yes, therapy helps!
Uncus: structure and functions of this part of the brain

Uncus: structure and functions of this part of the brain

May 27, 2024

The brain is, as we already know, one of the most important organs for our survival. The main organ of the nervous system governs and modulates the functioning of the rest of the body systems.

But it is not a simple uniform mass of neuronal tissue, but it consists of different structures that can be divided into different parts, the most superior and external being the cerebral cortex. One of the structures that are part of the cerebral cortex is the uncus , which is also linked to the limbic system. We will discuss this structure of the nervous system in this article.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Uncus: definition and location of this structure

If we look at the cerebral cortex we can see a lot of small convolutions and grooves, which allows the whole cortex to be in a space as compressed as the inside of the skull. One of these convolutions is the hippocampal turn, at the end of which we can find the uncus.


The uncus is therefore one end of the para-hippocampal gyrus or hippocampal turn, being part of the cortex of the temporal lobe of the encephalon (specifically of the paleocortex). Although it is part of said bark, it can not be observed with the naked eye, since it is largely inserted inside the brain.

This hook-shaped structure (the shape is what gives it the name) also part of the limbic system , connecting with the hippocampus (some authors even consider it part of the hippocampal formation) in the head of this organ and with the amygdala (which is fused in part with this structure).

Functions associated with the uncus

This structure plays an important role when it comes to carry out different cognitive processes . The uncus participates and would be especially associated with functions related to the limbic system and smell.


1. Participation in memory

One of its main functions is to participate in the codification of working memory and to contribute to its consolidation. It has also been observed that it contributes to record the new information in the form of memories , being involved in the antegrade memory.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

2. Autonoetic awareness

It is speculated that the uncus and its nervous connections have a high level of relationship with the autonoética consciousness, that is to say through which we construct the history of our life situating ourselves in them.

3. Processing olfactory information

Another of its functions is linked to the olfactory system, processing its information and transmitting its information. Hyperstimulation of the uncus can generate causes the existence of olfactory hallucinations. It is also responsible for the emergence of strange olfactory sensations before or during an epileptic seizure.


4. Space navigation

Finally, it is also related to navigation in space, contributing to the formation of brain maps and the ability to orient oneself.

5. Mood and anxiety

The fact that it is connected to the limbic system causes the uncus to be related to the regulation of mood and anxiety, there may be alterations linked to these elements if it looks damaged.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional psychology: main theories of emotion"

Alterations and injuries in the uncus

Although not very known by the majority of the population, the uncus in a part of our organism of great importance whose injury or alteration can generate various symptoms and harmful effects.

The effects of a direct injury to the uncus can cause serious problems when orienting and maintaining anterograde memory (that is, the ability to record new declarative information in our memory). In addition to it being part of the paleocortex and receiving olfactory information an injury in this area can also generate partial or total loss of smell and smell.

The uncus can become herniated in such a way that it can pinch and compress the third cranial nerve (the oculomotor nerve), the cerebral aqueduct, the posterior cerebral artery, and / or the third cranial nerve. This would produce various effects of varying severity.

One of the possible consequences is the generation of a cerebral stroke in the event that the posterior cerebral artery is compressed, which could cause hypofunction or even death of part of the brain . The understanding of the cranial nerve can generate mydriasis in the same hemisphere in which the injury or hernia exists, one of its symptoms being more evident at a physical level.

However, if what is compressed is the mesencephalon, there may be losses or alterations of consciousness, hemiparesis and we could even be in the presence of an injury with the potential to cause the brain death of the affected subject.

Relationship with several mental disorders

Some symptoms have been related to various neurological mental disorders to the alteration of the uncus . It has been linked to alterations of anxiety and mood, to schizophrenia, to various types of brain injuries and intoxications or even a possible alteration in this area has been investigated in psychopathic subjects.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Bibliographic references:

  • Craig, M.C .; Catani, C .; Deeley, Q .; Latham, R .; Daly, E .; Kanaan, R .; Picchioni, M .; McGuire, P.K .; Fahy, T. & Murphy, D.G.M (2009). "Altered connections on the road to psychopathy". Molecular Psychiatry. 14 (10): 946-53, 907.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrid: MacGrawHill.
  • Madrigal, E. and Hernández, C. (2017). Generalities of Brain Skull Trauma in Legal Medicine. Bibliographic review. Legal Medicine of Costa Rica 34 (1). Costa Rica.
  • Redolar, D .; Moreno, A .; Robles, N .; Soriano, C .; Torras, M .; Vale, A.M. (2010). Fundamentals of psychobiology. Editorial UOC. Barcelona.

GYRI OF THE BRAIN - LEARN IN 4 MINUTES (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Uncus: structure et fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

Uncus: structure et fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

Décembre 9, 2021

Comme nous le savons déjà, le cerveau est l’un des organes les plus importants pour notre survie. L'organe principal du système nerveux gouverne et module le fonctionnement du reste des systèmes corporels.

Mais ce n'est pas une simple masse uniforme de tissu neuronal, mais elle est constituée de différentes structures pouvant être divisées en différentes parties, la plus supérieure et la plus externe étant le cortex cérébral. Une des structures qui font partie du cortex cérébral est l’unus , qui est également liée au système limbique. Nous discuterons de cette structure du système nerveux dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Uncus: définition et localisation de cette structure

Si nous regardons le cortex cérébral, nous pouvons voir beaucoup de petites circonvolutions et de petites rainures, ce qui permet à tout le cortex d'être dans un espace aussi comprimé que l'intérieur du crâne. Une de ces circonvolutions est le virage de l’hippocampe, au bout duquel on peut trouver l’incus.


L'incus est donc une extrémité du gyrus para-hippocampique ou tour de l'hippocampe, faisant partie du cortex du lobe temporal de l'encéphale (plus précisément du paléocortex). Bien qu'il fasse partie de ladite écorce, il ne peut être observé à l'œil nu, car il est en grande partie inséré dans le cerveau.

Cette structure en forme de crochet (c'est la forme qui lui donne son nom) fait également partie du système limbique , se connectant à l'hippocampe (certains auteurs le considèrent même comme faisant partie de la formation de l'hippocampe) dans la tête de cet organe et à l'amygdale (qui est en partie fusionnée à cette structure).

Fonctions associées à l’incus

Cette structure joue un rôle important en matière de effectuer différents processus cognitifs . L'Unus participe et serait particulièrement associé aux fonctions liées au système limbique et à l'odorat.


1. Participation en mémoire

Une de ses fonctions principales est de participer à la codification de la mémoire de travail et de contribuer à sa consolidation. Il a également été observé qu'il contribue à enregistrer les nouvelles informations sous forme de mémoires , étant impliqué dans la mémoire antérograde.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

2. Prise de conscience autonoétique

Il est spéculé sur le fait que l’incus et ses connexions nerveuses ont un haut niveau de relation avec la conscience autonoética, c’est-à-dire à travers laquelle nous construisons l’histoire de notre vie en nous situant.

3. Traitement des informations olfactives

Une autre de ses fonctions est liée au système olfactif, au traitement de ses informations et à la transmission de ses informations. Hyperstimulation de l'incus peut générer provoque l’existence d’hallucinations olfactives. Il est également responsable de l'apparition de sensations olfactives étranges avant ou pendant une crise d'épilepsie.


4. Navigation spatiale

Enfin, il est également lié à la navigation dans l’espace, contribuer à la formation de cartes cérébrales et la capacité de s'orienter.

5. Humeur et anxiété

Le fait qu’il soit connecté au système limbique fait que l’incertitude est liée à la régulation de l’humeur et de l’anxiété, il peut y avoir des modifications liées à ces éléments si cela semble endommagé.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychologie émotionnelle: principales théories de l'émotion"

Altérations et blessures à l'incus

Bien que peu connu de la majorité de la population, l’inconscient dans une partie de notre organisme d’une grande importance dont la blessure ou l'altération peut générer divers symptômes et effets nocifs.

Les effets d’une blessure directe sur l’onculeur peuvent entraîner de graves problèmes lors de l’orientation et du maintien de la mémoire antérograde (c’est-à-dire la capacité d’enregistrer de nouvelles informations déclaratives dans notre mémoire). En plus de cela faire partie du paléocortex et recevoir des informations olfactives, une blessure dans cette zone peut également générer une perte partielle ou totale de l’odeur et de l’odeur.

L'oncus peut devenir hernié de telle sorte qu'il peut pincer et comprimer le troisième nerf crânien (le nerf oculomoteur), l'aqueduc cérébral, l'artère cérébrale postérieure et / ou le troisième nerf cranien. Cela produirait divers effets de gravité variable.

L’une des conséquences possibles est la survenue d’un AVC cérébral dans le cas où l’artère cérébrale postérieure est comprimée, ce qui pourrait provoquer une hypofonction ou même la mort d'une partie du cerveau . La compréhension du nerf crânien peut générer une mydriase dans le même hémisphère dans lequel se trouve la lésion ou la hernie, l'un de ses symptômes étant plus évident au niveau physique.

Toutefois, si le mésencéphale est comprimé, il peut en résulter des pertes ou des altérations de la conscience, une hémiparésie et même une blessure susceptible de provoquer la mort cérébrale du sujet touché.

Relation avec plusieurs troubles mentaux

Certains symptômes ont été liés à divers troubles mentaux neurologiques à l'altération de l'oncre . Il a été associé à des altérations de l'anxiété et de l'humeur, à la schizophrénie, à divers types de lésions cérébrales et d'intoxications, voire à une éventuelle altération de ce domaine chez des sujets psychopathes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Craig, M.C .; Catani, C .; Deeley, Q .; Latham, R .; Daly, E .; Kanaan, R .; Picchioni, M.; McGuire, P.K .; Fahy, T. et Murphy, D.G.M (2009). "Changements de relations sur le chemin de la psychopathie". Psychiatrie moléculaire. 14 (10): 946-53, 907.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrid: MacGrawHill.
  • Madrigal, E. et Hernández, C. (2017). Généralités sur le traumatisme crânien en médecine légale. Revue de la littérature. Médecine légale du Costa Rica 34 (1). Costa Rica
  • Redolar, D .; Moreno, A .; Robles, N .; Soriano, C; Torras, M .; Vale, A.M. (2010). Fondements de la psychobiologie. UOC éditorial. Barcelone

How the SOUNDBRIDGE works with Amadé Audio Processor (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes