yes, therapy helps!
Kissing phobia (filemaphobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

Kissing phobia (filemaphobia): causes, symptoms and treatment

June 25, 2022

The filemafobia, also known as filematofobia It is the phobia of kissing. Phobias are anxiety disorders in which sufferers feel a great fear of coming into contact with the phobic stimulus, which causes great anxiety and, as a consequence, the attempt to avoid this stimulus.

Kisses are a great sign of love, but people with this type of phobia feel a rejection of these acts full of love. In this article we will discuss the filemaphobia and review its causes, symptoms and consequences.

  • Related article: "What are the kisses for? Why do we like them so much? "

What is the phobia of kissing

The filemafobia or extreme fear to kiss can develop in those people who think that they do not kiss well (for example, by some bad experience) and they are afraid to do it by what others can think of them. This causes them anxiety and discomfort and that is why they avoid this type of situation.


The phobia of kissing can cause serious problems in interpersonal relationships, because it can make the person not want to have intimate or romantic relationships with other people and hinders their social interaction. This phobic disorder can be part of erotophobia or sex phobia.

  • Related article: "Sex phobia (erotophobia): causes, symptoms and treatment"

Other related phobias

Now, the filemafobia can also be related to other phobias, which would make the person suffering from this disorder refuse to kiss others to avoid some phobic stimuli like bad breath or physical contact.


1. Misophobia

Sometimes, the filemafobia can be related to the fear of germs, which makes the person think that kissing can be infected with some disease. Logically this refers to the "kisses in the mouth", because the individual thinks that saliva can have germs or bacteria that are harmful to your body.

2. Halitophobia

The fear of kissing can also be related to halitophobia, that is, the smell that the person gives off from his mouth. Not only the smell and bad breath of other individuals, but his own too. This condition can be related to bromidrosiphobia , that is, the fear of body odors.

3. Haphophobia

The hafephobia is the fear of touching or fear of touch and negatively affects the person who suffers. These individuals can feel great anxiety at any kiss, even those on the cheek . This greatly hinders interpersonal relationships.


4. Fear of privacy and vulnerability

The kiss is an intimate act in which love is shown towards a person. But some individuals may feel great fear in these situations. Fear of intimacy can be associated with low self-esteem and a negative image of oneself.

On the other hand, fear of vulnerability has to do, many times, with fear of abandonment or fear of not liking others.

Causes of the filemaphobia

Being a specific phobia its development usually has its origin in associative learning , because there are many studies that have proven that the great majority of phobias are learned by classical conditioning.

This is so because a traumatic experience of the past that causes a strong emotional reaction and that originally is not related to the phobic stimulus, that is, the kisses (or intimacy, physical contact, etc.), causes a connection between the two.

If originally that stimulus was neutral, after the strong emotional reaction, it becomes a stimulus conditioned by fear , and causes great anxiety and a strong desire to avoid when the person thinks or lives this phobic situation.

But in addition to this learning as a cause, other authors affirm that there are also biological origins , and that human beings, due to the genetics and the necessity of the evolution of the species, are prone to suffer this conditioning in front of certain stimuli, because fear helps us to be alert and to survive (or at least it helped us in the past).

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Symptoms of kissing phobia

The phobia of kisses presents the same symptomatology as other phobias , the only thing that changes is the stimulus that causes the reaction. That is to say, what causes discomfort and anxiety are kisses.

Anxiety, therefore, is the characteristic symptom, and that is why it belongs to the group of anxiety disorders. However, the symptomatology also includes:

  • Physical symptoms: sweating, hyperventilation and shortness of breath , acceleration of the heartbeat, tremors, chills, tightness in the chest, dry mouth, nausea, dizziness, headaches ....
  • Psychological symptoms: thoughts that the person can spread deadly diseases, that is, distorted thoughts .
  • Behavioral symptoms: avoidance of the dreaded situation or stimulus, that is, kissing.

How to overcome the fear of kissing

The filemafobia negatively affects the life of the person who suffers, especially their interpersonal relationships. Fortunately, it is possible to overcome this disorder thanks to psychological therapy .

Like any phobia, the form of psychotherapy that has proven to be most effective for this pathology is cognitive behavioral therapy, which aims at intervention focused on changes in mental processes (thoughts, beliefs, emotions ...) and behaviors and behaviors that the person performs and that they can be maladaptive and dysfunctional.

Cognitive behavioral therapy includes techniques of cognitive therapy and behavioral therapies, and may be included, among many others, the techniques of cognitive restructuring, of social skills , training in problem solving, relaxation techniques and exposure techniques. These last two are used very frequently for the treatment of phobias.

Regarding exposure techniques , systematic desensitization has been very effective, and involves exposing the patient gradually to the phobic stimulus. This technique also promotes coping skills more useful for the patient when he is in the situation that causes anxiety or discomfort.

But cognitive behavioral therapy is not the only form of treatment, but mindfulness-based cognitive therapy (MBCT) also seems to work very well for this type of disorder and other anxiety disorders.

In extreme cases, the administration of anxiolytic drugs it is also a therapeutic option; however, it should always be combined with psychotherapy.

  • Related article: "Types of anxiolytics: the drugs that fight anxiety"

Top 10 Secrets Good Kissers Know By Heart (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Phobie du baiser (filémaphobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Phobie du baiser (filémaphobie): causes, symptômes et traitement

Décembre 9, 2021

La filémafobie, également appelée filématofobie C'est la phobie de s'embrasser. Les phobies sont des troubles anxieux dans lesquels le patient craint beaucoup d'entrer en contact avec le stimulus phobique, ce qui provoque une grande anxiété et, par conséquent, la tentative d'éviter ce stimulus.

Les baisers sont un grand signe d'amour, mais les personnes atteintes de ce type de phobie se sentent rejetées par ces actes pleins d'amour. Dans cet article, nous discuterons de la filémaphobie et examinerons ses causes, ses symptômes et ses conséquences.

  • Article connexe: «À quoi servent les baisers? Pourquoi les aimons-nous tellement? "

Quelle est la phobie de s'embrasser

La filemafobia ou la peur extrême de s'embrasser peut se développer chez les personnes qui pensent ne pas s'embrasser correctement (par exemple, à la suite d'une mauvaise expérience) et qui ont peur de le faire en fonction de ce que les autres peuvent penser d'eux. Cela leur cause de l'anxiété et de l'inconfort et c'est pourquoi ils évitent ce type de situation.


La phobie des baisers peut causer de graves problèmes dans les relations interpersonnelles, parce que cela peut empêcher la personne d'avoir des relations intimes ou amoureuses avec d'autres personnes et nuire à leur interaction sociale. Ce trouble phobique peut faire partie de l'érotophobie ou de la phobie sexuelle.

  • Article connexe: "Phobie sexuelle (érotophobie): causes, symptômes et traitement"

Autres phobies liées

La filémafobie peut aussi être liée à d’autres phobies, ce qui rendrait la personne souffrant de cette maladie refuser d'embrasser les autres pour éviter certains stimuli phobiques comme la mauvaise haleine ou le contact physique.


1. Misophobie

Parfois, la filémafobie peut être liée à la peur des germes, ce qui laisse penser à la personne qu'un baiser peut être infecté par une maladie. Logiquement, cela fait référence aux "baisers dans la bouche", car l'individu pense que la salive peut avoir des germes ou des bactéries nocifs pour votre corps.

2. Halitophobie

La peur de s'embrasser peut également être liée à la mauvaise haleine, c'est-à-dire à l'odeur que la personne dégage de sa bouche. Non seulement l'odeur et la mauvaise haleine d'autres individus, mais aussi la sienne. Cette condition peut être liée à bromidrosiphobia c'est-à-dire la peur des odeurs corporelles.

3. Haphophobie

La hafephobia est la peur de toucher ou la peur du toucher et affecte négativement la personne qui en souffre. Ces personnes peuvent ressentez une grande anxiété à chaque baiser, même ceux sur la joue . Cela entrave considérablement les relations interpersonnelles.


4. Peur de la vie privée et vulnérabilité

Le baiser est un acte intime dans lequel l'amour est montré envers une personne. Mais certaines personnes peuvent ressentir une grande peur dans ces situations. La peur de l'intimité peut être associée à une faible estime de soi et une image négative de soi.

Par ailleurs, la peur de la vulnérabilité doit souvent faire partie de la peur de l’abandon ou de la peur de ne pas aimer les autres.

Causes de la filémaphobie

Être une phobie spécifique son développement a généralement son origine dans l'apprentissage associatif , car de nombreuses études ont prouvé que la grande majorité des phobies s’apprenaient par le conditionnement classique.

C’est parce qu’une expérience traumatisante du passé qui cause une forte réaction émotionnelle et qui à l’origine n’est pas lié au stimulus phobique, c’est-à-dire aux baisers (ou à l’intimité, au contact physique, etc.), crée un lien entre les deux.

Si à l’origine ce stimulus était neutre, après la forte réaction émotionnelle, cela devient un stimulus conditionné par la peur , et provoque une grande anxiété et un fort désir d'éviter lorsque la personne pense ou vit cette situation phobique.

Mais en plus de cet apprentissage en tant que cause, d'autres auteurs affirment qu'il y a aussi des origines biologiques et que les êtres humains, en raison de la génétique et de la nécessité de l'évolution de l'espèce, ont tendance à subir ce conditionnement devant certains stimuli, car la peur nous aide à rester vigilants et à survivre (ou au moins à nous aider dans la passé).

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Symptômes de la phobie du baiser

La phobie des bisous présente la même symptomatologie que les autres phobies , la seule chose qui change est le stimulus qui provoque la réaction. C'est-à-dire que les baisers sont la cause de la gêne et de l'anxiété.

L'anxiété est donc le symptôme caractéristique et c'est pourquoi il appartient au groupe des troubles anxieux. Cependant, la symptomatologie comprend également:

  • Symptômes physiques: transpiration, hyperventilation et essoufflement , accélération du rythme cardiaque, tremblements, frissons, sensation d'oppression thoracique, bouche sèche, nausée, vertiges, maux de tête ...
  • Symptômes psychologiques: penser que la personne peut propager des maladies mortelles, c’est-à-dire pensées déformées .
  • Symptômes comportementaux: éviter la situation ou le stimulus redouté, c'est-à-dire s'embrasser.

Comment surmonter la peur de s'embrasser

La filemafobia affecte négativement la vie de la personne qui en souffre, en particulier ses relations interpersonnelles. Par chance, il est possible de surmonter ce désordre grâce à une thérapie psychologique .

Comme toute phobie, la forme de psychothérapie qui s'est révélée la plus efficace pour cette pathologie est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui vise une intervention axée sur les modifications des processus mentaux (pensées, croyances, émotions ...) et des comportements que la personne accomplit et qu’elle peut être inadaptée et dysfonctionnelle.

La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale comprend des techniques de thérapie cognitive et des thérapies comportementales, et peut être incluse, parmi beaucoup d'autres, les techniques de restructuration cognitive, de compétences sociales , formation à la résolution de problèmes, techniques de relaxation et techniques d'exposition. Ces deux derniers sont utilisés très fréquemment pour le traitement des phobies.

Concernant les techniques d'exposition , la désensibilisation systématique a été très efficace et consiste à exposer le patient progressivement au stimulus phobique. Cette technique favorise également les capacités d'adaptation plus utiles pour le patient lorsqu'il se trouve dans une situation qui cause de l'anxiété ou de l'inconfort.

Cependant, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale n'est pas la seule forme de traitement, mais la thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience semble aussi très bien fonctionner pour ce type de trouble et d'autres troubles anxieux.

Dans des cas extrêmes, l'administration de médicaments anxiolytiques c'est aussi une option thérapeutique; Cependant, il doit toujours être associé à une psychothérapie.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'anxiolytiques: les médicaments qui combattent l'anxiété"

Comment s'aimer malgré une phobie intime ? - Je t'aime etc (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes