yes, therapy helps!
Broken souls: causes and effects of psychological abuse

Broken souls: causes and effects of psychological abuse

May 6, 2021

Although inevitably in my vision of abuse appear the image of the battered woman, since socially speaking more about mistreatment towards women (its incidence is undeniably greater) than towards men, that I am a woman and, in addition, due to both my life and career path, I tend to list, to get excited and to resonate with that.

And although there are many, too many, women who are subject to their partners, I want to talk about the situation of psychological abuse per se, since I understand it as a type of relationship that can affect both men and women . I am referring to a couple relationship with a marked inequality of power and submission in the deal.


Living the psychological abuse

What makes a person decide (because it does not stop being a decision) to be in a kind of relationship like this, in which the other is on a higher plane, has the supreme truth, moves the strings of "my" personal reality ? What experiences "I" have had to go through to accept humiliating treatment as something normal, to accept that "intimidates me," "reifies me," "degrades me," "overloads me with responsibilities, that" me " deprive me in my social and family relationships, subjectively distort reality, that only worth "his" vision of the facts, creating "me" constant confusion and doubt, pointing to me as the source of conflicts ..., to accept even the possibility of death as an alternative or natural resolution and sometimes even attractive to the reality that "I am" living?


Because the certain thing is that there is a moment in the vital trajectory of this type of relations in which the subjected part senses, intuits and knows that if the other one "goes the head" it can end his life and, depending on the moment in the who is, can interpret and live it with complete naturalness, even to a certain liking, due to the poetic peace that that image evokes ... until he is aware that that is not not what he wants to live , that does not maintain a relationship of respect and love, that there are limits that should not be crossed and that it does not have to die for it.

The paradox is that when you gather forces to withdraw and denounce, in many cases your life is really in danger.

Victim and victimizer

As I mentioned before, in my career I have found that those who seek relationships of submission have generally experienced situations of abuse and abuse in childhood, mostly executed by members of their own family or by people very close to her.


But the same goes for who ends up becoming an abuser. We find that both people have their roots in a childhood marked by abuse in any of its manifestations and intensities, but that the basic personality of each one makes the outcome and development practically opposed. They are the two sides of the same coin, of the same problem, of the same reality, resolved in opposite ways.

The fault goes in the opposite direction

In the case of the person submitted, she feels in the depths of her being an extreme need to please and please the other , to feel accepted, loved, taken into account, to feel worthy, to feel person, to feel complete. For this he even disappears as an individual, his tastes become those of the other, his inclinations, preferences and reasoning are those of the other, just as his feeling and his interpretation of reality, is dependence in its maximum degree; however, in case of not being able to assume them, then the subject is silenced, silenced, reserved, withdraws ... with the purpose of, precisely, not generating conflict, so as not to feel rejected, judged, criticized or vilified. , neither attacked nor degraded.

It can not defend itself, it can not justify its discrepancy, it does not have tools or discourse for it . His heart is shattered, his whole being is plunged in suffering, in a silent cry, in a heartbreaking and mute bellow ... because he can not even express it openly, he eats it, he swallows it, longing to disappear, many times longing to die. During all the time, the long and eternal lapse in which the "supreme being" decides not to speak to him, nor to touch him, nor to look at him, nor to hear him ... keeping in his distant and cold sphere like an ice floe, with his airs of "wounded wolf", of "suffering victim", of "abandoned child" ... until, after a few days, and after the constant, meticulous, maternal and complacent care of the subject, decides that the damage has already been repaired, returning to approach in a magnanimous gesture of forgiveness, indulgence and apparent compassion.

This scene is maintained until after a certain time another event occurs that forces him to repeat that gesture, due to his low tolerance for frustration, his mental rigidity, his need for control, his narcissism, his insecurity extreme ... manifested from a position of real victim as the inability of the other to understand, to put you in the position of having to react in that way, to feel "forced" to be so sharp, so distant, so empty, so rude ... breaking again and again his partner, eroding his self-esteem, disintegrating his soul, destroying his person, annihilating any hint of joy, authenticity, independence, self-confidence, humanity.

Circle that repeats itself repeatedly until it emerges, ignites and grows a spark within the subject, allowing him to step aside to begin to walk another path, to live another reality, to choose another present and to glimpse another future.

Bibliographic references:

  • Vicente, J.C., "Everyday manipulators: survival manual". Desclée de Brouwer, 2006.
  • Leonore E. A. Walker, "The syndrome of battered women", Declée de Brouwer, 2012.

It's Time to Talk about Psychological and Verbal Abuse | Lizzy Glazer | TEDxPhillipsAcademyAndover (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Âmes brisées: causes et effets de la violence psychologique

Âmes brisées: causes et effets de la violence psychologique

Septembre 27, 2022

Bien que ma vision de la maltraitance apparaisse inévitablement à l’image de la femme battue, puisque je parle socialement davantage de maltraitance envers les femmes (son incidence est indéniablement plus grande) que contre les hommes, que je suis une femme et que, de plus, en raison de ma vie et de mon parcours professionnel, j'ai tendance à énumérer, à être excité et à résonner avec lui.

Et bien qu'il y ait beaucoup trop de femmes soumises à leurs partenaires, je voudrais parler de la situation de violence psychologique en tant que telle, car je la conçois comme un type de relation pouvant affecter à la fois les hommes et les femmes. . Je parle d'une relation de couple avec une inégalité marquée de pouvoir et de soumission dans l'accord.


Vivre la maltraitance psychologique

Qu'est-ce qui fait qu'une personne décide (parce qu'elle ne cesse pas d'être une décision) d'être dans une sorte de relation comme celle-ci, dans laquelle l'autre est sur un plan supérieur, a la vérité suprême, déplace les ficelles de "ma" réalité personnelle ? Quelles expériences "j'ai" dû traverser pour accepter un traitement humiliant comme quelque chose de normal, pour accepter que "m'intimide", "me réifie", "me dégrade", "me surcharge de responsabilités, que" moi " me prive de mes relations sociales et familiales, déforme subjectivement la réalité, ne valant que "sa" vision des faits, créant "moi" une confusion et un doute constants, me montrant comme la source de conflits ..., à accepter même la possibilité de la mort comme solution alternative ou naturelle et parfois même attractive pour la réalité que "je suis" en train de vivre?


Car ce qui est certain, c’est qu’il existe un moment dans la trajectoire vitale de ce type de relations dans lequel la partie soumise ressent, intuitionne et sait que si l’autre "va la tête", cela peut mettre fin à sa vie et, en fonction du qui est, peut l’interpréter et le vivre avec un naturel absolu, même avec un certain goût, en raison de la paix poétique que cette image évoque ... jusqu'à ce qu'il se rende compte que ce n'est pas ce qu'il veut vivre , cela ne maintient pas une relation de respect et d'amour, qu'il y a des limites à ne pas franchir et qu'il ne doit pas mourir pour cela.

Le paradoxe est que lorsque vous rassemblez des forces pour vous retirer et dénoncer, dans de nombreux cas, votre vie est vraiment en danger.

Victime et agresseur

Comme je l’ai déjà mentionné, j’ai constaté au cours de ma carrière que ceux qui recherchent une relation de soumission ont généralement vécu des situations de maltraitance dans leur enfance, principalement exécutées par des membres de leur propre famille ou par des personnes très proches d’elle.


Mais il en va de même pour celui qui finit par devenir un agresseur. Nous constatons que les deux personnes ont leurs racines dans une enfance marquée par des abus dans aucune de ses manifestations et intensités, mais que la personnalité de base de chacun rend le résultat et le développement pratiquement opposés. Ce sont les deux faces d'une même pièce, d'un même problème, d'une même réalité, résolues de manière opposée.

La faute va dans le sens opposé

Dans le cas de la personne soumise, elle se sent au fond d'elle être un besoin extrême de plaire et de plaire à l'autre , se sentir accepté, aimé, pris en compte, se sentir digne, se sentir personne, se sentir complet. Pour cela, il disparaît même en tant qu'individu, ses goûts deviennent ceux de l'autre, ses inclinations, ses préférences et son raisonnement sont ceux de l'autre, tout comme son sentiment et son interprétation de la réalité sont une dépendance à son maximum; toutefois, en cas d'impossibilité de les assumer, le sujet est réduit au silence, réservé, retiré ... dans le but précis de ne pas générer de conflit, afin de ne pas se sentir rejeté, jugé, critiqué ni diffamé. , ni attaqué ni dégradé.

Il ne peut pas se défendre, il ne peut pas justifier son écart, il n’a pas d’outil ni de discours pour le faire. . Son cœur est brisé, tout son être est plongé dans la souffrance, dans un cri silencieux, dans un beuglement déchirant et muet ... parce qu'il ne peut même pas l'exprimer ouvertement, il le mange, il l'avale, aspirant à disparaître, désirant plusieurs fois mourir. Pendant tout le temps, la longue et éternelle erreur dans laquelle "l'être suprême" décide de ne pas lui parler, ni le toucher, ni le regarder, ni l'entendre ... en restant dans sa sphère lointaine et froide comme une banquise, avec ses airs de "loup blessé", de "victime souffrante", d '"enfant abandonné" ... jusqu'à ce que, après quelques jours et après les soins constants, méticuleux, maternels et complaisants du sujet, décide que les dommages ont déjà été réparés, revenant à l'approche dans un geste magnanime de pardon, d'indulgence et de compassion apparente.

Cette scène se poursuit jusqu’à un certain moment, ce qui l’oblige à répéter ce geste en raison de sa faible tolérance à la frustration, de sa rigidité mentale, de son besoin de contrôle, de son narcissisme, de son insécurité. extrême ... se manifeste à partir d'une position de victime réelle comme l'incapacité de l'autre à comprendre, à vous mettre dans la position de devoir réagir de cette manière, à vous sentir "obligé" d'être si vif, si distant, si vide, si grossier ... brisant encore et encore sa partenaire, érodant son estime de soi, désintégrant son âme, détruisant sa personne, annihilant tout soupçon de joie, d'authenticité, d'indépendance, de confiance en soi et d'humanité.

Cercle qui se répète jusqu'à ce qu'il apparaisse, enflamme et développe une étincelle chez le sujet, lui permettant de se retirer pour commencer à suivre un autre chemin, à vivre une autre réalité, à choisir un autre présent et à entrevoir un autre avenir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Vicente, J.C., "Manipulateurs au quotidien: manuel de survie". Desclée de Brouwer, 2006.
  • Leonore E. A. Walker, "Le syndrome des femmes battues", Declée de Brouwer, 2012.

Amiga CD32 - Angry Video Game Nerd (Episode 162) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes