yes, therapy helps!
Business communication: common types, characteristics and errors

Business communication: common types, characteristics and errors

August 16, 2022

We live in a society in which a large part of the labor market is configured based on the business environment. Whether they are large multinationals, SMEs, family businesses or even individual services, all of them must take into account that an essential element for their survival is coherence in the organization and communication between their parties in order to join forces and aim towards a common goal.

In this sense, we can affirm that Business communication is one of the key elements when an organization , especially if it has some complexity, works properly and can adapt and survive. And it is about this communication about what we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

What is business communication?

It is understood as business communication to the set of processes carried out by a company or part of it in order to make travel information, both internally between different departments or posts of the company or if we talk about the communication of the company with the outside.

It is important to bear in mind that, as a general rule, such communication does not only imply the ability to issue the information, but also includes the fact of receiving it: We are facing a mutual exchange of data .

A good business communication favors that all the members of the company can stay motivated and that their actions can be known, reducing the uncertainty of both workers and leaders regarding the state of the same. It also facilitates interaction and improves the working environment , in addition to improving productivity and allow reacting more optimally to any eventuality.


General objectives

The objectives of business communication are easily understood. Internally, on the one hand, it allows a coherent organization to be produced and the information and results obtained by its different departments or workers to be shared, as well as the objectives and corporate vision of the company to be generated and transmitted.

As well facilitates the understanding of what is expected of each worker , as well as the understanding of the realities to which each of them must face. It also facilitates that everyone works in the same direction, and that new ways of carrying out their own responsibilities can be learned.

At the level of communication with the outside world, business communication is essential in order to contact the media and generate a positive image of the company itself, as well as to analyze the target audience and assess their needs. It also allows us to learn to attract potential clients and assess the changes inherent in the dynamic and fluid society in which we live, something fundamental in order to anticipate and face possible difficulties and adapt to the environment.


In order for communication to be efficient, it is necessary that the company itself create effective channels for this, as well as empowering the transmission of information through its actions, generating means to communicate and also working actively so that there is no uncertainty Regarding what is requested and sought within the organization.

It is also important to work on both formal and informal aspects, as well as to assess the needs and thoughts of the different workers. Empathy is also fundamental, as well as good regulation and planning of communication mechanisms.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Corporate identity: what it is and how it defines organizations"

Different types of business communication

Not all companies and organizations communicate in the same way, and there are different types and classifications of business communication based on various criteria.

1. Internal and external

The first one is the one that establishes the distinction between internal and external communication, the first being that which occurs between the different departments and workers of the company itself and the second one that is aimed at establishing a communication with the environment.

2. Bidirectional and monodirectional

Likewise, we can also find business communication styles with a greater or lesser level of interactivity, being able to find from the most usual bidirectional communication in which sender and receiver interact and exchange information until the monodirectional one in which only one message is sent, generally from positions of power, to a receiver who has no option to reply .

3. Ascending, descending and horizontal

Within the internal business communication of an organization, we can find three big types depending on the point where the information starts and the position between the sender and the receiver of the same communication. We speak of descending communication when the communicative act is carried out from a sender with a higher charge than the receiver.

When it is the subordinate who issues the message to his superior, we would speak of upward communication. In both cases we would be faced with a type of vertical communication, that is, a communication in which the subjects that maintain the communicative act have an inequality relation in terms of power (there being a hierarchy between them).

The other great type of communication is horizontal communication, which is established between individuals who have the same position and are at the same level of the hierarchy.

4. Formal and informal

Finally, it should be noted that in business communication we can find the existence of two different types of communication channels: formal and informal. The first is where the technical aspects are usually treated and linked to the tasks themselves, being a kind of respectful communication and focused on the reason and the objective of the company.

In informal communication, however, more flexible and natural communications are usually established , focused primarily on interpersonal relationships and often having the greatest effect on work welfare. The latter varies greatly depending on who carries it out and can transcend the workplace, being difficult to control by the organization.

Possible threats to good communication

The fact of maintaining an efficient business communication is fundamental, but it is not easy. And it must be taken into account the existence of a high level of variability in situations that may arise, as well as the existence of misunderstandings, misuses and difficulties in the communications of a company .

1. Lack of consistency

One of the factors that most influences that communication is really useful is the credibility of the issuer and the consideration shown to the recipient of the message. An example of this may be the existence of dissonances between what is said and what is said. is done, not keeping the issuers a way of acting consistent with the messages issued .

The latter can happen in any of the workers of the company, regardless of their hierarchical position or if they talk to a superior, subordinate or someone at the same level of the hierarchy, and generates serious repercussions for both the subject (depending on the situation could end up being considered badly or even dismissed) as for the organization (generating a lower level of trust in the person and in case of having a high position even in the organization).

In the same way and for example in the case of large companies with a large number of departments, if there are divergences between the figures of authority or reference within the company probably could generate a situation in which the worker does not really know what leadership should follow , something that can generate frustration and distrust.

Likewise, it is necessary to be very careful with the interpretability of the messages, since the existence of ambivalence can cause different departments or workers to come to interpret opposite things. What business communication seeks is precisely to ensure internal organization and coherence, so that unclear messages with different interpretations can cause uncertainty and doubts to appear with the recipients of the message.

2. Lack of emotional connection

Another problem can be found in the way communication occurs. For example, in some organizations there may be a difficulty in generating a sense of emotional attachment, which in workers may generate less commitment and productivity and in users a lack of interest and the search for other alternatives. It is necessary to value that everything that is done , and even what is not, is basically communicative.

Thus, the message itself is not only important, but also the way in which it is transmitted: it is not the same or offers the same sensations an email as a face-to-face meeting or the search for a real contact.

3. Not understanding the context

It should also be valued the adaptation to the current situation and social advances , as well as the particularities of the situation itself. For example, in an increasingly globalized society and where new technologies allow immediate communication with a large number of people at the same time, it may be necessary to analyze and invest in communication policies that take into account the power of networks and how to correctly transmit the desired information, in addition to assessing contact with potential customers from other regions of the world.

Likewise, it is also necessary to assess the company's own situation in order not to undertake more than it can cover, being necessary to take into account the situation of the company as a whole.

Another problem could be the content of the messages that are issued: it is possible that although the communication exists, it does not transmit or does not make understand the content that it would be necessary to transmit. It is possible that it focuses on rather supplementary aspects and obviates, for example, the orientation or objectives that a given post should have, or that they take for granted the existence of a knowledge that has never been made explicit .

4. Isolation and lack of communication

Finally, perhaps the most important problem that can be extrapolated from all the previous ones is the possibility that there is no real communication.

The clearest example is the stable and continuous use of monodirectional communication, which can generate a situation of stagnation and a lack of understanding of what happens in the organization itself. Fortunately, today it is the least used precisely because it is the least efficient and useful.

It is also possible that the different positions do not have the adequate mechanisms to get in touch even if their opinions were to be heard, there being fewer possibilities for feedback or even that different parts of the company do not have contact with each other. It is necessary to stimulate this interaction in an active way.

Bibliographic references:

  • Andrade, Horacio. (2005). Internal organizational communication: process, discipline and technique. Spain: Gesbiblo, S. L.
  • Brillouin, L. (2004). Science and Information Theory. Mineola, N.Y .: Dover.

CHARACTERISTIC OF BUSINESS COMMUNICATION (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Communication d'entreprise: types communs, caractéristiques et erreurs

Communication d'entreprise: types communs, caractéristiques et erreurs

Mai 9, 2024

Nous vivons dans une société dans laquelle une grande partie du marché du travail est configurée en fonction de l'environnement des entreprises. Qu'il s'agisse de grandes multinationales, de PME, d'entreprises familiales ou même de services individuels, tous doivent prendre en compte le fait que la cohérence dans l'organisation et la communication entre leurs parties est un élément essentiel à leur survie, afin de fédérer leurs efforts et de viser un objectif commun.

En ce sens, nous pouvons affirmer que La communication d'entreprise est l'un des éléments clés lorsqu'une organisation , surtout s’il présente une certaine complexité, fonctionne correctement et peut s’adapter et survivre. Et il s'agit de cette communication sur ce dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Qu'est-ce que la communication d'entreprise?

Il s’agit de la communication d’entreprise à l’ensemble des processus exécutés par une entreprise ou par une partie de celle-ci afin de créer des informations de voyage, en interne entre différents départements ou postes de l’entreprise ou s’agissant de la communication de l’entreprise avec l'extérieur

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que, en règle générale, une telle communication implique non seulement la capacité de publier les informations, mais également le fait de les recevoir: Nous sommes confrontés à un échange mutuel de données .

Une bonne communication d’entreprise favorise que tous les membres de l’entreprise puissent rester motivés et que leurs actions puissent être connues, réduisant ainsi l’incertitude des travailleurs et des dirigeants quant à l’état de la situation. Cela facilite également les interactions et améliore l'environnement de travail , en plus d’améliorer la productivité et de permettre de réagir de manière plus optimale à toute éventualité.


Objectifs Generals

Les objectifs de la communication d'entreprise sont facilement compris. En interne, d’une part, il permet de mettre en place une organisation cohérente et de partager les informations et résultats obtenus par ses différents départements ou collaborateurs, ainsi que de générer et de transmettre les objectifs et la vision d’entreprise de la société.

Aussi facilite la compréhension de ce que l'on attend de chaque travailleur , ainsi que la compréhension des réalités auxquelles chacun d’entre eux doit faire face. Cela facilite également le fait que tout le monde travaille dans la même direction et que de nouvelles façons de s’acquitter de ses propres responsabilités peuvent être apprises.

Au niveau de la communication avec le monde extérieur, la communication commerciale est essentielle pour contacter les médias et générer une image positive de la société elle-même, ainsi que pour analyser le public cible et évaluer ses besoins. Cela nous permet également d'apprendre à attirer des clients potentiels et à évaluer les changements inhérents à la société dynamique et fluide dans laquelle nous vivons, ce qui est fondamental pour anticiper les éventuelles difficultés et s'adapter à l'environnement.


Pour que la communication soit efficace, il est nécessaire que l'entreprise crée elle-même des canaux efficaces à cet effet, tout en permettant la transmission d'informations par le biais de ses actions, en générant des moyens de communication et également travailler activement pour qu'il n'y ait pas d'incertitude En ce qui concerne ce qui est demandé et recherché au sein de l'organisation.

Il est également important de travailler à la fois sur les aspects formels et informels, ainsi que d’évaluer les besoins et les opinions des différents travailleurs. L'empathie est également fondamentale, de même qu'une bonne réglementation et une bonne planification des mécanismes de communication.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Identité visuelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment définit-elle les organisations?"

Différents types de communication d'entreprise

Toutes les entreprises et organisations ne communiquent pas de la même manière, et il existe différents types et classifications de communication d'entreprise basé sur divers critères.

1. interne et externe

Le premier est celui qui établit la distinction entre communication interne et externe, le premier étant celui qui se produit entre les différents départements et travailleurs de l'entreprise elle-même et le second visant à établir une communication avec l'environnement.

2. bidirectionnel et monodirectionnel

De même, nous pouvons également trouver des styles de communication d’entreprise avec un niveau d’interactivité plus ou moins important, pouvant rechercher à partir de la communication bidirectionnelle la plus usuelle dans laquelle l’émetteur et le destinataire interagissent et échangent des informations jusqu’à celle monodirectionnelle dans laquelle un seul message est envoyé généralement des postes de pouvoir, à un destinataire qui n'a pas le choix de répondre .

3. Ascendant, descendant et horizontal

Dans la communication commerciale interne d'une organisation, nous pouvons trouver trois grands types en fonction du point de départ de l'information et de la position entre l'expéditeur et le destinataire de la même communication. On parle de communication descendante lorsque l'acte de communication est effectué à partir d'un expéditeur avec une charge plus élevée que le destinataire.

Quand c'est le subordonné qui envoie le message à son supérieur, on parle de communication ascendante. Dans les deux cas, nous serions confrontés à un type de communication verticale, c’est-à-dire une communication dans laquelle les sujets qui maintiennent l'acte de communication ont une relation d'inégalité en termes de pouvoir (il existe une hiérarchie entre eux).

L’autre grand type de communication est la communication horizontale, qui s’établit entre des individus qui ont la même position et se situent au même niveau hiérarchique.

4. Formel et informel

Enfin, il convient de noter que dans la communication d'entreprise, on peut trouver l'existence de deux types de canaux de communication différents: formel et informel. La première est celle où les aspects techniques sont généralement traités et liés aux tâches elles-mêmes, constituant une sorte de communication respectueuse et centrée sur la raison et l'objectif de l'entreprise.

Dans la communication informelle, cependant, des communications plus souples et naturelles sont généralement établies , axé principalement sur les relations interpersonnelles et ayant souvent le plus grand effet sur le bien-être au travail. Ce dernier varie considérablement en fonction de la personne qui l'exécute et peut transcender le lieu de travail, étant difficile à contrôler par l'organisation.

Menaces possibles pour une bonne communication

Le fait de maintenir une communication professionnelle efficace est fondamental, mais ce n’est pas facile. Et il faut tenir compte de l’existence d’une forte variabilité dans les situations pouvant survenir, ainsi que de l’existence de malentendus, abus et difficultés dans les communications d'une entreprise .

1. Manque de cohérence

La crédibilité de l’émetteur et l’attention accordée au destinataire du message sont l’un des facteurs qui ont le plus influencé le fait que la communication est réellement utile, par exemple l’existence de dissonances entre ce qui est dit et ce qui est dit. est fait, ne pas garder les émetteurs une manière d'agir cohérente avec les messages émis .

Cette dernière peut survenir chez n’importe quel travailleur de l’entreprise, quelle que soit sa position hiérarchique ou s’il s’adresse à un supérieur, à un subordonné ou à une personne du même niveau hiérarchique, et génère de graves répercussions à la fois pour le sujet (selon la situation). pourrait finir par être considéré mal ou même licencié) en ce qui concerne l’organisation (générant un niveau de confiance moindre en la personne et en cas d’avoir un poste élevé, même dans l’organisation).

De la même manière et par exemple dans le cas de grandes entreprises comptant un grand nombre de départements, s'il existe probablement des divergences entre les figures d'autorité ou de référence au sein de l'entreprise pourrait générer une situation dans laquelle le travailleur ne sait pas vraiment ce que le leadership doit suivre , quelque chose qui peut générer de la frustration et de la méfiance.

De même, il est nécessaire de faire très attention à l'interprétabilité des messages, car l'existence d'une ambivalence peut amener différents départements ou travailleurs à interpréter des choses opposées. La communication d'entreprise cherche précisément à assurer la cohérence de l'organisation interne afin que des messages peu clairs, aux interprétations différentes, puissent créer une incertitude et des doutes chez les destinataires du message.

2. Absence de lien affectif

Un autre problème peut être trouvé dans la façon dont la communication se produit. Par exemple, dans certaines organisations, il peut être difficile de générer un sentiment d’attachement émotionnel, ce qui chez les travailleurs peut générer moins d’engagement et de productivité, et chez les utilisateurs un manque d’intérêt et la recherche d’autres solutions. Il est nécessaire de valoriser que tout ce qui est fait , et même ce qui ne l’est pas, est fondamentalement communicatif.

Ainsi, le message lui-même est non seulement important, mais aussi par la manière dont il est transmis: ce n'est pas la même chose ou offre aux mêmes sensations un email comme une réunion en face à face ou la recherche d'un vrai contact.

3. Ne pas comprendre le contexte

Il devrait également être évalué l'adaptation à la situation actuelle et aux avancées sociales , ainsi que les particularités de la situation elle-même. Par exemple, dans une société de plus en plus mondialisée et où les nouvelles technologies permettent une communication immédiate avec un grand nombre de personnes en même temps, il peut être nécessaire d’analyser et d’investir dans des politiques de communication tenant compte de la puissance des réseaux. et comment transmettre correctement les informations souhaitées, en plus d'évaluer le contact avec des clients potentiels d'autres régions du monde.

De même, il est également nécessaire d’évaluer la situation propre à l’entreprise afin de ne pas en engager plus qu’elle ne peut en couvrir, car il est nécessaire de prendre en compte la situation de l’entreprise dans son ensemble.

Un autre problème pourrait être le contenu des messages qui sont émis: il est possible que bien que la communication existe, elle ne transmet pas ou ne fait pas comprendre le contenu qu'il serait nécessaire de transmettre. Il est possible qu'il se concentre sur des aspects plutôt complémentaires et évite, par exemple, l'orientation ou les objectifs qu'un poste donné devrait avoir, ou qu'ils prennent pour acquis l'existence d'une connaissance qui n'a jamais été explicite .

4. Isolement et manque de communication

Enfin, le problème le plus important pouvant être extrapolé de tous les précédents est peut-être la possibilité qu'il n'y ait pas de communication réelle.

L’exemple le plus clair est l’utilisation stable et continue de la communication monodirectionnelle, qui peut générer une situation de stagnation et un manque de compréhension de ce qui se passe dans l’organisation elle-même. Heureusement, il est aujourd'hui le moins utilisé, précisément parce qu'il est le moins efficace et le moins utile.

C'est aussi possible que les différentes positions ne disposent pas des mécanismes adéquats pour entrer en contact même si leurs opinions devaient être entendues, il y avait moins de possibilités de rétroaction ou même le fait que différentes parties de l'entreprise ne soient pas en contact les unes avec les autres. Il est nécessaire de stimuler cette interaction de manière active.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Andrade, Horacio. (2005). Communication organisationnelle interne: processus, discipline et technique. Espagne: Gesbiblo, S. L.
  • Brillouin, L. (2004). Science et théorie de l'information. Mineola, N.Y.: Dover.

Les différences interculturelles entre les Chinois et les Français (Mai 2024).


Articles Connexes