yes, therapy helps!
What is sexual violence and what consequences can it leave?

What is sexual violence and what consequences can it leave?

September 26, 2022

After the scandalous sentence issued on the trial of five men who sexually assaulted a young woman, a large part of the population has been shocked, generating a social debate in relation to sexual violence and how a reform of the penal code would be fundamental.

It becomes more necessary than ever to be clear about the meaning of sexual violence and the nature of the type of acts of which it is composed.

  • Related article: "The Sexual Assault Control Program: this is how this type of treatment works"

What is sexual violence?

The concept of sexual violence refers to a traumatic experience in relation to sexual activity maintained by two or more people where there is no consent by one of the people involved. This term encompasses three types of violence.


1. Sexual harassment

In the first place, sexual harassment is usually carried out verbally, through messages, calls or through coercion and blackmail, that is, the use of psychological violence . The aggressor pressures and intimidates the victim so that the other person has sexual relations. For example, in the workplace that a person coerces another to have sex because if you do not lose your job.

2. Sexual abuse

Another type of sexual violence we encounter is sexual abuse. This term refers to any action that forces a person, male or female, to carry out sexual behaviors that they do not want to carry out or maintain. That is, the aggressor, whether male or female, assumes the freedom to access the body of another person without the consent of this , and there is no authorization of sexual activity by one of the parties.


3. Sexual aggression

Finally, sexual assault consists of access the body of the victim, without consent, and using the use of direct violence as a way to get to sexual activity. The most serious form of sexual assault is through penetration.

Beyond physical pain

As it is observed, the sentence to the aggressor can vary depending on the type of sexual violence used. One of the main differences between the three types is the use of physical violence. But how do we know Physical violence is not the only form of violence that exists and as its name indicates, in the different types we find ourselves under a case of sexual violence.

Perhaps, a part of the debate opened in these last days should focus here and that is not the use of physical violence the determinant of a greater or lesser sentence, if not that the act itself, the simple fact of restricting the sexual freedom of someone condemn yourself


The sentence issued affirms that there is no physical violence, since the victim admits that he chose not to resist. Perhaps there are no visible blows or wounds, but the penetration not allowed by five men towards a woman, coercion about sexual freedom and of course emotional harm and the subsequent psychological consequences are more than enough.

Why are we sometimes unable to defend ourselves against a threat?

One of the reproaches that has been made to the victim is that did not object at the time of the sexual act . This behavior, from a psychobiological point of view, has a survival function when we are faced with a threat of a different nature.

In our brain we have an extremely powerful sensor, known as amygdala, which will be the internal alarm that warns us that there is an external or internal threat, since it is one of the areas responsible for fear. When our alarm is activated our body is going to prepare to face that threat, that is, we prepare to give a fight or flight response. With him a great adrenaline rush will appear in the body participating in this response. In turn, the areas responsible for decision-making are inhibited, anesthetized, due to stress chemicals.

Therefore, the person is in a state of hyperactivation, that is, all their alarm systems are activated, resulting in a total incapacity to make decisions , so it will be our nervous system that decides in an instinctive way promoting our survival.

In the face of very serious threats, panic, traumas and crisis situations, where the situation surpasses us and we do not have the necessary resources, our brain automatically disconnects. This phenomenon is known as dissociation , protecting us from emotional pain and suffering.In this state there is a relative absence of sensations, freezing of emotions or reduction of physical movements. Being the defense less active, we will not try to flee, we will not be able to say no. It will be our brain that speaks for us and the person will act automatically.

  • Related article: "Adrenaline, the hormone that activates us"

What are the psychological and emotional consequences of sexual abuse?

These are some of the habitual sequels that leave the experiences linked to sexual abuse.

1. PTSD

A Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder may occur, the symptoms of which are related to the appearance of nightmares where you relive what happened. Flashback appearance where memory appears in a very invasive way, negative thoughts, and alterations of mood.

2. Appearance of feelings of guilt and shame

The victim has the false belief that what happened could have been avoided if he had acted differently.

3. Fear of talking

Inability of the victim to tell what happened fear of rejection .

4. Depressive feelings

Sometimes you even develop an emotional disorder.

5. Isolation

Social isolation can be good out of embarrassment, fear or distrust of others .

6. Self-injury

Use of self-harm behaviors as a way to calm the emotional damage suffered or even the appearance of suicidal behavior

7. Drug use

Substance abuse as a way to isolate yourself and not think about what happened as a way to calm all the emotional damage.

8. Decrease in self-esteem

All this leaves a mark in the self-concept.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy"

Revivier the trauma

It is important to take into account the revictimization that occurs in the victim generated by institutions, media and professionals . Certain initiatives make the victim relive again and again the pain and emotions that are associated with the traumatic event. Especially in cases as mediatic as the latter, where even the victim is being questioned in relation to the given response.


Challenging normalization of sexual violence against women | Susana Pavlou | TEDxUniversityofNicosia (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la violence sexuelle et quelles conséquences peut-elle laisser?

Qu'est-ce que la violence sexuelle et quelles conséquences peut-elle laisser?

Juin 23, 2022

Après la condamnation scandaleuse prononcée à l'issue du procès de cinq hommes qui ont agressé sexuellement une jeune femme, une grande partie de la population a été choquée, générant un débat social sur les violences sexuelles et indiquant à quel point une réforme du code pénal serait fondamentale.

Il devient plus que jamais nécessaire de bien comprendre le sens de la violence sexuelle et la nature du type d'actes qui le composent.

  • Article connexe: «Le programme de contrôle des agressions sexuelles: voici comment fonctionne ce type de traitement»

Qu'est-ce que la violence sexuelle?

Le concept de violence sexuelle fait référence à une expérience traumatique en relation avec l'activité sexuelle maintenues par deux personnes ou plus sans consentement de l'une des personnes impliquées. Ce terme englobe trois types de violence.


1. Harcèlement sexuel

En premier lieu, le harcèlement sexuel est généralement commis verbalement, par le biais de messages, d'appels téléphoniques ou par la contrainte et le chantage, c'est-à-dire l'utilisation de la violence psychologique . L'agresseur fait pression et intimide la victime pour que l'autre personne ait des relations sexuelles. Par exemple, sur le lieu de travail, une personne oblige une autre personne à avoir des relations sexuelles parce que vous ne perdez pas votre emploi.

2. Abus sexuel

Les violences sexuelles sont un autre type de violence sexuelle que nous rencontrons. Ce terme désigne toute action qui oblige une personne, homme ou femme, à adopter des comportements sexuels qu’elle ne souhaite pas avoir ou maintenir. Autrement dit, l'agresseur, homme ou femme, suppose la liberté d'accéder au corps d'une autre personne sans le consentement de cette , et il n'y a pas d'autorisation d'activité sexuelle par l'une des parties.


3. Agression sexuelle

Enfin, l'agression sexuelle consiste en accéder au corps de la victime sans consentement et en ayant recours à la violence directe comme moyen de se livrer à une activité sexuelle. La forme la plus grave d'agression sexuelle est la pénétration.

Au-delà de la douleur physique

Comme on le voit, la peine infligée à l'agresseur peut varier en fonction du type de violence sexuelle utilisée. L'une des principales différences entre les trois types est le recours à la violence physique. Mais comment savons-nous La violence physique n'est pas la seule forme de violence qui existe et comme son nom l'indique, dans les différents types, nous nous trouvons dans une affaire de violence sexuelle.

Peut-être une partie du débat ouvert ces derniers jours devrait-elle être centrée ici et ce n’est pas le recours à la violence physique qui est déterminant pour une peine plus ou moins lourde, sinon que l’acte lui-même, le simple fait de restreindre la liberté sexuelle de quelqu'un condamnez-vous


La peine prononcée affirme qu'il n'y a pas de violence physique puisque la victime admet avoir choisi de ne pas résister. Peut-être n'y a-t-il ni coups ni blessures visibles, mais la pénétration non autorisée par cinq hommes envers une femme, coercition à propos de la liberté sexuelle et bien sûr du préjudice émotionnel et les conséquences psychologiques ultérieures sont plus que suffisantes.

Pourquoi sommes-nous parfois incapables de nous défendre contre une menace?

Un des reproches qui a été fait à la victime est que ne s'est pas opposé au moment de l'acte sexuel . Ce comportement, d’un point de vue psychobiologique, a une fonction de survie lorsque nous sommes confrontés à une menace de nature différente.

Dans notre cerveau, nous avons un capteur extrêmement puissant, appelé amygdale, qui sera l'alarme interne qui nous avertira qu'il existe une menace externe ou interne, car il s'agit d'un des domaines responsables de la peur. Lorsque notre alarme est déclenchée, notre corps va se préparer à faire face à cette menace, c'est-à-dire que nous nous préparons à réagir au combat ou à la fuite. Je reçois une grande montée d'adrénaline apparaîtra dans le corps participant à cette réponse. À leur tour, les zones responsables de la prise de décision sont inhibées, anesthésiées, en raison des produits chimiques de stress.

Par conséquent, la personne est dans un état d'hyperactivation, c'est-à-dire que tous ses systèmes d'alarme sont activés. entraînant une incapacité totale à prendre des décisions , ce sera donc notre système nerveux qui décidera instinctivement de promouvoir notre survie.

Face à des menaces très graves, à la panique, aux traumatismes et aux situations de crise, où la situation nous dépasse et où nous n'avons pas les ressources nécessaires, notre cerveau se déconnecte automatiquement. Ce phénomène s'appelle la dissociation , nous protégeant de la douleur et de la souffrance émotionnelles.Dans cet état, il y a une absence relative de sensations, un gel des émotions ou une réduction des mouvements physiques. La défense étant moins active, nous n'essaierons pas de fuir, nous ne pourrons pas dire non. Ce sera notre cerveau qui parle pour nous et la personne agira automatiquement.

  • Article connexe: "L'adrénaline, l'hormone qui nous active"

Quelles sont les conséquences psychologiques et émotionnelles des abus sexuels?

Ce sont quelques unes des séquelles habituelles qui laissent derrière les expériences liées aux abus sexuels.

1. SSPT

Un syndrome de stress post-traumatique peut se produire, dont les symptômes sont liés à l'apparition de cauchemars où vous revivez ce qui s'est passé. Apparence de flashback où la mémoire apparaît de manière très invasive, des pensées négatives et des altérations de l'humeur.

2. Apparition de sentiments de culpabilité et de honte

La victime a la fausse conviction que ce qui s'est passé aurait pu être évité s'il avait agi différemment.

3. Peur de parler

Incapacité de la victime à raconter ce qui s'est passé peur du rejet .

4. sentiments dépressifs

Parfois, vous développez même un trouble émotionnel.

5. Isolement

L'isolement social peut être bon par embarras, peur ou méfiance envers les autres .

6. automutilation

Utilisation de comportements d'automutilation comme moyen de calmer les dommages émotionnels subis ou même l'apparence d'un comportement suicidaire

7. Usage de drogue

Toxicomanie comme moyen de vous isoler et de ne pas penser à ce qui s'est passé comme moyen de calmer tous les dommages émotionnels.

8. Diminution de l'estime de soi

Tout cela laisse une marque dans le concept de soi.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Faible estime de soi? Quand vous devenez votre pire ennemi"

Revivier le traumatisme

Il est important de prendre en compte la revictimisation qui se produit chez la victime générée par les institutions, les médias et les professionnels . Certaines initiatives permettent à la victime de revivre encore et encore la douleur et les émotions associées à l'événement traumatique. Surtout dans des cas aussi médiatiques que le dernier, où même la victime est interrogée par rapport à la réponse donnée.


Abus sexuels des enfants : quelles conséquences ? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes