yes, therapy helps!
Stereotypes, prejudices and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?

Stereotypes, prejudices and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?

December 5, 2021

Nowadays, it is common to hear the words stereotype, prejudice and discrimination in many social and professional contexts. This overuse of these three concepts can lead to errors and misunderstanding about what they really mean.

We must become aware that they are words that refer to important social realities and whose effects are the cause of pain for thousands of people on the planet.

For this reason, it is necessary to know the nature of these realities from the definition provided by Psychology.

Stereotypes

Definition and transcendence

The stereotypes are beliefs or ideas organized about the characteristics associated with different social groups : physical aspect, interests, occupations, ethnic groups, etc. These are simplified images of how groups are viewed and what they do. The categories are constituted by interpretations, ideas and opinions about the elements.


From Psychology, these cognitions and interpretations of social groups are stereotypes. We all have stereotypes because our mind organizes concepts into categories, and they are not always negative, they have to be understood as two sides of the same coin.

The dangers of generalizing

In short, stereotypes are widespread generalizations about the members of a social group that provoke a tendency to accentuate the similarities within the group, especially when the categorization has value or importance for the one who makes it and the differences with other groups.

If we know a black and foreign woman, we are classifying her in the groups of women, foreigners and blacks, due to classifying them within these categories, stereotypes arise towards them from the three groups and if they are negative, a series is created. of beliefs and ideas about them that surely do not correspond to reality.


The formation of stereotypes tend to be of social origin through observational learning. This is the reason why the naturalness and spontaneity with which stereotypes are learned in our social behavior are frequent. In this case, eIt must be pointed out that we must be able to put forward reflection to the heuristic that supposes to generalize in excess, especially in the case in which, more or less unconsciously, we have negative stereotypes towards a group of people. Expanding the focus and abstracting from the cultural scene imposed by certain pre-established ideas can be key when looking at reality in a natural way and not stereotyped.

Prejudices

Definition

The prejudices are the positive or negative feelings and emotions that you have about a social group and its members . Affective evaluations depend on beliefs about the group. It is the affective component associated with the categories, the valuation. They are directly related to stereotypes, that is, if a stereotype is negative, negative prejudices can be generated and if the stereotype is positive, a positive prejudice can be generated.


Judging a priori

The basic difference is that prejudice is a kind of emotional evaluation, while stereotyping is a prior belief of a cognitive nature . In general terms, previous ideas and beliefs lead to evaluations that are already "biased" in a positive or negative way. Those who identify with Atl├ętico de Madrid value those who are team members more positively, while Real Madrid's partners will be assessed in a negative way. Prejudices and stereotypes are usually present at the same time without originating in differentiated phases.

Discrimination

Definition and examples

Finally, discrimination differs from previous ones in that this is proper behavior. is defined as the differentiated and observable behavior towards a social group or its members . In the case of the example of the black woman that we saw in the stereotypes, the people who surround this woman in addition to stereotypes, can develop prejudices and this can lead to discrimination, that is, a differentiated negative behavior will be presented or it could be positive for some others towards his person.

Analyzing prejudices, stereotypes and discrimination from Cognitive Psychology

To identify stereotypes, prejudices and discrimination, we must study someone who belongs to a certain social group, and who, due to being a member of this group, is discriminated against by another person who comes from a different group. To analyze them, it is necessary to first observe the discriminatory behavior and from it, infer both prejudices and stereotypes, since in this way, based on the observable and objective we infer the emotional, which are the prejudices and the cognitive, which are the stereotypes.

As we can see, These concepts are related but they are different and it is necessary to know well the differences between them . Depending on the circumstances they may show a relationship or not, that is, someone may develop stereotypes and prejudices but not discrimination, or only develop stereotypes but not prejudices or discrimination. In general, stereotypes give rise to prejudices that can lead to discrimination.

Moving the exposed to daily life

With these definitions in mind, we can know if discrimination is properly occurring in our closest environment and what is more important, to perceive if there are indications in the form of stereotypes, prejudices or both that can lead to discriminatory behavior.

In our hands is to identify these situations and act to prevent them or, in the last case, remedy them.

I recommend you read: "The 10 reasons to stop judging others"

Prejudice & Discrimination: Crash Course Psychology #39 (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?

Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?

Septembre 19, 2019

De nos jours, il est courant d'entendre les mots stéréotype, préjugés et discrimination dans de nombreux contextes sociaux et professionnels. Cette surutilisation de ces trois concepts peut entraîner des erreurs et des malentendus quant à leur signification réelle.

Nous devons prendre conscience que ce sont des mots qui font référence à des réalités sociales importantes et dont les effets sont la cause de la douleur pour des milliers de personnes sur la planète.

Pour cette raison, il est nécessaire de connaître la nature de ces réalités à partir de la définition fournie par Psychology.

Les stéréotypes

Définition et transcendance

Les stéréotypes sont des croyances ou des idées organisées sur les caractéristiques associées à différents groupes sociaux : aspect physique, intérêts, occupations, groupes ethniques, etc. Ce sont des images simplifiées de la façon dont les groupes sont visualisés et de ce qu'ils font. Les catégories sont constituées d’interprétations, d’idées et d’opinions sur les éléments.


En psychologie, ces cognitions et interprétations de groupes sociaux sont des stéréotypes. Nous avons tous des stéréotypes parce que notre esprit organise les concepts en catégories, et ils ne sont pas toujours négatifs, ils doivent être compris comme les deux faces d'une même pièce.

Les dangers de la généralisation

En bref, les stéréotypes sont des généralisations généralisées sur les membres d'un groupe social qui provoquent une tendance à accentuer les similitudes au sein du groupe, en particulier lorsque la catégorisation a une valeur ou une importance pour celui qui le fait et les différences avec d'autres groupes.

Si nous connaissons une femme noire et une femme étrangère, nous la classons dans les groupes de femmes, étrangers et noirs. En raison de leur classement dans ces catégories, des stéréotypes sont générés à leur égard par les trois groupes et s’ils sont négatifs, une série est créée. des croyances et des idées à leur sujet qui ne correspondent sûrement pas à la réalité.


La formation de stéréotypes tend à être d'origine sociale par le biais d'un apprentissage par observation. C'est la raison pour laquelle le naturel et la spontanéité avec lesquels les stéréotypes sont appris dans notre comportement social sont fréquents. Dans ce cas, eIl faut souligner que nous devons être en mesure d’avancer une réflexion à l'heuristique qui suppose de généraliser à l'excès, en particulier dans le cas où, plus ou moins inconsciemment, nous avons des stéréotypes négatifs envers un groupe de personnes. Élargir la perspective culturelle de certaines idées préétablies et en faire abstraction peut être essentiel si l’on considère la réalité de manière naturelle et non stéréotypée.

Préjugés

La définition

Préjugés sont les sentiments et les émotions positifs ou négatifs que vous ressentez à propos d'un groupe social et de ses membres . Les évaluations affectives dépendent des croyances relatives au groupe. C'est la composante affective associée aux catégories, la valorisation. Ils sont directement liés aux stéréotypes, c'est-à-dire que si un stéréotype est négatif, des préjugés négatifs peuvent être générés et si le stéréotype est positif, un préjugé positif peut être généré.


À priori

La différence fondamentale est que les préjugés sont une sorte d'évaluation émotionnelle, tandis que les stéréotypes sont une croyance antérieure de nature cognitive . De manière générale, les idées et convictions antérieures conduisent à des évaluations déjà "biaisées" de manière positive ou négative. Ceux qui s'identifient à l'Atlético de Madrid accordent plus d'importance aux membres de l'équipe, tandis que les partenaires du Real Madrid seront évalués de manière négative. Les préjugés et les stéréotypes sont généralement présents au même moment sans provenir de phases différenciées.

Discrimination

Définition et exemples

Enfin, la discrimination diffère des précédentes en ce qu’il s’agit d’un comportement approprié. Il est défini comme le comportement différencié et observable envers un groupe social ou ses membres . Dans le cas de l'exemple de la femme noire que nous avons vu dans les stéréotypes, les personnes qui l'entourent, en plus des stéréotypes, peuvent développer des préjugés et cela peut conduire à une discrimination, c'est-à-dire qu'un comportement négatif différencié sera présenté ou pourrait être positif pour les autres envers sa personne.

Analyser les préjugés, les stéréotypes et la discrimination de la psychologie cognitive

Pour identifier les stéréotypes, les préjugés et la discrimination, nous devons étudier une personne appartenant à un certain groupe social et qui, en tant que membre de ce groupe, est victime de discrimination de la part d'une autre personne appartenant à un groupe différent. Pour les analyser, il faut d'abord observer le comportement discriminatoire et en déduire à la fois les préjugés et les stéréotypes, car de cette manière, à partir de l'observable et objectif, nous déduisons l'émotif, à savoir les préjugés et le cognitif, les stéréotypes.

Comme nous pouvons le voir, Ces concepts sont liés mais ils sont différents et il est nécessaire de bien connaître les différences entre eux . Selon les circonstances, ils peuvent établir une relation ou non, c'est-à-dire que quelqu'un peut développer des stéréotypes et des préjugés mais pas de discrimination, ou seulement développer des stéréotypes mais pas des préjugés ou de la discrimination. En général, les stéréotypes génèrent des préjugés pouvant mener à la discrimination.

Déplacer les exposés au quotidien

Avec ces définitions à l'esprit, nous pouvons savoir si la discrimination se produit correctement dans notre environnement le plus proche et ce qui est plus important, c'est de percevoir s'il existe des indications sous forme de stéréotypes, de préjugés ou des deux qui peuvent conduire à un comportement discriminatoire.

Entre nos mains, il faut identifier ces situations et agir pour les prévenir ou, dans le dernier cas, y remédier.

Je vous recommande de lire: "Les 10 raisons d'arrêter de juger les autres"

In Your Face: Confronting Tattoo Prejudice (Tattoo Documentary) - Real Stories Original (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes