yes, therapy helps!
Phrenology: measuring the skull to study the mind

Phrenology: measuring the skull to study the mind

November 27, 2021

Phrenology was a pseudoscience that defended that the shape of the skull gave information about the faculties and mental features of people. This movement was popularized in the 18th century by the physician Franz Gall and had a large following, although it lost relevance after a few decades.

In this article we will describe the history of phrenology, the basic postulates of this discipline and the conception of the brain that had the disciples of Gall. Finally, we will talk about the legacy of phrenology in modern neuroanatomy.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

History of phrenology

Phrenological hypotheses did not arise in a vacuum, but were derived from previously existing conceptions. In particular, physiognomy enjoyed a certain popularity during the 18th century, which proposed that people's physical appearance could be used as a basis for analyzing their psychology, and Charles Bonnet influenced brain localization.


The German doctor Franz Joseph Gall (1758-1828) He began to give lectures on phrenology in 1796. It was his collaborator Johann Gaspar Spurzheim, also a key figure, who spread the word "phrenology", of which Gall renegade since he saw himself primarily as a physiologist and neuroanatomist.

Like mesmerism, phrenology extended as a probable scientific truth among the lower and middle classes of eighteenth-century Europe, very open to advances in different fields because of the influence of the French Revolution and the Enlightenment. Edinburgh became the nucleus of phrenology , and there the first phrenological society was founded.


In the 1840s, barely 40 years after its emergence, phrenology hypotheses had been discredited by the scientific community. However, interest in these practices spread to America and Africa with European colonization, and in many places they have resurfaced at specific moments, especially as a tool of racial domination.

  • Related article: "Morphopsychology: your facial features ... indicate your personality?"

Basic postulates of Franz Joseph Gall

Gall published in 1819 his key work: "Anatomy and physiology of the nervous system in general, and the brain in particular, with observations on the possibility of recognizing many intellectual and moral dispositions of man and animals by the configuration of their heads."

In this text, Gall described the six basic postulates of phrenology .


1. The brain is the organ of the mind

For phrenologists the mind was located in the brain; Today this idea, which was not new in the days of Gall, enjoys great popularity. This approach was opposed to the conception of mind as a manifestation of the soul, more widespread in the eighteenth century than today.

2. The mind is composed of faculties

The mind is not a unitary entity, but is composed of multiple faculties. In phrenology the concept "faculty" refers to the different specializations or tendencies of the mind , like ambition, perseverance or benevolence. Later we will make a list of the faculties described by Gall.

3. Each faculty is located in an organ

Gall considered that, since the mental faculties are different and unique, they should necessarily be located in separate "organs" of the brain. This postulate turns phrenology into a antecedent of localizationist theories on the functions of the central nervous system.

4. The size of an organ indicates its power

The relative size of each organ in comparison with the rest of the brain can be taken as a sign of the development of a certain faculty, according to phrenology. Likewise, an organ can be larger in one of the cerebral hemispheres than in the other.

5. The organs determine the shape of the skull

Gall said that during childhood development the bones of the skull take their shape according to the size of the cerebral organs . These structural idiosyncrasies, and the psychological ones that are derived from them, are maintained during the rest of life once the growth of the brain has ended.

6. The surface of the skull reveals the mind

Probably this is the most famous principle of phrenology : given that the development of the organs (and therefore of the faculties) influences the shape of the skull, the analysis of its surface allows to determine the personality and the rest of mental features of a person.

Gall and most phrenologists examined the skull with their fingers and palms to detect peculiarities, such as cracks or overdeveloped regions. They also used tape measures and, occasionally, a special calibrator that was called the "craneometer".

Phrenological organs and mental faculties

Gall proposed 27 faculties associated with brain organs concrete. Although its proposal is the best known in this field, there was never a true consensus among phrenologists regarding the number and characteristics of these regions.

  • 1. Propagation impulse (reproductive)
  • 2. Parental love
  • 3. Friendly attachment and fidelity
  • 4. Value and self-protection
  • 5. Murder and carnivorism
  • 6. Astucia
  • 7. Theft and sense of ownership
  • 8. Pride, arrogance and love for authority
  • 9. Ambition and vanity
  • 10. Prudence
  • 11. Fitness for learning and education
  • 12. Sense of location
  • 13. Memory of people
  • 14. Verb sense and memory
  • 15. Language ability, talent for words
  • 16. Preference for color
  • 17. Sense for sounds and musical talent
  • 18. Numerical and temporal sense
  • 19. Mechanical fitness
  • 20. Comparative sharpness
  • 21. Metaphysical acuity
  • 22. Ingenuity, sense of causality and inference
  • 23. Poetic talent
  • 24. Benevolence, compassion and moral sense
  • 25. Mimicry, ability to imitate
  • 26. Theosophy, religious feeling
  • 27. Perseverance and firmness

Phrenology today

Although their methods were erroneous, some of Gall's claims have been confirmed over time and scientific progress. Thus, it is known that effectively there are brain structures relevant to certain functions , and that some of them develop with the use, as it happens with the hippocampus, implied in the memory.

However, phrenological approaches were very reductionist and rigid compared to what is known at present about the distribution of brain activity around regions and pathways. Likewise, the "organs" identified by Gall do not correspond to the faculties to which he associated them .

The exception is the region to which he attributed the faculty for language and verbal memory, which is located near the areas of Broca and Wernicke. These structures, located in the frontal and temporal lobes respectively, have been related to the understanding and production of language.

The contributions of phrenology and other localizationist positions on the cerebral faculties have lost relevance nowadays, but have allowed the extension of scientific knowledge. They are especially known the brain areas described by Korbinian Brodmann , which can be considered a more serious version of Gall's proposal.


Phrenology Head (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Phrénologie: mesurer le crâne pour étudier l'esprit

Phrénologie: mesurer le crâne pour étudier l'esprit

Septembre 28, 2022

La phrénologie était une pseudoscience qui défendait la forme du crâne a donné des informations sur les facultés et les caractéristiques mentales du peuple. Ce mouvement a été popularisé au 18ème siècle par le médecin Franz Gall et a attiré de nombreux adeptes, bien qu'il ait perdu sa pertinence après quelques décennies.

Dans cet article, nous décrirons l'histoire de la phrénologie, les postulats de base de cette discipline et la conception du cerveau qu'avaient les disciples de Gall. Enfin, nous parlerons de l'héritage de la phrénologie dans la neuroanatomie moderne.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Histoire de la phrénologie

Les hypothèses phrénologiques ne sont pas apparues dans le vide, mais découlaient de conceptions existantes. En particulier, la physionomie jouissait d’une certaine popularité au 18e siècle, selon laquelle l’apparence physique des personnes pouvait servir de base à l’analyse de leur psychologie, et Charles Bonnet influait sur la localisation du cerveau.


Le médecin allemand Franz Joseph Gall (1758-1828) Il commença à donner des conférences sur la phrénologie en 1796. Ce fut son collaborateur Johann Gaspar Spurzheim, également un personnage clé, qui répandit le mot "phrénologie", dont Gall renégat puisqu'il se considérait avant tout comme physiologiste et neuroanatomiste.

Comme le mesmérisme, la phrénologie s'est étendue comme une vérité scientifique probable parmi les classes inférieures et moyennes de l'Europe du XVIIIe siècle, très ouverte aux progrès dans différents domaines en raison de l'influence de la Révolution française et des Lumières. Edimbourg est devenu le noyau de la phrénologie et c'est là que fut créée la première société phrénologique.


Dans les années 1840, à peine 40 ans après son émergence, les hypothèses de phrénologie avaient été discréditées par la communauté scientifique. Cependant, l'intérêt suscité par ces pratiques s'est étendu aux États-Unis et en Afrique avec la colonisation européenne et, dans de nombreux endroits, elles ont refait surface à des moments spécifiques, notamment comme outil de domination raciale.

  • Article connexe: "Morphopsychologie: les traits de votre visage ... indiquent votre personnalité?"

Postulats de base de Franz Joseph Gall

Gall publia en 1819 son ouvrage clé: "Anatomie et physiologie du système nerveux en général, et du cerveau en particulier, avec des observations sur la possibilité de reconnaître de nombreuses dispositions intellectuelles et morales de l'homme et des animaux par la configuration de leur tête".

Dans ce texte, Gall a décrit les six postulats de base de la phrénologie .


1. Le cerveau est l'organe de l'esprit

Pour les phrénologues, l'esprit était situé dans le cerveau; Aujourd'hui, cette idée, qui n'était pas nouvelle à l'époque de Gall, jouit d'une grande popularité. Cette approche s'opposait à la conception de l'esprit en tant que manifestation de l'âme, plus répandue au XVIIIe siècle qu'aujourd'hui.

2. L'esprit est composé de facultés

L'esprit n'est pas une entité unitaire, mais est composé de multiples facultés. En phrénologie, le terme "faculté" fait référence aux différents spécialisations ou tendances de l'esprit , comme l'ambition, la persévérance ou la bienveillance. Nous dresserons plus tard une liste des facultés décrites par Gall.

3. Chaque faculté est située dans un organe

Gall considérait que, les facultés mentales étant différentes et uniques, elles devraient nécessairement être situées dans des "organes" distincts du cerveau. Ce postulat transforme la phrénologie en un antécédent de théories localisationnistes sur les fonctions du système nerveux central.

4. La taille d'un organe indique sa puissance

Selon la phrénologie, la taille relative de chaque organe par rapport au reste du cerveau peut être considérée comme un signe du développement d'une faculté donnée. De même, un organe peut être plus grand dans l’un des hémisphères cérébraux que dans l’autre.

5. Les organes déterminent la forme du crâne

Gall a dit que pendant le développement de l'enfance les os du crâne prennent leur forme en fonction de la taille des organes cérébraux . Ces idiosyncrasies structurelles, ainsi que les altérations psychologiques qui en découlent, sont maintenues pendant le reste de la vie une fois la croissance du cerveau terminée.

6. La surface du crâne révèle l'esprit

Probablement c'est le principe le plus célèbre de la phrénologie : étant donné que le développement des organes (et donc des facultés) influence la forme du crâne, l'analyse de sa surface permet de déterminer la personnalité et le reste des caractéristiques mentales d'une personne.

Gall et la plupart des phrénologues ont examiné le crâne avec leurs doigts et leurs paumes pour détecter des particularités, telles que des fissures ou des régions surdéveloppées. Ils ont également utilisé des rubans à mesurer et, parfois, un calibrateur spécial appelé "craneometer".

Organes phrénologiques et facultés mentales

Gall propose 27 facultés associées aux organes du cerveau béton Bien que sa proposition soit la plus connue dans ce domaine, il n’ya jamais eu de véritable consensus entre les phrénologues sur le nombre et les caractéristiques de ces régions.

  • 1. Impulsion de propagation (reproductrice)
  • 2. amour parental
  • 3. Attachement amical et fidélité
  • 4. Valeur et auto-protection
  • 5. Meurtre et carnivorisme
  • 6. Astucia
  • 7. Vol et sentiment d'appartenance
  • 8. Fierté, arrogance et amour de l'autorité
  • 9. Ambition et vanité
  • 10. Prudence
  • 11. Fitness pour l'apprentissage et l'éducation
  • 12. Sens de l'emplacement
  • 13. Mémoire des gens
  • 14. Sens verbal et mémoire
  • 15. Compétence linguistique, talent pour les mots
  • 16. Préférence pour la couleur
  • 17. Sens des sons et du talent musical
  • 18. Sens numérique et temporel
  • 19. Fitness mécanique
  • 20. netteté comparative
  • 21. acuité métaphysique
  • 22. Ingéniosité, sens de la causalité et inférence
  • 23. talent poétique
  • 24. Bienveillance, compassion et sens moral
  • 25. Mimétisme, capacité à imiter
  • 26. Théosophie, sentiment religieux
  • 27. Persévérance et fermeté

La phrénologie aujourd'hui

Bien que leurs méthodes aient été erronées, certaines affirmations de Gall ont été confirmées au fil du temps et des progrès scientifiques. Ainsi, il est connu que efficacement il existe des structures cérébrales pertinentes pour certaines fonctions , et que certains d'entre eux se développent avec l'usage, comme c'est le cas avec l'hippocampe, impliqué dans la mémoire.

Cependant, les approches phrénologiques étaient très réductrices et rigides par rapport à ce que l'on sait actuellement sur la répartition de l'activité cérébrale autour des régions et des voies. De même les "organes" identifiés par Gall ne correspondent pas aux facultés auxquelles il les a associés .

L'exception est la région à laquelle il a attribué la faculté de langage et de mémoire verbale, située près des régions de Broca et de Wernicke. Ces structures, situées respectivement dans les lobes frontaux et temporaux, ont été associées à la compréhension et à la production du langage.

Les contributions de la phrénologie et d’autres positions de localisation sur les facultés cérébrales ont perdu de leur pertinence de nos jours, mais ont permis l’extension des connaissances scientifiques. Ils sont surtout connus les zones du cerveau décrites par Korbinian Brodmann , ce qui peut être considéré comme une version plus sérieuse de la proposition de Gall.


Livre audio : le Chien des Baskerville - Chapitre 10 - Extrait du Journal de Watson (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes