yes, therapy helps!
Digital hypochondriacs: the danger of using the Internet to self-diagnose

Digital hypochondriacs: the danger of using the Internet to self-diagnose

July 14, 2024

The digital world and the existence of the Internet mean that our way of thinking has changed a lot in a few decades. It is easy to find positive aspects to this fact: now we have it easier to access large amounts of information, and even offers us the possibility to be (or seem) potentially wise with the simple ability to search data in Google.

However, there are certain cases in which this kind of expanded collective mind that is Internet plays against us, and one of the clearest examples is found in the digital hypochondria .

Auto diagnosis? More like cyberchondria

Have you ever been tempted to look for information on the Internet about possible diseases that may be behind symptoms that you experience? It is not surprising that your answer to the question is a resounding "yes."


This is not a bad thing in itself, because if you have good sources of information and you take what you read with a critical spirit, the fact of looking for certain data through the network of networks is still another activity of search of interesting information that, given the case, can lead to a medical consultation.

However, when the appearance of a slight uncertainty about symptoms inevitably leads to self-diagnosis reading texts on the Internet, most likely we do not talk about some information search , but of digital hypochondria, also called cyberchondria .

What is digital hypochondria?

Digital hypochondria or cyberchondria, is a word of recent appearance that, despite not appearing in the diagnostic manuals, it serves to designate a style of behavior that is very detrimental both to the people who experience it and to the health community . It alludes to the concepts of cybernetics and hypochondria, which is a mental disorder by which the person believes in an unfounded way that he has one or more diseases based on very weak, ambiguous or totally imaginary evidence.


Many people find it preposterous that someone is able to think that they have Parkinson's disease because they have spilled water from a glass that they hold in their hand three times, but it may seem less bizarre if we introduce the Internet factor into this equation.

The network has a practically infinite amount of information that is not always easy to interpret and that in many cases is erroneous, and also puts all this within the reach of a few clicks. If we add to this the fact that in situations of uncertainty the options with more alarming consequences they have all the numbers to get more attention than the rest of possible interpretations and that human beings have an unusual capacity to feel identified with ambiguous descriptions (something called Forer effect), the possibilities of panic increase.


The negative effects of digital hypochondria

The fact of resorting to Internet search engines at the slightest symptom suspected of masking a disease has a series of negative consequences that are self-explanatory:

  • Severe anxiety crises can be experienced due to the belief that you have a serious illness.
  • It can be a very dangerous habit if we learn that the uncertainty about possible health problems can dissipate with a few clicks with the mouse.
  • In some cases, the person may hesitate between the personalized diagnosis given by the doctors and the conclusions drawn from the "self-diagnosis" process. It can happen that there is no credibility to the diagnosis given by accredited professionals of the health system and healing initiatives are undertaken on their own or through the so-called alternative therapies, which has very serious consequences for one's physical integrity .

What to do?

In order not to fall into a dynamic of behavior that drags us towards something similar to digital hypochondria, it is good to consider two things:

  • Look for indicators that certify the quality of the internet pages of medical websites, such as the HONcode seal.
  • In any case, be clear that without proper training in medicine we can not precipitate conclusions about diseases that we may have. It is worth analyzing, as far as possible, if our reasons for worrying about a series of symptoms are rationally based.

Serenity and critical spirit

There is a fine line that separates the possibility of going to the Internet in search of health information and using search engines to self-diagnose diseases.

That is why it is worth taking into account that, although it seems untrue, something that in the light of certain data has all the numbers of being a disorder or a serious health problem not only does not have to be, but rather on many occasions it is not (and it is even less likely that, in addition, the self-diagnosis coincides with the diagnosis of an expert).


Pros and cons of Google's self-diagnosis medical app (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypochondriaques numériques: le danger d'utiliser Internet pour l'autodiagnostic

Hypochondriaques numériques: le danger d'utiliser Internet pour l'autodiagnostic

Mai 16, 2022

Le monde numérique et l'existence d'Internet signifient que notre façon de penser a beaucoup changé en quelques décennies. Il est facile de trouver des aspects positifs à ce fait: nous avons maintenant plus facile d’accéder à de grandes quantités d’informations, et même nous offre la possibilité d'être (ou de paraître) potentiellement sage avec la possibilité simple de rechercher des données dans Google.

Cependant, il existe certains cas dans lesquels ce type d’esprit collectif élargi qu'est Internet joue contre nous, et l’un des exemples les plus clairs se trouve dans hypochondrie numérique .

Auto-diagnostic? Plus comme la cyberchondrie

Avez-vous déjà été tenté de rechercher sur Internet des informations sur d'éventuelles maladies pouvant être à l'origine des symptômes que vous ressentez? Il n’est pas surprenant que votre réponse à la question soit un "oui" retentissant.


Ce n’est pas une mauvaise chose en soi, car si vous avez de bonnes sources d’information et que vous prenez ce que vous lisez avec un esprit critique, le fait de rechercher certaines données au travers du réseau de réseaux est encore une autre activité de recherche. informations intéressantes qui, dans ce cas, peuvent conduire à une consultation médicale.

Cependant, lorsque l'apparition d'une légère incertitude sur les symptômes conduit inévitablement à l'autodiagnostic, la lecture de textes sur Internet, très probablement, nous ne parlons pas d'une recherche d'information , mais de hypochondrie numérique, aussi appelé cyberchondrie .

Qu'est-ce que l'hypochondrie numérique?

Hypochondrie numérique ou cyberchondrie, est un mot d’apparition récente qui, bien que ne figurant pas dans les manuels de diagnostic, il sert à désigner un style de comportement très préjudiciable à la fois pour les personnes qui en font l'expérience et pour la communauté de la santé . Il fait allusion aux concepts de cybernétique et d'hypocondrie, qui est un trouble mental par lequel la personne croit, de manière non fondée, qu'elle est atteinte d'une ou de plusieurs maladies sur la base de preuves très faibles, ambiguës ou totalement imaginaires.


Beaucoup de gens trouvent absurde que quelqu'un puisse penser qu'ils ont la maladie de Parkinson parce qu'ils ont renversé trois fois l'eau d'un verre qu'ils tiennent dans la main, mais cela peut sembler moins étrange si nous introduisons le facteur Internet dans cette équation.

Le réseau contient une quantité d'informations pratiquement infinie qui n'est pas toujours facile à interpréter et qui, dans de nombreux cas, est erronée, et met également tout cela à la portée de quelques clics. Si nous ajoutons à cela le fait qu'en situation d'incertitude, les options aux conséquences les plus alarmantes ils ont tous les chiffres pour attirer plus l'attention que le reste des interprétations possibles et que les êtres humains ont une capacité inhabituelle à se sentir identifié par des descriptions ambiguës (quelque chose appelé effet Forer), les possibilités de panique augmentent.


Les effets négatifs de l'hypochondrie numérique

Le fait de recourir aux moteurs de recherche Internet au moindre symptôme soupçonné de masquer une maladie a une série de conséquences négatives qui s'expliquent d'elles-mêmes:

  • On peut avoir de graves crises d’anxiété en croyant que vous avez une maladie grave.
  • Cela peut être une habitude très dangereuse si nous apprenons que l’incertitude sur de possibles problèmes de santé peut se dissiper en quelques clics de souris.
  • Dans certains cas, la personne peut hésiter entre le diagnostic personnalisé donné par les médecins et les conclusions tirées du processus "d'autodiagnostic". Il se peut que le diagnostic posé par des professionnels accrédités du système de santé n’ait aucune crédibilité et que des initiatives de guérison soient entreprises seules ou par le biais de thérapies dites alternatives, ce qui a des conséquences très graves pour l’intégrité physique. .

Que faire?

Afin de ne pas tomber dans une dynamique de comportement qui nous entraîne vers quelque chose de similaire à l'hypochondrie numérique, il est bon de considérer deux choses:

  • Recherchez des indicateurs qui certifient la qualité des pages Internet de sites Web médicaux, tels que le sceau HONcode.
  • Dans tous les cas, soyez clair que sans une formation adéquate en médecine, nous ne pouvons pas tirer de conclusions sur les maladies que nous pourrions avoir. Dans la mesure du possible, il convient d'analyser si nos raisons de nous inquiéter à propos d'une série de symptômes sont rationnelles.

Sérénité et esprit critique

La distinction entre la possibilité d'aller sur Internet pour rechercher des informations sur la santé et d'utiliser les moteurs de recherche pour auto-diagnostiquer les maladies est très fine.

C’est pourquoi il est utile de prendre en compte le fait que, bien que cela semble faux, ce qui, à la lumière de certaines données, a tous les chiffres, qu’il s’agisse d’un désordre ou d’un problème de santé grave, n’est à plusieurs reprises, il n'est pas (et il est encore moins probable que, de plus, l'autodiagnostic coïncide avec le diagnostic d'un expert).


Calogero-Drôle d'animal (Tuto piano) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes