yes, therapy helps!
Cortical atrophy: symptoms, causes and associated disorders

Cortical atrophy: symptoms, causes and associated disorders

May 22, 2024

There are a large number of conditions and pathologies that can cause the degeneration and death of the neurons that make up the different brain structures. When this degeneration affects the cerebral cortex it's known as cortical atrophy .

Throughout this article we will review the main characteristics of cortical atrophy. In the same way we will review the causes and diseases that cause it, its symptoms and what brain structures are involved.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is cortical atrophy?

Cortical atrophy refers to the process of gradual degeneration or degradation of the cerebral cortex whose origin is found in the decrease or decrease of the neuronal population what makes it up


The concept of atrophy has its origin in Latin and its translation refers to a lack of nutrition. In the same way, the etymological foundation of the cortical word also comes from Latin and is used to refer to everything related to the cerebral cortex.

If we take into account the origins of both concepts, it is easier to deduce that cortical atrophy consists of the gradual destruction of the neuronal cells that make up the upper areas of the brain , specifically those structures that are found in the cerebral cortex, due in large part to a decline or loss of the administration of oxygen and nutrients to these areas.


What are the causes?

Due to the large number of conditions that can cause degeneration of the upper brain structures, cortical atrophy is one of the most investigated types of conditions. Among these causes are a wide variety of neurodegenerative diseases , such as Alzheimer's disease, whose main effect is the destruction of neurons and, as a consequence, the loss of brain mass.

However, there are other causes or risk factors that may favor the development of cortical atrophy. Among them are the consumption of alcohol in large doses whose toxicity causes neuronal death, as well as some infections like HIV or lack of blood supply due to cerebrovascular or ischemic strokes.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Neurodegenerative diseases: types, symptoms and treatments"

What symptoms does it present?

Cortical atrophy, as well as the diseases that cause it, is characterized by causing a large number of cognitive symptoms in the person suffering from it. These changes and alterations in cognitive functions are due to the fact that these are managed by these specialized brain areas.


Cognitive functions refer to all those activities and brain processes that make it possible for people to receive, select, collect, save, transform, elaborate and rescue all the information that comes to us from the environment that does not involve it. Thanks to them, we are able to understand our environment and interact with it.

Taking into account that neuronal degeneration involves a series of alterations in these functions, the main symptoms of this include:

  • Problems in memory processes.
  • Language alteration .
  • Loss of orientation ability
  • Alterations in attention and concentration processes.
  • Problems in executive functions .
  • When neurodegeneration affects the frontal lobe, it can cause behavioral and personality disorders.

However, this symptomatology may vary according to the neurodegenerative disease that causes it; being able to vary both the intensity and the amount of symptoms characteristic of each clinical picture.

What brain regions does it affect?

As already mentioned throughout the article, cortical atrophy consists of the degeneration of neurons in the cerebral cortex. Therefore, it will exert its effects in all the structures that are in it.

These structures are divided into the different large areas that make up the cerebral lobes . They are the following.

1. Frontal lobe

Located in the anterior area of ​​the brain, the lobe is the most recent of the cerebral lobes at the phylogenetic level. This means that it is only found in vertebrate species and especially more developed in complex species such as hominids.

Among its main functions are those of develop and control behavior, as well as linguistic production and abstract thinking . Therefore, all those neurodegenerative diseases that affect this area can seriously compromise the correct functioning of these brain tasks.

  • Related article: "What is the frontal lobe and how does it work?"

2. Parietal lobe

The parietal lobes are located in the upper area of ​​the skull.The neuronal atrophy of this region causes serious alterations in the ability to integrate sensory information , as well as to understand it and give it a meaning.

3. Occipital lobe

This third lobe is located in the posterior area of ​​the brain. In addition, it is the main one in charge of receiving and transmitting the visual information that comes from the rest of the visual structures.

4. Temporal lobe

Finally, the temporal lobe is located in the lower area of ​​the brain. Any type of injury or atrophy in this region usually causes the most characteristic symptoms of neurodegenerative diseases, since they are all those related to the processes of memory and thought .

With what diseases does it relate?

Although there are many other causes, such as alcoholism or ischemic accidents, which can cause the degeneration and destruction of neurons in the cerebral cortex; The main causes of this atrophy are neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's, Pick's disease or Lewy body dementia.

1. Alzheimer's disease

Senile dementia of Alzheimer's type consists of a condition of neurodegenerative nature in which the person experience an alteration of memory processes , as well as other mental abilities, manifested through cognitive and behavioral symptoms.

  • Related article: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

2. Pick's disease

Pick's disease is a strange dementia similar to Alzheimer's caused by an accumulation of Pick's bodies in brain neurons. The main symptoms are related to behavior disorders such as compulsive and repetitive behaviors, or emotional disturbances such as sudden changes in mood and a loss in the expression of emotions .

3. Dementia due to Lewy bodies

This last type of neurodegenerative disease shares a large number of symptoms with other conditions such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease. However, despite having motor, behavioral and memory symptoms characteristic of these dementias, in Lewy body dementia the patient experiences a fluctuation in the intensity of the symptoms accompanied by highly realistic visual hallucinations .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Dementia with Lewy bodies: symptoms, causes and relationship with Alzheimer's"

Differences with posterior cortical atrophy

Unlike the cortical atrophy referred to throughout the article, posterior cortical atrophy has a much earlier onset age , the first symptoms can appear between 50 and 60 years.

In addition, this neurodegenerative condition it is distinguished by especially presenting visual symptoms . These symptoms include an alteration in the ability to understand the environment that surrounds the person, as well as problems when perceiving precise and specific objects that they find in the patient's visual field. For example, the person is completely unable to see or find the keys that are in front of her.

With the development of posterior cortical atrophy, the person begins to experience behavioral and cognitive symptoms typical of other atrophies, but with the added disadvantage that they suffer at much younger ages.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Atrophie corticale: symptômes, causes et troubles associés

Atrophie corticale: symptômes, causes et troubles associés

Juillet 15, 2019

Un grand nombre de conditions et de pathologies peuvent causer la dégénérescence et la mort des neurones qui composent les différentes structures du cerveau. Quand cette dégénérescence affecte le cortex cérébral il est connu comme l'atrophie corticale .

Tout au long de cet article, nous passerons en revue les principales caractéristiques de l’atrophie corticale. De la même manière, nous examinerons les causes et les maladies qui en sont la cause, ses symptômes et les structures cérébrales impliquées.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que l'atrophie corticale?

L’atrophie corticale désigne le processus de dégénérescence ou de dégradation progressive du cortex cérébral dont l’origine se trouve dans la diminution ou la diminution de la population neuronale ce qui le compose


Le concept d'atrophie a son origine en latin et sa traduction fait référence à un manque de nutrition. De la même manière, le fondement étymologique du mot cortical vient également du latin et est utilisé pour désigner tout ce qui concerne le cortex cérébral.

Si nous prenons en compte les origines des deux concepts, il est plus facile de déduire que l’atrophie corticale consiste en la destruction progressive des cellules neuronales qui composent les régions supérieures du cerveau , en particulier les structures présentes dans le cortex cérébral, dues en grande partie à une diminution ou à une perte de l'administration d'oxygène et de nutriments dans ces régions.


Quelles sont les causes?

En raison du grand nombre d'affections pouvant provoquer une dégénérescence des structures supérieures du cerveau, l'atrophie corticale est l'un des types d'affections les plus étudiées. Parmi ces causes figurent une grande variété de maladies neurodégénératives , comme la maladie d’Alzheimer, dont le principal effet est la destruction des neurones et, par conséquent, la perte de la masse cérébrale.

Cependant, il existe d'autres causes ou facteurs de risque pouvant favoriser le développement de l'atrophie corticale. Parmi ceux-ci figurent la consommation d'alcool à fortes doses dont la toxicité provoque la mort neuronale, ainsi que certaines infections comme le VIH ou le manque d'approvisionnement en sang due à des accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou ischémiques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Maladies neurodégénératives: types, symptômes et traitements"

Quels symptômes présente-t-il?

L'atrophie corticale, ainsi que les maladies qui la provoquent, se caractérisent par l'apparition d'un grand nombre de symptômes cognitifs chez la personne qui en souffre. Ces changements et altérations des fonctions cognitives sont dus au fait que celles-ci sont gérées par ces zones cérébrales spécialisées.


Les fonctions cognitives font référence à toutes les activités et processus cérébraux qui permettent aux personnes de recevoir, sélectionner, collecter, sauvegarder, transformer, élaborer et sauver toutes les informations qui nous proviennent de l'environnement qui ne les implique pas. Grâce à eux, nous pouvons comprendre notre environnement et interagir avec lui.

Compte tenu du fait que la dégénérescence neuronale implique une série d'altérations de ces fonctions, ses principaux symptômes incluent:

  • Problèmes dans les processus de mémoire.
  • Altération de la langue .
  • Perte de capacité d'orientation
  • Altérations dans les processus d'attention et de concentration.
  • Problèmes dans les fonctions exécutives .
  • Lorsque la neurodégénérescence affecte le lobe frontal, elle peut provoquer des troubles du comportement et de la personnalité.

Cependant, cette symptomatologie peut varier en fonction de la maladie neurodégénérative qui la provoque; être capable de varier à la fois l'intensité et la quantité de symptômes caractéristiques de chaque tableau clinique.

Quelles régions du cerveau cela affecte-t-il?

Comme déjà mentionné tout au long de l'article, l'atrophie corticale consiste en la dégénérescence des neurones du cortex cérébral. Par conséquent, il exercera ses effets sur toutes les structures qu’il contient.

Ces structures sont divisées en les différentes grandes zones qui composent les lobes cérébraux . Ils sont les suivants.

1. lobe frontal

Situé dans la région antérieure du cerveau, le lobe est le plus récent des lobes cérébraux au niveau phylogénétique. Cela signifie qu'il ne se trouve que chez les espèces de vertébrés et surtout plus développé chez les espèces complexes telles que les hominidés.

Parmi ses principales fonctions sont celles de développer et contrôler le comportement, ainsi que la production linguistique et la pensée abstraite . Par conséquent, toutes les maladies neurodégénératives qui affectent cette région peuvent sérieusement compromettre le bon fonctionnement de ces tâches cérébrales.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que le lobe frontal et comment ça marche?"

2. Lobe pariétal

Les lobes pariétaux sont situés dans la partie supérieure du crâne.L’atrophie neuronale de cette région cause de graves altérations dans la capacité à intégrer l'information sensorielle , ainsi que de le comprendre et de lui donner un sens.

3. lobe occipital

Ce troisième lobe est situé dans la région postérieure du cerveau. De plus, il est le principal responsable de la réception et de la transmission des informations visuelles provenant du reste des structures visuelles.

4. lobe temporal

Enfin, le lobe temporal est situé dans la partie inférieure du cerveau. Tout type de lésion ou d’atrophie dans cette région est généralement à l’origine des symptômes les plus caractéristiques des maladies neurodégénératives. puisqu'ils sont tous liés aux processus de la mémoire et de la pensée .

À quelles maladies est-il lié?

Bien qu'il existe de nombreuses autres causes, telles que l'alcoolisme ou des accidents ischémiques, qui peuvent provoquer la dégénérescence et la destruction des neurones dans le cortex cérébral; Les principales causes de cette atrophie sont les maladies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer, la maladie de Pick ou la démence à corps de Lewy.

1. maladie d'Alzheimer

La démence sénile de type Alzheimer consiste en un état de nature neurodégénérative dans lequel la personne expérimenter une altération des processus de la mémoire , ainsi que d’autres capacités mentales, qui se manifestent par des symptômes cognitifs et comportementaux.

  • Article connexe: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

2. Maladie de Pick

La maladie de Pick est une démence étrange semblable à la maladie d'Alzheimer causée par une accumulation de corps de Pick dans les neurones du cerveau. Les principaux symptômes sont liés à des troubles du comportement tels que les comportements compulsifs et répétitifs, ou à des troubles émotionnels tels que des changements brusques d'humeur et une perte d'expression des émotions .

3. Démence due aux corps de Lewy

Ce dernier type de maladie neurodégénérative partage un grand nombre de symptômes avec d'autres affections telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer et la maladie de Parkinson. Cependant, malgré les symptômes moteurs, comportementaux et mémoriels caractéristiques de ces démences, le patient présente une fluctuation de l'intensité des symptômes de la démence à corps de Lewy. accompagné d'hallucinations visuelles très réalistes .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Démence à corps de Lewy: symptômes, causes et relation avec la maladie d'Alzheimer"

Différences avec l'atrophie corticale postérieure

Contrairement à l’atrophie corticale évoquée tout au long de l’article, l'atrophie corticale postérieure a un âge beaucoup plus précoce , les premiers symptômes peuvent apparaître entre 50 et 60 ans.

En outre, cette maladie neurodégénérative il se distingue en présentant notamment des symptômes visuels . Ces symptômes incluent une altération de la capacité à comprendre l'environnement qui entoure la personne, ainsi que des problèmes de perception d'objets précis et spécifiques trouvés dans le champ visuel du patient. Par exemple, la personne est complètement incapable de voir ou de trouver les clés qui se trouvent devant elle.

Avec le développement de l'atrophie corticale postérieure, la personne commence à ressentir des symptômes comportementaux et cognitifs typiques d'autres atrophies, mais avec l'inconvénient supplémentaire de souffrir à un âge beaucoup plus jeune.


Traumatisme psychique, des vies à reconstruire (2018, Documentaire) (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes