yes, therapy helps!
10 signs to detect a bad psychologist or therapist

10 signs to detect a bad psychologist or therapist

October 16, 2021

Psychological therapy is useful to overcome many problems that arise throughout our lives.

But unfortunately, the bad practices of some professionals may be present in any therapeutic relationship in the field of health (medicine, psychology, etc.). Although, sometimes, it is the patient who is not predisposed to change and does not benefit from psychotherapy in its entirety, it can happen that the psychologist or therapist does not perform his job properly, harming the mental health of the patient. patient.

Recommended article: "10 reasons why psychological therapy may not work"

Viktor Frankl , existential psychologist and author of the book "Man in search of meaning", coined the term "Iatrogenic neurosis" to refer to the negative effect generated (or worsened) by health agents, doctors, psychologists and therapists in the patient's health . And, despite the fact that a significant percentage of patients who attend psychotherapy sessions improve, Sometimes, psychological therapy can be counterproductive (can aggravate the problems that the person presents).


You can learn more about the life and work of this psychologist in our article: "Viktor Frankl: biography of an existential psychologist"

Signs that betray a bad psychologist or tearpeuta

But, What signs betray the bad professional practice of some psychotherapists? What reasons can cause that the patient does not improve due to the bad therapeutic and professional habits of some psychologists?

In the following lines we explain it to you.

1. You feel that you are being judged

You should never feel judged or criticized by the therapist, because no one in this life is perfect.

The psychologist should try to understand your situation, and even if he does not share it, he should not impose his opinion . The therapist-patient relationship is a professional relationship in which the psychologist must give you the necessary tools to improve your psychological well-being. A therapist who openly judges and criticizes his patients is not a good professional.


2. You are not an expert in your problem

The professional you visit may not be the psychologist you need. Within psychology there are different specializations, and not all psychologists have the necessary skills to help you in any kind of problem .

For example, a personal development psychologist does not have to possess the knowledge or skills necessary to deal with problems of eating behavior. In addition, the psychologist must understand that there are patients who work better with cognitive-behavioral therapy and others, for example, they do with Mindfulness therapy. In other words, not all therapies are the same for all people .

3. The therapist talks too much about himself

It is good that the therapist, during the therapy session, expose examples of situations similar to those of your problem so that you can feel identified.


This can help you understand the problem from another perspective and, in addition, can favor the climate of trust or rapport. However, when the therapist talks too much about himself, it is nothing positive . Some therapists may be tempted to talk about their accomplishments, their dilemmas, their jobs, articles, families, etc. But even worse when they reveal personal aspects of everyday life, such as sexual practices.

4. The therapist's communication is not correct

Studying a career in psychology can provide you with knowledge about mental health and psychotherapy. But, in addition to this knowledge, it is necessary for therapists to master certain interpersonal skills and communication skills.

One of the keys of the therapist-client relationship is that there is good communication and understanding between both actors , so that a good therapeutic alliance is created. If there are problems in this professional relationship, the expected benefits may not be produced. Maybe the problem is the attitude of the therapist or simply that there is no feeling Between both.

5. Cross the line

Although for many it may seem strange, Some therapists may feel an emotional connection with clients that goes beyond the professional relationship .

If, for example, the psychologist feels physical attraction for his patient, he may stop being objective when treating the client. If you notice unprofessional behaviors, such as hugs or repetitive caresses toward you, the therapist may be crossing the line. In addition, to have a healthy therapeutic relationship, it is counterproductive that therapist-patient encounters occur outside the office.

6. Do not listen actively

The therapeutic sessions are spaces of interaction in which emotions can be on the surface of the skin.

So, The therapist, in addition to giving guidelines for action, must actively listen (that is, it must be with the five senses) to the patient. The therapists who interrupt the sessions continuously cause the connection and the feeling of confidence that has been created to be lost. But, in addition to interrupting, it is also not positive that it does not remember important data of your case.

Recommended article: "Active listening: the key to communicating with others"

7. Undervalue your problem

It may happen that the therapist underestimates the client's problem by misinterpreting the information received . This can cause you to choose a treatment that is not correct, worsening the patient's symptoms.

8. Talk about the lives of other patients

The information that the patient provides to the terpeuta is confidential information that can not be shared with other patients .

In the case that the psychologist shares with you private and confidential information of other clients, you should know that this professional is incurring in a bad practice, and can be denounced for it.

9. The therapist imposes his own value system

As explained in point one, the therapist should not question or criticize the patient .

But, in addition, if it imposes or promotes its scale of values ​​or beliefs, it is seriously damaging the therapeutic relationship. Therefore, even if the psychologist does not agree with the patient's political or religious beliefs or ideas, he should never question them.

10. Do not refer to other professionals when necessary

It may happen that the therapist detects that the relationship with the patient has come to an end for different reasons .

It is possible that the relationship between the two is not appropriate, that the patient needs the help of another professional expert in a certain topic or that this simply does not fit with their therapeutic model. In these cases, the therapist must refer the patient to another professional so that the latter can benefit from the help provided by another health professional. If you do not, you are incurring malpractice.


5 Signs You Are Seeing a BAD Therapist! psychology & mental health with Kati Morton (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
10 signes pour détecter un mauvais psychologue ou thérapeute

10 signes pour détecter un mauvais psychologue ou thérapeute

Mai 25, 2022

La thérapie psychologique est utile pour surmonter de nombreux problèmes qui se posent tout au long de notre vie.

Mais malheureusement les mauvaises pratiques de certains professionnels peuvent être présentes dans toute relation thérapeutique dans le domaine de la santé (médecine, psychologie, etc.). Bien que, parfois, ce soit le patient qui ne soit pas prédisposé au changement et ne bénéficie pas de la psychothérapie dans son intégralité, il peut arriver que le psychologue ou le thérapeute n'exécute pas son travail correctement, ce qui nuit à la santé mentale du patient. patient

Article recommandé: "10 raisons pour lesquelles une thérapie psychologique peut ne pas fonctionner"

Viktor Frankl , psychologue existentielle et auteur du livre "L'homme en quête de sens", a inventé le terme "névrose iatrogène" pour désigner l'effet négatif généré (ou aggravé) par les agents de santé, les médecins, les psychologues et les thérapeutes du patient . Et malgré le fait qu’un pourcentage important de patients qui assistent à des séances de psychothérapie s’améliorent, Parfois, la thérapie psychologique peut être contre-productive (peut aggraver les problèmes que la personne présente).


Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur la vie et le travail de ce psychologue dans notre article: "Viktor Frankl: biographie d'un psychologue existentiel"

Les signes qui trahissent un mauvais psychologue ou une larme

Mais Quels signes trahissent la mauvaise pratique professionnelle de certains psychothérapeutes? Quelles raisons peuvent causer que le patient ne s'améliore pas en raison des mauvaises habitudes thérapeutiques et professionnelles de certains psychologues?

Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous l'expliquons.

1. Vous sentez que vous êtes jugé

Vous ne devriez jamais vous sentir jugé ou critiqué par le thérapeute, car personne dans cette vie n'est parfait.

Le psychologue devrait essayer de comprendre votre situation et même s’il ne la partage pas, il ne devrait pas imposer son opinion. . La relation thérapeute-patient est une relation professionnelle dans laquelle le psychologue doit vous donner les outils nécessaires pour améliorer votre bien-être psychologique. Un thérapeute qui juge et critique ouvertement ses patients n'est pas un bon professionnel.


2. Vous n'êtes pas un expert dans votre problème

Le professionnel que vous visitez peut ne pas être le psychologue dont vous avez besoin. Au sein de la psychologie, il existe différentes spécialisations, et tous les psychologues n'ont pas les compétences nécessaires pour vous aider à résoudre n'importe quel problème .

Par exemple, un psychologue spécialiste du développement personnel ne doit pas posséder les connaissances ni les compétences nécessaires pour faire face aux problèmes de comportement alimentaire. De plus, le psychologue doit comprendre qu'il existe des patients qui travaillent mieux avec la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale et d'autres, par exemple avec la thérapie de la pleine conscience. En d'autres termes, toutes les thérapies ne sont pas les mêmes pour tous .

3. Le thérapeute parle trop de lui-même

Il est bon que le thérapeute expose, lors de la séance de thérapie, des exemples de situations similaires à celles de votre problème afin que vous puissiez vous sentir identifié.


Cela peut vous aider à comprendre le problème sous un autre angle et, en outre, favoriser le climat de confiance ou de relation. Maintenant bien, quand le thérapeute parle trop de lui-même, il n'y a rien de positif . Certains thérapeutes peuvent être tentés de parler de leurs réalisations, de leurs dilemmes, de leur travail, de leurs articles, de leur famille, etc. Mais encore pire quand ils révèlent des aspects personnels de la vie quotidienne, tels que les pratiques sexuelles.

4. La communication du thérapeute n'est pas correcte

Étudier une carrière en psychologie peut vous fournir des connaissances sur la santé mentale et la psychothérapie. Mais, en plus de ces connaissances, il est nécessaire que les thérapeutes maîtrisent certaines aptitudes en relations interpersonnelles et en communication.

Une des clés de la relation thérapeute-client est qu’il existe une bonne communication et une bonne compréhension entre les deux acteurs. , afin de créer une bonne alliance thérapeutique. S'il existe des problèmes dans cette relation professionnelle, les avantages escomptés peuvent ne pas être obtenus. Le problème est peut-être l'attitude du thérapeute ou simplement qu'il n'y a pas de sentiment entre les deux.

5. Traverser la ligne

Bien que pour beaucoup cela puisse paraître étrange, Certains thérapeutes peuvent ressentir avec les clients un lien émotionnel qui va au-delà de la relation professionnelle .

Si, par exemple, le psychologue ressent une attirance physique pour son patient, il peut cesser d'être objectif lors du traitement du client. Si vous remarquez des comportements non professionnels, tels que des câlins ou des caresses répétitives envers vous, le thérapeute peut dépasser les attentes. En outre, pour avoir une relation thérapeutique saine, il est contre-productif que des rencontres entre thérapeutes et patients se produisent en dehors du bureau.

6. Ne pas écouter activement

Les séances thérapeutiques sont des espaces d’interaction dans lesquels les émotions peuvent être à la surface de la peau.

Pourtant, Le thérapeute, en plus de donner des directives pour agir, doit écouter activement (c’est-à-dire que ce doit être avec les cinq sens) au patient. Les thérapeutes qui interrompent les séances font perdre la connexion et le sentiment de confiance qui ont été créés. Mais, en plus d’interrompre, il n’est pas non plus positif de ne pas se souvenir des données importantes de votre cas.

Article recommandé: "L'écoute active: la clé pour communiquer avec les autres"

7. Sous-évaluer votre problème

Il se peut que le thérapeute sous-estime le problème du client en interprétant de manière erronée les informations reçues. . Cela peut vous amener à choisir un traitement incorrect, ce qui aggravera les symptômes du patient.

8. Parlez de la vie des autres patients

Les informations que le patient fournit au terpeuta sont des informations confidentielles qui ne peuvent pas être partagées avec d'autres patients. .

Dans le cas où le psychologue partage avec vous des informations privées et confidentielles d'autres clients, sachez que ce professionnel se livre à une mauvaise pratique et peut être dénoncé pour cela.

9. Le thérapeute impose son propre système de valeurs

Comme expliqué au point 1, le thérapeute ne doit pas interroger ni critiquer le patient .

Mais, en outre, s’il impose ou promeut son échelle de valeurs ou de croyances, il porte gravement atteinte à la relation thérapeutique. Par conséquent, même si le psychologue n’est pas d’accord avec les idées ou croyances politiques ou religieuses du patient, il ne devrait jamais les remettre en question.

10. Ne faites pas appel à d'autres professionnels si nécessaire

Il se peut que le thérapeute détecte que la relation avec le patient a pris fin pour différentes raisons. .

Il est possible que la relation entre les deux ne soit pas appropriée, que le patient ait besoin de l'aide d'un autre expert professionnel dans un certain sujet ou que cela ne cadre tout simplement pas avec son modèle thérapeutique. Dans ces cas, le thérapeute doit orienter le patient vers un autre professionnel afin que celui-ci puisse bénéficier de l'aide d'un autre professionnel de la santé. Si vous ne le faites pas, vous encourez une faute professionnelle.


Un signe précurseur de la crise de couple (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes