yes, therapy helps!
The

The "Mental Training" applied in sports psychology

May 23, 2022

Mental Training: discovering the importance of sport

It is very normal to be able to see today, in the media, how athletes dedicate a large part of their time to their practices before competing in their disciplines. The practice of sports is one of the best instruments that athletes have to acquire and improve their skills and techniques within the field of play.

But there is a scope of these practices that does not usually receive too much attention by the media, and yet is widely used in various sports disciplines. I refer to the great influence that psychologists have on improving the performance of athletes. Psychological science has been expanding exponentially to fields that years ago were totally alien to its influence. This is because the research and interventions that have been developed increasingly cover a wider range of mental behaviors and processes , among which are those executed in sports.


In this way, a new area within sports and psychology was born relatively recently, in which both converge to enrich each other for the understanding of behavior and the improvement of performance and quality of life of athletes: Sports Psychology .

This new batch of psychologists appears to obtain an understanding of the behaviors and mental processes that occur in sport and physical practice, as well as to develop techniques and interventions that help increase skill and abilities of the athletes. Among these techniques developed by sports psychologists is, for example, mental training through the regulation of the imagination.


Mental Training through Imagination

The Mental Training through Imagination is based on the principle that imagination is a basic process for the development and management of information processed by the brain. Imagination is directly influenced by both sensations and emotions and is used to order, explore and examine thought. It facilitates, to the extent that it adapts to reality, an understanding of the demands of each situation. It serves, among other things, to recognize a situation quickly without great difficulty and without a great display of energy forming "stories about reality that are coherent." As British neurologist says Oliver Sacks in his TED conference on hallucinations:

"We see with the eyes but we also see with the brain, and seeing with the brain is often called imagination ...".

The regulation of the imagination , both in Mental Training through Imagination and in any other field, it assumes an important role for the development of all motor processes. You learn, through your imagination, about objects, people, environmental conditions and experiences. Each experience is made up of certain relationships that shape our behavior as opposed to their existence.


Definitely, the imagination influences, consciously or unconsciously, in our action (In this principle, for example, phobias exposure therapies are based on computer simulations). This is because every time we have an experience, it is embodied in our brain forming patterns of activation of neurons that correspond specifically to that experience. Each time we perform the action of imagining, we are reactivating those patterns of neurons and as these circuits are activated in a recurrent manner, they are strengthened in such a way that they manage to shape learning, automating movements, reactions and abilities.

Applications of Mental Training by Imagination

Cognitive development

Imagination can play an important role in cognitive development. This has been highlighted by a number of social scientists; The most notable of the twentieth century is the work of Jean Piaget. Popular beliefs allow us to believe that children spend more time imagining than adults, which demonstrates their importance in development. However, we do not know of studies that have tried to 'quantify' the amount of time dedicated to imagination between groups of the same age.

Acquisition and improvement of skills

Data in the literature indicate that the functioning and practice of the imagination of a specific motor skill can improve the functioning of that skill in 'real life'. This has been proposed in athletes (as we will describe in this article), surgeons and musicians.

Behavior test

The behavior test Within the stages of the mind is perhaps one of the most important human qualities. The imagination provides a unique and safe platform for testing the behavior prior to the actual development of this , without the risk of negative consequences for who imagines. The multiple alternative solutions to the problems, considering the numerous potential results, can be tested and practiced safely within the field of the mind. It is widely used in the field of psychotherapy due to the positive effects in the acquisition of new behaviors.

Reduced anxiety

Imagination provides a setting for safely carrying out behavioral sequences that can help improve anxiety. For example, the revenge of a wrongdoing is possible and easy within the realm of imagination, without apparently producing consequences. Many psychotherapeutic modalities use the process of imagination to treat anxiety, phobias and other disorders.

Creativity

George Bernard Shaw He indicated "Imagination is the beginning of creation. Imagine what you want, want what you imagine and in the end you create what you want. " While the cognitive process involved in creativity is not clear, many creative individuals, such as artists, explain that they imagine a creation before creating it in the 'physical' world. In fact, within the stage of our imagination, we are free to create with fewer limits than those that exist in the "real world".

Mental Training through the regulation of the imagination in sport

The investigations they demonstrate a great positive influence of the imagination on sports performance . Both scientifically controlled studies and experimental reports on the use of the imagination to improve performance provide positive results. (Robin S. Vealey, 1991).

Through imaginative techniques, it is intended that the athlete assimilate and internalize the movement through a codified system, which represents it in a symbolic way and makes them more familiar and more automatic. It is so important, that its correct application leads to an improvement in the process of retention and memorization of motor tasks. (Damián Lozano, 2004)

Psychoneuromuscular theory (Weineck, J. 1998) argues that similar impulses occur in the brain and in the muscles when athletes imagine movements without putting them into practice. The scientific evidence maintains that living the events in the imagination, generates an innervation in our muscles similar to that produced by the true physical execution of an event.

What is the process of applying the technique of imagination as mental training? Kemmler (1973), stable three degrees in mental training:

  1. Verbalization of movement set . This responds to mentally repeat the sequence of the movement and narrate it verbally, so that the movement (which is usually very automated) begins to take a dimension more aware of the way it is executed.
  2. Viewing a demo-model . It is another way of being able to make conscious the sequences of movements, in this degree one can visualize externally how such a sequence develops. It has a lot to do with the activation of the mirror neurons involved in observing the behavior of others.
  3. Execution of the movement by representation of gestural development , taking into account the kinesthetic sensations that accompany the movement, as well as the specific technical difficulties of the structure of the movement. In this degree the kinesthetic sensations that occur in the movement become conscious, that is, what it feels like when such a group of muscles moves. In this way you can make corrections that facilitate the improvement of movement and sports skills.

Practical applications of Mental Training through Imagination

In this way, thanks to Mental Training through Imagination can develop different applications to the sports field, among which are:

  • Accelerate and activate motor learning processes, especially technical skills and abilities.
  • As a rehabilitative and integrative technique in the competition, after a period of inactivity, whether due to injury or other factors.
  • As a complementary repair technique in situations where the physical or mental load is very high, or the volume of them is very prolonged and monotonous.
  • As a technique that helps to reduce the stress produced by the competition itself, it manifests itself through the appearance of traumatic experiences in the form of failures.
  • As an element that helps the transition in the training phase after the competition.

So you know, the next time you should train for your sports practice do not hesitate to use Mental Training through Imagination, a resource developed and implemented by sports psychologists. The results obtained are of great magnitude and do not require great efforts or energy to be applied.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychological Association (APA). Division 47, "Exercise and sport psychology"
  • Drubach a, b, E.E. Benarroch a, F.J. Mateen. (2007). Imagination: definition, utility and neurobiology. Neurology journal. //www.neurologia.com/
  • Gil Rodríguez Cristina. (2003, May). The psychology of sport: implantation and current status in Spain. Multidisciplinary Encounters Magazine. //www.encuentros-multidisciplinares.org/
  • Kemmeler, R. (1973). Psychologisches Wett-Kampftraining. Blv Leistungssport, Muchen-Bern-Wien.
  • Ossorio Lozano, Damián. (2004, June). Mental training: the regulation of the imagination. Digital magazine efdeportes.com.
  • Oliver Sacks (2009), TED Conference: "What do hallucinations reveal about our minds?
  • RS. (1991). "Conceptualization of sport confidence and Competitive orientation: preliminary investigations and instrument development". Journal of sports psychology.
  • Weineck, J. (1998) Optimal training. Hispanic European.

The Biggest Mental Mistake Made by Coaches and Athletes (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La

La "formation mentale" appliquée à la psychologie du sport

Novembre 27, 2022

Entraînement mental: découvrir l'importance du sport

Il est très normal de pouvoir voir aujourd'hui, dans les médias, comment les athlètes consacrent une grande partie de leur temps à leurs pratiques avant de concourir dans leurs disciplines. La pratique du sport est l'un des meilleurs instruments dont disposent les athlètes pour améliorer et améliorer leurs compétences et leurs techniques sur le terrain de jeu.

Cependant, certaines pratiques ne retiennent généralement pas l'attention des médias et sont pourtant largement utilisées dans diverses disciplines sportives. Je fais référence à la grande influence des psychologues sur l'amélioration des performances des athlètes. La science psychologique s'est étendue de manière exponentielle à des domaines qui, il y a quelques années, étaient totalement étrangers à son influence. En effet, la recherche et les interventions développées couvrent de plus en plus un large éventail de comportements et processus mentaux , parmi lesquels ceux exécutés dans les sports.


De cette manière, un nouveau domaine du sport et de la psychologie est né relativement récemment, dans lequel les deux convergent pour s’enrichir mutuellement pour la compréhension du comportement et l’amélioration des performances et de la qualité de vie des athlètes: la psychologie du sport. .

Ce nouveau groupe de psychologues semble comprendre les comportements et les processus mentaux qui se produisent dans le sport et la pratique physique, ainsi que développer des techniques et des interventions qui aident augmenter les compétences et les capacités des athlètes. Parmi ces techniques développées par les psychologues du sport, on trouve, par exemple, l'entraînement mental par le biais de la régulation de l'imagination.


