yes, therapy helps!
Avoidant personality: 5 characteristics and common features

Avoidant personality: 5 characteristics and common features

April 3, 2024

Every person is a world. Each and every one of us has our own way of being. We all have our own personality.

Some people have acquired ways of acting that directly and actively affect what is happening around them, or they are comfortable experiencing new things. Other people fear the approach to situations, conflicts or even people, avoiding some situations due to this fear and looking for safety. If the latter is carried out as a habitual pattern of behavior we can be talking about an avoidant personality .

  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

The personality

Personality is the usual and relatively stable pattern of behavior , and what it does when we see, interpret, think, evaluate and act in the world we do it in a certain way. It is an element that is configured throughout our development and that comes in part from the biological inheritance of our relatives and ancestors and in part from the learning carried out throughout the life cycle.


And is that what we live is also very important: throughout life we ​​learn values ​​and ways of acting, we see that acting in a certain way can have its advantages and disadvantages and in general we experiment with different strategies when facing situations having some more or less success for us.

Some end up having a dominant personality, others submissive. Some learn to approach and face risk as a way to achieve their goals. Others learn to think long before acting and tend to look for environments in which they feel safe, moving away from what can be a harm. In any case, personality predisposes us to behave in certain ways .


Characteristics of people with avoidant personality

Although each person is different, there are usually patterns of behavior that are common among people. In the case of avoidant people, we can detect some personality characteristics that are habitual (although not necessarily essential).

Someone with an avoidant personality will be characterized by, as the name suggests, avoid problems and inhibit their behavior as a way of not suffering possible negative consequences .

1. Sensitivity

Generally people who develop an avoidant type personality tend to have a high level of sensitivity, which they experience intensely sensations. They are especially sensitive to rejection and criticism.

2. Discretion and courtesy

They are usually discrete people who do not like to attract attention in excess, and are usually courteous during a casual interaction.


3. Low self-esteem and indecision

It is not strange that these are people who need affection and external approval to maintain their self-esteem, which is generally low. It is common for them to be indecisive people , with difficulties when making decisions unless they receive palpable support. If their position is different from the rest, it is common to be silent for fear of criticism. It is common for uncertainty to generate great discomfort.

  • Related article: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

4. Taste for the familiar

These are people who tend to have a preference for routine and feel uncomfortable with the news . In many cases they are homelike and feel well in familiar environments, although in others they would like to be more open and adventurous.

5. Social aspects

At the social level, they tend to be not very capable and they are even likely to be considered inferior to the rest, which leads them to avoid contact or to feel uncomfortable in the presence of strangers or large groups of people. This does not imply that they do not want to interact or that they do not like the contact itself, they simply fear doing it. Nor does it mean that their social skills are bad: in most cases they are average in this sense, only that they do not express them.

They usually have a restricted group of relationships with those who feel comfortable, having with them very deep ties, greatly appreciating the intimacy with friends and family. Although in many cases they are isolated in others they are largely related to who interacts with them, giving the appearance of disinhibition. However, this contact is usually shallow except for a few people.

What are you supposed to avoid?

The fact of avoiding the anxiety-generating situation reassures them, not have to face a stimulation that generates discomfort , although paradoxically the non-confrontation of the avoided will cause the fear of it to be maintained or even worse.

Likewise, non-confrontation can be experienced as a failure, diminishing the self-esteem of the person and serving the subject as confirmation of their possible feeling of inadequacy and inadequacy.

  • Related article: "The 10 keys to overcome shyness once and for all"

Why do these types of personalities arise?

The circumstances by which this type of personality arises can be very variable and do not end up being fully known. However, it is relatively common for them to develop in situations in which they have been isolated or marginalized.

In some cases, the feelings that end up triggering the avoidance arise due to the experimentation of abuses and / or contempt towards their person at key moments of development, of experiences in which they have been embarrassed or inferior to others . In this way, a fear of reliving this situation may develop and over time, the consistent avoidance of all those experiences that remind them may arise.

The feeling of being inept, the preconceived idea that they will be criticized or rejected and intolerance to failure and uncertainty are often key aspects that lead these people to try to avoid people and situations.

The evasive personality disorder

These characteristics that we have seen they do not have to be pathological per se.to take into account that we are facing a way of facing life that for some people can be functional, if it does not interfere in the person's life generating discomfort and limiting their performance or does not negatively affect the person or their environment .

However, if these characteristics are taken to the extreme and generating significant suffering and involvement we can be faced with an avoidant personality disorder or evasive personality disorder.

This disorder corresponds to a pattern of inhibited behavior and in which low self-esteem and feelings of inadequacy prevail, the fear of being rejected or mocked, the avoidance of interpersonal relationships and the reactance to take risks and changes. It is also common for those who suffer from it to be hypervigilant most of the time, to be distrustful and reject physical contact and responsibilities.


Summary of all 10 Personality Disorders (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnalité évitante: 5 caractéristiques et caractéristiques communes

Personnalité évitante: 5 caractéristiques et caractéristiques communes

Mars 4, 2021

Chaque personne est un monde. Chacun d'entre nous a sa propre façon d'être. Nous avons tous notre propre personnalité.

Certaines personnes ont acquis des façons d’agir qui affectent directement et activement ce qui se passe autour d’elles, ou elles sont à l'aise de vivre de nouvelles choses. D'autres personnes craignent l'approche des situations, des conflits ou même des personnes, évitant certaines situations en raison de cette peur et recherchant la sécurité. Si ce dernier comportement est habituel, nous pouvons parler de une personnalité évitante .

  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

La personnalité

La personnalité est le comportement habituel et relativement stable et ce que cela fait quand nous voyons, interprétons, pensons, évaluons et agissons dans le monde, nous le faisons d’une certaine manière. C'est un élément qui est configuré tout au long de notre développement et qui provient en partie du patrimoine biologique de nos parents et de nos ancêtres et en partie des apprentissages réalisés tout au long du cycle de la vie.


Et est-ce que ce que nous vivons est aussi très important: tout au long de la vie, nous apprenons des valeurs et des façons d’agir, nous voyons qu’agir d’une certaine manière peut avoir des avantages et des inconvénients, et en général, nous expérimentons différentes stratégies lorsque nous faisons face à des situations avoir plus ou moins de succès pour nous.

Certains finissent par avoir une personnalité dominante, d'autres soumis. Certains apprennent à aborder et à affronter les risques pour atteindre leurs objectifs. D'autres apprennent à réfléchir longtemps avant d'agir et ont tendance à rechercher des environnements dans lesquels ils se sentent en sécurité, s'éloignant de ce qui peut être dangereux. En tout cas, la personnalité nous prédispose à nous comporter de certaines manières .


Caractéristiques des personnes ayant une personnalité évitante

Bien que chaque personne soit différente, il existe généralement des schémas de comportement qui sont courants parmi les personnes. Dans le cas des personnes évitantes, nous pouvons détecter certaines caractéristiques de la personnalité qui sont habituelles (bien que pas nécessairement essentielles).

Quelqu'un avec une personnalité évitante sera caractérisé par, comme son nom l'indique, éviter les problèmes et inhiber leur comportement afin de ne pas subir de conséquences négatives .

1. sensibilité

En général, les personnes qui développent une personnalité de type évitante ont tendance à avoir un haut niveau de sensibilité, ce qui leur fait ressentir intensément les sensations. Ils sont particulièrement sensibles au rejet et à la critique.

2. Discrétion et courtoisie

Ils ont l'habitude d'être personnes discrètes qui n'aiment pas attirer l'attention en excès, et sont généralement courtois lors d'une interaction occasionnelle.


3. Faible estime de soi et indécision

Il n’est pas étonnant que ce soient des personnes qui ont besoin d’affection et d’approbation externe pour maintenir leur estime de soi, qui est généralement faible. Il est commun pour eux d'être des personnes indécises , avec des difficultés pour prendre des décisions à moins qu’ils ne reçoivent un soutien tangible Si leur position est différente des autres, il est courant de se taire de peur des critiques. Il est courant que l'incertitude génère un grand inconfort.

  • Article connexe: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

4. Goût pour le familier

Ce sont des gens qui ont tendance à préférer la routine et mal à l'aise avec les nouvelles . Dans de nombreux cas, ils sont chez eux et se sentent bien dans des environnements familiers, mais dans d'autres, ils aimeraient être plus ouverts et aventureux.

5. Aspects sociaux

Au niveau social, ils ont tendance à être peu capables et sont même susceptibles d'être considérés comme inférieurs au reste, ce qui les conduit à éviter le contact ou à se sentir mal à l'aise en présence d'étrangers ou de grands groupes de personnes. Cela ne signifie pas qu'ils ne veulent pas interagir ou qu'ils n'aiment pas le contact lui-même, ils ont simplement peur de le faire. Cela ne signifie pas non plus que leurs compétences sociales sont mauvaises: dans la plupart des cas, ils sont moyens en ce sens, mais ils ne les expriment pas.

Ils ont généralement un groupe restreint de relations avec ceux qui se sentent à l'aise, qui entretiennent avec eux des liens très profonds, qui apprécient grandement l'intimité avec leurs amis et leur famille. Bien que, dans de nombreux cas, ils soient isolés dans d’autres, ils sont en grande partie liés aux personnes qui interagissent avec eux, donnant l’apparence d’une désinhibition. Cependant, ce contact est généralement peu profond sauf pour quelques personnes.

Qu'est-ce que tu es censé éviter?

Le fait d'éviter la situation génératrice d'anxiété les rassure, ne pas avoir à faire face à une stimulation qui génère un inconfort , bien que paradoxalement, la non-confrontation des évités fera que la peur de l’être soit maintenue, voire pire.

De même, la non-confrontation peut être vécue comme un échec, diminuant l'estime de soi de la personne et servant le sujet à confirmer son éventuel sentiment d'insuffisance et d'inadéquation.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 clés pour vaincre la timidité une fois pour toutes"

Pourquoi ces types de personnalités apparaissent-ils?

Les circonstances dans lesquelles ce type de personnalité survient peuvent être très variables et ne sont pas finalement bien connues. Cependant, il est relativement courant qu'ils se développent dans des situations où ils ont été isolés ou marginalisés.

Dans certains cas, les sentiments qui finissent par déclencher l'évitement sont dus à l'expérimentation d'abus et / ou de mépris envers leur personne aux moments clés du développement, de expériences dans lesquelles ils ont été gênés ou inférieurs aux autres . De cette façon, la peur de revivre cette situation peut se développer et, avec le temps, l’évitement systématique de toutes les expériences qui leur rappellent peut survenir.

Le sentiment d'être inepte, l'idée préconçue qu'ils seront critiqués ou rejetés et l'intolérance à l'échec et à l'incertitude sont souvent des aspects essentiels qui poussent ces personnes à essayer d'éviter les personnes et les situations.

Le trouble de la personnalité évasif

Ces caractéristiques que nous avons vues ils ne doivent pas être pathologiques en soi, prendre en compte le fait que nous sommes confrontés à une façon de faire face à la vie qui, pour certaines personnes, peut être fonctionnelle, si elle n'interfère pas dans la vie de la personne, en générant un inconfort et en limitant ses performances, ou sans affecter négativement la personne ou son environnement .

Cependant, si ces caractéristiques sont prises à l'extrême et engendrent une souffrance et une implication significatives, nous pouvons être confrontés à un trouble de la personnalité évitante ou évasive.

Ce trouble correspond à un schéma de comportement inhibé et dans lequel règnent une faible estime de soi et des sentiments d'inadéquation, la peur d'être rejeté ou moqué, l'évitement des relations interpersonnelles et la réactance à prendre des risques et des changements. Il est également courant que ceux qui en souffrent soient la plupart du temps hypervigilants, méfiants et rejettent les contacts et les responsabilités physiques.


Syndrome d'asperger, victoire sur la violence et la souffrance psychique - www.regenere.org (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes