yes, therapy helps!
Neurotransmitters and neuromodulators: how do they work?

Neurotransmitters and neuromodulators: how do they work?

June 8, 2022

It can be said that in all neurons there is a way of communicating between them called synapses.

At synapses, neurons communicate with each other through neurotransmitters , which are molecules responsible for sending signals from one neuron to the next. Other particles called neuromodulators also intervene in the communication between nerve cells

Thanks to neurotransmitters and neuromodulators, the neurons of our brain are capable of generating the torrents of information that we call "mental processes" , but these molecules are also found in the periphery of the nervous system, in the synaptic terminals of the motor neurons (neurons of the central nervous system that project their axons to a muscle or gland), where they stimulate the muscle fibers to contract them.


Differences between neurotransmitter and neuromodulator

Two or more neuroactive substances can be in the same nerve terminal and one can function as a neurotransmitter and another as a neuromodulator.

Hence their difference: neurotransmitters create or not action potentials (electrical impulses that occur in the cell membrane), activate postsynaptic receptors (receptors of postsynaptic cells or neurons) and open ion channels (proteins of neuronal membranes containing pores that when they open, they allow the passage of charge particles like ions) while the neuromodulators do not create action potentials but rather regulate the activity of the ion channels.


In addition, neuromodulators modulate the efficiency of the membrane potentials of postsynaptic cells produced in the receptors associated with ion channels. This is produced by the activation of G proteins (particles that carry information from a receptor to the effector proteins). A neurotransmitter opens a channel, whereas a neuromodulator affects one or two dozens of G proteins , which produce cAMP molecules, opening many ion channels at the same time.

There is a possible relationship of rapid changes of the nervous system and neurotransmitters and slow changes with neuromodulators. Likewise, the latency (that is, the changes in the postsynaptic membrane potential due to the effect of a neurotransmitter) of the neurotransmitters is 0.5-1 milliseconds, whereas that of the neuromodulators is several seconds. In addition, the "life expectancy" of neurotransmitters is 10-100 ms. and that of neuromodulators is from minutes to hours.


Regarding the differences between neurotransmitters and neuromodulators according to their shape, that of neurotransmitters is similar to that of small vesicles of 50 mm. in diameter, but that of neuromodulators is that of large vesicles of 120 mm. diameter.

Types of receivers

Neuroactive substances can be linked to two types of receptors, which are the following:

Ionotropic receptors

They are receptors that open ion channels . In most, neurotransmitters are found.

Metabotropic receptors

Receptors bound to G proteins . Neuromodulators usually join metabotropic receptors.

There are also other types of receptors that are the autoreceptors or presynaptic receptors that participate in the synthesis of the substance released in the terminal. If there is excess release of the neuroactive substance, it binds to the autoreceptors and produces an inhibition of the synthesis avoiding the exhaustion of the system.

Neurotransmitter classes

The neurotransmitters are classified into groups: acetylcholine, biogenic amines, transmitting amino acids and neuropeptides.

1. Acetylcholine

Acetylcholine (ACh) is the neurotransmitter of the neuromuscular junction , it is synthesized in the septal nuclei and nasal nuclei of Meynert (nuclei of the anterior brain), it can be both in the central nervous system (where the brain and spinal cord are) and in the peripheral nervous system (the rest) and causes diseases such as myasthenia gravis (neuromuscular disease due to skeletal muscle weakness) and muscle dystonia (disorder characterized by involuntary twisting movements).

2. Biogenic amines

The biogenic amines are serotonin and catecholamines (adrenaline, noradrenaline and dopamine) and they act mainly by metabotropic receptors.

  • Serotonin is synthesized from the raphe nuclei (in the brainstem); noradrenaline in the locus coeruleus (in the brainstem) and dopamine in the substantia nigra and ventral tegmental area (from which projections are sent to various regions of the anterior brain).
  • Dopamine (DA) is related to pleasure and mood.A deficit of this in the substantia nigra (midbrain portion and fundamental element in the basal ganglia) produces Parkinson's and the excess produces schizophrenia.
  • Noradrenaline is synthesized from dopamine, is related to fight and flight mechanisms and a deficit causes ADHD and depression.
  • Adrenaline is synthesized from noradrenaline in the adrenal or adrenal medulla, activates the sympathetic nervous system (system responsible for the innervation of smooth muscles, heart muscle and glands), participates in fight and flight reactions, increases heart rate and contracts blood vessels; It produces emotional activation and is related to stress pathologies and general adaptation syndrome (a syndrome that involves subjecting the body to stress).
  • The biogenic amines They play important roles in the regulation of affective states and mental activity.

3. Transmitting amino acids

The most important excitatory transmitting amino acids are glutamate and aspartate and the inhibitors are GABA (gamma immunobutyric acid) and glycine. These neurotransmitters are distributed throughout the brain and participate in almost all CNS synapses, where they bind to ionotropic receptors.

4. Neuropeptides

Neuropeptides are formed by amino acids and act mainly as neuromodulators in the CNS . The mechanisms of chemical synaptic transmission can be affected by psychoactive substances whose effect on the brain is the modification of the efficiency with which chemical nerve communication occurs, and this is why some of these substances are used as therapeutic tools in the treatment of psychopathological disorders and neurodegenerative diseases.


Neurotransmitters and Their Functions (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurotransmetteurs et neuromodulateurs: comment fonctionnent-ils?

Neurotransmetteurs et neuromodulateurs: comment fonctionnent-ils?

Avril 30, 2024

On peut dire que dans tous les neurones, il existe un moyen de communiquer entre eux appelé synapses.

Au niveau des synapses, les neurones communiquent entre eux par le biais de neurotransmetteurs , qui sont des molécules responsables de l’envoi de signaux d’un neurone à l’autre. D'autres particules appelées neuromodulateurs interviennent également dans la communication entre les cellules nerveuses

Grâce aux neurotransmetteurs et aux neuromodulateurs, les neurones de notre cerveau sont capables de générer les torrents d'informations que nous appelons "processus mentaux" , mais ces molécules se trouvent également à la périphérie du système nerveux, dans les terminaisons synaptiques des motoneurones (neurones du système nerveux central qui projettent leurs axones sur un muscle ou une glande), où elles stimulent la contraction des fibres musculaires.


Différences entre neurotransmetteur et neuromodulateur

Deux substances neuroactives ou plus peuvent être dans le même terminal nerveux et une peut fonctionner en tant que neurotransmetteur et une autre en tant que neuromodulateur.

D'où leur différence: les neurotransmetteurs créent ou non des potentiels d'action (impulsions électriques se produisant dans la membrane cellulaire), activent les récepteurs postsynaptiques (récepteurs de cellules postsynaptiques ou de neurones) et ouvrent des canaux ioniques (protéines de membranes neuronales contenant des pores). lorsqu’ils s’ouvrent, ils permettent le passage de particules de charge telles que des ions), tandis que les neuromodulateurs ne créent pas de potentiel d’action, mais régulent plutôt l’activité des canaux ioniques.


De plus, les neuromodulateurs modulent l'efficacité des potentiels membranaires des cellules postsynaptiques produites dans les récepteurs associés aux canaux ioniques. Ceci est produit par l'activation des protéines G (particules qui transportent l'information d'un récepteur aux protéines effectrices). Un neurotransmetteur ouvre un canal, alors qu'un neuromodulateur affecte une ou deux douzaines de protéines G , qui produisent des molécules de cAMP, ouvrant plusieurs canaux ioniques en même temps.

Il existe une relation possible entre les changements rapides du système nerveux et des neurotransmetteurs et les changements lents avec les neuromodulateurs. De même, le temps de latence (c'est-à-dire les modifications du potentiel de membrane postsynaptique dues à l'effet d'un neurotransmetteur) des neurotransmetteurs est de 0,5 à 1 millisecondes, alors que celui des neuromodulateurs est de plusieurs secondes. En outre, "l'espérance de vie" des neurotransmetteurs est de 10 à 100 ms. et celui des neuromodulateurs est de quelques minutes à quelques heures.


En ce qui concerne les différences entre neurotransmetteurs et neuromodulateurs en fonction de leur forme, celle des neurotransmetteurs est similaire à celle des petites vésicules de 50 mm. de diamètre, mais celui des neuromodulateurs est celui des grandes vésicules de 120 mm. de diamètre.

Types de récepteurs

Les substances neuroactives peuvent être liées à deux types de récepteurs, à savoir:

Récepteurs ionotropes

Ce sont des récepteurs qui ouvrent des canaux ioniques . Dans la plupart des neurotransmetteurs sont trouvés.

Récepteurs métabotropes

Récepteurs liés aux protéines G . Les neuromodulateurs rejoignent généralement les récepteurs métabotropes.

Il existe également d'autres types de récepteurs que sont les autorécepteurs ou les récepteurs présynaptiques qui participent à la synthèse de la substance libérée dans le terminal. S'il y a une libération excessive de la substance neuroactive, celle-ci se lie aux autorécepteurs et produit une inhibition de la synthèse en évitant l'épuisement du système.

Classes de neurotransmetteurs

Les neurotransmetteurs sont classés en groupes: acétylcholine, amines biogènes, acides aminés transmetteurs et neuropeptides.

1. acétylcholine

L'acétylcholine (ACh) est le neurotransmetteur de la jonction neuromusculaire , il est synthétisé dans les noyaux septaux et nasaux de Meynert (noyaux du cerveau antérieur), il peut s’agir à la fois du système nerveux central (où se trouvent le cerveau et la moelle épinière) et du système nerveux périphérique (le reste) et des maladies telles que la myasthénie (maladie neuromusculaire due à une faiblesse du muscle squelettique) et la dystonie musculaire (trouble caractérisé par des mouvements de torsion involontaires).

2. Amines biogènes

Les amines biogènes sont la sérotonine et les catécholamines (adrénaline, noradrénaline et dopamine) et ils agissent principalement par les récepteurs métabotropes.

  • La sérotonine est synthétisée à partir des noyaux du raphé (dans le tronc cérébral); la noradrénaline dans le locus coeruleus (dans le tronc cérébral) et la dopamine dans la substantia nigra et la région du tegmental ventral (à partir desquelles des projections sont envoyées vers diverses régions du cerveau antérieur).
  • La dopamine (DA) est liée au plaisir et à l'humeur.Un déficit de ceci dans la substance noire (partie du cerveau moyen et élément fondamental dans les noyaux gris centraux) produit la maladie de Parkinson et l'excès produit la schizophrénie.
  • La noradrénaline est synthétisée à partir de dopamine, elle est liée aux mécanismes de combat et de fuite et un déficit provoque le TDAH et la dépression.
  • L'adrénaline est synthétisée à partir de noradrénaline dans la médullosurrénale ou surrénalienne, active le système nerveux sympathique (système responsable de l'innervation des muscles lisses, du muscle cardiaque et des glandes), participe aux réactions de combat et de fuite, augmente la fréquence cardiaque et se contracte vaisseaux sanguins; Il produit une activation émotionnelle et est lié à des pathologies liées au stress et au syndrome général d’adaptation (syndrome qui consiste à soumettre le corps à un stress).
  • Le amines biogènes Ils jouent un rôle important dans la régulation des états affectifs et de l'activité mentale.

3. Transmettre des acides aminés

Les acides aminés les plus importants pour la transmission de l'excitation sont le glutamate et l'aspartate et les inhibiteurs sont le GABA (acide gamma immunobutyrique) et la glycine. Ces neurotransmetteurs sont répartis dans tout le cerveau et participent à presque toutes les synapses du SNC, où ils se lient aux récepteurs ionotropes.

4. Neuropeptides

Les neuropeptides sont formés par les acides aminés et agissent principalement en tant que neuromodulateurs dans le SNC. . Les mécanismes de la transmission synaptique chimique peuvent être affectés par les substances psychoactives dont l’effet sur le cerveau est la modification de l’efficacité de la communication nerveuse chimique. C’est pourquoi certaines de ces substances sont utilisées comme outils thérapeutiques. dans le traitement des troubles psychopathologiques et des maladies neurodégénératives.


Le neurone et la libération des neurotransmetteurs (Avril 2024).


Articles Connexes