Entraînement mental par l'imagination

Le Entraînement mental par l'imagination est basé sur le principe que l'imagination est un processus de base pour la développement et gestion de l'information traité par le cerveau. L'imagination est directement influencée par les sensations et les émotions et est utilisée pour ordonner, explorer et examiner les pensées. Il facilite, dans la mesure où il s’adapte à la réalité, la compréhension des exigences de chaque situation. Cela permet, entre autres, de reconnaître rapidement une situation sans grande difficulté et sans grande démonstration d'énergie "d'histoires cohérentes sur la réalité", comme le dit un neurologue britannique. Oliver Sacks dans sa conférence TED sur les hallucinations:

"On voit avec les yeux mais on voit aussi avec le cerveau, et voir avec le cerveau s'appelle souvent imagination ...".

Le régulation de l'imagination , à la fois dans la formation mentale par l’imagination et dans tout autre domaine, il joue un rôle important dans le développement de tous les processus moteurs. Vous apprendrez, par votre imagination, à propos d'objets, de personnes, de conditions environnementales et d'expériences. Chaque expérience est constituée de certaines relations qui façonnent notre comportement par opposition à leur existence.


Finalement, l'imagination influence, consciemment ou inconsciemment, dans notre action (Dans ce principe, par exemple, les thérapies d'exposition aux phobies sont basées sur des simulations informatiques). En effet, chaque fois que nous vivons une expérience, celle-ci s’incarne dans notre cerveau en formant des modèles d’activation des neurones qui correspondent spécifiquement à cette expérience. Chaque fois que nous réalisons l'action d'imaginer, nous réactivons ces modèles de neurones et, comme ces circuits sont activés de manière récurrente, ils sont renforcés de telle manière qu'ils parviennent à façonner l'apprentissage en automatisant les mouvements, les réactions et les capacités.

Applications de l'entraînement mental par imagination

Développement cognitif

L'imagination peut jouer un rôle important dans le développement cognitif. Cela a été souligné par un certain nombre de spécialistes des sciences sociales; Le plus notable du XXe siècle est l'œuvre de Jean Piaget. Les croyances populaires nous permettent de croire que les enfants passent plus de temps à imaginer que les adultes, ce qui démontre leur importance pour le développement. Cependant, nous ne connaissons pas d'études ayant tenté de "quantifier" la quantité de temps consacré à l'imagination entre des groupes du même âge.

Acquisition et amélioration des compétences

Les données dans la littérature indiquent que le fonctionnement et la pratique de l'imagination d'une habileté motrice spécifique peuvent améliorer le fonctionnement de cette habileté dans la "vie réelle". Cela a été proposé aux athlètes (comme nous le décrirons dans cet article), aux chirurgiens et aux musiciens.

Test de comportement

Le test de comportement L'une des qualités humaines les plus importantes est peut-être l'une des qualités de l'esprit. L'imagination fournit une plate-forme unique et sûre pour tester le comportement avant le développement réel de cette , sans risque de conséquences négatives pour qui imagine. Les multiples solutions alternatives aux problèmes, compte tenu des nombreux résultats potentiels, peuvent être testées et mises en pratique en toute sécurité dans le champ de l'esprit. Il est largement utilisé dans le domaine de la psychothérapie en raison de ses effets positifs dans l’acquisition de nouveaux comportements.

Anxiété réduite

L'imagination fournit un cadre pour effectuer en toute sécurité des séquences comportementales qui peuvent aider à améliorer l'anxiété. Par exemple, la vengeance d'un acte répréhensible est possible et facile dans le domaine de l'imagination, sans produire apparemment de conséquences. De nombreuses modalités psychothérapeutiques utilisent le processus de l’imagination pour traiter l’anxiété, les phobies et d’autres troubles.

La créativité

George Bernard Shaw Il a indiqué que "l'imagination est le début de la création. Imaginez ce que vous voulez, voulez ce que vous imaginez et finalement vous créez ce que vous voulez. " Bien que le processus cognitif impliqué dans la créativité ne soit pas clair, beaucoup d'individus créatifs, tels que les artistes, expliquent qu'ils imaginent une création avant de la créer dans le monde "physique". En fait, au stade de notre imagination, nous sommes libres de créer avec moins de limites que celles qui existent dans le "monde réel".

Entraînement mental à travers la régulation de l'imagination dans le sport

Les enquêtes ils démontrent une grande influence positive de l'imagination sur la performance sportive . Des études contrôlées scientifiquement et des rapports expérimentaux sur l'utilisation de l'imagination pour améliorer les performances donnent des résultats positifs. (Robin S. Vealey, 1991).

À l'aide de techniques imaginatives, il est prévu que l'athlète assimile et intériorise le mouvement au moyen d'un système codifié, qui le représente de manière symbolique et le rend plus familier et plus automatique. Il est si important que son application correcte conduise à une amélioration du processus de rétention et de mémorisation des tâches motrices. (Damián Lozano, 2004)

La théorie psychoneuromusculaire (Weineck, J. 1998) soutient que des impulsions similaires se produisent dans le cerveau et les muscles lorsque les athlètes imaginent des mouvements sans les mettre en pratique. Les preuves scientifiques soutiennent que vivre les événements dans l’imagination génère dans nos muscles une innervation semblable à celle produite par la véritable exécution physique d’un événement.

Quel est le processus d'application de la technique de l'imagination en tant qu'entraînement mental? Kemmler (1973), stable trois diplômes en entraînement mental:

  1. Verbalisation du jeu de mouvements . Ceci répond pour répéter mentalement la séquence du mouvement et la raconter verbalement, de sorte que le mouvement (qui est généralement très automatisé) commence à prendre une dimension plus consciente de la façon dont il est exécuté.
  2. Affichage d'un modèle de démonstration . C'est une autre façon de rendre conscient les séquences de mouvements, on peut ainsi visualiser de manière externe comment se développe une telle séquence. Cela a beaucoup à voir avec l'activation des neurones miroirs impliqués dans l'observation du comportement des autres.
  3. Exécution du mouvement par représentation du développement gestuel , en tenant compte des sensations kinesthésiques qui accompagnent le mouvement, ainsi que des difficultés techniques spécifiques de la structure du mouvement. À ce degré, les sensations kinesthésiques qui se produisent dans le mouvement deviennent conscientes, c’est-à-dire ce que l’on ressent quand un tel groupe de muscles se déplace. De cette manière, vous pouvez apporter des corrections qui facilitent l’amélioration des habiletés de mouvement et de sport.

Applications pratiques de l'entraînement mental par l'imagination

De cette façon, grâce à la formation mentale par le biais de l'imagination peut développer différentes applications sur le terrain de sport, parmi lesquelles:

  • Accélérer et activer les processus d'apprentissage moteur, en particulier les compétences et aptitudes techniques.
  • En tant que technique de réadaptation et d’intégration dans la compétition, après une période d’inactivité, qu’elle soit due à une blessure ou à d’autres facteurs.
  • En tant que technique de réparation complémentaire dans des situations où la charge physique ou mentale est très élevée, ou dont le volume est très prolongé et monotone.
  • En tant que technique permettant de réduire le stress généré par la compétition elle-même, elle se manifeste par l'apparition d'expériences traumatiques sous forme d'échecs.
  • En tant qu’élément facilitant la transition dans la phase d’entraînement après la compétition.

Alors vous savez, la prochaine fois que vous devriez vous entraîner pour votre pratique sportive, n'hésitez pas à utiliser Mental Training through Imagination, une ressource développée et mise en œuvre par des psychologues du sport. Les résultats obtenus sont d'une grande ampleur et ne nécessitent pas beaucoup d'efforts ou d'énergie pour être appliqués.

Références bibliographiques:

  • American Psychological Association (APA). Division 47, "Psychologie de l'exercice et du sport"
  • Drubach a, b, E.E. Benarroch a, F.J. Mateen. (2007). Imagination: définition, utilité et neurobiologie. Journal de neurologie. //www.neurologia.com/
  • Gil Rodríguez Cristina. (2003, mai). La psychologie du sport: implantation et situation actuelle en Espagne. Magazine Rencontres Multidisciplinaires. //www.encuentros-multidisciplinares.org/
  • Kemmeler, R. (1973). Psychologisches Wett-Kampftraining. Blv Leistungssport, Muchen-Bern-Wien.
  • Ossorio Lozano, Damián. (Juin 2004). Entraînement mental: la régulation de l'imagination. Magazine numérique efdeportes.com.
  • Oliver Sacks (2009), conférence TED: "Que révèlent les hallucinations dans notre esprit?
  • RS. (1991) "Conceptualisation de la confiance dans le sport et orientation compétitive: enquêtes préliminaires et développement d'instruments". Journal de psychologie du sport.
  • Weineck, J. (1998) Entraînement optimal. Hispanique européen.

Conférence chaire publique - L'art du coaching sportif: psychologie de l'entraînement (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes