yes, therapy helps!
Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler

Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler

October 1, 2022

Intelligence is one of the great concepts studied by psychology and, in addition, one of the most difficult to explain. Being the intellect a defining capacity of the human being, it's hard to trace its evolutionary roots and, therefore, come to understand how their biological bases originated in our species. However, it is not true that the intellectual capacity we have has come out of nowhere, and this is also manifested in the study of other species with which we have common ancestors: the so-called research on animal intelligence.

The ability to mentally create simple scenes in which problems can be solved virtually, also called insight, is also typical of some animals of recent evolution. The foundations of intelligent behavior can be found, therefore, in other species contemporary to ours. Regarding the study of animal intelligence, two of the reference psychologists are Wolfgang Köhler , associated with the psychology of Gestalt , Y Edward Thorndike , behavioral psychologist.


Animal intelligence, polyhedral concept

In the first place we must clarify the object of study of both Kölher and Thorndike. The first of them wants to check to what extent there are intelligent behaviors in animals, especially anthropoids, but it is clear that their level of intelligence is behind that of the human being in terms of insight capacity. The second of them, Thorndike, highlights his object of study as a process described in terms of association laws. Therefore, while Köhler looks at the qualitative jumps that occur in the behavior of the animal when solving a problem (explained by the fact that get "out of hand" to solve a problem thanks to the power of insight), Thorndike explains problem solving in animals as a cumulative process of repetitions.


Referring to Thorndike, we highlight his special interest in the knowledge of sensory faculties, phenotypes, reactions and representational links established by experience when studying animal intelligence. According to their criteria, the word "association" can encompass a multitude of different processes that manifest themselves in multiple contexts. In this way, for Thorndike the association not only does not mark the limits of rational behavior, but is the substrate of this being the mechanism by which certain animals adapt to the environment in the best possible way . For this reason, it discards the negative connotations of a word linked to scope of the laboratory .

Kölher, however, considers that there is no associationist psychologist who in his impartial observations does not distinguish and oppose the non-intelligent behaviors on the one hand and the non-intelligent ones on the other. This is why when Thorndike, after his research with cats and chickens, mentions that "nothing in his behavior seems intelligent" Kölher believes that whoever formulates the results in these terms should be more flexible in its definition of animal intelligence .


The method

For the object of Thorndike's study, that is, to interpret the ways of acting of the animals, he built a study method based on the mediation of the time curves of progress. These curves of the progress in the formation of the "correct" associations, calculated from the records of the times of the animal in the successive trials, are absolute facts. It considers them good representations of the progress in the formation of the association because it accounts for two essential factors: the disappearance of all activity except the one that leads to the success and the realization of this last activity in a precise and voluntary way .

The place

The medium for this type of analysis was the laboratory , since it allowed to isolate variables as much as possible. As for the animals studied, he used mainly cats, but also chickens and dogs, to determine the ability and time it took for these animals to build a set of sufficiently effective actions to achieve their goals, that is, to achieve the food or what the researcher showed them through the bars of the box.

Kölher, despite using chickens and dogs promptly as subjects of experimentation to study animal intelligence, focuses on the anthropoids. For these, it constructs a complicated geometry of movements so that the animals reach their objective, which is located so that it is visually identified by the anthropoids. In addition, it considers of utmost importance the fact that the behavior of these animals must be continuously observed, for which it performs a good analysis based on observation . Kölher believes that only by causing insecurity and perplexity in chimpanzees through slight modifications of the problem can one study the constant adaptation to the circumstances that is manifested through intelligent action.

Discussion on animal intelligence

Thorndike concluded that the starting point for the association is the set of instinctive activities activated at the moment when the animal feels uncomfortable in the cage, either because of confinement or because of a desire for food. In this way one of the movements present in the The behavioral repertoire of the animal would be selected for success . Then the animal associates certain impulses that have led to success with the feeling of confinement, and these "useful" impulses they are strengthened through the association .

Kölher, in addition to his idea of ​​the importance of geometric conditions, took into account that Chance can lead animals to privileged and unequal positions since sometimes it can happen that a series of coincidences lead the animal directly towards the goal, masking the whole process as a sample of animal intelligence. This leads to the conclusion that the more complex the work to be done, the lower the probability of a solution by chance. He also believes that the experiment becomes more difficult when a part of the problem, if possible the most important, is not visible from the starting point, but only known by experience. That is why it considers important the complexity of the problem and consequently the discrimination between conducts determined by chance and intelligent behaviors.

The critics

Kölher held some objections about Thorndike's experiments. The main one was his criticism towards Thorndike's idea that in animals there is no idea from the perception from which to work mentally in the resolution of a problem (as it happens in the human being), but simply limited to establish connections between experiences. Köler, however, speaks of the insight capacity of many animals, the property of being able to suddenly arrive at the solution of a problem through the mental representation of what happens in the environment.

In turn, Thorndike denied that in the animal there is an awareness of the available ideas or impulses, and therefore also denied the possibility that the animal association is identical to the association of human psychology. From this position, denied the existence of animal intelligence .

Kölher, however, affirms that intelligent behavior does exist, at least in anthropoids, even though they are inferior to that of human beings. East lower grade in the insight of non-human animals is mainly explained by the lack of the capacity to create language and the limitation in the repertoire of possible ideas, which remain linked to the concrete and the immediate environment.


Thorndike Puzzle Box - Psychology Experiment (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler

Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler

Juin 25, 2019

L'intelligence est l'un des grands concepts étudiés par la psychologie et, de surcroît, l'un des plus difficiles à expliquer. Etre l'intellect une capacité déterminante de l'être humain, il est difficile de retracer ses racines évolutives et, par conséquent, en viennent à comprendre comment leurs bases biologiques ont pris naissance dans notre espèce. Cependant, il est faux de dire que nos capacités intellectuelles sont sorties de nulle part, et cela se manifeste également dans l'étude d'autres espèces avec lesquelles nous avons des ancêtres communs: la soi-disant recherche sur l'intelligence animale.

La capacité de créer mentalement des scènes simples dans lesquelles des problèmes peuvent être résolus virtuellement, également appelées perspicacité, est également typique de certains animaux en évolution récente. Les fondements d'un comportement intelligent peuvent donc être trouvés dans d'autres espèces contemporaines aux nôtres. En ce qui concerne l'étude de l'intelligence animale, deux des psychologues de référence sont Wolfgang Köhler , associé à la psychologie de Gestalt et Edward Thorndike , psychologue du comportement.


Intelligence animale, concept polyédrique

En premier lieu, nous devons clarifier l’objet d’étude de Kölher et de Thorndike. Le premier d'entre eux veut vérifier dans quelle mesure il existe des comportements intelligents chez les animaux, en particulier les anthropoïdes, mais il est clair que leur niveau d'intelligence est inférieur à celui de l'être humain en termes de capacité de compréhension. Le second d'entre eux, Thorndike, souligne son objet d'étude en tant que processus décrit en termes de lois sur les associations. Par conséquent, alors que Köhler examine les sauts qualitatifs intervenant dans le comportement de l'animal lors de la résolution d'un problème (expliqué par le fait que obtenir "de la main" pour résoudre un problème grâce au pouvoir de perspicacité), Thorndike explique la résolution de problèmes chez les animaux processus cumulatif de répétitions.


En se référant à Thorndike, nous soulignons son intérêt particulier pour la connaissance des facultés sensorielles, des phénotypes, des réactions et des liens de représentation établis par l'expérience acquise lors de l'étude de l'intelligence animale. Selon leurs critères, le mot "association" peut englober une multitude de processus différents qui se manifestent dans plusieurs contextes. De cette façon, pour Thorndike, l’association non seulement ne marque pas les limites du comportement rationnel, mais en est le substrat qui permet à certains animaux de s’adapter de la meilleure façon possible à l’environnement. . Pour cette raison, il écarte les connotations négatives d’un mot lié à portée du laboratoire .

Kölher considère toutefois qu'il n'y a pas de psychologue associationniste qui, dans ses observations impartiales, ne distingue pas et ne s'oppose pas aux comportements non intelligents d'une part et aux comportements non intelligents de l'autre. C'est pourquoi lorsque Thorndike, après ses recherches sur les chats et les poulets, mentionne que "rien dans son comportement ne semble intelligent", Kölher estime que celui qui formule les résultats en ces termes devrait être plus flexible dans sa définition de l'intelligence animale .


La méthode

Pour l’objet de l’étude de Thorndike, c’est-à-dire pour interpréter les manières d’agir des animaux, il a construit un Méthode d'étude basée sur la médiation des courbes temporelles de progression. Ces courbes de progression dans la formation des associations "correctes", calculées à partir des enregistrements des temps de l'animal dans les essais successifs, sont des faits absolus. Elle les considère comme de bonnes représentations des progrès réalisés dans la constitution de l’association car elle compte pour deux facteurs essentiels: la disparition de toute activité sauf celle qui conduit au succès et à la réalisation de cette dernière activité de manière volontaire et précise .

Le lieu

Le médium pour ce type de l'analyse était le laboratoire , car cela permettait d’isoler les variables autant que possible. En ce qui concerne les animaux étudiés, il a utilisé principalement des chats, mais également des poulets et des chiens, pour déterminer l'aptitude et le temps nécessaires pour que ces animaux se construisent un ensemble de mesures suffisamment efficaces pour atteindre leurs objectifs, à savoir: nourriture ou ce que le chercheur leur a montré à travers les barres de la boîte.

Kölher, malgré l'utilisation rapide de poulets et de chiens comme sujets d'expérimentation pour étudier l'intelligence animale, se concentre sur les anthropoïdes. Pour ceux-ci, il construit une géométrie complexe de mouvements afin que les animaux atteignent leur objectif, qui est situé de manière à être identifié visuellement par les anthropoïdes. En outre, il considère de la plus haute importance le fait que le comportement de ces animaux doit être observé en permanence, pour lequel il effectue une bonne analyse basée sur l'observation . Kölher pense que ce n'est qu'en provoquant l'insécurité et la perplexité chez les chimpanzés à travers de légères modifications du problème que l'on peut étudier l'adaptation constante aux circonstances qui se manifeste par une action intelligente.

Discussion sur l'intelligence animale

Thorndike a conclu que le point de départ de l'association est l'ensemble des activités instinctives activées au moment où l'animal se sent mal à l'aise dans la cage, que ce soit par confinement ou par désir de nourriture. De cette façon, l’un des mouvements présents dans le Le répertoire comportemental de l'animal serait sélectionné pour réussir . Ensuite, l’animal associe certaines impulsions qui ont conduit au succès avec le sentiment d’enfermement, et ces impulsions "utiles" ils sont renforcés par l'association .

Kölher, outre son idée de l’importance des conditions géométriques, a tenu compte du fait que Le hasard peut mener les animaux à des positions privilégiées et inégales Puisqu'il peut parfois arriver qu'une série de coïncidences conduise l'animal directement vers l'objectif, masquant ainsi l'ensemble du processus en tant qu'échantillon d'intelligence animale. Ceci mène à la conclusion que plus le travail à effectuer est complexe, plus la probabilité d'une solution au hasard est faible. Il pense également que l'expérience devient plus difficile lorsqu'une partie du problème, si possible la plus importante, n'est pas visible depuis le début, mais n'est connue que par l'expérience. C'est pourquoi il considère comme importante la complexité du problème et par conséquent la discrimination entre les comportements déterminés par le hasard et les comportements intelligents.

Les critiques

Kölher avait des objections à propos des expériences de Thorndike. Le principal était son critique de l'idée de Thorndike selon laquelle, chez les animaux, la perception à partir de laquelle travailler mentalement ne permet pas de résoudre un problème (comme cela se produit chez l’être humain), mais se limite simplement à établir des liens entre les expériences. Köler, cependant, parle de la capacité de discernement de nombreux animaux, de la propriété de pouvoir arriver tout à coup à la solution d'un problème par la représentation mentale de ce qui se passe dans l'environnement.

À son tour, Thorndike a nié l'existence chez l'animal d'une conscience des idées ou impulsions disponibles, et a donc également nié la possibilité que l'association animale soit identique à l'association de la psychologie humaine. De cette position, nié l'existence de l'intelligence animale .

Kölher affirme toutefois que le comportement intelligent existe, du moins chez les anthropoïdes, même s’ils sont inférieurs à ceux de l’être humain. Celui-ci niveau inférieur dans la perspicacité des animaux non humains s’explique principalement par le manque de capacité à créer un langage et par la limitation du répertoire des idées possibles, qui restent liées au concret et à l’environnement immédiat.


Puzzle box (Thorndike) (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes