yes, therapy helps!
Thiotomyne: uses, side effects and precautions

Thiotomyne: uses, side effects and precautions

July 18, 2024

Schizophrenia is one of the mental illnesses with the most variability of symptoms and degrees of affection that exist. So the variety of drugs to treat it must also be very broad.

Thiothixene is an antipsychotic drug traditional used, almost exclusively, for the treatment of schizophrenia. Throughout this article we will discuss its uses and side effects, as well as the precautions that patients who consume it should take.

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain

What is thiothixene?

Thiothixene is a neuroleptic drug of the family of typical antipsychotics. Popularly known under the trade name of Navane , thiothixenos acts by blocking the D2 dopaminergic receptors.


Specifically, the action of thiothixene focuses on blocking dopaminergic receptors at the level of the cortico-meso-limbic pathway. This obstruction of the dopamine receptors alters the levels of this, transforming human behavior. Specifically, thiothixene prevents overstimulation of the person and facilitates the regulation of certain mental illnesses classified as psychotic.

  • You may be interested: "Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)"

In what disorders is it used?

Thiothixene is used, almost exclusively, to treat symptoms related to a series of mental and psychiatric conditions like schizophrenia .


This disorder covers a category of diagnoses that are distinguished by causing severe alterations in perception, a lack of adjustment to the reality surrounding the patient and a neuropsychological disorganization that affects a large number of executive functions.

However, by administering thiothixene the patient will be able to think more clearly, reduce their level of excitement and, therefore, integrate better into their environment and perform daily activities.

In addition, this antipsychotic facilitates the reduction of aggressive behavior and the desire or need to harm other people or oneself. In the same way, by helping to restore mental balance, it also helps reduce the number of hallucinations.

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia"

How is it administered?

Thiothixene is sold in capsules of different concentrations or amounts, which are administered according to the severity of the patient's symptoms.


Ingested orally, the usual dose of thiothixene is one capsule between 1 and 3 times a day. However, the medical professional will adjust the dose according to the specific needs of the patient.

Usually, and in order to minimize possible side effects such as sedation or tremors, treatment with thiothixene will begin gradually , starting with a low dose of this and increasing it as the first weeks pass.

It is vital that the patient follow his doctor's instructions to the letter. Although it may take 2 or 3 weeks before it begins to perceive the effects of thiothixene, the patient can never stop taking the medication or take more doses than indicated without first consulting the doctor.

If the patient stops taking this drug suddenly, you run the risk of suffering a series of symptoms as a sense of acute confusion and very serious hallucinations. Therefore, in the event that you must complete the treatment, it must be done gradually and under medical supervision.

What side effects does it have?

Like many other antipsychotic drugs, thiothixene it involves a series of side effects for the patient that, in some occasions, can cause serious annoyances for the person.

These side effects can be divided into those that do not require medical attention and those in which it is necessary to contact the medical professional as soon as possible.

In any case, if these side effects worsen or lengthen in time, it is necessary to inform the doctor to adjust the dose.

Not serious side effects

  • Sickness
  • Vomiting
  • Constipation
  • Weight gain
  • Alterations in the menstrual cycle
  • Descent of desire and sexual performance

Serious side effects

  • Vertigos
  • Fainting
  • Feeling confused
  • Agitation
  • Fever
  • Alterations in sweating levels
  • Feeling fatigue
  • Muscular weakness
  • Alterations in vision
  • Respiratory problems
  • Difficulty speaking and swallowing
  • Alterations in the ability to urinate
  • Alterations in the cardiac pulse
  • Seizures
  • Muscle stiffness and / or spasms
  • Lack of balance
  • Dificulty to walk
  • Increase in breast size Both men and women
  • Milk production outside the lactation period

What precautions should be taken with their consumption?

It is necessary that the patient inform their doctor, before starting the treatment, of any allergy, illness or special health condition in which they are and that could interfere with the progress of the treatment.

There are a number of conditions or diseases that can be aggravated by the use of thiothixene. These are:

  • Brain tumors or cranial injuries
  • Dementia
  • Heart Disease
  • Blood alterations
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Renal alterations and liver

In the same way, the doctor must be aware of any medication, vitamin supplement or natural complex that the patient consumes both before and during treatment with thiothixene. Since these can cause a series of interferences with thiothixen and cause damage to the body of the person.

Due to the effects of sedation, thiothixene may cause drowsiness and dizziness in those who consume it. Therefore, those patients who perform activities such as driving or operating heavy machinery should pause their activities or, at least, take special precautions during treatment.

In the same way, the consumption of thiothixen during pregnancy and the period of lactation could cause damage in the newborn, so its administration should be restricted to cases in which there is no alternative treatment that is effective.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thiotomyne: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Thiotomyne: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Mai 12, 2024

La schizophrénie est l'une des maladies mentales présentant la plus grande variabilité des symptômes et des degrés d'affection existants. Ainsi, la variété de médicaments à traiter doit également être très large.

Thiothixene est un antipsychotique traditionnellement utilisé, presque exclusivement, pour le traitement de la schizophrénie. Tout au long de cet article, nous discuterons de ses utilisations et de ses effets secondaires, ainsi que des précautions que devraient prendre les patients qui en prennent.

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: drogues agissant sur le cerveau

Qu'est-ce que le thiothixène?

Thiothixene est un médicament neuroleptique de la famille des antipsychotiques typiques. Populairement connu sous le nom commercial de Navane , thiothixenos agit en bloquant les récepteurs dopaminergiques D2.


Plus précisément, l'action du thiothixène se concentre sur le blocage des récepteurs dopaminergiques au niveau de la voie cortico-méso-limbique. Cette obstruction des récepteurs de la dopamine en modifie les niveaux, transformant ainsi le comportement humain. Plus précisément, le thiothixène empêche la stimulation excessive de la personne et facilite la régulation de certaines maladies mentales classées comme psychotiques.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)"

Dans quels troubles est-il utilisé?

Le thiothixène est utilisé presque exclusivement pour traiter les symptômes liés à une série de troubles mentaux et psychiatriques. comme la schizophrénie .


Ce trouble recouvre une catégorie de diagnostics qui se caractérisent par de graves altérations de la perception, un manque d'adaptation à la réalité du patient et une désorganisation neuropsychologique qui affecte un grand nombre de fonctions exécutives.

Cependant, en administrant du thiothixène, le patient sera en mesure de penser plus clairement, de réduire son niveau d'excitation et, par conséquent, de mieux s'intégrer dans son environnement et de mener ses activités quotidiennes.

En outre, cet antipsychotique facilite la réduction du comportement agressif et le désir ou le besoin de nuire à autrui ou à soi-même. De la même manière, en aidant à rétablir l'équilibre mental, il aide également à réduire le nombre d'hallucinations.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie"

Comment est-il administré?

Le thiothixène est vendu en capsules de concentrations ou de quantités différentes, qui sont administrées en fonction de la gravité des symptômes du patient.


Ingéré par voie orale, la dose habituelle de thiothixène est d'une capsule entre 1 et 3 fois par jour. Cependant, le professionnel de la santé ajustera la dose en fonction des besoins spécifiques du patient.

Habituellement, et afin de minimiser les effets secondaires possibles tels que la sédation ou les tremblements, le traitement au thiothixène commencera progressivement en commençant par une faible dose et en l’augmentant au cours des premières semaines.

Il est essentiel que le patient suive les instructions de son médecin à la lettre. Bien que cela puisse prendre 2 à 3 semaines avant de commencer à percevoir les effets du thiothixène, le patient ne peut jamais cesser de prendre le médicament ou prendre plus de doses que celui indiqué, sans consulter d'abord son médecin.

Si le patient cesse de prendre ce médicament subitement, vous courez le risque de souffrir d'une série de symptômes comme un sentiment de confusion aiguë et d'hallucinations très graves. Par conséquent, si vous devez terminer le traitement, vous devez le faire progressivement et sous contrôle médical.

Quels sont les effets secondaires?

Comme de nombreux autres antipsychotiques, le thiothixène il implique une série d'effets secondaires pour le patient que, dans certaines occasions, peut causer de graves ennuis pour la personne.

Ces effets secondaires peuvent être divisés en ceux qui ne nécessitent pas de soins médicaux et ceux dans lesquels il est nécessaire de contacter le professionnel de la santé dès que possible.

Dans tous les cas, si ces effets indésirables s’aggravent ou s’allongent dans le temps, il est nécessaire d’informer le médecin pour ajuster la dose.

Effets secondaires peu graves

  • La nausée
  • Vomissements
  • Constipation
  • Prise de poids
  • Altérations du cycle menstruel
  • Descente du désir et performance sexuelle

Effets secondaires graves

  • Vertigos
  • Évanouissement
  • Se sentir confus
  • Agitation
  • Fièvre
  • Modifications du niveau de transpiration
  • Sensation de fatigue
  • Faiblesse musculaire
  • Altérations de la vision
  • Problèmes respiratoires
  • Difficulté à parler et à avaler
  • Altérations dans la capacité d'uriner
  • Altérations du pouls cardiaque
  • Les saisies
  • Raideur musculaire et / ou spasmes
  • Manque d'équilibre
  • Difficulté à marcher
  • Augmentation de la taille de la poitrine chez les hommes et les femmes
  • Production de lait en dehors de la période de lactation

Quelles précautions faut-il prendre avec leur consommation?

Il est nécessaire que le patient informe son médecin avant de commencer le traitement de toute allergie, maladie ou état de santé particulier dans lequel il se trouve et qui pourrait entraver l'évolution du traitement.

Il existe un certain nombre de conditions ou de maladies pouvant être aggravées par l’utilisation de thiothixène. Ceux-ci sont:

  • Tumeurs cérébrales ou des blessures crâniennes
  • Démence
  • Maladie cardiaque
  • Altérations du sang
  • Maladie de Parkinson
  • Altérations rénales et le foie

De la même manière, le médecin doit être au courant de tout médicament, supplément de vitamines ou complexe naturel que le patient consomme avant et pendant le traitement par thiothixène. Puisque ceux-ci peuvent provoquer une série d'interférences avec thiothixen et causer des dommages au corps de la personne.

En raison des effets de la sédation, le thiothixène peut provoquer somnolence et vertiges chez ceux qui le consomment. Par conséquent, les patients qui effectuent des activités telles que conduire des véhicules lourds ou utiliser des machines lourdes doivent suspendre leurs activités ou, au moins, prendre des précautions particulières pendant le traitement.

De la même manière, la consommation de thiothixen pendant la grossesse et la période d’allaitement pouvant causer des dommages chez le nouveau-né, son administration devrait donc être limitée aux cas pour lesquels il n’existe aucun traitement alternatif efficace.

Articles Connexes