yes, therapy helps!
How to adapt to retirement: 6 tips

How to adapt to retirement: 6 tips

June 12, 2024

Retirement is one of the stages of life that, if they are not well managed at the beginning, can produce some forms of discomfort or even a real life crisis. In a way, it's understandable; After having spent a good part of the existence, dedicating time, resources and effort to maintaining a life project based on the fruits of one's work, it is difficult to start living beyond the professional sphere. In this article we will see Several tips on how to adapt to retirement in the best possible way , squeezing all its potential and discovering several positive aspects of this vital phase that could have gone unnoticed.

  • Related article: "The 3 phases of old age, and its physical and psychological changes"

Tips on how to adapt to retirement

Before reading further, you should bear in mind that finding satisfaction at the retirement stage does not simply consist in modifying our attitudes, customs and beliefs; In short, it does not only depend on whether we transform ourselves psychologically. It also depends on the resources to which we have access and, especially, if there is a support network, whether based on one's family or friendships.


Therefore, it should be remembered that loneliness and isolation , as well as poverty, are elements that do not depend only on oneself, but before which we can react to combat their effects. Being aware of this is useful, because it helps to understand that much of the unhappiness that some seniors feel when they retire does not have to depend on the decisions they make. That said, let's see what are the main guidelines to follow to adapt to retirement.

1. Accept what you feel

This is the first step, and it is more important than it seems. On its own it does not have to help us feel better, but it is imperative to progress . The reason for this is that not doing so would lead to a dynamic of self-sabotage from which it is difficult to leave. For example, someone who feels bad but does not admit it, will avoid thinking about medium- or long-term solutions at all costs, and will only focus on immediate objectives, which usually leads to unhealthy habits of life the long aggravate the situation.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Self-acceptance: 5 psychological tips to achieve it"

2. Set schedules

One of the most frequent traps in which the newly retired people fall is to assume that retirement is just the absence of work and a large part of the responsibilities that had to be taken care of years ago. As a consequence, passivity becomes the philosophy of life: spending a lot of time in bed or on the couch, watching television, socializing little, etc.

That's why it's good to act according to the idea that retirement it is not simply something characterized by the lack of paid work , but in it there must be space for qualitative changes, things that we did not do before because we did not know them or because we did not have enough free time for it. And for this there is nothing like following certain schedules.


Of course, it is not necessary to make these hours about life in retirement very detailed; simply divide the day into blocks that serve as a reference to avoid wasting time.

3. If you have a partner, talk about it

Many of the problems arising from the transition to retirement can appear especially in married couples who have been affected by this change without having spoken before about their expectations. Your one member of the couple is retiring and the other is not yet, It is good to discuss how the relationship will change ; and if both people become retired, it is necessary to decide which part of the large amount of free time that is available will be shared and which will not.

4. Do not miss fantasizing about the past

Older people have a certain propensity to think that "they do not live in their time," that they present it belongs to younger generations. This idea may come suddenly with the beginning of retirement, but it is still false. The role of people belonging to the elderly it does not have to be limited to remember, to live from the past. The day to day also belongs to them, and it is good that their daily habits are a reflection of this.

5. Learn new things

It is always stimulating to learn in a self-taught way, and retirement is a perfect time for this.

Without having the burden of work to survive, but with the psychological maturity and cultural baggage of an elderly person It is very rewarding to start learning about any topic that is of personal interest. In fact, on the Internet there are interesting proposals that allow access to courses or free educational content.

6. Take care

Health problems can easily be transferred to the field of psychological problems linked to anxiety and stress. Therefore, it is good to practice moderate exercise, sleep well and eat well.


20 Free Ways to Stay Busy After Retirement | How to Enjoy Retirement (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment s'adapter à la retraite: 6 conseils

Comment s'adapter à la retraite: 6 conseils

Janvier 27, 2023

La retraite est l’une des étapes de la vie qui, si elles ne sont pas bien gérées au début, peuvent produire certaines formes d’inconfort, voire une crise réelle. D'une certaine manière, c'est compréhensible. Après avoir passé une bonne partie de l’existence, consacrant du temps, des ressources et des efforts au maintien d’un projet de vie reposant sur les fruits de son travail, il est difficile de commencer à vivre au-delà de la sphère professionnelle. Dans cet article, nous verrons Plusieurs conseils pour bien s'adapter à la retraite , en exploitant tout son potentiel et en découvrant plusieurs aspects positifs de cette phase vitale qui auraient pu passer inaperçus.

  • Article connexe: "Les 3 phases de la vieillesse et ses changements physiques et psychologiques"

Conseils pour bien s'adapter à la retraite

Avant de poursuivre votre lecture, gardez à l’esprit que trouver sa satisfaction au stade de la retraite ne consiste pas simplement à modifier nos attitudes, nos coutumes et nos croyances; En bref, cela ne dépend pas seulement de notre transformation psychologique. Cela dépend aussi des ressources auxquelles nous avons accès et surtout s'il y a un réseau de soutien, qu'il soit basé sur la famille ou les amitiés.


Par conséquent, il faut se rappeler que solitude et isolement , ainsi que la pauvreté, sont des éléments qui ne dépendent pas seulement de soi, mais devant lesquels nous pouvons réagir pour lutter contre leurs effets. Il est utile d’en être conscient, car il est utile de comprendre qu’une grande partie du mal-être que ressentent certains aînés lorsqu’ils prennent leur retraite ne dépend pas nécessairement des décisions qu’ils prennent. Cela dit, voyons quelles sont les principales directives à suivre pour s’adapter à la retraite.

1. Acceptez ce que vous ressentez

C'est la première étape et c'est plus important qu'il n'y paraît. À lui seul, il ne doit pas nous aider à nous sentir mieux, mais il est impératif de progresser . La raison en est que ne pas le faire conduirait à une dynamique d'auto-sabotage dont il est difficile de sortir. Par exemple, une personne qui se sent mal mais ne l'admet pas, évitera à tout prix de penser à des solutions à moyen ou à long terme et se concentrera uniquement sur des objectifs immédiats, ce qui conduit généralement à des habitudes de vie malsaines le long aggraver la situation.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Acceptation de soi: 5 astuces psychologiques pour y parvenir"

2. Fixer les horaires

L’un des pièges les plus fréquents dans lesquels les nouveaux retraités tombent est de supposer que la retraite n’est que l’absence de travail et une grande partie des responsabilités qu’il a fallu assumer il ya des années. En conséquence, la passivité devient la philosophie de la vie: passer beaucoup de temps au lit ou sur le canapé, regarder la télévision, socialiser un peu, etc.

C’est pourquoi il est bon d’agir selon l’idée que la retraite ce n'est pas simplement quelque chose caractérisé par le manque de travail rémunéré , mais il doit y avoir de la place pour des changements qualitatifs, des choses que nous n’avions pas faites auparavant parce que nous ne les connaissions pas ou que nous n’avions pas assez de temps libre pour cela. Et pour cela, rien de tel que de suivre certains horaires.


Bien entendu, il n’est pas nécessaire de rendre ces heures de la vie à la retraite très détaillées; divisez simplement la journée en blocs qui servent de référence pour éviter de perdre du temps.

3. Si vous avez un partenaire, parlez-en

La plupart des problèmes liés au passage à la retraite peuvent se manifester surtout chez les couples mariés qui ont été touchés par ce changement sans avoir auparavant parlé de leurs attentes. Votre seul membre du couple prend sa retraite et l'autre ne l'est pas encore. Il est bon de discuter de l'évolution de la relation ; et si les deux personnes prennent leur retraite, il est nécessaire de décider quelle partie de la grande quantité de temps libre disponible sera partagée et celle qui ne le sera pas.

4. Ne manquez pas de fantasmer sur le passé

Les personnes âgées ont une certaine propension à penser qu’elles «ne vivent pas à leur époque», qu’elles présentent comme appartenant aux générations plus jeunes. Cette idée peut venir soudainement avec le début de la retraite, mais elle est toujours fausse. Le rôle des personnes appartenant aux personnes âgées il ne faut pas se limiter à se souvenir, à vivre du passé. Le jour le jour leur appartient également, et il est bon que leurs habitudes quotidiennes en soient le reflet.

5. apprendre de nouvelles choses

Il est toujours stimulant d'apprendre de façon autodidacte et la retraite est le moment idéal pour cela.

Sans avoir le fardeau du travail pour survivre, mais avec la maturité psychologique et le bagage culturel d'une personne âgée Il est très gratifiant de commencer à apprendre tout sujet présentant un intérêt personnel. En fait, il existe sur Internet des propositions intéressantes permettant d'accéder à des cours ou à du contenu éducatif gratuit.

6. Prends soin de toi

Les problèmes de santé peuvent facilement être transférés au domaine des problèmes psychologiques liés à l'anxiété et au stress. Par conséquent, il est bon de faire de l'exercice modéré, de bien dormir et de bien manger.

Articles Connexes