yes, therapy helps!
Progeria: causes, symptoms and treatment

Progeria: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 12, 2024

Since it was first described in 1886, progeria has become a well-known disease due to a peculiar fact: children with this severe disorder seem to age very quickly and present signs similar to those of old age. In this article we will explain what are the symptoms, causes and treatment of progeria .

  • You may be interested: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is progeria?

Progeria is a disease of genetic origin that causes an accelerated and premature aging in boys and girls who suffer The word "progeria" comes from the Greek and could be roughly translated as "premature old age".


This disorder is also known as "Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome" in honor of Jonathan Hutchinson and Hastings Gilford, who described it independently at the end of the 19th century.

It is a very rare disease in the world population: it is estimated that appears in approximately 1 in every 4 million births . Throughout the history of medicine there have been about 140 cases of Progeria, although it is believed that there could be a similar number of people affected worldwide at present.

Most people affected by progeria die prematurely. The average life expectancy is around 14 or 15 years , although some patients survive for more than 20 years. With great frequency the death is due to heart attacks and strokes associated with alterations in the circulatory system.


  • You may be interested: "Edwards syndrome (trisomy 18): causes, symptoms and types"

Symptoms and main signs

Girls and boys affected by Progeria often have a normal appearance during the months following birth. However, its rate of growth and weight gain soon becomes less than that of other children, and the rate of aging seems to multiply by 10.

Likewise characteristic facial features appear like a thin nose and finished in peak, thin lips and eyes and prominent ears. The face tends to be thinner, narrower and wrinkled than the rest of the girls and boys; Something similar happens with the skin as a whole, which looks aged and also shows a deficit of subcutaneous fat.

It is also very common to give other signs reminiscent of aging, such as hair loss and the appearance of malformations in the joints. However, the intellectual development and the motor are not affected , so that children with Progeria can have an almost normal operation.


The cardiovascular alterations characteristic of Progeria, which are manifested mainly in the presence of atherosclerosis and worsen significantly as the development progresses, are the fundamental sign to understand the short life expectancy of people with Progeria.

Thus, in a synthetic way, we can say that the most common symptoms and signs of Progeria are the following:

  • Delay of growth and weight gain during the first year of life.
  • Height and low weight.
  • Generalized body weakness due to degeneration of muscles and bones.
  • Disproportionately large head size (macrocephaly).
  • Alterations in the morphology of the face (e.g. narrower and wrinkled).
  • Jaw smaller than normal (micrognathia).
  • Loss of hair on the head, on the eyebrows and in the eyelashes (alopecia).
  • Development of delayed or nonexistent teeth.
  • Weakness, dryness, roughness and fineness of the skin.
  • Opening of the fontanels (holes in the skull of babies).
  • Decrease in the range of motion of the joints and muscles.
  • Early onset of atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries due to fat accumulation).
  • Increased risk of myocardial infarction and stroke .
  • Late development of renal alterations.
  • Progressive loss of visual acuity.

Causes of this disease

The development of progeria has been associated with random mutations in the LMNA gene , which has the function of synthesizing proteins (mainly lamina A and C) fundamental to create filaments that provide strength and resistance to cell membranes, as well as to shape the nucleus of cells.

Alterations in the LMNA gene make cells, especially their nuclei, more unstable than normal and therefore suffer more frequent damage. This causes them to degenerate more easily and tend to die prematurely. However, it is not known exactly how such a mutation is related to the signs of progeria.

Although it is not usually associated with genetic inheritance, in some cases mutations in the LMNA gene seem to be transmitted from parents to children through an autosomal dominant mechanism.

  • Related article: "What is epigenetics? Keys to understanding it"

Treatment

Given that progeria has its origin in genetic mutations, at present there are no effective treatments to modify its manifestations. That is why the management of progeria cases is mainly symptomatic .

The increased risk of heart and cerebrovascular accidents can be combated through the use of medications such as statins (used to reduce cholesterol levels) and acetylsalicylic acid, better known as "aspirin". Sometimes coronary artery bypass surgery is also performed.

Respiratory, skeletal, muscular, renal problems and of other types are handled in a similar way: treating the manifestations without intervening at the genetic level. Although research is being done in this regard, the effectiveness of any therapy for progeria has not been demonstrated at this time.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gilford, H. & Shepherd, R. C. (1904). Ateleiosis and progeria: continuous youth and premature old age. British Medical Journal, 2 (5157): 914-8.
  • Gordon, L. B .; Brown, W. T. & Collins, F. S. (2015). Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome. Gene Reviews. Retrieved on July 4, 2017 from //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1121/
  • Hutchinson, J. (1886). Case of congenital absence of hair, with atrophic condition of the skin and its appendages, in a boy whose mother had been almost wholly bald from alopecia areata from the age of six. Lancet, 1 (3272): 923.

Progeria clinical trial at Boston Children's Hospital (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Progeria: causes, symptômes et traitement

Progeria: causes, symptômes et traitement

Décembre 9, 2021

Depuis sa première description en 1886, la progeria est devenue une maladie bien connue en raison d'un fait particulier: les enfants atteints de cette maladie grave semblent vieillir très rapidement et présentent des signes similaires à ceux de la vieillesse. Dans cet article, nous allons expliquer Quels sont les symptômes, les causes et le traitement de la progeria .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les différences entre le syndrome, le désordre et la maladie"

Qu'est ce que la progeria?

La progéria est une maladie d'origine génétique qui provoque un vieillissement accéléré et prématuré chez les garçons et les filles qui souffrent Le mot "progeria" vient du grec et pourrait être traduit grossièrement par "vieillesse prématurée".


Ce trouble est également connu sous le nom de "syndrome de Hutchinson-Gilford progeria" en l'honneur de Jonathan Hutchinson et Hastings Gilford, qui l'ont décrit indépendamment à la fin du XIXe siècle.

C’est une maladie très rare dans la population mondiale: on estime que apparaît dans environ 1 naissance sur 4 millions . Au cours de l'histoire de la médecine, il y a eu environ 140 cas de Progeria, mais on pense qu'il pourrait y avoir un nombre similaire de personnes touchées dans le monde à l'heure actuelle.

La plupart des personnes touchées par la progéria meurent prématurément. L'espérance de vie moyenne est d'environ 14 ou 15 ans , bien que certains patients survivent plus de 20 ans. Très fréquemment, les décès sont dus à des crises cardiaques et à des accidents vasculaires cérébraux associés à des altérations du système circulatoire.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Syndrome d'Edwards (trisomie 18): causes, symptômes et types"

Symptômes et principaux signes

Les filles et les garçons affectés par Progeria ont souvent une apparence normale au cours des mois suivant la naissance. Cependant, son taux de croissance et de gain de poids devient rapidement inférieur à celui des autres enfants, et le taux de vieillissement semble se multiplier par 10.

De même traits faciaux caractéristiques ressemblent à un nez fin et fini en apogée, des lèvres et des yeux minces et des oreilles proéminentes. Le visage a tendance à être plus mince, plus étroit et ridé que le reste des filles et des garçons; Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec la peau dans son ensemble, qui a l'air vieilli et qui présente également un déficit en graisse sous-cutanée.

Il est également très courant de donner d’autres signes rappelant le vieillissement, tels que la perte de cheveux et l’apparition de malformations des articulations. Cependant, le développement intellectuel et le moteur ne sont pas affectés , de sorte que les enfants atteints de Progeria peuvent avoir un fonctionnement presque normal.


Les altérations cardiovasculaires caractéristiques de Progeria, qui se manifestent principalement en présence d'athérosclérose et s'aggravent de manière significative au fil de l'évolution du développement, sont le signe fondamental pour comprendre l'espérance de vie courte des personnes atteintes de Progeria.

Ainsi, de manière synthétique, on peut dire que les symptômes et les signes les plus courants de Progeria sont les suivants:

  • Retard de croissance et de gain de poids pendant la première année de vie.
  • Hauteur et faible poids.
  • Faiblesse généralisée due à la dégénérescence des muscles et des os.
  • Taille de la tête disproportionnée (macrocéphalie).
  • Altérations de la morphologie du visage (par exemple, plus étroites et ridées).
  • Mâchoire plus petite que la normale (micrognathie).
  • Perte de cheveux sur la tête, les sourcils et dans les cils (alopécie).
  • Développement de dents retardées ou inexistantes.
  • Faiblesse, sécheresse, rugosité et finesse de la peau.
  • Ouverture des fontanelles (trous dans le crâne des bébés).
  • Diminution de l'amplitude de mouvement des articulations et des muscles.
  • Apparition précoce de l’athérosclérose (durcissement des artères dû à l’accumulation de graisse).
  • Risque accru d'infarctus du myocarde et d'accident vasculaire cérébral .
  • Développement tardif d'altérations rénales.
  • Perte progressive de l'acuité visuelle.

Causes de cette maladie

Le développement de la progéria a été associé à mutations aléatoires dans le gène LMNA , qui a pour fonction de synthétiser des protéines (principalement les lames A et C), est fondamental pour créer des filaments qui renforcent et renforcent les membranes cellulaires, ainsi que pour former le noyau des cellules.

Les altérations du gène LMNA rendent les cellules, en particulier leurs noyaux, plus instables que la normale et subissent donc des dommages plus fréquents. Cela les fait dégénérer plus facilement et ont tendance à mourir prématurément. Cependant, on ne sait pas exactement comment une telle mutation est liée aux signes de progéria.

Bien qu'il ne soit généralement pas associé à un héritage génétique, dans certains cas, des mutations du gène LMNA semblent être transmises des parents aux enfants par le biais d'un mécanisme autosomique dominant.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'épigénétique? Des clés pour la comprendre"

Traitement

Étant donné que la progeria a pour origine des mutations génétiques, il n’existe actuellement aucun traitement efficace pour modifier ses manifestations. C'est pourquoi la prise en charge des cas de progeria est principalement symptomatique .

Le risque accru d'accidents cardiaques et cérébrovasculaires peut être combattu par l'utilisation de médicaments tels que les statines (utilisées pour réduire le taux de cholestérol) et l'acide acétylsalicylique, mieux connu sous le nom d '"aspirine". Parfois, un pontage coronarien est également pratiqué.

Problèmes respiratoires, squelettiques, musculaires, rénaux et d’autres types sont traités de la même manière: traiter les manifestations sans intervenir au niveau génétique. Bien que des recherches soient en cours à cet égard, l’efficacité de tout traitement de la progéria n’a pas encore été démontrée.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gilford, H. & Shepherd, R.C. (1904). Atéléiose et progéria: jeunesse continue et âge prématuré. British Medical Journal, 2 (5157): 914-8.
  • Gordon, L. B.; Brown, W.T. & Collins, F.S. (2015). Syndrome de Hutchinson-Gilford progeria. Avis sur les gènes. Récupéré le 4 juillet 2017 de //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK1121/
  • Hutchinson, J. (1886). Cas d'absence congénitale de cheveux, avec atrophie de la peau et de ses phanères, chez un garçon dont la mère était presque totalement chauve d'alopécie areata dès l'âge de six ans. Lancet, 1 (3272): 923.

Le progeria: une maladie génétique extrêmement rare (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes