yes, therapy helps!
Cerebrospinal fluid: composition, functions and disorders

Cerebrospinal fluid: composition, functions and disorders

January 17, 2022

It is popular knowledge that the brain is located inside the skull, being protected among other things by this and by different membranes, such as the meninges.

The correct functioning and protection of this organ is fundamental for survival , so that it is necessary to nourish it and avoid possible damages, such as those produced by blows or intracranial pressure. Furthermore, in its necessarily continuous operation waste is generated, which can be harmful and therefore must be removed from the system.

In all this, there is a very important liquid that circulates through the nervous system, known as cerebrospinal fluid .


A general idea of ​​cerebrospinal fluid

Cerebrospinal fluid or cerebrospinal fluid is a substance present in the nervous system, both at the level of the brain and the spinal cord , which performs various functions such as protection, maintenance of intracranial pressure and health status of the thinking organ.

Its presence in the nervous system occurs especially in the subarachnoid space (between the arachnoid and the pia mater, two of the meninges that protect the brain) and the cerebral ventricles. It is a transparent liquid of fundamental importance in the preservation and good health of the brain, with a composition similar to that of blood plasma, from which it is derived. Despite being colorless, different alterations and infections can give it different shades, its color being a sign of the presence of a problem.


Life cycle of cerebrospinal fluid

Cerebrospinal fluid is synthesized in the choroid plexuses, small structures present in the lateral ventricles, being the main function of these plexuses the production of this substance. This production is given continuously, renewed to maintain a constant amount of said substance .

Once emitted it flows from the lateral ventricles to the third ventricle and later to fourth through the aqueduct of Silvio. From there it ends up projecting into the subarachnoid space through an orifice known as the Magendie orifice and the Luschka orifices, openings in the fourth cerebral ventricle that contact the ventricular and meningeal systems when communicating with the cistern of the subarachnoid space ( located between the arachnoid meninges and pia mater). From that point circulates through the meninges throughout the entire nervous system, exercising various functions in the process.


To culminate with its life cycle, it is finally reabsorbed through the arachnoid granulations, which connect with the veins present in the dura, with which the liquid ends up reaching the bloodstream.

The average life cycle of this substance is around three hours , between its secretion, circulation, collection and renewal.

Composition

As just mentioned, the composition of the cerebrospinal fluid is very similar to that of blood plasma , the main variations being the comparatively much lower presence of proteins (it is estimated that in the blood plasma the presence of proteins is two hundred times greater) and the type of electrolytes that are part of it.

A water-based solution, cerebrospinal fluid has several components of great importance for the maintenance of the nervous system, such as vitamins (especially group B), electrolytes, leukocytes, amino acids, choline and nucleic acid.

Within this large number of elements, cerebrospinal fluid highlights the presence of albumin as the main protein component , along with others such as prealbumin, alpha-2-macroglobulin or transferrin. Apart from these components, the high presence of glucose stands out, having between 50 and 80% of presence in this solution, which is so vital for the encephalon.

Principal functions

We have visualized an optics of what is the cerebrospinal fluid, where it circulates and what it is composed of. But nevertheless One wonders why this substance is so important for the correct functioning of the whole nervous system. To answer this question it is necessary to see what functions it has.

One of the main functions of cerebrospinal fluid is to be the main mechanism for the elimination of waste produced by the continuous functioning of the nervous system , waste that could seriously affect its operation. Thus, the circulation of cerebrospinal fluid takes those substances and metabolites, which will end up being excreted from the system.If this substance does not exist, the remaining toxins and particles would remain deposited in regions of the nervous system and adjacent areas, so that many problems would appear in the state of living cells: neither could they get rid of those leftover elements, nor could they access to the parts of these that can be recycled once they have passed through the right place.

Another of the most important functions of the cerebrospinal fluid is to keep the brain nourished, as well as to ensure the consistency of the medium between the different cells of the brain and the medulla. It is a kind of chemical "shock absorber" that allows the room for maneuver to increase in case of certain hormonal imbalances, for example, and when there are problems of homeostasis in general .

Cerebrospinal fluid also allows the brain to remain floating in the skull, greatly reducing its weight. This flotation also serves as a buffer against aggressions, blows and movements by reducing the possibility of collision with the bones of the skull or external elements.

Also, the cerebrospinal fluid it has a lot to do with maintaining intracranial pressure , making it neither too big nor too small, maintaining a constant balance that allows correct operation.

Finally, it also participates by acting as an immune system, protecting the nervous system from harmful agents. It also contributes as a means of transporting hormones.

Derived disorders

Thus, the nervous system has an essential tool in the cerebrospinal fluid to function correctly.

But nevertheless, It is possible that there are alterations in the synthesis, circulation or resorption of this substance , which can cause different problems, two of which are the following.

1. Hydrocephalus

This concept refers to the excessive presence of cerebrospinal fluid , having such an accumulation that causes a pressure of the brain against the skull. Some of the elements that can cause it are tumors, infections or traumatisms, but it is also common to find congenital hydrocephalus, that is, present from birth.

It can cause from headache, vomiting, cognitive or coordination impairment or double vision, among other symptoms, being in the case of congenital hydrocephalus cause of a strong difficulty in the development and intellectual deficit. It is usually due to obstructions in the circuit, being a common example that Magendie's hole is blocked. To treat these problems it is possible to perform surgery in order to place an escape route of the liquid to other areas, such as the stomach.

2. Hypertension / intracranial hypotension

An excess or deficit of cerebrospinal fluid can cause the pressure suffered by the brain inside the skull to be excessive or too low to allow proper functioning. While hypotension would occur to the loss or little production of cerebrospinal fluid, hypertension would be caused by an excess of this, which can be serious because it presses areas of the nervous system and prevents them from working well (or even kills areas of cell tissue ).

In any case, the alterations in the cerebrospinal fluid that may appear in these cases add to the problems of the heart condition that originates , so that the danger increases. It is necessary to treat both groups of symptoms to avoid a chain effect resulting from problems in the functioning of the nervous system and the circulatory system.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rodríguez-Segade, S. (2006). Cerebrospinal fluid. Ed Cont Lab Clin.; 9: 49-56.
  • Rosenberg, G.A. (2008). Brain edema and disorders of cerebrospinal fluid circulation. In: Bradley, W.G .; Daroff, R.B .; Fenichel, G.M .; Jankovic, J. (eds). Bradley: Neurology in Clinical Practice. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa: Butterworth-Heinemann Elsevier; 63
  • Zweckberger, K .; Sakowitz, O.W .; Unterberg, A.W. et al. (2009). Intracranial pressure-volume relationship. Physiology and pathophysiology Anaesthesist. 58: 392-7.

CSF Leak Surgery - Nebraska Medicine (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Liquide céphalo-rachidien: composition, fonctions et troubles

Liquide céphalo-rachidien: composition, fonctions et troubles

Janvier 28, 2023

Il est de notoriété publique que le cerveau se situe à l’intérieur du crâne et qu’il est protégé, entre autres, par différentes membranes, comme les méninges.

Le bon fonctionnement et la protection de cet organe sont fondamentaux pour la survie , de sorte qu'il est nécessaire de le nourrir et d'éviter les dommages éventuels, tels que ceux produits par les coups ou la pression intracrânienne. De plus, lors de son fonctionnement nécessairement continu, des déchets sont générés, ce qui peut être nocif et doit donc être retiré du système.

Dans tout cela, il existe un liquide très important qui circule dans le système nerveux, appelé liquide céphalorachidien .


Une idée générale du liquide céphalo-rachidien

Le liquide céphalo-rachidien ou le liquide céphalo-rachidien est une substance présente dans le système nerveux, tant au niveau du cerveau que de la moelle épinière , qui remplit diverses fonctions telles que la protection, le maintien de la pression intracrânienne et l’état de santé de l’organe pensant.

Sa présence dans le système nerveux se produit surtout dans l'espace sous-arachnoïdien (entre l'arachnoïde et la pie-mère, deux des méninges qui protègent le cerveau) et dans les ventricules cérébraux. C’est un liquide transparent d’une importance fondamentale pour la préservation et la bonne santé du cerveau, dont la composition est semblable à celle du plasma sanguin, dont il est issu. Bien qu’elles soient incolores, différentes altérations et infections peuvent lui donner des nuances différentes, sa couleur étant le signe de la présence d’un problème.


Cycle de vie du liquide céphalorachidien

Le liquide céphalo-rachidien est synthétisé dans les plexus choroïdes, petites structures présentes dans les ventricules latéraux, étant la fonction principale de ces plexus dans la production de cette substance. Cette production est donnée en continu, renouvelée pour maintenir une quantité constante de ladite substance .

Une fois émis, il passe des ventricules latéraux au troisième ventricule et plus tard au quatrième à travers l'aqueduc de Silvio. De là, il finit par faire saillie dans l'espace sous-arachnoïdien par un orifice appelé orifice de Magendie et orifices de Luschka, ouvertures du quatrième ventricule cérébral qui entrent en contact avec les systèmes ventriculaire et méningé lors de la communication avec le réservoir de l'espace sous-arachnoïdien ( situé entre les méninges arachnoïdiennes et la pie-mère). À partir de ce point, circule dans les méninges à travers l’ensemble du système nerveux, exerçant diverses fonctions.


Pour aboutir à son cycle de vie, il est finalement réabsorbé par les granulations d'arachnoïde, qui se connectent aux veines présentes dans la dure-mère, avec lesquelles le liquide finit par atteindre le flux sanguin.

Le cycle de vie moyen de cette substance est d'environ trois heures , entre sa sécrétion, sa circulation, sa collecte et son renouvellement.

La composition

Comme je viens de le dire, la composition du liquide céphalo-rachidien est très similaire à celle du plasma sanguin , les principales variations étant la présence comparativement beaucoup plus faible de protéines (on estime que dans le plasma sanguin, la présence de protéines est deux cent fois plus grande) et le type d’électrolytes qui en font partie.

Solution à base d’eau, le liquide céphalo-rachidien a plusieurs composants d’une grande importance pour le maintien du système nerveux, tels que les vitamines (notamment le groupe B), les électrolytes, les leucocytes, les acides aminés, la choline et les acides nucléiques.

Dans ce grand nombre d’éléments, Le liquide céphalo-rachidien souligne la présence d'albumine en tant que composant protéique principal , ainsi que d’autres, comme l’albumine, l’alpha-2-macroglobuline ou la transferrine. Outre ces composants, la forte présence de glucose se distingue, avec une présence comprise entre 50 et 80% dans cette solution, qui est vitale pour l'encéphale.

Fonctions principales

Nous avons visualisé une optique de ce qu'est le liquide céphalo-rachidien, où il circule et de quoi il est composé. Cependant On se demande pourquoi cette substance est si importante pour le bon fonctionnement de tout le système nerveux. Pour répondre à cette question, il est nécessaire de voir quelles sont ses fonctions.

L’une des fonctions principales du liquide céphalo-rachidien est d’être le mécanisme principal pour l'élimination des déchets produits par le fonctionnement continu du système nerveux , des déchets qui pourraient sérieusement affecter son fonctionnement. Ainsi, la circulation du liquide céphalo-rachidien absorbe ces substances et métabolites, qui finiront par être excrétés par le système.Si cette substance n'existait pas, les toxines et les particules restantes resteraient déposées dans les régions du système nerveux et les zones adjacentes, de sorte que de nombreux problèmes apparaissent dans l'état des cellules vivantes: ils ne peuvent pas non plus se débarrasser de ces éléments restants, ni accéder aux parties de celles-ci qui peuvent être recyclées une fois qu’elles sont passées au bon endroit.

Une autre des fonctions les plus importantes du liquide céphalo-rachidien est de garder le cerveau nourri et d’assurer la cohérence du milieu entre les différentes cellules du cerveau et de la médulla. Il s’agit d’une sorte d’amortisseur chimique qui permet d’augmenter la marge de manœuvre en cas de certains déséquilibres hormonaux, par exemple: et quand il y a des problèmes d'homéostasie en général .

Le liquide céphalo-rachidien permet également au cerveau de rester flottant dans le crâne, ce qui réduit considérablement son poids. Cette flottaison sert également de tampon contre les agressions, les coups et les mouvements en réduisant les risques de collision avec les os du crâne ou les éléments extérieurs.

En outre, le liquide céphalo-rachidien il a beaucoup à faire avec le maintien de la pression intracrânienne , ne le rendant ni trop grand ni trop petit, en maintenant un équilibre constant qui permet un fonctionnement correct.

Enfin, il participe également en agissant en tant que système immunitaire, protégeant le système nerveux des agents nocifs. Il contribue également en tant que moyen de transport des hormones.

Troubles dérivés

Ainsi, le système nerveux dispose d'un outil essentiel dans le liquide céphalo-rachidien pour fonctionner correctement.

Cependant, Il est possible qu'il y ait des altérations dans la synthèse, la circulation ou la résorption de cette substance , qui peut causer différents problèmes, dont deux sont les suivants.

1. Hydrocéphalie

Ce concept fait référence à la présence excessive de liquide céphalo-rachidien , ayant une telle accumulation qui provoque une pression du cerveau contre le crâne. Des tumeurs, des infections ou des traumatismes sont quelques-uns des facteurs pouvant le provoquer, mais il est également courant de trouver une hydrocéphalie congénitale, c'est-à-dire présente dès la naissance.

Il peut provoquer des maux de tête, des vomissements, des troubles de la coordination ou cognitifs ou une vision double, entre autres symptômes, étant dans le cas d'une hydrocéphalie congénitale une cause importante de difficulté de développement et de déficit intellectuel. C'est généralement dû à des obstructions dans le circuit, un exemple courant que le trou de Magendie est bouché. Pour traiter ces problèmes, il est possible de procéder à une intervention chirurgicale afin de placer une issue de secours du liquide dans d'autres zones, telles que l'estomac.

2. Hypertension / hypotension intracrânienne

Un excès ou un déficit de liquide céphalo-rachidien peut entraîner une pression excessive ou insuffisante du cerveau à l'intérieur du crâne pour permettre son bon fonctionnement. Bien que l'hypotension entraîne la perte ou la faible production de liquide céphalo-rachidien, l'hypertension est provoquée par un excès de ce trouble, ce qui peut être grave car il exerce une pression sur des zones du système nerveux et les empêche de bien fonctionner (ou même tue des zones de tissu cellulaire). ).

Dans tous les cas, les altérations du liquide céphalo-rachidien pouvant apparaître dans ces cas ajouter aux problèmes de la maladie cardiaque qui commence , de sorte que le danger augmente. Il est nécessaire de traiter les deux groupes de symptômes pour éviter un effet en chaîne résultant de problèmes de fonctionnement du système nerveux et du système circulatoire.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rodríguez-Segade, S. (2006). Liquide céphalorachidien. Ed Cont Lab Clin .; 9: 49-56.
  • Rosenberg, G.A. (2008). Oedème cérébral et troubles de la circulation du liquide céphalo-rachidien. Dans: Bradley, W.G .; Daroff, R. B.; Fenichel, G. M.; Jankovic, J. (eds). Bradley: Neurologie en pratique clinique. 5ème éd. Philadelphie, Pennsylvanie: Butterworth-Heinemann Elsevier; 63
  • Zweckberger, K .; Sakowitz, O.W .; Unterberg, A.W. et al. (2009). Relation pression intracrânienne-volume. Physiologie et physiopathologie Anesthésiste. 58: 392-7.

Neuroanatomie : Le Cerveau Humain (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes