yes, therapy helps!
Rebecca syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Rebecca syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

January 24, 2023

Nowadays, it is not uncommon for most of the population to have more than one sentimental partner throughout their lives, estimating an average of at least seven couples as little sexual throughout their lives.

In this context, then, it is usual that when most people are paired, one or both members have had other romantic and amorous experiences before.

In some cases, one of the members may fear losing out in a comparison with the other people who have gone through the life of their partner, and jealousy may turn out to be pathological and seriously damage the health of the person. the relationship. It's about Rebecca Syndrome .


  • Related article: "Celotipia: pathological jealousy disorder"

What is Rebecca Syndrome?

Receives the name of Rebecca Syndrome a condition or situation of pathological characteristics that is characterized by the existence of a high level of jealousy on the part of one of the components of the couple towards the previous spouses or sexual partners of their spouse or current couple. It is a syndrome that enjoys a certain popularity and is based on retrospective jealousy (that is, jealousy directed towards a person or a type of relationship from the past), although it is not a disorder included in the main manuals of diagnostic classifications. .


This situation is pathological when it becomes a recurrent and obsessive subject without there being a real reason for the existence of jealousy, being able to go back to the type of union or relationship that the couple of the sufferer had with an ex that may not have never known and that has no relationship at the moment or that relationship is not romantic.

Sometimes the Rebecca Syndrome can lead to the existence of persecutory behavior towards the ex-partner or to the attempt to control all the social interactions of the or the sentimental partner, being usual that this generates serious conflicts in the current relation or imbalances in the relations of power. It can also happen that the affected person tries to show extreme complacency or superiority to the ex-partner, exercising a kind of unilateral competition that can also be aversive for the partner or sentimental partner and seriously affect the self-esteem of both.


This condition is aggravated if the previous relationship of the couple is seen or remembered (either by the couple or by the environment) in an extremely positive way, as someone virtuous, attractive, sensual and passionate or intelligent, especially if those qualities are not appreciated by the person with the syndrome in his own person. The person of whom you have jealousy does not have to be a recent couple, can go back to the first love of the partner sentimental or even be a person already deceased.

The origin of its denomination

The name of Rebeca Syndrome was coined by the writer Carmen Posadas in her book Rebecca's syndrome: guide to conjure ghosts, which has recently been reissued. The concept comes from Hitchcock's film based on the novel by Daphne du Maurier , Rebeca, in which a widower Mr. Winter is widowed of his first wife and at the time he marries a second one, which must face the ghosts and memories of his predecessor (which appears trying to make his widower separate from his new partner ) in an environment that constantly reminds her.

Keep in mind that although the syndrome at the psychological level is usually defined as the pathological jealousy of a person towards the ex of his sentimental partner , in the publication of Carmen Posadas, this syndrome would not be limited to it but also include cases in which the same person searches for a new partner a faithful reflection of a previous couple (repeating the same relational pattern and looking for someone who can even to be physically similar) or, on the contrary, to look for a type of couple that is totally opposite to the previous ones.

Causes

The causes of this particular syndrome are not particularly known, being something multi-causal, although in general this type of celotipia is usually linked to the presence of insecurity in the couple and low self-esteem and self-concept on the part of the affected person. The new couple may feel that the previous one is superior to her or him, Wanting to compete and overcome your memory , or else you have never had the same kind of relationship or experience as you had previously.

Likewise, it can also be propitiated in relationships in which the couple or the environment of the latter often remembers the partner in question, or even in those relationships in which a direct comparison between their relationships is actually exercised (this comparison being in the spirit of making harm or not).It can also be facilitated when the person discovers that he has exactly the same personality and / or physical pattern that ex- pands her, being able to feel a substitute more than valued per se.

Eventually it can occur in couples in which one of its members has recently widowed before joining their current partner, or has not overcome the loss and memories. While grief is normal, in some insecure people it can be seen as a reflection that they do not have such a deep love relationship with the affected one

Treatment

Coping with Rebecca Syndrome can be difficult and have serious repercussions for the health of the couple's relationship. In order to treat it, it may be necessary an intervention both at a couple and individual level in the case of the affected person .

In the first case, it is recommended to encourage communication regarding the current relationship, work on possible dissatisfaction that may exist in it, and to see and value both the positive aspects of it and why they are together. It will also have to assess whether we are dealing with a comparison made by the person with the Syndrome unilaterally or if it is their sentimental partner, the environment or the ex-partner who actively generates (since it is also possible) the comparison.

It also has to take into account do not emphasize the characteristics of past relationships nor to detail them to a great extent since it can facilitate comparisons, and especially if there are aspects that are unsatisfactory in the current one. It is not about denying previous relationships, simply not going into too much detail in them.

But undoubtedly the most important thing will be the work at the individual level. It will be necessary to work on self-esteem and self-concept, which means the couple for the person with the syndrome and why they consider that they are jealous of their previous relationships. It is also necessary to talk about the consequences and difficulties generated by the couple's jealous situation.

On the other hand the presence of controlling and persecutory attitudes can be assessed and worked on , in addition to restructuring the beliefs that the subject may have on his person, his partner and the ex-partners of this (especially if they are presented as idealized).

Bibliographic references:

  • Posadas, C. (2014). The Rebecca syndrome. Guide to conjure loving ghosts. Editorial Planet.

INSIDE/OUT: My Battle With IBD (Full Documentary) | Rebecca Zamolo (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Rebecca: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome de Rebecca: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 16, 2022

De nos jours, il n’est pas rare que la majorité de la population ait plus d’un partenaire sentimental tout au long de leur vie, estimant qu’au moins sept couples au moins sont aussi peu sexuellement sexuels tout au long de leur vie.

Dans ce contexte, il est donc habituel que lorsque la plupart des gens sont jumelés, l’un ou les deux membres ont déjà vécu d’autres expériences romantiques et amoureuses.

Dans certains cas, l'un des membres peut craindre de perdre par rapport aux autres personnes ayant vécu la vie de son partenaire et la jalousie peut s'avérer pathologique et nuire gravement à la santé de la personne. la relation. C'est à propos du syndrome de Rebecca .


  • Article connexe: "Célotipie: trouble de la jalousie pathologique"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Rebecca?

Reçoit le nom de Syndrome Rebecca un état ou une situation de caractéristiques pathologiques qui se caractérise par l’existence d’un niveau élevé de la jalousie de l'une des composantes du couple envers les précédents époux ou partenaires sexuels de leur conjoint ou couple actuel. C'est un syndrome qui jouit d'une certaine popularité et qui repose sur la jalousie rétrospective (c'est-à-dire la jalousie dirigée contre une personne ou un type de relation du passé), bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'un trouble inclus dans les principaux manuels de classifications diagnostiques. .


Cette situation est pathologique lorsqu'elle devient un sujet récurrent et obsessionnel sans raison réelle de jalousie: pouvoir revenir au type d'union ou de relation que le couple de la victime avait avec un ex qui n'a peut-être pas jamais connu et qui n'a pas de relation pour le moment ou cette relation n'est pas romantique.

Parfois, le syndrome de Rebecca peut conduire à l'existence d'un comportement persécuteur envers l'ex-partenaire ou à la tentative de contrôler toutes les interactions sociales du ou du partenaire sentimental, étant donné que cela génère généralement de graves conflits dans la relation actuelle ou des déséquilibres dans les relations de pouvoir. Il peut également arriver que la personne touchée essaie de faire preuve d’une extrême complaisance ou d’une supériorité vis-à-vis de son ex-partenaire, en exerçant une sorte de concurrence unilatérale qui peut également être hostile pour le partenaire ou le partenaire sentimental et nuire gravement à l’estime de soi des deux.


Cette condition est aggravée si la relation antérieure du couple est perçue ou rappelée (par le couple ou par l'environnement) d'une manière extrêmement positive, en tant que vertueux, attrayant, sensuel et passionné ou intelligent, surtout si ces qualités ne sont pas appréciées par la personne avec le syndrome dans sa propre personne. La personne dont vous avez la jalousie ne doit pas nécessairement être un couple récent, peut revenir au premier amour du partenaire sentimental ou même être une personne déjà décédée.

L'origine de sa dénomination

Le nom de syndrome de Rebeca a été inventé par l'écrivain Carmen Posadas dans son livre Le syndrome de Rebecca: guide pour faire apparaître des fantômes, qui a récemment été réédité. Le concept vient du film de Hitchcock basé sur le roman de Daphne du Maurier , Rebecca, dans lequel un veuf, M. Winter est veuf de sa première femme et en épouse une seconde, qui doit affronter les fantômes et les souvenirs de son prédécesseur (qui semble essayer de séparer son veuf de son nouveau partenaire ) dans un environnement qui lui rappelle constamment.

Rappelez-vous que même si le syndrome au niveau psychologique est généralement défini comme la jalousie pathologique d'une personne envers l'ex de son partenaire sentimental , dans la publication de Carmen Posadas, ce syndrome ne s’y limiterait pas, mais inclurait également des cas dans lesquels la même personne recherche pour un nouveau partenaire le reflet fidèle d’un couple précédent (en répétant le même schéma relationnel et en cherchant physiquement similaire) ou, au contraire, à rechercher un type de couple totalement opposé aux précédents.

Les causes

Les causes de ce syndrome particulier ne sont pas particulièrement connues, car elles sont multi-causales, bien qu'en général ce type de célotipie soit généralement lié à la présence d'insécurité dans le couple et à la faible estime de soi et à la faible image de soi de la personne touchée. Le nouveau couple peut penser que le précédent lui est supérieur, Vouloir rivaliser et vaincre votre mémoire ou bien vous n’avez jamais eu le même genre de relation ou d’expérience que vous aviez auparavant.

De même, il peut aussi être favorisé dans les relations dans lesquelles le couple ou l’environnement de celui-ci se souvient souvent du partenaire en question, ou même dans les relations dans lesquelles une comparaison directe est effectivement exercée (cette comparaison étant dans l’esprit mal ou pas).Cela peut également être facilité lorsque la personne découvre qu'elle a exactement la même personnalité et / ou le même schéma physique que ceux qui la développent, en étant capable de se sentir davantage comme un substitut que valorisée.

Finalement, cela peut se produire dans les couples dont l'un des membres est récemment devenu veuf avant de rejoindre son partenaire actuel ou n'a pas surmonté la perte et les souvenirs. Si le chagrin est normal, chez certaines personnes peu sûres, il peut être perçu comme un reflet qu'ils n'ont pas une relation d'amour aussi profonde avec le touché

Traitement

Faire face au syndrome de Rebecca peut être difficile et avoir de graves répercussions sur la santé de la relation du couple. Pour le traiter, il peut être nécessaire une intervention tant au niveau du couple que de l'individu dans le cas de la personne concernée .

Dans le premier cas, il est recommandé d'encourager la communication concernant la relation actuelle, de travailler sur les éventuelles insatisfactions pouvant exister, et de voir et valoriser à la fois ses aspects positifs et leur raison d'être. Il devra également déterminer s'il s'agit d'une comparaison effectuée unilatéralement par la personne atteinte du syndrome ou si c'est son partenaire sentimental, l'environnement ou l'ex-partenaire qui génère activement (puisqu'il est également possible) la comparaison.

Il doit également prendre en compte ne pas mettre l'accent sur les caractéristiques des relations passées ni de les détailler dans une large mesure car cela peut faciliter les comparaisons, surtout s'il y a des aspects qui ne sont pas satisfaisants dans l'actuel. Il ne s'agit pas de nier des relations antérieures, mais simplement de ne pas entrer trop dans les détails.

Mais le plus important sera sans aucun doute le travail au niveau individuel. Il sera nécessaire de travailler sur l'estime de soi et l'estime de soi, c'est-à-dire le couple pour la personne atteinte du syndrome et la raison pour laquelle ils considèrent qu'ils sont jaloux de leurs relations antérieures. Il est également nécessaire de parler des conséquences et des difficultés engendrées par la situation jalouse du couple.

D'un autre côté la présence d'attitudes de contrôle et de persécution peut être évaluée et traitée , en plus de restructurer les croyances que le sujet peut avoir sur sa personne, son partenaire et ses ex-partenaires (surtout s’ils sont présentés comme idéalisés).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Posadas, C. (2014). Le syndrome de Rebecca. Guide pour évoquer des fantômes aimants. Planète éditoriale.

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD/ADD) - causes, symptoms & pathology (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes