yes, therapy helps!
The effects of ayahuasca: what does this hallucinogen do?

The effects of ayahuasca: what does this hallucinogen do?

July 14, 2024

In recent decades it has become very popular ayahuasca, a drink with hallucinogenic effects used by the peoples of the Amazon many millennia ago to which they attributed mystical properties. In particular, they related their consumption to the transit between the world of the living and that of the spirits.

In this article we will describe what is ayahuasca and what are its psychological and physical effects . In addition we will talk about the chemical and pharmacological properties of this substance and the possible therapeutic applications of some of its components.

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

What is ayahuasca?

Ayahuasca is a drink with psychoactive properties that has its origin in the Amazon region. Along the history has been prepared and used by tribal shamans of this zone as part of curative and religious ceremonies, and multiple magical features and health benefits have been attributed to it.


It is known mainly for its effects on psychological experience: many people who have consumed ayahuasca claim that it has helped them to achieve a sense of spiritual transcendence, in some cases maintained long after consumption. In this sense, ayahuasca can be compared to drugs like psilocybin and LSD .

It is often prepared by boiling Banisteriopsis caapi, a plant of the class of lianas that is also known as ayahuasca and that contains alkaloids that inhibit the MAO enzyme, along with another that contains The main psychoactive factor: N, N-Dimethyltryptamine or DMT . The most usual is that this second plant is Psychotria viridis or Diplopterys cabrerana.


The term "ayahuasca" comes from Quechua "ayawaska", which can be translated as "liana of the spirits" ; According to the tradition of this people, this substance allows the soul of those who consume it to leave their body without the need to die. In other Latin American languages ​​it is called "caapi", "nishi cobin", "nixi pae", "natem" and "shori".

  • Related article: "Marijuana: science reveals its effects on the brain in the long term"

Pharmacology and mechanism of action

Ayahuasca (Banisteropsis caapi) contains several alkaloids from the class of beta-carbolines, which inhibit the activity of the enzyme monoamine oxidase (MAO) and sometimes also the reuptake of the neurotransmitter serotonin. The most studied are harmine, harmaline and tetrahydroharmine.

This inhibition of MAO allows blood and brain diffusion of N, N-Dimethyltryptamine (DMT), the active principle of ayahuasca as a beverage (although, as we have said, it is not found in the plant itself but in others), that causes the psychoactive effects characteristic of this compound.


DMT is a very common endogenous hallucinogenic compound : it is present naturally in many plants, but also in the blood and cerebrospinal fluid of human beings. However, at the moment it is not known with certainty what is the function that fulfills in the organism.

Effects of this drug

The DMT molecule causes, according to the people who have consumed it, sensations of euphoria accompanied by dynamic hallucinations . These are characterized mainly by the presence of geometric shapes and their transcendental nature; in many cases they include perceptions of deities, of a collective conscience of the beings of the Earth, etc.

Many people who have tried this substance claim that it has helped them achieve spiritual revelations about themselves or their relationship to the environment, including the cosmos. In some cases the accounts of these experiences include supernatural phenomena such as the trip to other dimensions and the contact with beneficial spirits.

On the other hand it is usual that the consumption of ayahuasca causes adverse physical reactions, especially nausea and diarrhea , as well as acute emotional distress. Excessive consumption can cause the serotonin syndrome, which is characterized by the appearance of tremors, spasms, hyperthermia and sweating and can even cause death.

In comparison with other hallucinogenic substances, among which the psilocybin fungus and LSD stand out, ayahuasca acts with greater speed and intensity, but the duration of its effects is lower. If orally ingested they are kept for about 3 hours , but they only last between 5 and 15 minutes if they are administered by inhalation or intravenously.

The therapeutic potential of ayahuasca

Currently, research is being carried out on the possible therapeutic effects of ayahuasca in different medical applications.However, this field of scientific literature is still at a very early stage.

A very striking line of research is carried out by the Beckley Foundation, which relates ayahuasca to neurogenesis, that is, the formation of neurons in the brain.

It should also be borne in mind that since ancient times the natives of the Amazon have used ayahuasca as a purgative to eliminate parasites (especially worms) and "negative energies" of the body and mind. In this last sense ayahuasca is attributed a relaxing character, although it is true that its consumption can cause anxiety.

Bibliographic references:

  • Barker, S.A., McIlhenny, E. H. & Strassman, R. (2012). A critical review of reports of endogenous psychedelic N, N-dimethyltryptamines in humans: 1955-2010. Drug Test Anal, 4 (7-8): 617-35.
  • Frecska, E., Bokor, P. & Winkelman, M. (2016). The therapeutic potentials of ayahuasca: possible effects against various diseases of civilization. Front Pharmacol, 7:35.

Your Brain On Ayahuasca: The Hallucinogenic Drug (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les effets de l'ayahuasca: que fait cet hallucinogène?

Les effets de l'ayahuasca: que fait cet hallucinogène?

Juin 13, 2022

Au cours des dernières décennies, il est devenu très populaire l'ayahuasca, une boisson aux effets hallucinogènes utilisés par les peuples de l’Amazonie il ya plusieurs millénaires, auxquels ils attribuaient des propriétés mystiques. Ils ont notamment lié leur consommation au transit entre le monde des vivants et celui des esprits.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Qu'est-ce que l'ayahuasca et quels sont ses effets psychologiques et physiques? . Nous discuterons en outre des propriétés chimiques et pharmacologiques de cette substance et des applications thérapeutiques possibles de certains de ses composants.

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Qu'est-ce que l'ayahuasca?

L'Ayahuasca est une boisson aux propriétés psychoactives qui tire son origine de la région amazonienne. Tout au long de l'histoire a été préparé et utilisé par des chamanes tribaux de cette zone dans le cadre de cérémonies curatives et religieuses, et de multiples caractéristiques magiques et avantages pour la santé lui ont été attribués.


Il est principalement connu pour ses effets sur l'expérience psychologique: de nombreuses personnes qui ont consommé de l'ayahuasca affirment que cela les a aidées à acquérir un sentiment de transcendance spirituelle, parfois maintenu longtemps après la consommation. En ce sens, l'ayahuasca peut être comparé à des médicaments comme la psilocybine et le LSD .

Il est souvent préparé en faisant bouillir Banisteriopsis caapi, une plante de la classe des lianes, également appelée ayahuasca, qui contient des alcaloïdes qui inhibent l’enzyme MAO, ainsi qu’une autre qui contient Le principal facteur psychoactif: N, N-Dimethyltryptamine ou DMT . La plus courante est que cette seconde plante est Psychotria viridis ou Diplopterys cabrerana.


Le terme "ayahuasca" vient du quechua "ayawaska", qui signifie peut être traduit par "liane des esprits" ; Selon la tradition de ce peuple, cette substance permet à l'âme de ceux qui le consomment de quitter leur corps sans avoir besoin de mourir. Dans d'autres langues d'Amérique latine, il est appelé "caapi", "nishi cobin", "nixi pae", "natem" et "shori".

  • Article connexe: "Marijuana: la science révèle ses effets à long terme sur le cerveau"

Pharmacologie et mécanisme d'action

L’Ayahuasca (Banisteropsis caapi) contient plusieurs alcaloïdes de la classe des bêta-carbolines, qui inhiber l'activité de l'enzyme monoamine oxydase (MAO) et parfois aussi la recapture du neurotransmetteur sérotonine. Les plus étudiés sont l’harmine, l’harmaline et la tétrahydroharmine.

Cette inhibition de la MAO permet la diffusion dans le sang et le cerveau de la N, N-Diméthyltryptamine (DMT), principe actif de l'ayahuasca, en tant que boisson (bien que, comme nous l'avons dit, il ne se trouve pas dans la plante elle-même, mais dans d'autres), qui provoque les effets psychoactifs caractéristiques de ce composé.


Le DMT est un composé hallucinogène endogène très commun : il est présent naturellement dans de nombreuses plantes, mais aussi dans le sang et le liquide céphalo-rachidien de l'être humain. Cependant, pour le moment, on ne sait pas avec certitude quelle est la fonction qui remplit l'organisme.

Effets de ce médicament

La molécule de DMT provoque, selon les personnes qui l'ont consommée, sensations d'euphorie accompagnées d'hallucinations dynamiques . Celles-ci se caractérisent principalement par la présence de formes géométriques et leur nature transcendantale; dans de nombreux cas, ils incluent des perceptions de divinités, d'une conscience collective des êtres de la Terre, etc.

Beaucoup de personnes qui ont essayé cette substance affirment qu'elle l'a aidée à obtenir des révélations spirituelles sur elles-mêmes ou sur leur relation à l'environnement, y compris le cosmos. Dans certains cas, les récits de ces expériences incluent des phénomènes surnaturels tels que le voyage dans d'autres dimensions et le contact avec des esprits bienfaisants.

D'autre part, il est habituel que la consommation d'ayahuasca provoque réactions physiques indésirables, en particulier nausées et diarrhée , ainsi que la détresse émotionnelle aiguë. Une consommation excessive peut être à l'origine du syndrome sérotoninergique, caractérisé par l'apparition de tremblements, de spasmes, d'hyperthermie et de transpiration, pouvant même entraîner la mort.

En comparaison avec d'autres substances hallucinogènes, parmi lesquelles le champignon psilocybine et le LSD, l'Ayahuasca agit avec plus de rapidité et d'intensité, mais la durée de ses effets est inférieure. En cas d'ingestion orale, ils sont conservés environ 3 heures , mais ils ne durent qu'entre 5 et 15 minutes s'ils sont administrés par inhalation ou par voie intraveineuse.

Le potentiel thérapeutique de l'ayahuasca

Actuellement, des recherches sont en cours sur les effets thérapeutiques possibles de l'ayahuasca dans différentes applications médicales.Cependant, ce domaine de la littérature scientifique est encore à un stade très précoce.

La Beckley Foundation réalise une série de recherches très frappante. relie l'ayahuasca à la neurogenèse, c'est-à-dire à la formation de neurones dans le cerveau.

Il convient également de garder à l’esprit que depuis l’antiquité les Amérindiens utilisent l’ayahuasca comme purgatif pour éliminer les parasites (en particulier les vers) et les «énergies négatives» du corps et de l’esprit. Dans ce dernier sens, on attribue à l'ayahuasca un caractère relaxant, bien qu'il soit vrai que sa consommation peut causer de l'anxiété.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Barker, S.A., McIlhenny, E.H. & Strassman, R. (2012). Un examen critique des rapports sur les N, N-diméthyltryptamines psychédéliques endogènes chez l'homme: 1955-2010. Drug Test Anal, 4 (7-8): 617-35.
  • Frecska, E., Bokor, P. et Winkelman, M. (2016). Les potentiels thérapeutiques de l'ayahuasca: effets possibles sur diverses maladies de la civilisation. Front Pharmacol, 19h35.

Un jaguar expérimente les effets hallucinogènes de l'ayahuasca (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes