yes, therapy helps!
Cerebral cortex: its layers, areas and functions

Cerebral cortex: its layers, areas and functions

November 27, 2021

As human beings, everything we feel, reason and perceive, as well as our ability to move and perform any activity, has its origin in our brain.

Throughout this article we will talk about the cerebral cortex as well as its layers and the different structures that compose it and the functions each of them has.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the cerebral cortex?

The cerebral cortex refers to the outer layer of the brain. This layer It is formed by thin film of nervous tissue that surrounds the surface of the cerebral hemispheres, being the primates that enjoy a cerebral cortex much more developed than the rest of animals.


Thanks to the correct functioning of the cerebral cortex, humans have the ability to perceive what happens to us and surrounds us, as well as to imagine, think, have capacity for judgment and decision and, finally, the ability to understand and produce language.

Although, as explained above, the cerebral cortex is a thin layer of neurons and neuronal connections, it is not homogeneous, since it is It is made up of six layers of cells , and each of them with specific and specific functions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Types of brain cortex

If we rely as much on the structural as phylogenetic perspective of the cerebral cortex, we can differentiate three different classes of this. These are the following.


1. Arquicorteza

Evolutely speaking, it is the oldest part of the cerebral cortex. Formed by the hippocampus, the architect is responsible for those automatic responses and physiological mechanisms responsible for survival .

2. Paleocortex

Philogenetically, the paleocortex is halfway between the most primary areas of the cerebral cortex and the most evolved . This class of cortex harbors the endings of the olfactory pathways, the olfactory brain of the people being found here.

3. Isocortex or neocortex

It is the area of ​​the most recent crust, and the one in charge of processes of reasoning and abstract thinking .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

The layers of the cerebral cortex

As mentioned above, the cerebral cortex is made up of different layers of neuronal tissue known as gray matter. Each of these layers has a different functional specialization and has been originated at a different time in human evolution.


This means that, throughout our evolution and development as human beings, these layers have been increasing in quantity, which has implied a powerful development of our cognitive and intellectual capacities in comparison with other animal species.

These layers are the following.

1. Molecular layer

The molecular layer is the outermost, and therefore most recent in origin, of all strata of the cerebral cortex.

Also known as a plexiform layer , is essentially a synaptic layer formed by a thick network of neuronal fibers.

2. External granular layer

The second layer that makes up the cerebral cortex is the outer granular layer. This is formed by a large number of small stellate and pyramidal cells .

The axons of this layer infiltrate the molecular layer entering more submerged areas of the cerebral cortex, coupling with different areas of the cortex.

3. External pyramidal layer

The external pyramidal layer It gets its name from the type of cells that make it up: the pyramidal cells . These cells direct their axons to other areas of the cortex and to other subcortical destinations in the form of projection, association and commissural fibers.

4. Internal granular layer

This layer consists essentially of a compact mass of stellate cells, most of which receive afferents from the thalamus area. These fibers arranged horizontally they are known as Baillarger's external band .

5. Internal pyramidal layer, or ganglion layer

This fifth layer contains a large number of pyramidal cells of medium and large size, as well as Stellate and Martinotti cells . Its horizontally arranged filaments are also part of Baillarger's internal band.

6. Multiform or polymorphic layer

The last of these layers is made up of cells of the fusiform type which derive information from the cortex, the thalamus and the striated nuclei. In addition, it also includes pyramidal cells with a triangular or ovoid body

Your areas and functions

In addition to the types of bark and the layers that comprise it, the cerebral cortex can be divided according to its different functional areas . That is, according to the functions or tasks that are carried out in each of these areas.

Taking this classification into account, the cerebral cortex can be divided into sensory, motor or association areas.

1. Sensitive areas

The sensory area receives the sensory information from concrete nuclei of the thalamus. This information is sensitive , which means that it transports the information perceived by the different senses: sight, hearing, smell, touch, taste ...

This same areas can also be divided into two different sensory areas. The primary sensory area, which has direct connections with peripheral sensory receptors; and the secondary sensory and association areas, which receive sensory information from both the primary association area and the lower brain areas.

The objective of the different association zones, both primary and secondary, is that of create patterns of recognition and behavior through the assimilation of sensory information. These sensitive areas of the cerebral cortex are:

  • Primary somatosensory area .
  • Primary visual area.
  • Primary olfactory area.
  • Primary auditory area .
  • Primary gustatory area.

2. Motor area

The areas responsible for the cerebral mechanisms associated with body movement are located in the anterior portion of both hemispheres, that is, in the frontal lobe. In the motor area originate the descending motor treatments that depart from the cerebral cortex towards the motoneuronal trunk and spinal cord.

Within this region we find two essential areas for our operation:

  • Primary motor area.
  • Broca's language area.

3. Association area

Finally, the areas of association are those that make possible the existence of more complex and abstract mental functions such as the mechanisms of memory and cognition, the domain of emotions, the ability to reason, and the will. In addition, they also have influence on the development of personality and intelligence.

  • Related article: "Associative cortex (brain): types, parts and functions"

Cerebral cortex | Organ Systems | MCAT | Khan Academy (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cortex cérébral: ses couches, zones et fonctions

Cortex cérébral: ses couches, zones et fonctions

Juillet 28, 2022

En tant qu'être humain, tout ce que nous ressentons, raisonnons et percevons, ainsi que notre capacité à bouger et à accomplir n'importe quelle activité, a son origine dans notre cerveau.

Tout au long de cet article nous parlerons du cortex cérébral ainsi que de ses couches et les différentes structures qui le composent et les fonctions que chacun d'eux a.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Qu'est-ce que le cortex cérébral?

Le cortex cérébral fait référence à la couche externe du cerveau. Cette couche Il est formé par un film mince de tissu nerveux qui entoure la surface des hémisphères cérébraux, ce sont les primates qui jouissent d’un cortex cérébral bien plus développé que le reste des animaux.


Grâce au bon fonctionnement du cortex cérébral, les humains ont la capacité de percevoir ce qui nous arrive et nous entoure, ainsi que d'imaginer, de penser, d'avoir une capacité de jugement et de décision et, enfin, la capacité de comprendre et de produire le langage.

Bien que, comme expliqué ci-dessus, le cortex cérébral soit une fine couche de neurones et de connexions neuronales, il n’est pas homogène, car Il est composé de six couches de cellules , et chacune d’elles avec des fonctions spécifiques et spécifiques.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Types de cortex cérébral

Si nous nous appuyons autant sur la perspective structurelle que phylogénétique du cortex cérébral, nous pouvons en distinguer trois classes différentes. Ce sont les suivantes.


1. Arquicorteza

Évidemment, c’est la partie la plus ancienne du cortex cérébral. Formé par l'hippocampe, l'architecte est responsable de ceux qui réponses automatiques et mécanismes physiologiques responsables de la survie .

2. Paléocortex

Philogénétiquement, le paléocortex est à mi-chemin entre les zones les plus primaires du cortex cérébral et les plus évoluées . Cette classe de cortex abrite les terminaisons des voies olfactives, le cerveau olfactif des personnes se trouvant ici.

3. Isocortex ou néocortex

C’est le domaine de la croûte la plus récente, et celui en charge de processus de raisonnement et de pensée abstraite .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Les couches du cortex cérébral

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le cortex cérébral est constitué de différentes couches de tissu neuronal connu sous le nom de matière grise. Chacune de ces couches a une spécialisation fonctionnelle différente et a été créée à un moment différent de l'évolution humaine.


Cela signifie que, tout au long de notre évolution et de notre développement en tant qu'êtres humains, ces couches se sont multipliées, ce qui a entraîné une puissante développement de nos capacités cognitives et intellectuelles en comparaison avec d'autres espèces animales.

Ces couches sont les suivantes.

1. Couche moléculaire

La couche moléculaire est la plus externe, donc la plus récente, de toutes les couches du cortex cérébral.

Aussi connu sous le nom de couche plexiforme , est essentiellement une couche synaptique formée d’un réseau épais de fibres neuronales.

2. Couche granulaire externe

La deuxième couche qui constitue le cortex cérébral est la couche granulaire externe. Ceci est formé par un grand nombre de petites cellules étoilées et pyramidales .

Les axones de cette couche s'infiltrent dans la couche moléculaire et pénètrent dans des zones plus submergées du cortex cérébral, se couplant à différentes zones du cortex.

3. Couche pyramidale externe

La couche pyramidale externe Il tire son nom du type de cellules qui le composent: les cellules pyramidales . Ces cellules dirigent leurs axones vers d'autres zones du cortex et vers d'autres destinations sous-corticales sous forme de fibres de projection, d'association et commissurales.

4. Couche granulaire interne

Cette couche consiste essentiellement en une masse compacte de cellules étoilées, dont la plupart reçoivent des afférences de la région du thalamus. Ces fibres disposées horizontalement ils sont connus comme groupe externe de Baillarger .

5. Couche pyramidale interne ou couche ganglionnaire

Cette cinquième couche contient un grand nombre de cellules pyramidales de moyenne et grande taille, ainsi que Cellules étoilées et Martinotti . Ses filaments disposés horizontalement font également partie de la bande interne de Baillarger.

6. Couche multiforme ou polymorphe

La dernière de ces couches est constituée de cellules de type fusiforme qui tirent des informations du cortex, du thalamus et des noyaux striés. De plus, il comprend également des cellules pyramidales à corps triangulaire ou ovoïde

Vos domaines et fonctions

En plus des types d'écorce et des couches qui la composent, le cortex cérébral peut être divisé en différentes zones fonctionnelles . C’est-à-dire en fonction des fonctions ou tâches accomplies dans chacun de ces domaines.

En tenant compte de cette classification, le cortex cérébral peut être divisé en zones sensorielles, motrices ou associatives.

1. Zones sensibles

La zone sensorielle reçoit les informations sensorielles des noyaux concrets du thalamus. Cette information est sensible , c’est-à-dire qu’il véhicule les informations perçues par les différents sens: la vue, l’ouïe, l’odorat, le toucher, le goût ...

Ces mêmes zones peuvent également être divisées en deux zones sensorielles différentes. La zone sensorielle primaire, qui a des connexions directes avec les récepteurs sensoriels périphériques; et les zones sensorielles et d'association secondaires, qui reçoivent des informations sensorielles à la fois de la zone d'association primaire et des régions du cerveau inférieures.

L’objectif des différentes zones d’association, primaire et secondaire, est celui de créer des modèles de reconnaissance et de comportement par l'assimilation de l'information sensorielle. Ces zones sensibles du cortex cérébral sont:

  • Zone somatosensorielle primaire .
  • Zone visuelle primaire.
  • Zone olfactive primaire.
  • Zone auditive primaire .
  • Zone gustative primaire.

2. Zone moteur

Les zones responsables des mécanismes cérébraux associés aux mouvements du corps sont situées dans la partie antérieure des deux hémisphères, c'est-à-dire dans le lobe frontal. Dans la région motrice, les traitements moteurs descendants partent du cortex cérébral et se dirigent vers le tronc et la moelle épinière motoneuronaux.

Dans cette région, nous trouvons deux domaines essentiels à notre fonctionnement:

  • Zone moteur primaire.
  • Zone linguistique de Broca.

3. Zone d'association

Enfin, les domaines d’association sont ceux qui rendent possible l’existence de fonctions mentales plus complexes et abstraites tels que les mécanismes de la mémoire et de la cognition, le domaine des émotions, la capacité de raisonner et la volonté. En outre, ils ont également une influence sur le développement de la personnalité et de l'intelligence.

  • Article connexe: "Cortex associatif (cerveau): types, parties et fonctions"

SVT BAC S - Le cerveau : cortex et aires cérébrales (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes