yes, therapy helps!
Afantasía: the inability to visualize mental images

Afantasía: the inability to visualize mental images

May 29, 2024

In 2016, a phenomenon that had gone virtually unnoticed until then began to be popular, with the exception of a pioneering study carried out by the famous Francis Galton at the end of the 19th century. Is about the inability to visualize mental images , which has been baptized with the name "afantasía".

In this article we will describe what exactly is the afantasía and what has been its historical development . For this we will focus on the contributions of Galton and Adam Zeman, as well as in the case of Blake Ross, who contributed greatly to raising awareness about the afantasy thanks to the intervention of social networks.


  • Related article: "Cognition: definition, main processes and operation"

What is afantasy?

In the year 1880 Sir Francis Galton (1822-1911), pioneer of the use of statistics in psychology and of eugenic ideas, published the results of a psychometric study on the individual differences in the capacity to generate mental images. Galton found a great variability in this aptitude , including some cases in which he was absent.

During the twentieth century the research around this phenomenon was very scarce, although there are some references under Anglo-Saxon terms that can be translated as "defectual revisualization" or "visual irreminiscence". The studies of Adam Zeman's team (2010, 2015) and individuals like Blake Ross have popularized it with the name of "afantasía".


The limited data currently available suggest that between 2.1% and 2.7% of the general population is incapable of generating mental images, and therefore can be considered cases of afantasy (Faw, 2009). It also seems that the alteration could be more frequent in males (Zeman et al., 2015), although it is not yet possible to affirm it with certainty.

It is believed that the afantasía can be neurologically associated with synaesthesia and congenital prosopagnosia , which consists of a marked difficulty to recognize people by their face. The people with synesthesia obtain very high scores in the visualization tests, and the opposite happens with the cases of prosopagnosia.

  • Related article: "Prosopagnosia, the inability to recognize human faces"

Contributions of Adam Zeman's team

The term "afantasía" was coined by a team of the University of Exeter, in the United Kingdom, led by Adam Zeman (2010). These authors published an article on the case of MX, a man who referred a loss of ability to visualize as a result of a coronary angioplasty . After this milestone the afantasía began to popularize.


Zeman and colleagues further increased awareness of afantasy with their second text on this (2015). The Exeter team relied on the contributions through questionnaires from 21 people who had contacted them after reading the previous article and identifying with the description of this peculiar "imaginative blindness".

The study by Zeman et al. revealed that there are different degrees and forms of presentation of this phenomenon ; thus, some people are unable to produce visual images voluntarily but they can experience them spontaneously, both in wakefulness and during sleep. On the other hand, in other cases these capacities are not even conserved.

The interference of the afantasy in the life of those who experience it seems in general quite limited, although a significant proportion of the participants referred Problems in autobiographical memory associated with this deficit , which on the other hand tended to compensate through the verbal format or what Zeman et al. they call "subvisual models".

  • Maybe you're interested: "Synesthesia, people with the ability to see sounds and taste colors"

The case of Blake Ross

In April 2016, software engineer Blake Ross, co-creator of the web browser Mozilla Firefox and ex-product manager of Facebook, published a text on this social network in which he recounted his experiences with afantasy. It was an article in the New York Times that analyzed the case of MX (Zeman et al., 2010) that inspired him to share his story.

Ross stated that he did not know that he experienced this phenomenon until he read about its existence. Until then, he said, he believed that concepts such as counting sheep to favor the consolidation of sleep seemed like metaphors. He was not able to visualize the face of his deceased father, and he believed that nobody could really generate clear mental images .

Of course, Ross's text went viral and led many more people to the same revelation as him. Since then we have witnessed a rapid and remarkable increase in awareness of this curious imaginative deficit; in consecuense, It is expected that scientific knowledge will also increase in the coming years about afantasy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Faw, B. (2009). Conflicting intuitions may be based on differing abilities - evidence from mental imaging research. Journal of Consciousness Studies, 16: 45-68.
  • Galton, F. (1880). Statistics of mental imagery. Mind. Oxford Journals, os-V (19): 301-318.
  • Zeman, A. Z. J .; Della Sala, S .; Torrens, L. A. A .; Gountouna, V. E .; McGonigle, D. J. & Logie, R. H. (2010). Loss of imagery phenomenology with intact visuo-spatial task performance: A case of 'blind imagination'. Neuropsychology, 48 (1): 145-155.
  • Zeman, A. Z. J .; Dewar, M. & Della Sala, S. (2015). Lives without imagery - Congenital aphantasia. Cortex, 73: 378-380

Aphantasia - Incapacidad de generar imágenes mentales (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Afantasía: l'incapacité de visualiser des images mentales

Afantasía: l'incapacité de visualiser des images mentales

Février 28, 2021

En 2016, un phénomène qui passait pratiquement inaperçu jusqu'alors a commencé à être populaire, à l'exception d'une étude pionnière réalisée par le célèbre Francis Galton à la fin du XIXe siècle. Il s'agit de l'incapacité de visualiser des images mentales , qui a été baptisé avec le nom "afantasía".

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire quel est exactement l'afantasía et quel a été son développement historique . Pour cela, nous nous concentrerons sur les contributions de Galton et Adam Zeman, ainsi que dans le cas de Blake Ross, qui a grandement contribué à sensibiliser le public à l’afantasy grâce à l’intervention des réseaux sociaux.


  • Article connexe: "Cognition: définition, processus principaux et fonctionnement"

Qu'est-ce que l'afantasy?

En 1880, Sir Francis Galton (1822-1911), pionnier de l’utilisation des statistiques en psychologie et des idées eugéniques, publia les résultats d’une étude psychométrique sur les différences individuelles dans la capacité à générer des images mentales. Galton a trouvé une grande variabilité dans cette aptitude , y compris certains cas dans lesquels il était absent.

Au cours du XXe siècle, les recherches autour de ce phénomène étaient très rares, bien que certaines références anglo-saxonnes puissent être traduites par «revisualisation imparfaite» ou «irrémédiscence visuelle». Les études de l'équipe d'Adam Zeman (2010, 2015) et des individus comme Blake Ross l'ont popularisé sous le nom de "afantasía".


Les données limitées actuellement disponibles suggèrent qu'entre 2,1% et 2,7% de la population en général est incapable de générer des images mentales, et peut donc être considéré comme un cas d'afantasy (Faw, 2009). Il semble également que l'altération pourrait être plus fréquente chez les hommes (Zeman et al., 2015), bien qu'il ne soit pas encore possible de l'affirmer avec certitude.

On croit que l'afantasía peut être neurologiquement associée à la synesthésie et à la prosopagnosie congénitale , qui consiste en une difficulté marquée à reconnaître les personnes à leur visage. Les personnes atteintes de synesthésie obtiennent des résultats très élevés aux tests de visualisation, et l’inverse se produit avec les cas de prosopagnosie.

  • Article connexe: "La prosopagnosie, l'incapacité de reconnaître les visages humains"

Contributions de l'équipe d'Adam Zeman

Le terme "afantasía" a été inventé par une équipe de l'Université d'Exeter, au Royaume-Uni, dirigée par Adam Zeman (2010). Ces auteurs ont publié un article sur le cas de MX, un homme qui a fait référence à une perte de capacité de visualisation à la suite d'une angioplastie coronaire . Après cette étape, l'afantasía a commencé à se populariser.


Zeman et ses collègues ont davantage sensibilisé à l'afantasy avec leur deuxième texte à ce sujet (2015). L'équipe d'Exeter s'est appuyée sur les contributions fournies par le biais de questionnaires de 21 personnes qui l'avaient contactée après avoir lu l'article précédent et s'identifiant à la description de cette "cécité imaginative" particulière.

L'étude de Zeman et al. a révélé que il existe différents degrés et formes de présentation de ce phénomène ; ainsi, certaines personnes sont incapables de produire des images visuelles de leur plein gré mais elles peuvent en faire l'expérience spontanément, à la fois pendant l'éveil et pendant le sommeil. Par contre, dans d'autres cas, ces capacités ne sont même pas conservées.

L’ingérence de la fantaisie dans la vie de ceux qui la vivent semble en général assez limitée, bien qu’une proportion importante des participants Problèmes de mémoire autobiographique associés à ce déficit , qui tendait en revanche à compenser par le format verbal ou ce que Zeman et al. ils appellent des "modèles sous-visuels".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Synesthésie, personnes capables de voir les sons et de goûter les couleurs"

Le cas de Blake Ross

En avril 2016, l'ingénieur en logiciel Blake Ross, co-créateur du navigateur Web Mozilla Firefox et ancien chef de produit de Facebook, a publié un texte sur ce réseau social dans lequel il a raconté ses expériences avec afantasy. C’était un article du New York Times qui analysait le cas de MX (Zeman et al., 2010) qui l’avait inspiré pour partager son histoire.

Ross a déclaré qu'il ne savait pas qu'il avait vécu ce phénomène jusqu'à ce qu'il ait lu l'existence de ce phénomène. Jusque-là, a-t-il dit, il croyait que des concepts tels que compter les moutons pour favoriser la consolidation du sommeil ressemblaient à des métaphores. Il n'a pas été en mesure de visualiser le visage de son père décédé, et il croyait que personne ne pouvait vraiment générer des images mentales claires .

Bien sûr, le texte de Ross est devenu viral et a amené beaucoup plus de gens à la même révélation que lui. Depuis lors, nous avons assisté à une augmentation rapide et remarquable de la prise de conscience de ce curieux déficit imaginatif; en conséquence, Les connaissances scientifiques devraient également augmenter dans les années à venir. à propos de l'afantasy.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Faw, B. (2009). Des intuitions contradictoires peuvent être basées sur des capacités différentes - preuves issues de la recherche en imagerie mentale. Journal of Consciousness Studies, 16: 45-68.
  • Galton, F. (1880). Statistiques de l'imagerie mentale. L'esprit. Oxford Journals, os-V (19): 301-318.
  • Zeman, A. Z. J; Della Sala, S .; Torrens, L.A.A .; Gountouna, V. E.; McGonigle, D. J. et Logie, R. H. (2010). Perte de phénoménologie de l'image avec une performance de tâche visuo-spatiale intacte: un cas d '"imagination aveugle". Neuropsychology, 48 (1): 145-155.
  • Zeman, A. Z. J; Dewar, M. et Della Sala, S. (2015). Vies sans images - Aphantasia congénitale. Cortex, 73: 378-380

Afantasía (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes