yes, therapy helps!
Bibliofobia (fear of books): causes, symptoms and treatment

Bibliofobia (fear of books): causes, symptoms and treatment

May 24, 2022

Phobias are a type of anxiety disorder quite common . Human beings can be afraid of many stimuli and it can be normal; however, phobic disorders are characterized because the fear they provoke is irrational.

Virtually everyone would be afraid to be alone with a lion, but not with a clown. There are individuals who feel terror when they are close to these funny characters, which is known as coulrophobia.

Phobias create discomfort and anxiety to the person who suffers, which tends to avoid the phobic stimulus that produces this unpleasant sensation. There are different types of phobias, one of them is the bibliofobia or fear of books and reading . In this article we will discuss this phobia and explain its causes, symptoms and consequences.


What is bibliofobia

The bibliofobia is a phobia and, therefore, an irrational fear of a phobic stimulus, in this case to books and reading . It usually starts at an early age, for example, at school when children may have some unpleasant experience with reading. Imagine a child who has difficulty reading and has to read a text out loud because the teacher asks him to do so.

In front of the class, the child begins reading, but he does it very slowly and the words are the fruit of nerves. The child becomes increasingly nervous, and the laughter of the classmates makes him feel so bad that this experience does not forget him. As the years go by he keeps remembering this situation lived every time he has to read a text. That unpleasant experience marks him, and he feels great discomfort when he sees a book or he has to read it. In fact, avoid books at all costs in their hands because they cause great anxiety.


Causes

As you see, one of the origins of this phobia can be a traumatic experience, and as in the previous example, it usually starts at an early age. The learning of this irrational fear can occur by a type of associative learning called classical conditioning, and the reasons for these unpleasant experiences can be lack of understanding of the text and low self-esteem, different learning disorders or bullying and mockery for not read correctly.

One of the most important characteristics of this type of learning is that it involves reflex or automatic responses , not voluntary behaviors. Classical conditioning is the connection between a new stimulus and an existing reflex, therefore, it is a type of learning according to which an originally neutral stimulus, which does not provoke a response, ends up provoking an associative connection of this stimulus with the stimulus that normally it provokes said response.


Characteristics of classical conditioning

One of the great theorists of classical conditioning was Ivan Pavlov, who devoted part of his life to his study, and is famous for his experiments with dogs.

Ivan Pavlov was not a psychologist but a physiologist who wanted to investigate the salivation process of dogs. His experiment consisted in measuring the saliva of the dogs when he presented them with food. However, this intelligent character realized that, after showing them the food repeatedly, the animals salivated even when the food was not present, simply in the presence of Pavlov, because the dogs knew that when he appeared by the door they would receive the delicacy. This happened because the dogs had learned that Pavlov's presence was equal to the presence of food.

Undoubtedly, Pavlov was important for providing knowledge and data on this phenomenon, but the first scientist who investigated the conditioning with humans was John Watson. It is known for one of the most famous experiments in history and at the same time controversial, but it served to understand what happens in our body when we have a phobia. In the following video you can find explained the Watson experiment.

Other causes of fear of books

The learning of phobias by classical conditioning refers to the fact that the environment plays a determining role for a person to be phobic. However, other theorists have said throughout history that this disorder could have a genetic origin, that is, some people may be more likely to suffer from this pathology due to inheritance.

In addition, there is another theory called the "theory of preparation" by Seligman, which states that the fear response is key to the survival of the human being, since it activates the fight-flight response in situations of danger. Therefore, biologically we are programmed to be afraid of certain stimuli more easily.This type of associations are called primitive and non-cognitive, which are not easily modified by logical arguments.

Symptoms of this phobic disorder

Although there are different types of phobias, they all share the same symptoms, the only thing that varies is the phobic stimulus that causes them. Phobias are characterized by the discomfort and anxiety they generate and by the avoidance behaviors they provoke.

When a person feels an irrational fear of books or reading, it tends to avoid those situations in which it may be in contact with this stimulus that causes an unpleasant sensation .

In summary, the symptomatology of phobias is:

  • Extreme anxiety and fear of the presence or imagination of the phobic stimulus.
  • Accelerated heartbeat.
  • Tremors
  • Avoidance behavior
  • Thoughts that the person is going to run out of air.
  • Thoughts of great discomfort.
  • Hyperventilation.
  • Stunning, nausea, dizziness and headaches.
  • Hipersudation
  • Pain or tightness in the chest.

Treatment and therapy

Like the great majority of phobias, the treatment that has the greatest scientific endorsement is cognitive behavioral therapy , which consists of correcting and modifying those thoughts or behaviors that cause discomfort in the patient. There are several techniques that are used, among them, relaxation techniques or exposure techniques.

The latter is the treatment par excellence, and more specifically the expository technique of systematic desensitization, which involves exposing the patient gradually to the phobic stimulus while learning effective coping tools.

However, other types of psychological therapy have also shown their effectiveness in different studies, for example, Mindfulness or Acceptance and Commitment Therapy.

In severe cases, treatment with drugs can also work, as long as it is not the only therapeutic option and is combined with psychotherapy.


What is BIBLIOPHOBIA? What does BIBLIOPHOBIA mean? BIBLIOPHOBIA meaning, definition & explanation (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Bibliofobia (peur des livres): causes, symptômes et traitement

Bibliofobia (peur des livres): causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 20, 2019

Les phobies sont un type de trouble anxieux assez commun . Les êtres humains peuvent avoir peur de nombreux stimuli et ce peut être normal; Cependant, les troubles phobiques sont caractérisés par le fait que la peur qu'ils provoquent est irrationnelle.

Pratiquement tout le monde aurait peur d'être seul avec un lion, mais pas avec un clown. Il y a des individus qui ressentent la terreur quand ils sont proches de ces personnages amusants qu'on appelle la coulrophobie.

Les phobies créent un inconfort et une anxiété chez la personne qui souffre, ce qui a tendance à éviter le stimulus phobique qui produit cette sensation désagréable. Il existe différents types de phobies, l'un d'eux est la bibliofobia ou la peur des livres et de la lecture . Dans cet article, nous discuterons de cette phobie et expliquerons ses causes, ses symptômes et ses conséquences.


Qu'est ce que la bibliofobia?

La bibliofobia est une phobie et, par conséquent, une peur irrationnelle d'un stimulus phobique, dans ce cas aux livres et à la lecture . Cela commence généralement très tôt, par exemple à l'école, lorsque les enfants peuvent avoir une expérience désagréable de la lecture. Imaginez un enfant qui a du mal à lire et doit lire un texte à voix haute parce que l'enseignant le lui demande.

Devant la classe, l'enfant commence à lire, mais il le fait très lentement et les mots sont le fruit de la nervosité. L'enfant devient de plus en plus nerveux et le rire des camarades de classe le fait se sentir si mal que cette expérience ne l'oublie pas. Au fil des années, il se souvient de cette situation vécue chaque fois qu’il devait lire un texte. Cette expérience désagréable le marque et il ressent un grand inconfort lorsqu'il voit un livre ou qu'il doit le lire. En fait, évitez les livres à tout prix entre leurs mains car ils sont très angoissants.


Les causes

Comme vous le voyez, l'une des origines de cette phobie peut être une expérience traumatisante et, comme dans l'exemple précédent, elle commence généralement à un âge précoce. L'apprentissage de cette peur irrationnelle peut se produire par un type d'apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique, et les raisons de ces expériences désagréables peuvent être un manque de compréhension du texte et une faible estime de soi, différents troubles de l'apprentissage ou des brimades et des moqueries pour ne lu correctement.

L’une des caractéristiques les plus importantes de ce type d’apprentissage est qu’il implique des réponses réflexes ou automatiques. , pas des comportements volontaires. Le conditionnement classique est le lien entre un nouveau stimulus et un réflexe existant. Il s'agit donc d'un type d'apprentissage selon lequel un stimulus initialement neutre, qui ne provoque pas de réponse, finit par provoquer un lien associatif de ce stimulus avec le stimulus normalement, cela provoque cette réponse.


Caractéristiques du conditionnement classique

Ivan Pavlov, l'un des grands théoriciens du conditionnement classique, a consacré une partie de sa vie à son étude et est célèbre pour ses expériences avec les chiens.

Ivan Pavlov n'était pas un psychologue, mais un physiologiste qui souhaitait étudier le processus de salivation des chiens. Son expérience consistait à mesurer la salive des chiens lorsqu'il leur présentait à manger. Cependant, ce personnage intelligent a compris qu'après avoir montré la nourriture à plusieurs reprises, les animaux salivaient même lorsque la nourriture n'était pas présente, simplement en présence de Pavlov, car les chiens savaient que lorsqu'ils le verraient par la porte, recevoir la délicatesse. Cela est dû au fait que les chiens ont appris que la présence de Pavlov était équivalente à la présence de nourriture.

Sans aucun doute, Pavlov était important pour fournir des connaissances et des données sur ce phénomène, mais le premier scientifique qui a étudié le conditionnement avec des humains était John Watson. Il est connu pour l'une des expériences les plus célèbres de l'histoire et à la fois controversée, mais il a servi à comprendre ce qui se passe dans notre corps lorsque nous avons une phobie. Dans la vidéo suivante, vous trouverez une explication du test Watson.

Autres causes de peur des livres

L'apprentissage des phobies par conditionnement classique fait référence au fait que l'environnement joue un rôle déterminant pour qu'une personne soit phobique. Cependant, d'autres théoriciens ont affirmé au cours de l'histoire que ce trouble pourrait avoir une origine génétique, c'est-à-dire que certaines personnes risquent davantage de souffrir de cette pathologie en raison de l'héritage.

En outre, il existe une autre théorie appelée "théorie de la préparation" de Seligman, selon laquelle la réaction de peur est la clé de la survie de l'être humain, car elle active la réaction de lutte contre la fuite en cas de danger. Par conséquent, biologiquement, nous sommes programmés pour avoir peur de certains stimuli plus facilement.Ce type d’associations est appelé primitif et non cognitif. Il n’est pas facile de le modifier avec des arguments logiques.

Symptômes de ce trouble phobique

Bien qu'il existe différents types de phobies, elles partagent toutes les mêmes symptômes, la seule chose qui varie est le stimulus phobique qui les provoque. Les phobies sont caractérisées par la gêne et l'anxiété qu'elles génèrent et par les comportements d'évitement qu'elles provoquent.

Quand une personne ressent une peur irrationnelle des livres ou de la lecture, il a tendance à éviter les situations dans lesquelles il peut être en contact avec ce stimulus qui provoque une sensation désagréable .

En résumé, la symptomatologie des phobies est la suivante:

  • Anxiété extrême et peur de la présence ou de l’imagination du stimulus phobique.
  • Battement de coeur accéléré.
  • Tremblements
  • Comportement d'évitement
  • Pensées que la personne va manquer d'air.
  • Des pensées de grand malaise.
  • L'hyperventilation.
  • Étourdissement, nausée, vertiges et maux de tête.
  • Hipersudation
  • Douleur ou oppression dans la poitrine.

Traitement et thérapie

Comme la grande majorité des phobies, le traitement qui a la plus grande approbation scientifique est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale. , qui consiste à corriger et à modifier les pensées ou les comportements qui gênent le patient. Plusieurs techniques sont utilisées, parmi lesquelles des techniques de relaxation ou des techniques d'exposition.

Ce dernier est le traitement par excellence, et plus spécifiquement la technique descriptive de désensibilisation systématique, qui consiste à exposer progressivement le patient au stimulus phobique tout en lui permettant d’acquérir des outils d’adaptation efficaces.

Cependant, d'autres types de thérapie psychologique ont également montré leur efficacité dans différentes études, telles que la thérapie de la pleine conscience ou de l'acceptation et de l'engagement.

Dans les cas graves, le traitement médicamenteux peut également fonctionner, à condition que ce ne soit pas la seule option thérapeutique et qu’il soit associé à une psychothérapie.


¿MIEDO A LOS LIBROS? Viaje a la biblioteca - Benjamin (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes