yes, therapy helps!
The WISC-V intelligence test: changes and novelties

The WISC-V intelligence test: changes and novelties

August 12, 2022

An approximate decade has elapsed since the previous version of the Weschler Intelligence Scale for Children (WISC-IV), adapted in Spain in 2005, until the publication of the new version, the WISC-V. Between both tests can be observed several changes in the scales which make up each of the tests.

These scales currently provide a higher level of reliability and validity of the theoretical construct «intelligence», which have been obtained from the most recent scientific findings on the fields of intelligence, neurodevelopment and learning processes.

In the text published by the General Council of the COP of Spain, an increase in the psychometric indexes is confirmed on: Theoretical Basis, Analysis of the Items, different types of Validity (content and internal structure) and various types of Reliability (stability, consistency internal). Thus, most of these scores on these methodological characteristics are located in the category of Exelente.


Below we will see a detailed description of the essential aspects on the main tests that make up the current WISC-V .

  • Related article: "Types of intelligence tests"

Characteristics of the WISC-V

The WISC V is a clinical test of individual application intended for evaluation of the intellectual aptitudes of individuals between 6 and 16 years 11 months

The results obtained in each of the contained scales result in five specific scores, the Global Indices and a general score that indicates the total Intellectual Coefficient of the evaluated (CI) . The statistical expression of the CI score starts from the normal type distribution of the intelligence variable, which establishes that the population mean is in the value 100 and that it has a standard deviation of +/- 15 points.


Thus, 68% of the population is between the 85 and 115 values ​​and only 2% is at the extremes (scores below 70 or above 130). Below 85, it is understood that the individual has a general intellectual capacity significantly lower than the average. The same happens for figures higher than 115, although in the opposite direction (greater intellectual capacity).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of intellectual disability (and characteristics)"

News in indexes, factors and scales

As a novelty with respect to its predecessor, components have been reformulated and added to some of the five primary indexes. Thus, the WISC-IV consisted of indices: verbal comprehension, perceptive reasoning, working memory and processing speed. On the other hand, WISC-V includes verbal comprehension, fluid reasoning, visuospatial capacity, working memory and processing speed. So, the previous primary factor «perceptual reasoning» has been divided in the current "fluid reasoning" and "visuospatial capacity", expanding the specificity of the skills included in each of them.


On the other hand, the following secondary factors can also be obtained: quantitative reasoning (measures accuracy of academic achievement in reading and mathematics), auditory work memory (memory skills and inhibition of proactive interference) and nonverbal (intellectual aptitude in tests without content verbal), general ability (intellectual ability less related to working memory and processing speed than total IQ) and cognitive competence (efficiency in information processing).

More concretely the WISC-V has fifteen scales , which are detailed below:

TESTDESCRIPTION
Cubes Reproduction with cube-shaped pieces of two-color models presented on cards and with a certain time limit.
Similarities Description of the conceptual elements that present two words read by the examiner.
Matrices Selection among several options of the element that completes each one of the matrices presented.
Digits Repetition of a series of numbers that the examiner indicates following three different criteria: repetition in the same order, repetition in reverse order and repetition in numerical order from least to greatest.
Keys Copy of symbols assigned to the numbers between 1 and 9 in a given time.
vocabulary Graphic identification and verbal definition of the elements indicated by the examiner.
Balances* Selection among different options of the answer that balances the weight in the balance shown, in a specific time.
Visual puzzles * Selection of the elements that make up the puzzle presented within a limited time.
Span of drawings * Identification of the elements presented in order of appearance, in the first presentation, in a subsequent series where more elements appear interspersed.
Search of symbols Identification of one of the two model symbols in a larger set of elements, with a time limit.
information Evaluation of general knowledge based on questions of a different nature.
Letters and numbers Ordination of the elements (letters and numbers) indicated by the examiner, in ascending and alphabetical order respectively.
Cancellation* Search for elements in a set of stimuli presented in a structured or random way in a determined time.
Understanding Answer questions made by the examiner about social norms and rules.
Arithmetic Mental resolution of arithmetic problems in a time limit.

The Global Indices

The fifteen tests indicated are classified into two different subtypes (main and optional) depending on whether they should be accounted for the final count of the value of the total Intellectual Coefficient. Thus, the scales that add up for this calculation become: Cubes, Similarities, Matrices, Digits, Keys, Vocabulary and Balances. * Tests of new incorporation in the WISC-V version.

As indicated above, the list of the fifteen tasks specified above consists of five indices, which consist of the evaluation of the following capabilities :

1. Verbal Comprehension

Evaluates skills in the formation of verbal concepts, the expression of relationships between concepts, richness and precision in the definition of words, understanding of social conventions and knowledge linked to culture. It consists of the scales Similarities, Vocabulary, Information and Understanding .

2. Fluid Reasoning

It corresponds with a measure of logical-deductive reasoning and the identification of abstract visual patterns and the capacity for simultaneous processing through visual analogies. It consists of the measurements of Balances, Matrices and Arithmetic.

  • Related article: "Fluid Intelligence and Crystallized Intelligence: what are they?"

3. Visospatial capacity

Determine the level of reasoning from stimuli and abstract non-verbal conceptual information , visual analysis, as well as practical constructive capacity and perceptive organization. The scales of Cubes and Visual Puzzles are included.

4. Work Memory

It is a measure of information storage and retention capacity , as well as the ability to mentally operate with said information, transform and generate a new result with it. Digits, Letters and Numbers and Span of Drawings are included in this index.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

5. Processing Speed

Analyze the fitness in the focus of attention and in the exploration, ordering, discrimination of visual information presented quickly and effectively. It consists of the Keys, Symbols Search and Cancellation scales.

Areas and purposes of application

The WISC-V test has been designed for purposes included in both clinical and neuropsychological areas of application, educational psychology, forensic psychology or in the field of social services.

Within the different aspects between the main objectives of this test, it becomes the determination of the cognitive capacity or the neuropsychological functioning both in the establishment and in the rejection of the existence of: Developmental Disorders (such as, for example, Autistic Spectrum Disorders or Intellectual Disability Disorders), the presence of High Capabilities; Specific Learning Disorders, neuropsychological dysfunctions such as dementias, Attention Deficit Disorders or also the determination of Special Educational Needs (SEN) in the school collective.

Bibliographic references:

  • General Council of Psychology of Spain: //www.cop.es/uploads/PDF/2016/WISC-V.pdf
  • Hernández, A., Aguilar C., Paradell, E. and Valla, F. (2015) Review of the Spanish Adaptation of the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children - V. Ed: Pearson Education.

Conducting TBI Evaluations Using Data from the NEPSY II, CMS, and DKEFS (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le test d'intelligence du WISC-V: changements et nouveautés

Le test d'intelligence du WISC-V: changements et nouveautés

Janvier 17, 2022

Une décennie environ s'est écoulée depuis la version précédente de la Weschler Intelligence Scale for Children (WISC-IV), adaptée en Espagne en 2005, jusqu'à la publication de la nouvelle version, le WISC-V. Entre les deux tests peuvent être observés plusieurs changements dans les échelles qui composent chacun des tests.

Ces échelles fournissent actuellement un niveau plus élevé de fiabilité et de validité du concept théorique «intelligence», qui a été obtenu à partir des découvertes scientifiques les plus récentes dans les domaines de l'intelligence, du développement neurologique et des processus d'apprentissage.

Dans le texte publié par le Conseil général de la COP d’Espagne, une augmentation des indices psychométriques est confirmée sur: la base théorique, l’analyse des items, différents types de validité (contenu et structure interne) et différents types de fiabilité (stabilité, cohérence). interne). Ainsi, la plupart de ces scores sur ces caractéristiques méthodologiques se situent dans la catégorie d’Exelente.


Ci-dessous, nous verrons une description détaillée du aspects essentiels des principaux tests qui composent le WISC-V actuel .

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests d'intelligence"

Caractéristiques du WISC-V

Le WISC V est un test clinique d’application individuelle destiné à évaluation des aptitudes intellectuelles des individus âgés de 6 à 16 ans 11 mois

Les résultats obtenus dans chacune des échelles contenues se traduisent par cinq scores spécifiques, les indices globaux et un score général indique le coefficient intellectuel total de l'évaluation (CI) . L'expression statistique du score d'IC ​​commence à partir de la distribution de type normal de la variable intelligence, qui établit que la moyenne de la population est dans la valeur 100 et qu'elle a un écart type de +/- 15 points.


Ainsi, 68% de la population se situe entre 85 et 115 et seulement 2% se situent aux extrêmes (scores inférieurs à 70 ou supérieurs à 130). En dessous de 85, il est entendu que l'individu a une capacité intellectuelle générale nettement inférieure à la moyenne. Il en va de même pour les chiffres supérieurs à 115, mais dans le sens opposé (capacité intellectuelle accrue).

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de déficience intellectuelle (et caractéristiques)"

Nouvelles en index, facteurs et échelles

Comme nouveauté par rapport à son prédécesseur, les composants ont été reformulés et ajoutés à certains des cinq index principaux. Ainsi, le WISC-IV consistait en indices: compréhension verbale, raisonnement perceptif, mémoire de travail et vitesse de traitement. D'autre part, WISC-V inclut la compréhension verbale, le raisonnement fluide, la capacité visuospatiale, la mémoire de travail et la vitesse de traitement. Pourtant, le facteur principal précédent «raisonnement perceptuel» a été divisé dans le "raisonnement fluide" et la "capacité visuospatiale" actuels, élargir la spécificité des compétences incluses dans chacune d’elles.


D'autre part, les facteurs secondaires suivants peuvent également être obtenus: raisonnement quantitatif (mesure de l'exactitude des résultats scolaires en lecture et en mathématiques), mémoire de travail auditif (capacités de mémoire et inhibition de l'interférence proactive) et non verbal (aptitude intellectuelle à des tests sans contenu verbale), capacité générale (capacité intellectuelle moins liée à la mémoire de travail et à la vitesse de traitement que le QI total) et compétence cognitive (efficacité du traitement de l’information).

Plus concrètement le WISC-V a quinze échelles , qui sont détaillés ci-dessous:

TESTDESCRIPTION
Cubes Reproduction avec des morceaux en forme de cube de modèles bicolores présentés sur des cartes et avec une certaine limite de temps.
Similitudes Description des éléments conceptuels présentant deux mots lus par l'examinateur.
Matrices Sélection parmi plusieurs options de l'élément complétant chacune des matrices présentées.
Chiffres La répétition d'une série de nombres que l'examinateur indique selon trois critères différents: répétition dans le même ordre, répétition inversée et répétition dans l'ordre numérique, du plus petit au plus grand.
Les clés Copie des symboles assignés aux nombres entre 1 et 9 dans un temps donné.
Vocabulaire Identification graphique et définition verbale des éléments indiqués par l'examinateur.
Balances * Sélection parmi différentes options de la réponse qui équilibre le poids dans la balance affichée, dans un temps spécifique.
Puzzles visuels * Sélection des éléments qui composent le puzzle présenté dans un temps limité.
Étendue des dessins * Identification des éléments présentés par ordre d'apparition, dans la première présentation, dans une série ultérieure dans laquelle plusieurs éléments apparaissent parsemés.
Recherche de symboles Identification de l'un des deux symboles du modèle dans un ensemble d'éléments plus large, avec une limite de temps.
Les informations Evaluation des connaissances générales sur des questions de nature différente.
Lettres et chiffres Ordination des éléments (lettres et chiffres) indiqués par l’examinateur, respectivement par ordre croissant et alphabétique.
Annulation * Rechercher des éléments dans un ensemble de stimuli présentés de manière structurée ou aléatoire dans un temps déterminé.
La compréhension Répondez aux questions posées par l'examinateur sur les normes et règles sociales.
Arithmétique Résolution mentale des problèmes arithmétiques dans un délai imparti.

Les indices globaux

Les quinze tests indiqués sont classés en deux sous-types différents (principal et facultatif) selon qu'ils doivent ou non être pris en compte pour le décompte final de la valeur du coefficient intellectuel total. Ainsi, les échelles qui s’additionnent pour ce calcul deviennent: Cubes, Similarités, Matrices, Chiffres, Clés, Vocabulaire et Balances. * Tests de nouvelle incorporation dans la version WISC-V.

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la liste des quinze tâches spécifiées ci-dessus est composée de cinq index, qui consiste en l'évaluation des capacités suivantes :

1. Compréhension verbale

Évalue les compétences dans la formation de concepts verbaux, l'expression de relations entre les concepts, la richesse et la précision dans la définition des mots, la compréhension des conventions sociales et les connaissances liées à la culture. Il comprend les échelles Similitudes, Vocabulaire, Information et Compréhension. .

2. Raisonnement fluide

Il correspond avec une mesure du raisonnement logique déductif et l'identification de motifs visuels abstraits et la capacité de traitement simultané par analogies visuelles. Il comprend les mesures de balances, matrices et arithmétiques.

  • Article connexe: "Intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée: de quoi s'agit-il?"

3. Capacité visospatiale

Déterminer le niveau de raisonnement à partir de stimuli et d'informations conceptuelles abstraites non verbales , analyse visuelle, ainsi que capacité pratique constructive et organisation perceptive. Les échelles de cubes et de puzzles visuels sont incluses.

4. mémoire de travail

C'est une mesure de capacité de stockage et de rétention d'informations , ainsi que la capacité de fonctionner mentalement avec lesdites informations, de transformer et de générer un nouveau résultat. Les chiffres, les lettres, les chiffres et l'étendue des dessins sont inclus dans cet index.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

5. Vitesse de traitement

Analyser le remise en forme au centre de l'attention et dans l'exploration, la commande, la discrimination des informations visuelles présentées rapidement et efficacement. Il comprend les échelles de recherche de clés, de symboles et d’annulation.

Domaines et finalités d'application

Le test WISC-V a été conçu pour des applications à la fois cliniques et neuropsychologiques, en psychologie de l'éducation, en psychologie légale ou dans le domaine des services sociaux.

Dans les différents aspects entre les objectifs principaux de ce test, il devient la détermination de la capacité cognitive ou du fonctionnement neuropsychologique à la fois dans l'établissement et dans le rejet de l'existence: Troubles de la déficience intellectuelle), la présence de capacités élevées; Troubles d'apprentissage spécifiques, dysfonctionnements neuropsychologiques tels que démences, troubles du déficit de l'attention ou également détermination des besoins éducatifs spéciaux (NES) dans la collectivité scolaire.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Conseil général de psychologie d'Espagne: //www.cop.es/uploads/PDF/2016/WISC-V.pdf
  • Hernández, A., Aguilar C., E. Paradell et F. Valla (2015). Examen de l'adaptation espagnole de l'échelle de Wechsler Intelligence pour les enfants - V. Ed.: Pearson Education.

Bachata à Strasbourg - Salsa In The City Part3 (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes