principales critiques concerne peut-être le manque d’objectivité dans l’observation et la difficulté de tirer des hypothèses précises vérifiables de cette théorie, mais quelle que soit leur critique, dans le développement de la psychologie, il existe un avant et un autre. après ce personnage célèbre.

Articles Connexes