yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Personality proposed by Carl Rogers

The Theory of Personality proposed by Carl Rogers

May 6, 2021

Humanistic psychology is one of the most important schools of thought in psychology. From it, people like Abraham Maslow (with its popular Pyramid of Maslow) or Rollo May They defended a positive vision of the human being, according to which we are all capable of becoming the kind of people we want.

The personality theory of Carl Rogers it is an example of this vital optimism brought to psychology and philosophy. Let's see what this theory consists of.

The person, according to humanism

Certain currents of psychology have been associated with a pessimistic view of the human being. For example, Sigmund Freud's psychoanalysis presents an explanation of the psyche in which unconscious desires and their clash with social norms govern our behavior, and American behaviorism has been accused of presenting people as machines that react to external stimuli. .


However, humanist psychologists such as Carl Rogers proposed some ideas about the mental processes in which emphasizes the freedom of individuals when it comes to taking the direction of their lives . According to them, neither biological nor environmental factors are determinants in our behavior, and do not irremediably "drag" us towards certain types of behavior. In short, they were not deterministic.

Specifically, Carl Rogers he believed that each person's personality developed according to the way in which he manages to approach (or move away from) his vital goals , goals.


This idea that personal development and the way in which the individual struggles to become what they want to be is a central idea of ​​humanistic psychology, but for Carl Rogers it is especially important, because for him it is through personal development how character and way of being are formed

Carl Rogers and the highly functional personality theory

Carl Rogers proposes the idea that the personality of each individual can be analyzed according to the way in which he approaches or moves away from a way of being and living the life to which he puts the label of highly functional person.

Highly functional people are characterized by being in a constant process of self-actualization, that is, seeking an almost perfect fit with the goals and vital goals. This process of personal development is in the present, so it is always in operation. In this way, the personality of highly functional people is, for Carl Rogers, a framework in which a way of living lives that adapts to the circumstances constantly flows in real time .


How is the highly functional person?

According to Carl Rogers, the personality traits that defined highly functional people are defined according to the following five characteristics.

1. Openness to experience

The personality of highly functional people is, according to Carl Rogers, very open to experience, in a broad sense. It does not adopt a defensive attitude by default before the unknown, but prefers to explore new possibilities. That is why This type of personality is defined by the acceptance of the emotions associated with what is being lived , the non-avoidance of "negative emotions" and the adoption of receptive attitudes in situations that are not clearly dangerous.

2. Existential lifestyle

This characteristic has to do with the tendency to assume that it is oneself who has to give meaning to the experiences that are experienced at each moment , through a process of creation of meaning. In this way, the way of living day-to-day is allowed to be spontaneous, creative, without trying to make everything that is perceived fit the force in preconceived schemes. The lifestyle associated with this type of personality, for Carl Rogers, is characterized by avoiding the tendency to prejudge.

The present is not analyzed as something that must be fully explained by the experiences of the past, but is lived fully.

3. Self confidence

For Carl Rogers, the fact of embracing a free way to live life entails relying on one's own criteria and one's own way of making decisions over any other reference. The idea is that, as nobody knows better than oneself the very way of living life, it does not tend to rely on codes of behavior imposed from external instances .

4. Creativity

The fact that the highly functional people of Carl Rogers are enemies of dogmas and conventions makes them look beyond what is considered "normal". This provides the necessary foundation for them to develop their creativity.

5. Freedom of choice

The creative and innovative way of being of the highly functional personality theorized by Carl Rogers makes these people are able to find new behavioral options where apparently there are only a few . This defines the nonconformist nature of this personality type, which is capable of solving paradoxes in which there is an apparent contradiction between the options that a priori seem available.

6. Constructive character

This type of personality shows a great facility to respond to all needs in a balanced way , so that crises are used as opportunities to build new opportunities and find ways to achieve levels of well-being.

7. Personal development

Personal development it is the vital engine of highly functional people . It is lived as a process of constant change, in which a definitive final goal is never reached but it is passed from one stage to another.

Criticisms and observations on Rogers' theory

The characteristics and definitions that Carl Rogers uses to define highly functional people are very abstract and highly ambiguous, since sticking to very rigid concepts would go against his idea that a personality based on self-actualization and personal development flows constantly and escapes the conventions.

However, this has also won him many criticisms: after all, practically everyone can feel identified with the traits that are attributed to highly functional people , following the logic of the Forer effect.

Only each person is able to judge to what extent it is useful or inspiring to have these characteristics as a reference.


2015 Personality Lecture 10: Humanism: Carl Rogers (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la personnalité proposée par Carl Rogers

La théorie de la personnalité proposée par Carl Rogers

Février 18, 2019

La psychologie humaniste est l’une des plus importantes écoles de pensée en psychologie. De là, les gens aiment Abraham Maslow (avec sa populaire pyramide de Maslow) ou Rollo May Ils ont défendu une vision positive de l'être humain, selon laquelle nous sommes tous capables de devenir le genre de personnes que nous voulons.

Le théorie de la personnalité de Carl Rogers c'est un exemple de cet optimisme vital apporté à la psychologie et à la philosophie. Voyons en quoi consiste cette théorie.

La personne, selon l'humanisme

Certains courants de la psychologie ont été associés à une vision pessimiste de l'être humain. Par exemple, la psychanalyse de Sigmund Freud présente une explication de la psyché dans laquelle les désirs inconscients et leur conflit avec les normes sociales régissent notre comportement, et le behaviorisme américain a été accusé de présenter les gens comme des machines réagissant à des stimuli externes. .


Cependant, des psychologues humanistes tels que Carl Rogers ont proposé quelques idées sur les processus mentaux dans lesquels met l'accent sur la liberté des individus lorsqu'il s'agit de prendre la direction de leur vie . Selon eux, ni les facteurs biologiques ni les facteurs environnementaux ne sont déterminants dans notre comportement et ne nous traînent pas irrémédiablement vers certains types de comportement. En bref, ils n'étaient pas déterministes.

Plus précisément, Carl Rogers il croyait que la personnalité de chaque personne évoluait en fonction de la manière dont elle réussissait à aborder (ou à s'éloigner de) ses objectifs vitaux , vos objectifs.


Cette idée que le développement personnel et la manière dont l'individu lutte pour devenir ce qu'il veut être est une idée centrale de la psychologie humaniste, mais pour Carl Rogers, c'est particulièrement important, car pour lui, c'est par développement personnel. comment se forment le caractère et la manière d'être

Carl Rogers et la théorie de la personnalité hautement fonctionnelle

Carl Rogers propose l’idée que la personnalité de chaque individu peut être analysée en fonction de la façon dont il aborde ou s’éloigne d’une manière d’être et de vivre la vie à laquelle il attribue l’étiquette. personne très fonctionnelle.

Les personnes très fonctionnelles sont caractérisées par un processus constant de réalisation de soi, c'est-à-dire une recherche d'un ajustement presque parfait avec les objectifs et les objectifs vitaux. Ce processus de développement personnel est dans le présent, il est donc toujours en opération. Ainsi, la personnalité des personnes très fonctionnelles est, pour Carl Rogers, un cadre dans lequel un mode de vie qui s'adapte aux circonstances circule constamment en temps réel .


Comment est la personne hautement fonctionnelle?

Selon Carl Rogers, les traits de personnalité qui définissent des personnes très fonctionnelles sont définis selon les cinq caractéristiques suivantes.

1. Ouverture à l'expérience

Selon Carl Rogers, la personnalité des personnes très fonctionnelles est très ouverte à l'expérience, au sens large. Il n'adopte pas par défaut une attitude défensive devant l'inconnu, mais préfère explorer de nouvelles possibilités. C'est pour ça que Ce type de personnalité est défini par l'acceptation des émotions associées à ce que l'on vit , le non-évitement des "émotions négatives" et l'adoption d'attitudes réceptives dans des situations qui ne sont pas clairement dangereuses.

2. Mode de vie existentiel

Cette caractéristique a à voir avec la tendance à supposer que c'est soi-même qui doit donner sens aux expériences vécues à chaque instant , à travers un processus de création de sens. De cette manière, le mode de vie quotidien peut être spontané, créatif, sans essayer de faire en sorte que tout ce qui est perçu corresponde à la force de schémas préconçus. Pour Carl Rogers, le style de vie associé à ce type de personnalité se caractérise par l’évitement de la tendance au préjugé.

Le présent n'est pas analysé comme une chose qui doit être entièrement expliquée par les expériences du passé, mais est pleinement vécu.

3. Confiance en soi

Pour Carl Rogers, le fait d’adopter un mode de vie libre implique de s’appuyer sur ses propres critères et sur sa propre façon de prendre des décisions au-dessus de toute autre référence. L’idée est que, comme personne ne connaît mieux que soi le mode de vie même, il n'a pas tendance à s'appuyer sur des codes de comportement imposés par des instances externes .

4. Créativité

Le fait que les personnes hautement fonctionnelles de Carl Rogers soient des ennemis des dogmes et des conventions les rend plus intrigantes que ce qui est considéré comme "normal". Cela leur fournit les bases nécessaires pour développer leur créativité.

5. Liberté de choix

La manière créative et innovante de la personnalité très fonctionnelle théorisée par Carl Rogers permet ces personnes sont capables de trouver de nouvelles options comportementales où apparemment il n’ya que quelques . Cela définit la nature non conformiste de ce type de personnalité, capable de résoudre les paradoxes dans lesquels il existe une contradiction apparente entre les options qui semblent a priori disponibles.

6. Caractère constructif

Ce type de personnalité montre une grande facilité pour répondre à tous les besoins de manière équilibrée , afin que les crises soient utilisées comme des opportunités pour créer de nouvelles opportunités et trouver des moyens d'atteindre des niveaux de bien-être.

7. Développement personnel

Développement personnel c'est le moteur vital des personnes hautement fonctionnelles . Il est vécu comme un processus de changement constant, dans lequel un objectif final définitif n’est jamais atteint, mais passe d’un stade à l’autre.

Critiques et observations sur la théorie de Rogers

Les caractéristiques et définitions utilisées par Carl Rogers pour définir des personnes très fonctionnelles sont très abstraites et très ambiguës, car s’en tenir à des concepts très rigides irait à l’encontre de son idée selon laquelle une personnalité basée sur l’actualisation de soi et le développement personnel constamment et échappe aux conventions.

Cependant, cela lui a également valu de nombreuses critiques: après tout, pratiquement tout le monde peut se sentir identifié aux traits attribués à des personnes très fonctionnelles en suivant la logique de l’effet Forer.

Seule chaque personne est capable de juger dans quelle mesure il est utile ou inspirant d’avoir ces caractéristiques comme référence.


2017 Personality 10: Humanism & Phenomenology: Carl Rogers (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes