yes, therapy helps!
GABA (neurotransmitter): what it is and what role it plays in the brain

GABA (neurotransmitter): what it is and what role it plays in the brain

October 28, 2020

The GABA (gamma-aminobutyric acid) is a neurotransmitter widely distributed in the neurons of the cerebral cortex. What does this mean? Well, GABA is a type of substance that is used by neurons of the nervous system when communicating with each other through spaces (called synaptic spaces) by which they connect between them.

Now, GABA is just one of many types of neurotransmitters of the many that act in the brain. That is why it performs some functions that other neurotransmitters do not do. Its function is to be a inhibitory neurotransmitter .

GABA, the inhibitory neurotransmitter

GABA is a neurotransmitter (such as serotonin or dopamine) and, therefore, sends chemical messages through the brain and nervous system . In other words, it participates in the communication between neurons.


The role of GABA is to inhibit or reduce neuronal activity, and it plays an important role in the behavior, cognition and response of the body to stress. Research suggests that GABA helps control fear and anxiety when neurons are overexcited.

On the other hand, low levels of this neurotransmitter are associated with anxiety disorders, sleep problems, depression and schizophrenia. It has also been found that young neurons are more excitable than the old ones, and this is due to the role that GABA exerts over the former.

GABA Contributes to motor control, vision or regulates anxiety, among other cortical functions. There are different drugs that increase the levels of GABA in the brain and are used to treat epilepsy, Huntington's disease or to calm anxiety (for example, benzodiazepines).


It must be taken into account, however, that it still knows little What are the functions and processes in which GABA intervenes, and therefore it is a haste to assume that its usefulness is simply what I have described. In addition, this neurotransmitter intervenes to a greater or lesser extent in other communication dynamics between neurons in which other neurotransmitters have a more relevant role.

The relation of GABA to fear and anxiety

GABA was discovered in 1950 by Eugene Roberts and J. Awapara, and since then several studies have been carried out to better understand its relationship with anxiety disorders.

In the last decades, research on GABA and benzodiazepines have been numerous , basically to look for treatments against the pathological alterations of fear and anxiety. These studies have concluded that GABA is involved in these emotions, but it does not seem that its role is other than that of inhibitory modulator of the other neurotransmission systems such as noradrenaline.


In addition, other studies have also provided interesting conclusions about how the effect of this neurotransmitter is able to reduce the effects of stress in individuals. In an experiment published on Journal of Neuroscience It was shown that when individuals perform physical exercise on a regular basis, the level of GABA neurons increases in the brain, which affects the ventral hippocampus, a region of the brain linked to the regulation of stress and anxiety. Another study, this time carried out jointly by the University of Boston and the University of Utah, found that there is also an increase in this neurotransmitter in yoga practitioners.

To learn more about the psychological benefits of physical exercise and yoga you can read our articles:

  • The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise
  • The 6 psychological benefits of yoga
  • 10 benefits of yoga for athletes (according to science)

How is GABA synthesized?

GABA is synthesized from the decarboxylation of glutamate thanks to the action of the enzyme glutamate decarboxylase (GAD), a process that occurs in the GABAergic neurons in the cerebellum, the basal ganglia and many areas of the cerebral cortex, also in the spinal cord. . If the synthesis of this neurotransmitter is inhibited, convulsive attacks occur.

The GABA receptors

GABA receptors are probably the most numerous in the nervous system of mammals. It is estimated that are present in at least 30-40% of the nerve cells in the human brain .

There are three types of receptors for GABA: GABA-A, GABA-B and GABA-C. The latter is considered a subtype of the GABA-A receptor, and is also called GABA-A rho.

The GABA-A receptor, the best known

The ionotropic GABA-A receptor, which is located in the plasma membrane of the post synaptic terminal, is the one that is related to benzodiazepines such as Diazepam (better known as Valium), barbiturates or alcohol. It is the most well-known receptor and is composed of five polypeptide subunits : α, β, γ, δ, ε, each with different functions.

If you want to know more about this receiver, the following video explains the structure and operation of the GABA-A receiver:

The GABA-B receptor is metabotropic, and is found in the plasma membrane of the pre- and post-synaptic terminals. The GABA C receptor, like GABA-A, is ionotropic.

Ionotropic and metabotropic receptors

The ionotropic receptors receive this name because they are coupled to an ion channel, that when the ligand is joined to them the channel opens and an ion enters or leaves the channel. In the case of the GABA-A receptor, chlorine (Cl-) enters, which produces the inhibitory response. Its effect is fast because you just have to open the channel to produce the action.

In contrast, metabotropic receptors, such as GABA-B, are slower receptors and are coupled to G proteins, which, specifically in the case of this receptor, lead to the activation of potassium channels (K +) for the depolarization of the cell .

Other neurotransmitters and their functions

In addition to GABA, in Psychology and Mind We have already talked about other neurotransmitters and their functioning inside the brain. Among them serotonin, also known as the hormone of happiness, and dopamine, a chemical related to pleasurable behavior and reinforcement. So do not miss the following articles:

  • Serotonin: discover the effects of this hormone on your body and mind
  • Dopamine: 7 essential functions of this neurotransmitter

Bibliographic references:

  • Bloom, F. 1994. Psychopharmacology. The fourth generation of progress. Raven Press.

Is Your Brain Making Enough GABA? (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
GABA (neurotransmetteur): de quoi s'agit-il et quel rôle joue-t-il dans le cerveau

GABA (neurotransmetteur): de quoi s'agit-il et quel rôle joue-t-il dans le cerveau

Février 21, 2019

Le GABA (acide gamma-aminobutyrique) est un neurotransmetteur largement distribué dans les neurones du cortex cérébral. Qu'est ce que ça signifie? Le GABA est un type de substance qui est utilisé par les neurones du système nerveux lorsqu’ils communiquent entre eux par le biais d’espaces (appelés espaces synaptiques) par lesquels ils se connectent.

Le GABA n’est que l’un des nombreux types de neurotransmetteurs parmi ceux qui agissent dans le cerveau. C'est pourquoi il remplit des fonctions que d'autres neurotransmetteurs ne font pas. Sa fonction est d'être un neurotransmetteur inhibiteur .

GABA, le neurotransmetteur inhibiteur

Le GABA est un neurotransmetteur (comme la sérotonine ou la dopamine) et, par conséquent, envoie des messages chimiques à travers le cerveau et le système nerveux . En d'autres termes, il participe à la communication entre neurones.


Le rôle du GABA est d'inhiber ou de réduire l'activité neuronale et joue un rôle important dans le comportement, la cognition et la réponse de l'organisme au stress. La recherche suggère que le GABA aide à contrôler la peur et l'anxiété lorsque les neurones sont surexcités.

D'autre part, de faibles niveaux de ce neurotransmetteur sont associés à des troubles anxieux, des problèmes de sommeil, une dépression et une schizophrénie. Il a également été constaté que les jeunes neurones sont plus excitants que les anciens, en raison du rôle que joue le GABA sur ceux-ci.

GABA Contribue au contrôle moteur, à la vision ou régule l'anxiété, entre autres fonctions corticales. Il existe différents médicaments qui augmentent les niveaux de GABA dans le cerveau et sont utilisés pour traiter l'épilepsie, la maladie de Huntington ou pour calmer l'anxiété (par exemple, les benzodiazépines).


Il faut toutefois tenir compte du fait qu'il reste sait peu Quelles sont les fonctions et les processus dans lesquels GABA intervient, et il est donc urgent de supposer que son utilité est simplement ce que j'ai décrit. De plus, ce neurotransmetteur intervient plus ou moins dans d'autres dynamiques de communication entre neurones dans lesquels d'autres neurotransmetteurs jouent un rôle plus important.

La relation de GABA à la peur et à l'anxiété

GABA a été découvert en 1950 par Eugene Roberts et J. Awapara. Depuis lors, plusieurs études ont été menées pour mieux comprendre sa relation avec les troubles anxieux.

Au cours des dernières décennies, les recherches sur le GABA et les benzodiazépines ont été nombreuses , essentiellement pour rechercher des traitements contre les altérations pathologiques de la peur et de l’anxiété. Ces études ont conclu que le GABA est impliqué dans ces émotions, mais il ne semble pas que son rôle soit autre que celui de modulateur inhibiteur des autres systèmes de neurotransmission tels que la noradrénaline.


En outre, d'autres études ont également fourni des conclusions intéressantes sur la manière dont l'effet de ce neurotransmetteur peut réduire les effets du stress chez les individus. Dans une expérience publiée sur Journal of Neuroscience Il a été démontré que lorsque les individus effectuent régulièrement des exercices physiques, le niveau de neurones GABA augmente dans le cerveau, ce qui affecte l'hippocampe ventral, une région du cerveau liée à la régulation du stress et de l'anxiété. Une autre étude, réalisée cette fois conjointement par l’Université de Boston et l’Université de l’Utah, a révélé une augmentation de ce neurotransmetteur chez les praticiens du yoga.

Pour en savoir plus sur les avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique et du yoga, vous pouvez lire nos articles:

  • Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique
  • Les 6 bienfaits psychologiques du yoga
  • 10 bienfaits du yoga pour les sportifs (selon la science)

Comment le GABA est-il synthétisé?

Le GABA est synthétisé à partir de la décarboxylation du glutamate grâce à l'action de l'enzyme glutamate décarboxylase (GAD), un processus qui se produit dans les neurones GABAergiques du cervelet, dans les ganglions de la base et dans de nombreuses régions du cortex cérébral, ainsi que dans la colonne vertébrale. . Si la synthèse de ce neurotransmetteur est inhibée, des attaques convulsives se produisent.

Les récepteurs GABA

Les récepteurs GABA sont probablement les plus nombreux dans le système nerveux des mammifères. On estime que sont présents dans au moins 30 à 40% des cellules nerveuses du cerveau humain .

Il existe trois types de récepteurs pour le GABA: GABA-A, GABA-B et GABA-C. Ce dernier est considéré comme un sous-type du récepteur GABA-A et est également appelé GABA-A rho.

Le récepteur GABA-A, le plus connu

Le récepteur ionotrope GABA-A, situé dans la membrane plasmique du terminal post-synaptique, est celui qui est associé aux benzodiazépines telles que le Diazépam (plus connu sous le nom de Valium), les barbituriques ou l’alcool. C’est le récepteur le plus connu et est composé de cinq sous-unités polypeptidiques. : α, β, γ, δ, ε, chacun avec des fonctions différentes.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ce récepteur, la vidéo suivante explique la structure et le fonctionnement du récepteur GABA-A:

Le récepteur GABA-B est métabotrope et se trouve dans la membrane plasmique des terminaux pré et post-synaptiques. Le récepteur GABA C, comme le GABA-A, est ionotrope.

Récepteurs ionotropes et métabotropes

Les récepteurs ionotropes reçoivent ce nom parce qu'ils sont couplés à un canal ionique, que lorsque le ligand leur est associé, le canal s'ouvre et un ion entre ou sort du canal. Dans le cas du récepteur GABA-A, le chlore (Cl-) entre, ce qui produit la réponse inhibitrice. Son effet est rapide car il suffit d'ouvrir le canal pour produire l'action.

En revanche, les récepteurs métabotropes, tels que GABA-B, sont des récepteurs plus lents et sont couplés à des protéines G, ce qui conduit spécifiquement à l'activation des canaux potassiques (K +) pour la dépolarisation de la cellule. .

Autres neurotransmetteurs et leurs fonctions

En plus du GABA, dans Psychologie et esprit Nous avons déjà parlé d'autres neurotransmetteurs et de leur fonctionnement dans le cerveau. Parmi eux, la sérotonine, également connue comme l'hormone du bonheur, et la dopamine, une substance chimique liée au comportement agréable et au renforcement. Alors ne manquez pas les articles suivants:

  • Sérotonine: découvrez les effets de cette hormone sur votre corps et votre esprit
  • Dopamine: 7 fonctions essentielles de ce neurotransmetteur

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bloom, F. 1994. Psychopharmacology. La quatrième génération de progrès. Presse Raven.

Ame 10- Notre âme est-elle créée par Dieu à partir de rien ? Premiers pas catholiques (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes