yes, therapy helps!
Stockholm syndrome: friend of my kidnapper

Stockholm syndrome: friend of my kidnapper

September 24, 2022

Today we talk about the Stockholm syndrome . As we commented in the article "The ten worst mental disorders", the Stockholm Syndrome is a disorder that affects some people who have been victims of a kidnapping and can develop some kind of positive feeling towards their captors.

What is the Stockholm Syndrome?

The term refers to the theft of a bank that occurred in Stockholm, Sweden, in August 1973. The thief kidnapped 4 people (three women and one man) for 131 hours. When the hostages were released, they had established emotional ties with the kidnapper . As they sympathized with him, they explained to the reporters that they saw the police as enemies and felt positive feelings towards the criminal.


The syndrome was mentioned for the first time Nils Bejerot , a medical professor who specialized in addiction research and worked as a psychiatrist for the Swedish police in the case of bank robbery.

The experts do not coincide

The Stockholm Syndrome is considered a defense mechanism, a reaction that our body manifests in a traumatic situation that happened, and experts do not completely agree on the factors that make a person more vulnerable when suffering from this syndrome. . There are two causes of this disagreement. First, it would be unethical to test theories about this syndrome through experimentation. The data that has been obtained so far by the victims differ considerably.


The second cause refers to the relationship that this syndrome has with other types of abusive relationships. Many researchers think that the Stockholm Syndrome helps to explain some behaviors of the survivors of the concentration camps of the World War II , the reactions of the members of the sects, the permissiveness of battered women and the psychic or emotional abuse of children.

Javier Urra , Doctor in Psychology and Nursing, explains in the ABC newspaper: "What is surprising is that the kidnapped person seems to be on the side of the kidnapper and not the rescuers, who will give him freedom. Possibly it happens because his captor has been very close and has not killed him, although he could have done it, fed him and made him a brain Wash . The hostage arrives at a certain pact of non-aggression, but deep down, without knowing it, he seeks to save his life "


Despite the discrepancies that exist among the experts, most agree on three characteristics of the Stockholm Syndrome:

  • The hostages have negative feelings towards the police and the authorities
  • The abductees have positive feelings towards the captor
  • The captor develops positive feelings towards the kidnapped

Who develops the Stockholm Syndrome?

The Stockholm Syndrome does not affect all hostages or hostages . In fact, an FBI study of 4,700 kidnap victims concluded that 27% of the abductees developed this disorder . Later, the FBI conducted interviews with flight employees of several airlines that had been taken hostage in different kidnappings. The data revealed that there are three factors necessary to develop this syndrome:

  • The kidnapping lasts several days or longer periods (weeks, months)
  • The kidnappers are still in contact with the hostages, that is, they are not isolated in a separate room
  • The captors are kind to the hostages or the kidnapped and do not hurt them

Captor (Short Film) (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Stockholm: l'amie de mon ravisseur

Syndrome de Stockholm: l'amie de mon ravisseur

Décembre 9, 2021

Aujourd'hui, nous parlons de la Syndrome de Stockholm . Comme nous l'avons commenté dans l'article "Les dix pires troubles mentaux", le syndrome de Stockholm est un trouble qui affecte certaines personnes qui ont été victimes d'un enlèvement et peut développer un sentiment positif vis-à-vis de leurs ravisseurs.

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Stockholm?

Le terme fait référence au vol d'une banque qui a eu lieu à Stockholm (Suède) en août 1973. Le voleur a enlevé 4 personnes (trois femmes et un homme) pendant 131 heures. Quand les otages ont été libérés, ils avaient établi des liens affectifs avec le ravisseur . Alors qu'ils sympathisaient avec lui, ils ont expliqué aux journalistes qu'ils considéraient la police comme des ennemis et ressentaient des sentiments positifs à l'égard du criminel.


Le syndrome a été mentionné pour la première fois Nils Bejerot , professeur de médecine spécialisé dans la recherche sur la toxicomanie et ayant travaillé comme psychiatre pour la police suédoise dans le cadre d’un vol de banque.

Les experts ne peuvent pas être d'accord

Le syndrome de Stockholm est considéré comme un mécanisme de défense, une réaction que notre corps manifeste dans une situation traumatisante, et les experts ne sont pas complètement d'accord sur les facteurs qui rendent une personne plus vulnérable lorsqu'elle souffre de ce syndrome. . Ce désaccord a deux causes. Premièrement, il serait contraire à l'éthique de tester les théories sur ce syndrome par le biais d'expérimentations. Les données obtenues à ce jour par les victimes diffèrent considérablement.


La deuxième cause fait référence à la relation que ce syndrome entretient avec d'autres types de relations abusives. De nombreux chercheurs pensent que le syndrome de Stockholm aide à expliquer certains comportements des survivants des camps de concentration de Seconde guerre mondiale , les réactions des membres des sectes, la permissivité des femmes battues et les abus psychiques ou émotionnels d’enfants.

Javier Urra Docteur en psychologie et en sciences infirmières, explique dans le journal ABC: "Ce qui est étonnant, c’est que la personne enlevée semble être du côté du ravisseur et non des sauveteurs, qui lui donneront la liberté. Peut-être cela se produit-il parce que son ravisseur a été très proche et ne l'a pas tué, même s'il aurait pu le faire, l'a nourri et lui a fait lavage de cerveau . L'otage conclut un certain pacte de non-agression mais, au fond de lui, sans le savoir, il cherche à sauver sa vie "


Malgré les divergences qui existent entre les experts, la plupart s’accordent sur trois caractéristiques du syndrome de Stockholm:

  • Les otages ont des sentiments négatifs envers la police et les autorités
  • Les abductés ont des sentiments positifs envers le ravisseur
  • Le ravisseur développe des sentiments positifs envers l'enlèvement

Qui développe le syndrome de Stockholm?

Le syndrome de Stockholm n'affecte pas tous les otages ou otages . En fait, une étude du FBI portant sur 4 700 victimes d’enlèvement a conclu que 27% des personnes enlevées ont développé ce trouble . Par la suite, le FBI a interrogé des employés des services aériens de plusieurs compagnies aériennes prises en otage lors de différents enlèvements. Les données ont révélé qu'il existe trois facteurs nécessaires pour développer ce syndrome:

  • L'enlèvement dure plusieurs jours ou plus (semaines, mois)
  • Les ravisseurs sont toujours en contact avec les otages, c'est-à-dire qu'ils ne sont pas isolés dans une pièce séparée
  • Les ravisseurs sont gentils avec les otages ou les kidnappés et ne leur font pas de mal

???????????? ???????????????????????????????? ???????????????? ???????????????????????????????????? ???????? ???????????? [MEME REVIEW] ???? ???? #13 (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes