yes, therapy helps!
Resignation syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Resignation syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

September 14, 2022

In the world different phenomena, events and catastrophes that can greatly affect our lives occur continuously. From natural phenomena such as earthquakes, floods or hurricanes to events caused by the human being such as war and the suffering and helplessness that it generates in those who have to live with it or flee their homes, this can generate profound repercussions both physically and mentally. to those who suffer its effects.

In this sense, there are a large number of syndromes, illnesses and disorders in the world that are related in some way to the life of a large number of people. One of them is the Resignation Syndrome, a strange phenomenon that has only been detected in Sweden and of which we are going to talk throughout this article.


  • Related article: "What is trauma and how does it influence our lives?"

What is the Resignation Syndrome?

It is called Resignation Syndrome to a strange alteration that has been occurring in Sweden for a few years in part of the refugee population . Specifically, this is a condition that has only been observed in children and adolescents around seven to nineteen years of age.

This syndrome is characterized by the relatively rapid onset of an extreme level of apathy, immobility and silence without an apparent biological reason . First, there is a decrease in habitual behavior patterns and a reduction in activity and motivation, which can get much worse. Many of these children remain in a catatonic state, and sometimes even come to be in a coma-like state for months or years, unable to get up or nourish themselves.


In some cases they even require the use of probes to keep them nourished. At the biological level the organism of these minors works correctly, but despite this they remain completely motionless and inert. In fact, it has been speculated that we are a case of catatonia , being the lack of mobility and response to stimulation something shared between both conditions. It has also been associated with dissociative disorders.

Refugee children in an absent or comatose state

These children are commonly called "apathetic children", and they have in common the fact that they are children of refugees from different countries, generally from the Balkans or from the territories that were part of the former Soviet Union, Yugoslavia or Syria. they have experienced great traumas and complex situations in their countries of origin and / or on their way to the Swedish country and who face the possibility of not obtaining a residence permit.


Although this syndrome has occurred only in Sweden (something for which there is no explanation), the truth is that it has similarities with alterations found in prisoners of concentration camps in World War II. It is observed that they lose the ability to fight, to face their own defense and search for security or even to respond to external stimulation. It is practically as if consciousness were disconnected and the body functioned automatically.

  • Related article: "Catatonia: causes, symptoms and treatment of this syndrome"

Hypothesis about its causes

Today the Resignation Syndrome is a little known alteration and for which the causes are not yet known. It has been observed that it is intimately related to the uncertainty regarding the possibility or notification of having to leave the country (in fact, families that have been able to stay have seen how the child has been improving over time), but it does not explain why it occurs only is Sweden or why it does not happen more often, nor the extreme severity that the syndrome can have.

There was also speculation about the possibility of being faced with a feigned or family-caused condition as an attempt to remain in the country in the face of a child's illness (something similar to the Munchausen by proxy), but despite the fact that have observed some attempts at fraud most of the symptoms do not seem to be linked to these factors (their organisms function correctly and the symptomatology is not feigned).

One of the main hypotheses indicates that the causes of this syndrome are predominantly psychological, being similar to other dissociative disorders generated by the experience of traumatic events, and that there may be a link with the phenomenon known as learned helplessness.The minor has observed that his acts and the acts of his parents have not been able to protect them and have not had a real effect (for example, despite the flight from their countries of origin they do not manage to be accepted in the country that was hosting them).

Based on this, it is observed, in psychodynamic terms, a split of consciousness as a protection mechanism against reality. Actually the basic problem seems to be the traumatic experiences they have experienced before and fear and helplessness before the possibility of returning to live the same conditions.

Linked to the above, it is considered that cultural elements such as the repression of negative emotions typical of some cultures can facilitate this Resignation Syndrome unable to overturn or express their suffering externally. Also the absence of contact or the fact of constantly being aware of their legal situation are elements of risk.

Why this problem has only been detected in Swedish territory, what causes some children to trigger this syndrome and others do not and why it only occurs in ages between seven and nineteen and not older are still today an unknown that needs further investigation .

Treatment

Finding an effective treatment for the resignation syndrome is not easy, but most experts believe that Recovery goes through an increase in the sense of security and a decrease in the perception of helplessness and rejection. This could happen through the obtaining of a residence permit, but it has been observed that the case of families that do not get it has been able to cause a significant improvement and a progressive recovery.

In these cases, the first option is to separate the child from his family environment until his recovery. Once this is done, the minor is subjected to a program of cognitive stimulation in which the child is gradually revived through exposure to situations and stimuli: games, smells, physical exercise (even if they are not able to walk or move, they are guided by physical guidance), music or expression through the drawing. It is important during this process that you can not talk about the migration process or the expulsion from the country, as this could reinsert insecurity and cause a relapse.

This last aspect is something to take into account, since the recovery does not guarantee that a possible relapse can not occur. While the treatment focuses on the child, the truth is that you could also work with the family in aspects such as psychoeducation and psychological counseling.

Bibliographic references:

  • Sallin, K .; Lagercrantz, H .; Evers, K .; Engström, I .; Hjern, A. & Petrovic, P. (2016). Resignation Syndrome: Catatonia? Culture-Bound ?. Front. Behav. Neurosci., 10 (7).
  • Söndergaard, H. P., Kushnir, M. M., Aronsson, B., Sandstedt, P., and Bergquist, J. (2012). Patterns of endogenous steroids in apathetic refugee children are compatible with long-term stress. BMC Res. Notes 5: 186. doi: 10.1186 / 1756-0500-5-186

Bladder pain syndrome (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de démission: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome de démission: symptômes, causes et traitement

Novembre 30, 2022

Dans le monde, différents phénomènes, événements et catastrophes pouvant influer considérablement sur nos vies se produisent en permanence. Des phénomènes naturels tels que les tremblements de terre, les inondations ou les ouragans aux événements causés par l’être humain, tels que la guerre, la souffrance et le désarroi qu’elle engendre chez ceux qui doivent vivre avec ou fuir leur foyer, cela peut avoir de profondes répercussions tant physiques que mentales. à ceux qui en subissent les effets.

En ce sens, il existe dans le monde un grand nombre de syndromes, de maladies et de troubles liés d'une manière ou d'une autre à la vie d'un grand nombre de personnes. L'un d'eux est le syndrome de la démission, un phénomène étrange qui n'a été détecté qu'en Suède. et dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qu'un traumatisme et comment influence-t-il nos vies?"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de démission?

C'est ce qu'on appelle le syndrome de démission lié à une étrange altération en Suède depuis quelques années. dans une partie de la population réfugiée . Plus précisément, il s'agit d'une affection qui n'a été observée que chez les enfants et les adolescents âgés de sept à dix-neuf ans.

Ce syndrome est caractérisé par l’apparition relativement rapide de un niveau extrême d'apathie, d'immobilité et de silence sans raison biologique apparente . Premièrement, il y a une diminution des comportements habituels et une réduction de l'activité et de la motivation, qui peuvent s'aggraver. Beaucoup de ces enfants restent dans un état catatonique, et parfois même tombent dans un état de coma pendant des mois ou des années, incapables de se lever ou de se nourrir.


Dans certains cas, ils ont même besoin de sondes pour rester nourris. Au niveau biologique, l'organisme de ces mineurs fonctionne correctement, mais malgré cela, ils restent complètement immobiles et inertes. En fait, il a été spéculé que nous sommes un cas de catatonie , étant le manque de mobilité et de réponse à la stimulation, ce qui est partagé entre les deux conditions. Il a également été associé à des troubles dissociatifs.

Enfants réfugiés dans un état absent ou comateux

Ces enfants sont communément appelés "enfants apathiques" et ils ont en commun le fait qu'ils sont des enfants de réfugiés de différents pays, généralement des Balkans ou des territoires de l'ex-Union soviétique, de la Yougoslavie ou de la Syrie. ils ont vécu de grands traumatismes et des situations complexes dans leurs pays d'origine et / ou en route pour la Suède et qui risquent de ne pas obtenir de permis de séjour.


Bien que ce syndrome ne se soit produit qu'en Suède (quelque chose pour lequel il n'y a pas d'explication), la vérité est qu'il présente des similitudes avec les modifications trouvées chez les prisonniers des camps de concentration de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. On constate qu'ils perdent la capacité de se battre, de faire face à leur propre défense et de rechercher la sécurité, voire de réagir à une stimulation externe. C'est pratiquement comme si la conscience était déconnectée et que le corps fonctionnait automatiquement.

  • Article connexe: "Catatonie: causes, symptômes et traitement de ce syndrome"

Hypothèse sur ses causes

Aujourd'hui, le syndrome de démission est une modification peu connue et pour laquelle les causes ne sont pas encore connues. On a observé qu’il était intimement lié à l’incertitude quant à la possibilité ou à la notification de devoir quitter le pays (en fait, les familles qui ont pu rester ont vu l’amélioration de l’enfant au fil du temps), mais il n'explique pas pourquoi il se produit seulement est la Suède ou pourquoi cela n'arrive pas plus souvent, ni l'extrême gravité que peut avoir le syndrome.

Il y avait aussi des spéculations sur la possibilité d'être confronté à une condition feinte ou causée par la famille comme une tentative de rester dans le pays face à la maladie d'un enfant (quelque chose de similaire au Munchausen par procuration), mais ont observé des tentatives de fraude la plupart des symptômes ne semblent pas être liés à ces facteurs (leurs organismes fonctionnent correctement et la symptomatologie n'est pas feinte).

L'une des hypothèses principales indique que les causes de ce syndrome sont essentiellement psychologiques, similaires à d'autres troubles dissociatifs générés par l'expérience d'événements traumatiques, et qu'il peut exister un lien avec le phénomène connu sous le nom d'impuissance acquise.Le mineur a constaté que ses actes et ceux de ses parents n'ont pas été en mesure de les protéger et n'ont pas eu d'effet réel (par exemple, malgré la fuite de leur pays d'origine, ils ne parviennent pas à être acceptés dans le pays d'accueil).

Sur cette base, on observe, en termes psychodynamiques, une division de la conscience en tant que mécanisme de protection contre la réalité. En fait, le problème fondamental semble être les expériences traumatiques qu'ils ont vécues auparavant et la peur et l'impuissance avant la possibilité de revenir vivre les mêmes conditions.

En lien avec ce qui précède, il est considéré que des éléments culturels tels que la répression des émotions négatives typiques de certaines cultures peuvent faciliter ce syndrome de démission. incapable de renverser ou d'exprimer leurs souffrances extérieurement De plus, l'absence de contact ou le fait d'être constamment au courant de leur situation juridique sont des éléments de risque.

Pourquoi ce problème n'a été détecté que sur le territoire suédois, ce qui a provoqué chez certains enfants le déclenchement de ce syndrome et d'autres pas, et pourquoi il ne survient que chez les personnes âgées de 7 à 19 ans et non plus âgées aujourd'hui encore un inconnu qui nécessite une enquête plus approfondie .

Traitement

Il n’est pas facile de trouver un traitement efficace contre le syndrome de démission, mais la plupart des experts pensent que La reprise passe par un renforcement du sentiment de sécurité et une diminution de la perception d'impuissance et de rejet. Cela pourrait se produire par l’obtention d’un permis de séjour, mais il a été observé que le cas de familles qui ne l’obtenaient pas avait pu entraîner une amélioration significative et une récupération progressive.

Dans ces cas, la première option consiste à séparer l'enfant de son environnement familial jusqu'à son rétablissement. Une fois que cela est fait, le mineur est soumis à un programme de stimulation cognitive dans lequel l’enfant est progressivement régénéré par l’exposition à des situations et à des stimuli: jeux, odeurs, exercice physique (même s’ils ne sont pas capables de marcher ou de se déplacer, ils sont guidés par des conseils dessin Au cours de ce processus, il est important que vous ne puissiez pas parler du processus de migration ou de l'expulsion du pays, car cela pourrait réinsérer l'insécurité et provoquer une rechute.

Ce dernier aspect doit être pris en compte, car la récupération ne garantit pas qu’une éventuelle rechute ne puisse se produire. Bien que le traitement se concentre sur l'enfant, la vérité est que vous pouvez également travailler avec la famille dans des domaines tels que la psychoéducation et le conseil psychologique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Sallin, K .; Lagercrantz, H .; Evers, K .; Engström, I.; Hjern, A. & Petrovic, P. (2016). Syndrome de démission: Catatonie? Culture-lié?. Avant. Comportement Neurosci., 10 (7).
  • Söndergaard, H.P., Kushnir, M.M., Aronsson, B., Sandstedt, P. et Bergquist, J. (2012). Les schémas de stéroïdes endogènes chez les enfants réfugiés apathiques sont compatibles avec le stress à long terme. BMC Res. Notes 5: 186. doi: 10.1186 / 1756-0500-5-186

Qu’est-ce que l’endométriose ? (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes