yes, therapy helps!
X theory and McGregor theory Y

X theory and McGregor theory Y

September 7, 2022

Although when we think about psychology we are usually imagining the study of the psyche and human behavior in a clinical context, the truth is that this discipline works with other multiple fields; It is not limited to a sanitary aspect only. The mind is an object of study that remains active at all times, situations and contexts. One of the areas in which multiple investigations have also been conducted in occupational psychology, of which the Psychology of Work and Organizations is responsible . In this area, elements such as leadership, authority, standards monitoring and employee productivity have been analyzed.

There are many theories that have emerged throughout history and the authors who have worked in this area, including Douglas Murray McGregor, who developed two contrasting theories in which both the way to exercise traditional leadership and another more humanistic are explained for which the author advocated: it's about X theory and McGregor's theory Y . Let's see what they are.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

The X and Y theories of McGregor

From the Industrial Revolution and the emergence of the first factories, there was a need to manage the way in which the workers carried out their work. It is known the large amount of labor exploitation that existed at the time and that has continued over the centuries, with an exhaustive control of what each employee did and providing few freedoms, besides being limited to the realization of one or more tasks specified by management (addressing both what should be done and how).

Numerous revolts carried out to improve the conditions of the workers are also known, which would eventually lead to the creation of unions. The performance and productivity of employees was always something to consider for managers, using different strategies and being the majority the use of control, sanction and coercion to promote productivity, and money as a reward. But except for those people whose basic needs were not met, productivity did not improve excessively.


The emergence of psychology as a science allowed to analyze this type of situations and different theories were elaborated. While the first theories considered the need to exercise greater control and considered the worker mainly a lazy, later came other currents contrary to this belief.

One of these authors, in this case of the twentieth century, was Douglas McGregor. This author is based on Maslow's theory of motivation and his hierarchy of human needs to propose that the lack of motivation and labor productivity is due to the fact that once the basic needs are met, the stimuli necessary to satisfy them are no longer motivating. New needs are generated, such as those of esteem and self-realization that most companies of the time are not interested in supplying. Therefore, it proposes a new mode of business operation in the face of the limitations of the traditional one: theory Y, which contrasts with the traditional model or theory X, both models being mutually exclusive.


  • Related article: "Maslow's pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs"

The theory X

The so-called X theory is a McGregor elaboration from which tries to explain the way of understanding the company and the worker who had been the majority until now .

This traditional view considers the worker as a passive entity who must be forced to work, a lazy person who tends to work as little as possible and whose only motivation is to obtain money. He is considered poorly informed, unable to manage the changes and conflicts and unambitious. Without an exhaustive control they would not carry out their tasks.

Under this consideration, management must show leadership capacity and exercise continuous control over employees in order to avoid their passivity. The behavior of the workers will be controlled and all responsibilities will be assumed, providing them with limited tasks.

Leadership is therefore exercised in an authoritarian manner and pointing out what each one should do and how . The rules are strict and strong sanctions, coercion and punitive measures are established to keep employees working. Money and compensation are used as a basic element of motivation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 differences between a boss and a leader"

The theory Y

In theory X McGregor explains the traditional way of understanding the work that was held from the time of the Industrial Revolution.However, he considers that it was necessary to start from a different theory that had a different vision of the worker and his role in the company. The result of this was the theory Y.

This theory indicates that the administration should be responsible for organizing the company and its resources in order to meet its objectives, but that employees are not a passive element but active unless they are pushed to it . It indicates the value and importance of the motivation and the challenge, a value that is not usually taken advantage of and prevents the workers from developing until reaching their maximum potential. It is also not observed that each individual has its own objectives that often have not been reflected with those of the company.

In this sense, it is the management of the company that must be organized in such a way that the work fosters this development and allows the worker to fulfill not only some objectives to which he does not feel bound, but also in the process of reaching the goals of The company can also achieve its own goals. It is also valued that the commitment is greater when there is an acknowledgment of their achievements , and that applying the capabilities of workers can generate solutions to unforeseen organizational problems or for which management does not have a valid solution.

This theory, which the author defended against the traditional or X, is based primarily on the idea of ​​promoting self-government and favor the self-control and autonomy of the worker, instead of seeing it as another piece of gear. It is proposed to enrich the work by making the worker responsible for different tasks and encourage them to be active and participatory, able to make their own decisions and feel committed to their work. Form, give information, negotiate objectives and responsibilities and generate a climate of trust are fundamental for the good business operation.

It would therefore be a question of exercising a leadership that allows participation and trust, in which the work of the worker is appreciated, in which the work and personal responsibility is extended and enriched (for example through the delegation of responsibilities) and that focuses on the achievement of objectives instead of the authority and personal power.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Burnout (Burning Syndrome): how to detect it and take action"

Difficulties of implementation of theory Y

The author himself, although he proposes the theory Y as desirable and objective to achieve, recognizes the existence of obstacles and the difficulty of generating a change at a time when the operation of most companies was governed by classical theory. For example, there is the fact that managers should change their way of thinking and reorganize both their organizational structure and its operation , which they will tend to resist.

In addition, it also indicates that it can be difficult for the worker to make this change, because in many cases they have become accustomed to being told and demanded a concrete way to proceed and to be controlled, as well as to have their needs only Satisfy outside of work. The potential of the workers has been limited by the expectation of the management that they are passive entities who must be forced to work, losing much motivation for work.

What does Organizational Psychology say today?

Over time, the paradigm of work was changing and the worker was no longer seen as a merely passive element in a lot of areas. Today we can see how a large majority of companies try to boost autonomy, and that proactivity has become one of the most demanded values ​​in the workplace.

However, other later authors indicated that the Y model does not always have good results: The most optimal type of operation will depend on the type of task to be performed . Other models have been proposed that try to integrate aspects of the traditional (X) and humanistic (Y) view, in the so-called equilibrium theories.

Bibliographic references:

  • McGregor, D.M. (1960). The Human Side of Enterprise. In Yarhood, D.L. (1986). Public Administration, Politics and People: Selected Readings for Managers, Employees and Citizens, New York: Longman Publishing Group; 134-144.
  • Lussier, R. N. & Achua, C. F. (2008). Leadership Mexico: Cengage Learning.

McGregor's Theory X & Y (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie X et théorie de McGregor Y

Théorie X et théorie de McGregor Y

Juin 13, 2021

Bien que lorsque nous pensons à la psychologie, nous imaginions généralement l’étude de la psyché et du comportement humain dans un contexte clinique, la vérité est que cette discipline fonctionne avec d’autres domaines multiples; Cela ne se limite pas à un aspect sanitaire. Le mental est un objet d'étude qui reste actif à tout moment, dans toutes les situations et dans tous les contextes. L’un des domaines dans lesquels de nombreuses enquêtes ont également été menées en psychologie du travail, dont la psychologie du travail et des organisations est responsable . Dans ce domaine, des éléments tels que le leadership, l'autorité, la surveillance des normes et la productivité des employés ont été analysés.

De nombreuses théories ont émergé au cours de l'histoire et les auteurs qui ont travaillé dans ce domaine, y compris Douglas Murray McGregor, qui a développé deux théories opposées expliquant à la fois la manière d'exercer le leadership traditionnel et une autre plus humaniste. pour lequel l'auteur a préconisé: il est à propos de la théorie X et la théorie de McGregor Y . Voyons ce qu'ils sont.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

Les théories X et Y de McGregor

À partir de la révolution industrielle et de l'apparition des premières usines, il était nécessaire de gérer la manière dont les travailleurs effectuaient leur travail. On sait l'importante exploitation du travail qui existait à l'époque et qui s'est poursuivie au cours des siècles, avec un contrôle exhaustif de ce que faisait chaque employé et offrant peu de libertés, en plus de se limiter à la réalisation d'une ou plusieurs tâches. spécifiés par la direction (indiquant à la fois ce qui doit être fait et comment).

De nombreuses révoltes menées pour améliorer les conditions de travail des travailleurs sont également connues, ce qui conduirait éventuellement à la création de syndicats. La performance et la productivité des employés ont toujours été à prendre en compte pour les gestionnaires, qui utilisent des stratégies différentes et qui constituent la majorité, utilisent le contrôle, la sanction et la contrainte pour promouvoir la productivité, et de l’argent en guise de récompense. Mais à l'exception des personnes dont les besoins essentiels n'étaient pas satisfaits, la productivité ne s'est pas améliorée de manière excessive.


L'émergence de la psychologie en tant que science a permis d'analyser ce type de situations et différentes théories ont été élaborées. Alors que les premières théories envisageaient la nécessité d'exercer un plus grand contrôle et considéraient le travailleur principalement comme un paresseux, d'autres courants sont ensuite venus contredire cette croyance.

Douglas McGregor était l’un de ces auteurs, dans ce cas du XXe siècle. Cet auteur est basé sur la théorie de la motivation de Maslow et sa hiérarchie des besoins humains proposer que le manque de motivation et de productivité du travail soit dû au fait qu'une fois les besoins essentiels satisfaits, les stimuli nécessaires pour les satisfaire ne sont plus motivants. De nouveaux besoins sont générés, tels que l'estime de soi et la réalisation de soi que la plupart des entreprises de l'époque ne souhaitent pas approvisionner. Par conséquent, il propose un nouveau mode de fonctionnement des entreprises face aux limites du modèle traditionnel: la théorie Y, qui contraste avec le modèle traditionnel ou la théorie X, les deux modèles s’excluant mutuellement.


  • Article connexe: "La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains"

La théorie X

La théorie dite de X est une élaboration de McGregor à partir de laquelle tente d'expliquer la manière de comprendre l'entreprise et le travailleur qui constituait jusqu'à présent la majorité .

Cette vision traditionnelle considère le travailleur comme une entité passive qui doit être obligée de travailler, un paresseux qui a tendance à travailler le moins possible et dont la seule motivation est d'obtenir de l'argent. Il est considéré comme mal informé, incapable de gérer les changements et les conflits et peu ambitieux. Sans contrôle exhaustif, ils ne s'acquitteraient pas de leurs tâches.

Dans cette optique, la direction doit faire preuve de capacité de leadership et exercer un contrôle permanent sur les employés afin d'éviter leur passivité. Le comportement des travailleurs sera contrôlé et toutes les responsabilités assumées, leur fournissant des tâches limitées.

Le leadership s’exerce donc de manière autoritaire et indique ce que chacun doit faire et comment. . Les règles sont strictes et des sanctions strictes, la contrainte et des mesures punitives sont établies pour permettre aux employés de continuer à travailler. L'argent et la compensation sont utilisés comme élément de base de la motivation.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 10 différences entre un chef et un chef"

La théorie y

En théorie, X McGregor explique la manière traditionnelle de comprendre le travail accompli depuis l’époque de la révolution industrielle.Cependant, il considère qu'il était nécessaire de partir d'une théorie différente qui avait une vision différente du travailleur et de son rôle dans l'entreprise. Le résultat de ceci était la théorie Y.

Cette théorie indique que l’administration devrait être responsable de l’organisation de la société et de ses ressources pour atteindre ses objectifs, mais que les employés ne sont pas des éléments passifs mais actifs à moins d'y être poussés . Il indique la valeur et l'importance de la motivation et du défi, une valeur qui n'est généralement pas mise à profit et qui empêche les travailleurs de se développer jusqu'à atteindre leur potentiel maximum. On n’observe pas non plus que chaque individu a ses propres objectifs qui n’ont souvent pas été reflétés avec ceux de l’entreprise.

En ce sens, c’est la direction de l’entreprise qui doit être organisée de telle sorte que le travail favorise ce développement et permette au travailleur d’atteindre non seulement des objectifs auxquels il ne se sent pas lié, mais aussi en voie de les atteindre. L'entreprise peut également atteindre ses propres objectifs. Il est également apprécié que l'engagement soit plus important lorsqu'il y a une reconnaissance de leurs réalisations. et que l’application des capacités des travailleurs peut générer des solutions à des problèmes d’organisation imprévus ou pour lesquels la direction n’a pas de solution valable.

Cette théorie, que l'auteur a défendue contre le traditionnel ou le X, repose principalement sur l'idée de promouvoir l'autonomie gouvernementale et favorise le contrôle de soi et l'autonomie du travailleur, au lieu de le voir comme un autre élément de l'engrenage. Il est proposé d’enrichir le travail en rendant le travailleur responsable de différentes tâches. et les encourager à être actifs et participatifs, capables de prendre leurs propres décisions et de se sentir engagés dans leur travail. La formation, l’information, la négociation des objectifs et des responsabilités et la création d’un climat de confiance sont indispensables au bon fonctionnement de l’entreprise.

Il s'agirait donc d'exercer un leadership permettant la participation et la confiance, dans lequel le travail du travailleur est apprécié, dans lequel le travail et la responsabilité personnelle sont étendus et enrichis (par exemple par la délégation de responsabilités) et qui met l'accent sur la réalisation des objectifs au lieu de l'autorité et pouvoir personnel.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Burnout (Burning Syndrome): comment le détecter et agir"

Difficultés d'application de la théorie Y

L'auteur lui-même, bien qu'il propose la théorie Y comme souhaitable et objective à réaliser, reconnaît l'existence d'obstacles et la difficulté de générer un changement à une époque où le fonctionnement de la plupart des entreprises était régi par la théorie classique. Par exemple, il y a le fait que les gestionnaires doivent changer leur façon de penser et réorganiser à la fois leur structure organisationnelle et son fonctionnement , auxquels ils auront tendance à résister.

En outre, cela indique également qu'il peut être difficile pour le travailleur d'opérer ce changement, car dans de nombreux cas, il s'est habitué à être informé et a exigé un moyen concret de procéder et d'être contrôlé, ainsi que de satisfaire ses besoins Satisfaire en dehors du travail. Le potentiel des travailleurs a été limité par l'attente de la direction qu'ils sont des entités passives qui doit être obligé de travailler, perdant beaucoup de motivation pour le travail.

Que dit la psychologie organisationnelle aujourd'hui?

Au fil du temps, le paradigme du travail était en train de changer et le travailleur n'était plus perçu comme un élément simplement passif dans beaucoup de domaines. Aujourd'hui, nous pouvons voir comment une grande majorité d'entreprises essaient de renforcer leur autonomie et que la proactivité est devenue l'une des valeurs les plus demandées sur le lieu de travail.

Cependant, d’autres auteurs ultérieurs ont indiqué que le modèle Y n’avait pas toujours de bons résultats: Le type d’opération le plus optimal dépend du type de tâche à exécuter. . D'autres modèles ont été proposés qui tentent d'intégrer des aspects de la vision traditionnelle (X) et humaniste (Y), dans les théories dites de l'équilibre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • McGregor, D.M. (1960). Le côté humain de l'entreprise. Au Yarhood, D.L. (1986). Administration publique, politique et gens: lectures choisies pour les gestionnaires, les employés et les citoyens, New York: Longman Publishing Group; 134-144.
  • Lussier, R.N. et Achua, C.F. (2008). Le leadership Mexique: Cengage Learning.

2.0 Personalmanagement - Theorie X und Y (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes