yes, therapy helps!
The 6 differences between separation and divorce

The 6 differences between separation and divorce

November 27, 2021

They say that love is a force that moves the world. And the truth is that it is one of the most powerful emotions, capable of making us join our lives and our path to those of another person.

But, nevertheless, sometimes love also ends. It is possible that a couple can not resolve incompatibilities of character or life goals, that infidelities occur and they can not be forgiven or, simply, that the flame of love that united the couple ends up becoming extinct or transform into something totally different from what our partner made us feel.

In many of these cases the partners can decide that the best thing could be to break the relationship or let it rest for a while, to either reflect or return to the path alone. This break can take many names, the best known being separation or divorce. But although sometimes they are indistinctly spoken of, the truth is that we are dealing with two terms that are not synonymous. Throughout this article we will make a brief definition of each one of them and see the differences between separation and divorce .


  • Related article: "Marital crisis: 5 keys to understand them"

Separation and divorce: basic definition

Separation and divorce are two terms widely known by the majority of the population, often being deeply linked to each other . However, we are not before synonymous concepts, making each of them reference to a different reality.

We understand separation to the process by which the termination or cessation of life as a couple occurs, this being the product of a decision by both components (de facto separation) or judicially.

While the separation implies that each member of a couple will move on to live his life independently (having to agree custody and care of offspring, aspects related to housing or division of property, annulling the matrimonial economic regime) does not imply per se the dissolution of the couple at the legal level, following in practice both married subjects .


The separation implies a situation in which the couple can go to reconcile or to divorce, being in general now a period in which their members finish deciding if they try to return or completely cease their relationship.

With regard to divorce, it is known as the process by which members of the couple extinguish their conjugal union completely, in such a way that an end to marriage is put and after finishing the process, they are no longer married. While in the past it was necessary for both spouses to agree to this pass, at present it is only necessary that one of them requires it and not requiring the agreement of the other to end their legal relationship.

However, it will be necessary to establish, either by mutual agreement or by judicial means, aspects such as the custody, care and maintenance of the children, the visitation regime for those who do not have custody or the distribution of the assets in case of maintain a regime of acquisitions.


In practice, both concepts have many aspects in common : usually in both cases there is a dissolution of a couple relationship, as well as the cessation of the regime of shared and joint property, the elimination of powers such as the possibility of inheritance or donation and rights with respect to and the taking of different types of legal measures regarding the custody, maintenance and care of children and beings in situations of dependency.

In fact, historically they have been so linked that in Spain, until 2005, in order to be able to divorce, it was a necessary requirement to have been separated. But as can be deduced from their descriptions, there are differences that differentiate them from each other.

  • Maybe you're interested: "7 tips to overcome divorce"

Differences between separation and divorce

Separation and divorce, although as we have said are two concepts that although they have a lot in common, basically they refer to different processes which they have elements that allow them to be distinguished . In this sense, the main differences between divorce and separation are the following, although the latter has more to do with the colloquial use of the term than the concept itself.

1. Termination of marriage

The main and most noticeable difference between separation and divorce refers to the type of link that such a break involves.

While in the separation we refer only to the cessation of coexistence and life in common (taking if legal effects on the property, custody of children, pets and dependents and on the possibility of inheritance) without it both subjects are no longer married, in the case of divorce the marriage union is completely terminated , leaving both subjects to be legally united with all that this implies.

2. Reversibility

A second difference between separation and divorce is found in the reversibility of the process. The divorce implies a totally irreversible dissolution of the marriage even in case of reconciliation, being the only legal alternative to remarry. Separation on the other hand does not extinguish the marriage bond , so that in case of reconciliation the couple would remain legally united and could reinstate the previous rights and legal status prior to their separation after having notified the judge.

3. Remarriage

Another difference, directly derived from the previous one, is the possibility of remarrying another person. In the case of divorce, the legal bond that united people has been dissolved, and they can remarry with other people if they wish. However, when we speak of separation, there has not been a separation between the betrothal, in such a way that they are legally married and they can not remarry (or else bigamy would be committed).

4. One does not necessarily imply the other

While it may seem strange and usually when a divorce also comes the separation hand, the fact is that one thing does not necessarily imply the other: it is possible for a couple to separate (even legally) without divorce for example because still do not know whether to reconcile or divorce , as well as the less frequent fact that although the couple legally divorces, in practice they can continue living together without separating (beyond the legal separation and the cessation of the rights of the marriage union).

5. Availability

Another difference can be found in the fact that there is the possibility of resorting to the procedure in question. And is that although today in most countries it is possible to divorce there are still some countries where divorce is not legal, such as the Philippines and the Vatican. In these places, separation is the only possible option for those couples who no longer want to continue together , should also be a de facto separation.

6. Difference in the use of the term: existence or not of effects at the legal level

A possible difference between separation and divorce comes from the colloquial use of the first of the terms, not really being a difference if we are talking about a legal separation.

And is that when we speak of separation in many cases we are talking about a separation of fact, in which both people agree to stop seeing each other for an undetermined time without there being any kind of judicial intervention and in which there would not have to be an affectation at the legal level.

This would be a difference with the term divorce, in which we always talk about the extinction of a marriage bond in which there are effects at the legal level. However, there is also separation as a judicial procedure, which would mediate legal institutions and that would have a legal effect applicable to aspects such as property and custody of children. Thus, this difference is not such, except in the more generic concept in which the separation term is used.


What Is The Difference Between Divorce And Legal Separation? (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 différences entre séparation et divorce

Les 6 différences entre séparation et divorce

Novembre 26, 2022

Ils disent que l'amour est une force qui fait bouger le monde. Et la vérité est que c’est l’une des émotions les plus puissantes, capable de nous amener à rejoindre nos vies et notre chemin avec ceux d’une autre personne.

Mais néanmoins, parfois, l'amour se termine aussi. Il est possible qu'un couple ne puisse pas résoudre les incompatibilités de buts de vie ou de caractère, que des infidélités se produisent et qu'elles ne puissent être pardonnées ou, tout simplement, que la flamme d'amour qui unissait le couple finisse par s'éteindre ou transformer en quelque chose de totalement différent de ce que notre partenaire nous a fait ressentir.

Dans nombre de ces cas, les partenaires peuvent décider que la meilleure chose à faire est de rompre la relation ou de la laisser reposer un moment, de réfléchir ou de revenir sur le chemin seul. Cette pause peut prendre plusieurs noms, le plus connu étant la séparation ou le divorce. Mais bien que parfois on en parle indistinctement, la vérité est qu’il s’agit de deux termes qui ne sont pas synonymes. Tout au long de cet article, nous allons donner une brève définition de chacun d’entre eux et voir les différences entre la séparation et le divorce .


  • Article connexe: "Crise conjugale: 5 clés pour les comprendre"

Séparation et divorce: définition de base

Séparation et divorce sont deux termes largement connus de la majorité de la population, étant souvent profondément liés les uns aux autres . Cependant, nous ne sommes pas avant des concepts synonymes, faisant chacun référence à une réalité différente.

Nous comprenons la séparation dans le processus par lequel se produit la cessation ou la cessation de la vie en tant que couple, ceci étant le produit d'une décision prise par les deux composantes (séparation de facto) ou judiciairement.

Alors que la séparation implique que chaque membre d'un couple va passer à vivre sa vie de façon indépendante (avoir à convenir de la garde et des soins de la progéniture, des aspects liés au logement ou au partage des biens, annuler le régime économique matrimonial) n'implique pas en soi la dissolution du couple sur le plan juridique, suivant en pratique les deux sujets mariés .


La séparation implique une situation dans laquelle le couple peut aller se réconcilier ou divorcer. C’est en général une période au cours de laquelle ses membres finissent de décider s’ils tentent de revenir ou de mettre complètement fin à leur relation.

En ce qui concerne le divorce, il est connu comme le processus par lequel les membres du couple éteignent complètement leur union conjugale, de telle sorte que on met fin au mariage et après avoir terminé le processus, ils ne sont plus mariés. S'il était nécessaire par le passé que les deux époux acceptent ce laissez-passer, il suffit à présent que l'un d'eux l'exige et non de l'accord de l'autre pour mettre fin à leur relation juridique.

Cependant, il sera nécessaire d'établir, soit d'un commun accord, soit par voie judiciaire, des aspects tels que la garde, le soin et l'entretien des enfants, le régime de visite pour ceux qui n'ont pas la garde ou la distribution des biens en cas de maintenir un régime d'acquisitions.


En pratique, les deux concepts ont de nombreux aspects en commun : généralement dans les deux cas, il y a dissolution du couple, ainsi que la cessation du régime des biens communs et communs, la suppression de pouvoirs tels que la possibilité d'héritage ou de donation et les droits à l'égard de et la prise de types de mesures juridiques concernant la garde, l'entretien et la garde d'enfants et d'êtres en situation de dépendance.

En fait, ils ont toujours été tellement liés qu'en Espagne, jusqu'en 2005, pour pouvoir divorcer, la séparation était une condition nécessaire. Mais comme on peut le déduire de leurs descriptions, il existe des différences qui les différencient les unes des autres.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "7 conseils pour surmonter le divorce"

Différences entre séparation et divorce

La séparation et le divorce, bien que, comme nous l’avons dit, sont deux concepts qui, bien qu’ils aient beaucoup en commun, renvoient essentiellement à des processus différents qui ils ont des éléments qui permettent de les distinguer . En ce sens, les principales différences entre divorce et séparation sont les suivantes, bien que cette dernière ait davantage à voir avec l'usage courant du terme que le concept lui-même.

1. Fin du mariage

La différence principale et la plus notable entre séparation et divorce concerne le type de lien que comporte une telle rupture.

Dans la séparation, nous nous référons uniquement à la cessation de la coexistence et de la vie en commun (effets si légaux sur la propriété, garde des enfants, des animaux domestiques et des personnes à charge et possibilité de succession) sans cela les deux sujets ne sont plus mariés, en cas de divorce, l'union conjugale est complètement terminée , laissant les deux sujets légalement unis à tout ce que cela implique.

2. Réversibilité

Une deuxième différence entre la séparation et le divorce réside dans la réversibilité du processus. Le divorce implique une dissolution totalement irréversible du mariage, même en cas de réconciliation, constituant la seule alternative légale au remariage. La séparation par contre n'éteint pas le lien du mariage , afin que, en cas de réconciliation, le couple reste légalement uni et puisse rétablir les droits et le statut juridique antérieurs avant leur séparation, après en avoir informé le juge.

3. Remariage

Une autre différence, directement issue de la précédente, est la possibilité de se remarier avec une autre personne. En cas de divorce, le lien juridique qui unissait les personnes unies a été dissout et elles peuvent se remarier avec d'autres personnes si elles le souhaitent. Cependant, quand on parle de séparation, il n'y a pas eu de séparation entre les fiançailles, de telle sorte que ils sont légalement mariés et ils ne peuvent pas se remarier (sinon la bigamie serait commise).

4. L'un n'implique pas nécessairement l'autre

Bien que cela puisse sembler étrange et que, généralement, quand un divorce survient, la séparation existe aussi, le fait est qu'une chose n'implique pas nécessairement l'autre: il est possible pour un couple de se séparer (même légalement) sans divorce, par exemple toujours ne sais pas s'il faut concilier ou divorcer , ainsi que le fait moins fréquent que, bien que le couple ait légalement divorcé, il peut en pratique continuer à vivre ensemble sans se séparer (au-delà de la séparation légale et de la cessation des droits de l'union conjugale).

5. Disponibilité

Une autre différence réside dans le fait qu’il existe une possibilité de recourir à la procédure en question. Et est-ce bien qu'aujourd'hui dans la plupart des pays, il est possible de divorcer, il existe encore des pays où le divorce n'est pas légal, comme les Philippines et le Vatican. Dans ces endroits, la séparation est la seule option possible pour les couples qui ne veulent plus continuer ensemble , devrait également être une séparation de facto.

6. Différence d'utilisation du terme: existence ou non d'effets au niveau juridique

Une différence possible entre séparation et divorce vient de l'usage courant du premier terme, qui ne constitue pas vraiment une différence s'il s'agit d'une séparation légale.

Et est-ce que lorsque nous parlons de séparation, dans de nombreux cas, nous parlons d'une séparation de fait, dans laquelle les deux personnes conviennent de ne plus se voir pendant un temps indéterminé sans qu'il y ait aucune sorte d'intervention judiciaire et dans lequel il ne devrait pas y avoir d’affectation au niveau juridique.

Ce serait une différence avec le terme divorce, dans lequel nous parlons toujours de l'extinction d'un lien matrimonial dans lequel il y a des effets au niveau juridique. Cependant, il existe également une séparation en tant que procédure judiciaire, qui servirait d'intermédiaire aux institutions juridiques et aurait un effet juridique applicable à des aspects tels que la propriété et la garde des enfants. Ainsi, cette différence n’est pas telle, sauf dans le concept plus générique dans lequel le terme de séparation est utilisé.


Législation sur la séparation et le divorce au Canada (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes