yes, therapy helps!
Hebb's Law: the neuropsychological basis of learning

Hebb's Law: the neuropsychological basis of learning

May 23, 2024

The so-called Hebb's law , proposed by the neuropsychologist Donald Hebb, states that synaptic connections are strengthened when two or more neurons are activated contiguously in time and space. By associating the firing of the presynaptic cell with the activity of the postsynaptic, structural changes take place that favor the appearance of assemblies or neural networks.

In this article we will analyze the main approaches of this theory, which had a seminal influence on neuropsychology: among other aspects, it is considered that Hebb's rule inspired the concept of long-term empowerment and the models of neural networks that explain learning and the memory.


  • Related article: "Neuropsychology: what is it and what is its object of study?"

Role of neuronal plasticity in learning

From the neuroscience point of view, the biological basis of learning lies in neuronal plasticity . This concept refers to the ability of the nervous system to modify the nature and strength of synapses, that is, the connections between neurons that allow the transmission of electrochemical impulses.

In the last decades, the hypothesis that our brain stores information in neural networks has acquired great popularity and strong scientific support. The structure of the nervous system and the relationships between its elements constitute the information we process; the memory, on the other hand, consists in the activation of these networks.


The origin of this type of approach goes back directly to a specific hypothesis: the cell assembly theory of Donald Hebb . The study of neural networks, which constitutes a framework of nuclear work in current cognitive neuroscience, has been developed around the basic principles proposed by this author.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

The law of Hebb (or Theory of the cellular assembly)

In 1949 the psychologist Donald Hebb published the book "The organization of behavior", where he developed a pioneering theory on the neural bases of learning. Although Hebb's proposal is called "Theory of the Cellular Assembly", it is usually referred to through the term by which its basic principle is known: Hebb's law.

Hebb's rule states that if two neurons are active at approximately the same time their connections are strengthened . Specifically, Hebb said that if the axon of neuron A is close enough to the B cell and repeatedly contributes to firing it, certain structural or metabolic changes will increase the effectiveness of such a synapse.


Specifically, this would cause the appearance of terminal buttons, or the enlargement of other existing ones, in the axon of the presynaptic neuron; these would be in direct contact with the soma of the postsynaptic cell. The physical and functional association between different neurons would lead to engrams or cell assemblies -now "neural networks".

In this way, the stronger it is the contingency between neuronal activation and a certain type of stimulation the greater the probability that the relevant neural networks will trigger impulses when the stimulus occurs again. This also explains why the practice or review makes it difficult for synapses to weaken (as in oblivion).

For this to happen, Hebb proposed, it is necessary that the first neuron be activated immediately before the second; if the neural firing occurs at the same time in both cells, however, there is no causality in the synapse, so the connection would not be strengthened in the same way.

However, this law explains only the strengthening of associations, and not their formation. A) Yes, learning is based on the consolidation of pre-existing synapses , determined fundamentally by variables of biological and genetic type. According to Hebb, each neuronal circuit can be directly related to a learned activity.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Influence of this neuropsychological model

Hebb's proposal had a strong impact on neuropsychology, becoming the core of many approaches developed in the subsequent decades, and remains a very important reference in this field today.

At the beginning of the 70s, the existence of a very relevant mechanism for learning was discovered: long-term empowerment, which consists of the consolidation of memories through repeated experience.Thus, short-term memory is based on structural changes (gene expression, protein synthesis and changes in synapses).

The validation of this model gave support to the fundamental thesis of Hebb, determining the concrete biological bases that explain its law. Nowadays we also know with certainty that the long-term potentiation is limited exclusively to neurons that are active at the same time, and that if several synapses converge in the same neuron these are further strengthened.

One of the most recent applications of Hebb's rule is related to mirror neurons , which are activated both when we execute a behavior and when we see another living being doing the same and are understood as the basis of empathy and the theory of the mind. It has been discovered that the relevant synapses are strengthened following Hebb's law.


Hebb's Three Postulates: from Brain to Soma (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Loi de Hebb: la base neuropsychologique de l'apprentissage

Loi de Hebb: la base neuropsychologique de l'apprentissage

Septembre 19, 2022

La soi-disant loi de Hebb , proposé par le neuropsychologue Donald Hebb, précise que les connexions synaptiques sont renforcées lorsque deux ou plusieurs neurones sont activés de manière contiguë dans le temps et dans l’espace. En associant le déclenchement de la cellule présynaptique à l'activité post-synaptique, il se produit des changements structurels qui favorisent l'apparition d'assemblages ou de réseaux de neurones.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principales approches de cette théorie, qui a eu une influence déterminante sur la neuropsychologie: entre autres aspects, il est considéré que la règle de Hebb a inspiré le concept d'autonomisation à long terme et les modèles de réseaux de neurones qui expliquent l'apprentissage et mémoire


  • Article connexe: "Neuropsychologie: qu'est-ce que c'est et quel est son objet d'étude?"

Rôle de la plasticité neuronale dans l'apprentissage

Du point de vue des neurosciences, la base biologique de l'apprentissage réside dans la plasticité neuronale . Ce concept fait référence à la capacité du système nerveux à modifier la nature et la force des synapses, c'est-à-dire les connexions entre neurones permettant la transmission d'impulsions électrochimiques.

Au cours des dernières décennies, l'hypothèse selon laquelle notre cerveau stocke des informations dans des réseaux de neurones a acquis une grande popularité et un solide soutien scientifique. La structure du système nerveux et les relations entre ses éléments constituent l'information que nous traitons. la mémoire, en revanche, consiste en l'activation de ces réseaux.


L'origine de ce type d'approche remonte directement à une hypothèse spécifique: la théorie de l'assemblage cellulaire de Donald Hebb . L'étude des réseaux de neurones, qui constitue un cadre de travail du nucléaire dans les neurosciences cognitives actuelles, a été développée autour des principes de base proposés par cet auteur.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

La loi de Hebb (ou théorie de l'assemblage cellulaire)

En 1949, le psychologue Donald Hebb publia le livre "L'organisation du comportement" dans lequel il développa une théorie pionnière sur les bases neurales de l'apprentissage. Bien que la proposition de Hebb s’appelle "Théorie de l’Assemblée Cellulaire", elle est généralement désignée par le terme qui désigne son principe fondamental: la loi de Hebb.

La règle de Hebb stipule que si deux neurones sont actifs à peu près au même moment, leurs connexions sont renforcées . Plus précisément, Hebb a déclaré que si l'axone du neurone A est suffisamment proche de la cellule B et contribue de manière répétée à son déclenchement, certains changements structurels ou métaboliques augmenteront l'efficacité d'une telle synapse.


Plus précisément, cela provoquerait l’apparition de boutons terminaux, ou l’agrandissement d’autres boutons existants, dans l’axone du neurone présynaptique; ceux-ci seraient en contact direct avec le soma de la cellule postsynaptique. L'association physique et fonctionnelle entre différents neurones conduirait à des engrammes ou à des assemblages cellulaires, appelés «réseaux de neurones».

De cette façon, plus il est fort la contingence entre l'activation neuronale et un certain type de stimulation plus grande est la probabilité que les réseaux de neurones pertinents déclenchent des impulsions lorsque le stimulus se reproduit. Cela explique également pourquoi la pratique ou la révision empêche les synapses de s’affaiblir (comme dans l’oubli).

Pour cela, a proposé Hebb, il est nécessaire que le premier neurone soit activé juste avant le second; si le déclenchement neuronal se produit au même moment dans les deux cellules, il n'y a aucune causalité dans la synapse, de sorte que la connexion ne sera pas renforcée de la même manière.

Cependant, cette loi n’explique que le renforcement des associations et non leur formation. Ainsi, l'apprentissage est basé sur la consolidation des synapses préexistantes , déterminé fondamentalement par des variables de type biologique et génétique. Selon Hebb, chaque circuit neuronal peut être directement lié à une activité apprise.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Influence de ce modèle neuropsychologique

La proposition de Hebb a eu un impact important sur la neuropsychologie, devenant le noyau de nombreuses approches développées au cours des décennies suivantes et reste une référence très importante dans ce domaine aujourd'hui.

Au début des années 70, l'existence d'un mécanisme d'apprentissage très pertinent a été découverte: autonomisation à long terme, qui consiste en la consolidation des mémoires à travers l'expérience répétée.Ainsi, la mémoire à court terme est basée sur des changements structurels (expression génique, synthèse de protéines et modifications des synapses).

La validation de ce modèle a conforté la thèse fondamentale de Hebb, qui consiste à déterminer les bases biologiques concrètes qui en expliquent la loi. De nos jours, nous savons également avec certitude que la potentialisation à long terme est limitée exclusivement aux neurones actifs en même temps, et que si plusieurs synapses convergent dans le même neurone, elles sont encore renforcées.

Une des applications les plus récentes de La règle de Hebb est liée aux neurones miroirs , qui sont activés à la fois lorsque nous adoptons un comportement et lorsque nous voyons un autre être vivant faire la même chose et sont compris comme la base de l’empathie et de la théorie de l’esprit. Il a été découvert que les synapses concernées sont renforcées conformément à la loi de Hebb.


Animating Hebb's Three Postulates: from Brain to Soma (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes