yes, therapy helps!
Who were the Assyrians?

Who were the Assyrians?

June 14, 2024

The Assyrians will always be remembered both for its antiquity as a civilization, as for its brutal military methods that frighten the Middle East and part of the West. Their armies, their soldiers and their ferocity on the battlefield procured a resounding and respected success during the 9th and 7th century BC. in the region of Mesopotamia. They extended their domains from the Turkey side, through Iran to Egypt.

But not everything was blood and violence with the Assyrian people. They had a great predilection for art and architecture, printing great works wherever they stepped. They wanted to impose their regional hegemony facing the Empire of Babylon, which was the power of the moment and which managed to survive by joining forces with another competitor, the Medos, who formed a coalition to wipe out the Assyrians.


In this article we will give a brief review of the history of the Assyrian people , one of the most important elements that occurred in the cradle of civilizations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "25 Egyptian gods (biography, personality and legacy)"

The origin of the Assyrians

The Assyrians were a set of nomadic peoples of Semitic origin who moved through what is known today as the Middle East . The origin of its name corresponds to what was the main capital of the Assyrian people, Assura or Ashura in Arabic. This word was dedicated to the god Assur, who according to the mythology of Antiquity means "the God of Life", represented in its beginnings as a tree.


Although a priori the God Assur represented the creation of the whole, vegetation, life, order and the infinite, as the Assyrian empire expanded, his figure was twisted, until it was given a more wicked and warrior meaning to Encourage soldiers to push new conquests. He was the king of the Gods and God of the kings, and every citizen or Assyrian ruler had to proceed to a ritual to obtain his blessing.

According to the archaeological discoveries made in the city of Assura, al-Charquat in present-day Iraq, on the shores of the splendid Tigris River, this was a colony of the Babylonians that became the Assyrians after their total destruction. This ancient city was revealed in 2003 and was declared a World Heritage Site in danger of disappearance by UNESCO.

  • Maybe you're interested: "20 Viking proverbs about war and life"

Imperial period

Like any other empire of antiquity, the Assyrian went through the life cycle that everyone shares: birth, splendor and decay. Here we present those three moments that explain the existence of the Assyrian empire.


First Assyrian Empire

It was in this period (1814-1781 a.C.) that the Assyrian Empire was consolidated with such a category. The rise of the Assyrian population outside their regions blew up the first tensions and battles with neighboring nations . Under the rule of King Shamshi Adad I until 1760 a.C, since in that year was defeated by the Empire of Babylon.

Middle Assyrian Empire

This was a tumultuous moment of great confusion throughout the Mesopotamian region, especially for the Assyrians. Once annexed to the Babylonian Empire, they began to suffer invasions from other emerging powers such as the Hittites and the so-called Peoples of the Sea from the Balkan Peninsula.

It is here that the Assyrians began to work their legacy, a feared legacy in the years to come. Resisted against all attacks suffered on all fronts before the Hittites, Egyptians, Arameans or the Mitani . So they spread territorially their domains, and established the practice of terror as a weapon of war, burning, killing and devastating the conquered regions.

The Neo Assyrian Empire

Curiously, just the more militarily ruthless the Assyrians seemed, they wanted to establish the bases of an administrative system of assimilation of the peoples, avoiding their destruction and taking care of their fellow citizens. In each region a province was established with a governor and their respective representative buildings (usually temples).

King Sargon II, of the Sargonides dynasty , was responsible for bringing another less warlike element to his empire: art, architecture and urban modernization. The gardens and plants are one of the shining attributes of the time, making the capital Nineveh one of the most beautiful in Mesopotamia.

However, all this -even with the accommodation of the masses- was done with an iron hand and a despotic manner. The inequality and cruelty with which the second-class inhabitants were treated made the empire fall into a spiral of weakness and lack of control, which It would culminate with the reconquest of the Babylonians back in 609 BC.

The artistic legacy

We have had a great impact on the conquests and military battles of the Assyrian Empire. In its cruelty and political administration.However, not everything was fights and skirmishes between ethnic groups and archaic nations. There was also an artistic brilliance that remains of incalculable value are still discovered today.

In terms of architecture, the Assyrians assimilated part of the Chaldean art, improving and enlarging the palaces and temples that they built to demonstrate their power and greatness. A distinguishing detail was the identification plates that adorned the facades of the buildings: baked brick and glass was the material used to give beauty to the monuments. Art historians agree that the Assyrian temples are the most spectacular of Mesopotamia, highlighting that of Sargon II from the 8th century BC.

The Assyrians were brilliant in the descriptive reliefs, carved with special care and finesse. Basically, they represented the battles won, the heroic characters who carried them out and the rulers who subdued the people. Firmness, power and hierarchy was the theme present in all Assyrian representation. In the paintings there is no variation in the narrative, but the most used colors were blue, yellow and red. Vibrant colors that told the daily life of the Assyrian culture. The remains that are conserved today are witnesses of the greatness of this civilization.


Who were the Assyrians? History of the Assyrian Empire (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qui étaient les Assyriens?

Qui étaient les Assyriens?

Septembre 26, 2022

On se souviendra toujours des Assyriens à la fois pour son antiquité en tant que civilisation, ainsi que pour ses méthodes militaires brutales qui effraient le Moyen-Orient et une partie de l'Occident. Leurs armées, leurs soldats et leur férocité sur le champ de bataille assurèrent un succès retentissant et respecté aux 9ème et 7ème siècles avant notre ère. dans la région de la Mésopotamie. Ils ont étendu leurs domaines de la Turquie à l’Égypte, en passant par l’Iran.

Mais tout n'était pas sang et violence avec le peuple assyrien. Ils avaient une grande prédilection pour l’art et l’architecture, imprimant de superbes œuvres partout où ils marchaient. Ils voulaient imposer leur hégémonie régionale face à l’Empire de Babylone, puissance du moment et qui a réussi à survivre en joignant ses forces à un autre concurrent, le Medos, qui a formé une coalition pour éliminer les Assyriens.


Dans cet article nous donnerons un bref aperçu de l'histoire du peuple assyrien , l’un des éléments les plus importants du berceau des civilisations.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "25 dieux égyptiens (biographie, personnalité et héritage)"

L'origine des Assyriens

Les Assyriens étaient un ensemble de peuples nomades d'origine sémitique qui ont traversé ce qu'on appelle aujourd'hui le Moyen-Orient . L'origine de son nom correspond à ce qui était la principale capitale du peuple assyrien, Assura ou Ashura en arabe. Ce mot a été dédié au dieu Assur qui, selon la mythologie de l'Antiquité, signifie "le dieu de la vie", représenté à ses débuts sous la forme d'un arbre.


Bien qu'à priori le dieu Assur représentait la création de l'ensemble, de la végétation, de la vie, de l'ordre et de l'infini, à mesure que l'empire assyrien se développait, sa silhouette se tordit jusqu'à ce qu'on lui attribue un sens plus vil Encouragez les soldats à pousser de nouvelles conquêtes. Il était le roi des dieux et le dieu des rois, et chaque citoyen ou souverain assyrien devait procéder à un rituel pour obtenir sa bénédiction.

Selon les découvertes archéologiques effectuées dans la ville d’Assura, al-Charquat, dans l’actuel Iraq, sur les rives du splendide fleuve Tigre, il s’agissait d’une colonie de Babyloniens qui sont devenus les Assyriens après leur destruction totale. Cette ville antique a été révélée en 2003 et a été déclarée site du patrimoine mondial en danger de disparition par l'UNESCO.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "20 proverbes vikings sur la guerre et la vie"

Période impériale

Comme tout autre empire de l'Antiquité, l'Assyrien a traversé le cycle de la vie que tout le monde partage: naissance, splendeur et décadence. Nous présentons ici ces trois moments qui expliquent l'existence de l'empire assyrien.


Premier empire assyrien

C’est à cette époque (1814-1781 av. J.-C.) que l’empire assyrien s’est consolidé avec une telle catégorie. La montée de la population assyrienne en dehors de leurs régions a explosé les premières tensions et batailles avec les nations voisines . Sous le règne du roi Shamshi Adad Ier jusqu'en 1760 de notre ère, car cette année-là fut battu par l'empire de Babylone.

Empire Assyrien Moyen

Ce fut un moment tumultueux de grande confusion dans toute la région mésopotamienne, en particulier pour les Assyriens. Une fois annexés à l’Empire babylonien, ils ont commencé à subir les invasions d’autres puissances émergentes telles que les Hittites et les soi-disant peuples de la mer de la péninsule des Balkans.

C'est ici que les Assyriens ont commencé à travailler leur héritage, un héritage redouté dans les années à venir. Résisté contre toutes les attaques subies sur tous les fronts avant les Hittites, les Egyptiens, les Araméens ou les Mitani . Ils ont donc étendu leurs territoires à des territoires déterminés et ont érigé la terreur en arme de guerre, brûlant, tuant et dévastant les régions conquises.

L'empire néo assyrien

Curieusement, les Assyriens semblaient être plus impitoyables sur le plan militaire et ils voulaient établir les bases d'un système administratif d'assimilation des peuples, en évitant leur destruction et en prenant soin de leurs concitoyens. Dans chaque région, une province a été établie avec un gouverneur et leurs bâtiments respectifs (généralement des temples).

Roi Sargon II, de la dynastie des Sargonides , était responsable d’apporter à son empire un autre élément moins guerrier: l’art, l’architecture et la modernisation urbaine. Les jardins et les plantes sont l’un des attributs les plus brillants de l’époque, faisant de la capitale Ninive l’un des plus beaux de Mésopotamie.

Cependant, tout cela - même avec l'hébergement des masses - se faisait avec une main de fer et une manière despotique. L’inégalité et la cruauté avec lesquelles les habitants de la deuxième classe étaient traités faisaient basculer l’empire dans une spirale de faiblesse et de manque de contrôle qui Cela aboutirait à la reconquête des Babyloniens en 609 av.

L'héritage artistique

Nous avons eu un grand impact sur les conquêtes et les batailles militaires de l'empire assyrien. Dans sa cruauté et son administration politique.Cependant, tout n’était pas que combats et escarmouches entre groupes ethniques et nations archaïques. Il y avait aussi un éclat artistique qui reste d'une valeur incalculable sont encore découvertes aujourd'hui.

En termes d’architecture, les Assyriens partie assimilée de l'art chaldéen, améliorant et agrandissant les palais et les temples qu'ils ont construit pour démontrer leur puissance et leur grandeur. Un détail distinctif était les plaques d'identification qui ornaient les façades des bâtiments: la brique cuite et le verre étaient le matériau utilisé pour donner de la beauté aux monuments. Les historiens de l'art s'accordent pour dire que les temples assyriens sont les plus spectaculaires de la Mésopotamie, soulignant celui de Sargon II du 8ème siècle avant JC.

Les Assyriens étaient brillants dans les reliefs descriptifs, sculptés avec soin et finesse. En gros, ils représentaient les batailles gagnées, les personnages héroïques qui les menaient et les dirigeants qui maîtrisaient le peuple. La fermeté, le pouvoir et la hiérarchie étaient les thèmes présents dans toutes les représentations assyriennes. Dans les peintures, le récit ne présente aucune variation, mais les couleurs les plus utilisées sont le bleu, le jaune et le rouge. Des couleurs vibrantes qui racontaient la vie quotidienne de la culture assyrienne. Les vestiges conservés aujourd'hui témoignent de la grandeur de cette civilisation.


Histoires et Mythes de Mésopotamie ( Sumériens, Akkadiens, Babyloniens et Assyriens ) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes