yes, therapy helps!
6 manipulation strategies used by abusers

6 manipulation strategies used by abusers

June 24, 2021

I write this article as a tool for the abused person to identify the weapons that an abusive person can use in order for the victim to forgive him and resume the relationship.

In many occasions, when the person who abuses commits the act of abuse, a series of behaviors follow one another that can be repeated over time and can be reproduced from one individual to another.

When batterers manipulate their victims

I think that it can be useful to provide victims of abuse with this material, so that once the aggression is committed, they should be aware that this type of strategy can be used by their executioner; so it's easier to realize that it's really a modus operandi very common in the profile of abusers, and therefore will increase the chances of preventing these episodes and respond appropriately to them .


1. Anger in response

Many times the abuser is the one who is offended and outraged at being cornered and without arguments that sustain their defense, seeking with this attitude that it is the victim who ends up taking responsibility for the acts and apologizing.

2. Make gas light

This strategy consists in making someone doubt their senses, their way of reasoning and even the reality of their actions . The person tries to make the victim doubt itself, presenting false data, denying reality with expressions such as "I did not say that", "that was not how you are telling" or "do not you remember that you started? "


The abuser or abuser said that things happened that have not really happened with a firmness and security that is usually very credible, so the victim ends up considering if what she has lived has been really as she remembers it. Suddenly he finds himself thinking "well, it's me, I'm exaggerating" or "he may be right", doubting the facts, his sanity and what he felt. It is a manipulation technique that seeks in the other person the sensation of "I will be seeing things where there are none or I am a hysterical". In the end the annulment of the will of the victim is achieved and the perception of their reality is distorted , sometimes to such an extent that it is up to the victim herself who ends up asking for forgiveness. Thus, the person who mistreats takes advantage of any situation of emotional instability of the abused person to demonstrate his psychological vulnerability: "do you see how you put on this nonsense?"; "You're crazy" "You have to see a psychiatrist" etc.


Well, one of the answers to this technique may be to write down the details of what happened right after the assault, which will serve to know how the conflict has been. In this way, the victim will have more weighty reasons to believe in his version of events, even if the other person insists that things did not happen that way.

3. I did it because I love you

Using the concept of "love" as a weapon is also very common, and this attempts to convince the victim that the acts committed have been a consequence of the love felt towards her. "I hit you because I got jealous", "is that of course, I love you so much that I can not imagine my life without you", "if I did not care so much I would not be like that", etc.

Here you have to be clear about that "who loves you well, will make you love" and put aside the ideas that jealousy, possession and control are signs of love.

If someone hits you, they do not love you . If someone makes you feel inferior, he does not love you. If someone abuses you, he does not love you.

4. Accountability to the victim of the facts

Blaming is another of the most common strategies in the profile of an abusive person after an assault . Verbalizations of the type: "you have looked for it", "is that you were provoking", "if you already know how I am for what did you say that?" they are often used for the abused person to end up believing that she was the one who promoted the situation and that she deserved the consequences.

5. Emotional blackmail

This type of strategy consists of a manipulation in which the abuser threatens the victim with a series of catastrophic consequences What will happen if he does not do what he wants? Messages of the type "if you leave me, I will take my life", "as you do not return with me I do not respond to my actions", "without you I am nothing", etc ... they usually refer to the weak points of the victim and serve to victimize so that, in the end, the abused person feels pity, grief or fear and forgive her, because otherwise, she would feel guilty.

To act against emotional blackmail, we must be clear about what they are doing to us.I propose to draw up a list of all the threats that we believe can be used and memorized, so that when they occur, we can be aware of the technique that is being used and be able to act.

6. Promises of change

Show repentance and swear and perjure that what has happened is not going to repeat and that they are going to put all possible means to change.

Here we must be clear that it is the acts that define us, not our words. There is no point in promising a change when a behavior repeats itself over and over again.

Something very important in all these strategies is time . Do not leave time to be convinced. If we are clear that the situation is unjustifiable, we have no obligation to wait until they try to explain their reasons or reasons. The more time they are given, the easier it is that our judgment weakens and their arguments take hold, because of the power they have over us. Abuses are not usually from one day to the next, and therefore, when they occur, there is often a low self-esteem and lack of self-confidence in the victim, something that the abuser will always use to his or her own benefit. That is why it is important not to let them develop their manipulative techniques.


The 6 Master Manipulations that Narcissists Use (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
6 stratégies de manipulation utilisées par les agresseurs

6 stratégies de manipulation utilisées par les agresseurs

Décembre 9, 2021

J'écris cet article comme un outil permettant à la personne victime de violence d'identifier les armes qu'une personne victime de violence peut utiliser pour que la victime lui pardonne et reprenne la relation.

Dans de nombreuses occasions, lorsque la personne qui maltraite commet l'acte de maltraitance, une série de comportements se succèdent qui peuvent être répétés dans le temps et peuvent être reproduits d'un individu à l'autre.

Quand les agresseurs manipulent leurs victimes

Je pense qu’il peut être utile de fournir ce matériel aux victimes d’abus, de sorte qu’une fois que l’agression est commise, elles devraient être conscientes que ce type de stratégie peut être utilisé par leur bourreau; il est donc plus facile de réaliser que c'est vraiment un mode opératoire très fréquent dans le profil des agresseurs, et donc augmentera les chances de prévenir ces épisodes et y répondra de manière appropriée .


1. La colère en réponse

L'agresseur est souvent agressé et outré d'être coincé et sans argument qui soutienne leur défense, cherchant avec cette attitude que c'est la victime qui finit par assumer la responsabilité des actes et s'excuser.

2. Faites la lumière de gaz

Cette stratégie consiste à faire douter ses sens, son raisonnement et même la réalité de ses actes. . La personne tente de faire douter la victime elle-même, en présentant de fausses données, en niant la réalité avec des expressions telles que "je n'ai pas dit cela", "ce n'est pas ainsi que vous dites" ou "ne vous souvenez-vous pas que vous avez commencé?" "


L’agresseur a déclaré que ce qui s’est passé ne s’est pas réellement passé avec une fermeté et une sécurité généralement très crédibles. La victime finit donc par se demander si ce qu’elle a vécu a vraiment été comme elle s’en souvient. Soudain, il se trouve en train de penser "bon, c'est moi, j'exagère" ou "il a peut-être raison", doutant des faits, de sa santé mentale et de ce qu'il a ressenti. C'est une technique de manipulation qui cherche chez l'autre personne la sensation de "je verrai des choses là où il n'y en a pas ou je suis un hystérique". En fin de compte, l'annulation de la volonté de la victime est réalisée et la perception de sa réalité est faussée , parfois à un point tel que c’est à la victime elle-même qui finit par demander pardon. Ainsi, la personne qui maltraite profite de toute situation d'instabilité émotionnelle de la personne maltraitée pour démontrer sa vulnérabilité psychologique: "voyez-vous comment vous mettez ce non-sens?"; "Tu es fou" "Tu dois voir un psychiatre" etc.


Eh bien, l’une des réponses à cette technique peut être d’écrire les détails de ce qui s’est passé juste après l’agression, ce qui servira à savoir comment le conflit a été. De cette manière, la victime aura des raisons plus sérieuses de croire en sa version des événements, même si l'autre personne insiste pour que les choses ne se soient pas passées ainsi.

3. Je l'ai fait parce que je t'aime

L'utilisation du concept d '"amour" comme arme est également très courante et tente de convaincre la victime que les actes commis sont une conséquence de l'amour que l'on ressent pour elle. "Je t'ai frappé parce que j'étais jaloux", "est-ce bien sûr, je t'aime tellement que je ne peux pas imaginer ma vie sans toi", "si je m'en foutais tellement, je ne serais pas comme ça", etc.

Ici, vous devez préciser que "qui vous aime bien vous fera aimer" et mettez de côté les idées selon lesquelles la jalousie, la possession et le contrôle sont des signes d'amour.

Si quelqu'un vous frappe, ils ne vous aiment pas . Si quelqu'un vous fait sentir inférieur, il ne vous aime pas. Si quelqu'un vous abuse, il ne vous aime pas.

4. Responsabilité envers la victime des faits

Blâmer est une autre des stratégies les plus courantes dans le profil d'une personne violente après une agression. . Verbes de type: "vous l'avez recherchée", "est-ce que vous provoquiez", "si vous savez déjà comment je suis, pourquoi avez-vous dit cela?" ils sont souvent utilisés pour que la personne maltraitée finisse par croire que c'est elle qui a favorisé la situation et qu'elle en méritait les conséquences.

5. Chantage émotionnel

Ce type de stratégie consiste à une manipulation dans laquelle l'agresseur menace la victime d'une série de conséquences catastrophiques Que se passera-t-il s'il ne fait pas ce qu'il veut? Des messages du type "si tu me quittes, je vais prendre ma vie", "comme tu ne reviens pas avec moi je ne réponds pas à mes actions", "sans toi je ne suis rien", etc ... ils font généralement référence aux points faibles de la victime et servir à victimiser pour que, finalement, la personne maltraitée éprouve de la pitié, du chagrin ou de la peur et la pardonne, car sinon, elle se sentirait coupable.

Pour agir contre le chantage émotionnel, nous devons savoir clairement ce qu’ils nous font.Je propose d’établir une liste de toutes les menaces qui, selon nous, peuvent être utilisées et mémorisées, afin que, quand elles se produisent, nous puissions connaître la technique utilisée et être en mesure d’agir.

6. Promesses de changement

Montrer le repentir et jurer et parjure que ce qui s'est passé ne va pas se répéter et qu'ils vont mettre tous les moyens possibles pour changer.

Ici, nous devons être clairs: ce sont les actes qui nous définissent, pas nos mots. Il est inutile de promettre un changement lorsqu'un comportement se répète encore et encore.

Quelque chose de très important dans toutes ces stratégies est le temps . Ne laissez pas le temps d'être convaincu. Si nous sommes convaincus que la situation est injustifiable, nous n’avons aucune obligation d’attendre qu’ils essaient d’expliquer leurs raisons. Plus on leur donne de temps, plus il est facile d'affaiblir notre jugement et de faire valoir leurs arguments, à cause du pouvoir qu'ils ont sur nous. Les abus ne se produisent généralement pas du jour au lendemain et, dès lors, ils ont souvent une faible estime de soi et un manque de confiance en soi en la victime, ce que l'agresseur utilisera toujours à son avantage. C'est pourquoi il est important de ne pas les laisser développer leurs techniques de manipulation.


Mélanight : Les Anges 11 ? Milla, Kim, Dégoûtée par 10 Couples, Elle dénonce tous les candidats ! (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes