yes, therapy helps!
Histamine: functions and associated disorders

Histamine: functions and associated disorders

May 22, 2022

Histamine is a molecule that acts in our body both as a hormone and a neurotransmitter, to regulate different biological functions.

It is present in significant amounts in both plants and animals, and is used by the cells as messenger . In addition, it has a very important role both in allergies and in cases of food intolerance and in the processes of the immune system in general. Let's see what their secrets are.

History of his discovery

Histamine was first discovered in 1907 by Windaus and Vogt, in an experiment where they synthesized it from imidazole propionic acid, although it did not know that it existed naturally until 1910, when they saw that the ergot fungus made it.


From this they began to study their biological effects. But it was not until 1927 when it was finally discovered that histamine is found in animals and in the human body . This happened when the physiologists Best, Dale, Dudley and Thorpe managed to isolate the molecule from a fresh liver and lung. And it is here when it received its name, since it is an amine that is significantly found in tissues (histo).

Synthesis of histamine

Histamine is a B-amino-ethyl-imidazole, a molecule that is made from the essential amino acid histidine, that is, this amino acid can not be generated in the human body and must be obtained by feeding . The reaction used for its synthesis is a decarboxylation, which is catalyzed by the enzyme L-histidine decarboxylase.


The main cells that carry out the manufacture of histamine are mast cells and basophils , two components of the immune system that store it inside it inside granules, along with other substances. But they are not the only ones that synthesize it, so do the enterochromaffin cells of both the pylorus region, and the neurons of the hypothalamus area.

Mechanism of action

Histamine is a messenger that acts as both a hormone and a neurotransmitter, depending on what tissue is released. As such, the functions that it activates will be carried out also thanks to the action of the histamine receptors . Of the latter there are up to four different types, although there may be more.

1. H1 receiver

This type of receiver is distributed throughout the body. It is located in the smooth muscle of the bronchi and intestine , where histamine reception causes bronchoconstriction and an increase in bowel movements, respectively. It also increases the production of mucus by the bronchi.


Another location of this receptor is found in the cells that form the blood vessels, where it causes vasodilation and an increase in permeability. Leukocytes (that is, cells of the immune system) also have H1 receptors on its surface, which serve to address the area where histamine has been released.

In the Central Nervous System (CNS), histamine is also captured in different areas by H1, and this stimulates the release of other neurotransmitters and acts in different processes, such as sleep regulation.

2. H2 receiver

This type of histamine receptor it is located in a group of specific cells of the digestive tract, specifically the parietal cells of the stomach . Its main function is the production and secretion of gastric acid (HCl). The reception of the hormone stimulates the release of the acid for digestion.

TIt is also located in cells of the immune system, such as lymphocytes. , favoring its response and proliferation; or in the mast cells themselves and basophils, stimulating the release of more substances.

3. H3 receiver

This is a receptor with negative effects, that is, it inhibits processes when receiving histamine . In the CNS, the release of different neurotransmitters, such as acetylcholine, serotonin or histamine itself, decreases. In the stomach inhibits the release of gastric acid, and in the lung prevents bronchoconstriction. So, as with many other elements of the organism of the same type, does not fulfill a fixed function, but has several and these depend largely on its location and the context in which it works.

4. H4 receiver

It is the last receptor for discovered histamine, and it is still not known what active processes . There are indications that it presumably acts in the recruitment of blood cells, since it is found in the spleen and thymus.Another hypothesis is that it participates in allergies and in asthma, since it is located in the membrane of eosinophils and neutrophils, cells of the immune system, as well as in the bronchus, so that it is exposed to many particles that come from outside and can generate a chain reaction in the body.

Main functions of histamine

Among its performance functions we find that it is essential to favor the response of the immune system and that works at the level of the digestive system regulating the gastric secretions and the motility of the intestine. As well acts on the central nervous system regulating the biological rhythm of sleep , among many other tasks in which she participates as a mediator.

Despite this, histamine is well known for another less healthy reason, since is the main one involved in allergic reactions . These are reactions that appear before the invasion of the own organism by certain particles other people's to this, and it can be born with this characteristic or it can get to be developed in some concrete moment of the life, from which it is little frequent that it disappears . Much of the western population suffers from allergies, and one of its main treatments is to take antihistamines.

Now we will go into more details about some of these functions.

1. Inflammatory response

One of the main known functions of histamine occurs at the level of the immune system with the generation of inflammation, a defensive action that helps isolate the problem and fight against it . To be able to start it, mast cells and basophils, which store histamine inside, need to recognize an antibody, specifically Immunoglobulin E (IgE). Antibodies are molecules produced by other cells of the immune system (B lymphocytes), and are capable of join elements unknown to the body, the so-called antigens .

When a mast cell or basophil finds an IgE bound to an antigen, it initiates a response against it, releasing its contents, being among these the histamine. The amine acts on the nearby blood vessels, increasing the volume of blood by vasodilation and allowing the exit of liquid to the detected area. In addition, it acts as chemotaxis on the other leukocytes, that is, it attracts them to the place. All this results in inflammation , with its blush, heat, edema and itching, which are nothing more than an unwanted consequence of a process necessary to maintain a good state of health, or at least try.

2. Regulation of sleep

The histaminergic neurons, that is to say, that release histamine, are located in the posterior hypothalamus and tuberomamilar nucleus. From these areas, they extend into the prefrontal cortex of the brain.

As a neurotransmitter, histamine prolongs the waking state and reduces sleep , that is to say, that it acts opposite to melatonin. It is shown that when you are awake, these neurons are activated quickly. In time of relaxation or fatigue work less and are deactivated during sleep.

To stimulate wakefulness, histamine makes use of H1 receptors, while inhibiting it by means of H3 receptors. A) Yes, H1 agonist drugs and H3 antagonists are a good way to treat insomnia . Conversely, H1 antagonists and H3 agonists can be used to treat hypersomnia. This is why antihistamines, which are antagonists of the H1 receptors, have somnolence effects.

3. Sexual response

It has been seen that during orgasm there is a release of histamine in mast cells located in the genital area . Some sexual dysfunctions are associated with the lack of this release, such as the absence of orgasm in the relationship. Therefore, excess histamine can cause premature ejaculation.

The truth is that the receiver that is used to carry out this function is currently unknown and is subject of study; It is probably a new one and one of which will have to be known more as the investigations in this line advance.

Major disorders

Histamine is a messenger that is used to activate many tasks, but It is also involved in anomalies that affect our health .

Allergy and histamines

One of the main disorders and most commonly associated with the release of histamine is Type 1 hypersensitization, a phenomenon better known as allergy .

The allergy is an exaggerated response to a foreign agent called allergen , that in a normal situation should not originate this reaction. It is exaggerated, because very little is needed to generate the inflammatory response.

The typical symptoms of this anomaly, such as respiratory problems or lowering of blood pressure, are due to the effects of histamine on H1 receptors. Thus, antihistamines act at the level of this receptor, not allowing the binding of histamine to them .

Alimentary intolerance

Another anomaly associated with histamine is food intolerance. In this case, the problem occurs because the digestive system is unable to degrade the messenger found in food Due to the absence of the enzyme that carries out this task, DiAmina Oxidase (DAO). This may have been deactivated by a genetic or acquired dysfunction, in the same way that intolerance to dairy products occurs.

Here the symptoms are similar to those of an allergy , and is believed to occur because there is an excess of histamine in the body. The only difference is that there is no presence of IgE, since mast cells and basophils do not participate. Histamine intolerance can occur more frequently if you suffer from diseases related to the digestive system.

Bibliographic references:

  • Blandina, Patrizio; Munari, Leonardo; Provensi, Gustavo; Passani, Maria B. (2012). "Histamine neurons in the tuberomamillary nucleus: a whole center or distinct subpopulations?". Frontiers in Systems Neuroscience. 6
  • Marieb, E. (2001). Human anatomy & physiology. San Francisco: Benjamin Cummings. p. 414
  • Nieto-Alamilla, G; Márquez-Gómez, R; García-Gálvez, AM; Morales-Figueroa, GE; Arias-Montaño, JA (November 2016). "The Histamine H3 Receptor: Structure, Pharmacology, and Function". Molecular Pharmacology. 90 (5): 649-673.
  • Noszal, B .; Kraszni, M .; Racz, A. (2004). "Histamine: fundamentals of biological chemistry". In Falus, A .; Grosman, N .; Darvas, Z. Histamine: Biology and Medical Aspects. Budapest: SpringMed. pp. 15-28.
  • Paiva, T. B .; Tominaga, M .; Paiva, A. C. M. (1970). "Ionization of histamine, N-acetylhistamine, and their iodinated derivatives". Journal of Medicinal Chemistry. 13 (4): 689-692.

Histamine Intolerance, Leaky Gut & Food Sensitivities w/ Deb Heald, ND (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Histamine: fonctions et troubles associés

Histamine: fonctions et troubles associés

Septembre 9, 2022

L'histamine est une molécule qui agit dans notre corps à la fois comme une hormone et un neurotransmetteur, pour réguler différentes fonctions biologiques.

Il est présent en quantités importantes chez les plantes et les animaux, et est utilisé par les cellules comme messager . En outre, il joue un rôle très important aussi bien dans les allergies que dans les cas d'intolérance alimentaire et dans les processus du système immunitaire en général. Voyons quels sont leurs secrets.

Histoire de sa découverte

L’histamine a été découverte pour la première fois en 1907 par Windaus et Vogt, dans une expérience l’a synthétisée à partir d’acide imidazole propionique, bien qu’elle n’ait pas su qu’elle existait naturellement avant 1910, quand ils ont constaté que le champignon ergot l’avait fabriqué.


À partir de cela, ils ont commencé à étudier leurs effets biologiques. Mais ce n’est qu’en 1927 que l’histamine a finalement été découverte chez l’animal et dans le corps humain . Cela s'est produit lorsque les physiologistes Best, Dale, Dudley et Thorpe ont réussi à isoler la molécule d'un foie et d'un poumon frais. Et c'est ici qu'elle a reçu son nom puisqu'il s'agit d'une amine présente de manière significative dans les tissus (histo).

Synthèse d'histamine

L'histamine est un B-amino-éthyl-imidazole, une molécule fabriquée à partir de l'acide aminé essentiel, l'histidine, à savoir: cet acide aminé ne peut pas être généré dans le corps humain et doit être obtenu par l'alimentation . La réaction utilisée pour sa synthèse est une décarboxylation, catalysée par l'enzyme L-histidine décarboxylase.


Les principales cellules qui fabriquent l’histamine sont les mastocytes et les basophiles. , deux composants du système immunitaire qui le stockent à l'intérieur à l'intérieur de granulés, avec d'autres substances. Mais ils ne sont pas les seuls à le synthétiser, il en va de même des cellules entérochromaffines de la région du pylore et des neurones de la région de l'hypothalamus.

Mécanisme d'action

L'histamine est un messager qui agit à la fois comme une hormone et un neurotransmetteur, selon le tissu libéré. En tant que tel, les fonctions qu'il active seront réalisées également grâce à l'action des récepteurs à l'histamine . Il existe jusqu'à quatre types différents parmi ces derniers, bien qu'il puisse y en avoir davantage.

1. récepteur H1

Ce type de récepteur est distribué dans tout le corps. Il est situé dans le muscle lisse des bronches et de l'intestin , où la réception d'histamine provoque une bronchoconstriction et une augmentation des mouvements de l'intestin, respectivement. Il augmente également la production de mucus par les bronches.


Un autre emplacement de ce récepteur se trouve dans les cellules qui forment les vaisseaux sanguins, où il provoque une vasodilatation et une augmentation de la perméabilité. Les leucocytes (c'est-à-dire les cellules du système immunitaire) possèdent également des récepteurs H1 sur sa surface, qui servent à traiter la zone où l'histamine a été libérée.

Dans le système nerveux central (SNC), l'histamine capture également l'histamine dans différentes zones, ce qui stimule la libération d'autres neurotransmetteurs et agit dans différents processus, tels que la régulation du sommeil.

2. récepteur H2

Ce type de récepteur à l'histamine il est situé dans un groupe de cellules spécifiques du tube digestif, en particulier les cellules pariétales de l'estomac . Sa fonction principale est la production et la sécrétion d'acide gastrique (HCl). La réception de l'hormone stimule la libération de l'acide pour la digestion.

TIl est également situé dans les cellules du système immunitaire, telles que les lymphocytes. , favorisant sa réponse et sa prolifération; ou dans les mastocytes eux-mêmes et les basophiles, stimulant la libération de plus de substances.

3. récepteur H3

Il s’agit d’un récepteur ayant des effets négatifs, c’est-à-dire qu’il inhibe les processus lorsqu’il reçoit de l’histamine. . Dans le SNC, la libération de différents neurotransmetteurs, tels que l'acétylcholine, la sérotonine ou l'histamine elle-même, diminue. Dans l'estomac, inhibe la libération d'acide gastrique et dans les poumons, empêche la bronchoconstriction. Ainsi, comme pour beaucoup d'autres éléments de l'organisme du même type, ne remplit pas une fonction fixe, mais en a plusieurs et ceux-ci dépendent en grande partie de son emplacement et du contexte dans lequel il travaille.

4. récepteur H4

C'est le dernier récepteur de l'histamine découverte et on ne sait toujours pas quels processus actifs . Selon certaines indications, il agit probablement dans le recrutement des cellules sanguines, car il se trouve dans la rate et le thymus.Une autre hypothèse est qu’elle participe aux allergies et à l’asthme, car elle se situe dans la membrane des éosinophiles et des neutrophiles, cellules du système immunitaire, ainsi que dans la bronche, de sorte qu’elle est exposée à de nombreuses particules provenant de générer une réaction en chaîne dans le corps.

Principales fonctions de l'histamine

Parmi ses fonctions de performance, nous trouvons qu’il est essentiel de favoriser la réponse du système immunitaire et qui fonctionne au niveau du système digestif régulant les sécrétions gastriques et la motilité de l'intestin. Aussi agit sur le système nerveux central en régulant le rythme biologique du sommeil , parmi beaucoup d’autres tâches auxquelles elle participe en tant que médiateur.

Malgré cela, l’histamine est bien connue pour une autre raison moins saine, car est le principal impliqué dans les réactions allergiques . Ce sont des réactions qui apparaissent avant l’invasion de son propre organisme par certaines particules d’autrui à cela, et il peut naître avec cette caractéristique ou il peut arriver à se développer à un moment concret de la vie, de lequel il est peu fréquent qu’il disparaisse . Une grande partie de la population occidentale souffre d'allergies et l'un de ses principaux traitements consiste à prendre des antihistaminiques.

Nous allons maintenant entrer dans plus de détails sur certaines de ces fonctions.

1. Réponse inflammatoire

L’une des principales fonctions connues de l’histamine se situe au niveau du système immunitaire avec la génération de l'inflammation, une action défensive qui aide à isoler le problème et à le combattre . Pour pouvoir commencer, les mastocytes et les basophiles, qui stockent l'histamine à l'intérieur, doivent reconnaître un anticorps, en particulier l'immunoglobuline E (IgE). Les anticorps sont des molécules produites par d’autres cellules du système immunitaire (lymphocytes B) et capables de joindre des éléments inconnus du corps, les soi-disant antigènes .

Lorsqu'un mastocyte ou un basophile trouve une IgE liée à un antigène, il initie une réponse contre celui-ci, en libérant son contenu, et parmi ceux-ci l'histamine. L'aminé agit sur les vaisseaux sanguins à proximité, augmentant le volume de sang par vasodilatation et permettant la sortie du liquide dans la zone détectée. De plus, il agit comme un chimiotactisme sur les autres leucocytes, c'est-à-dire qu'il les attire à l'endroit. Tout cela entraîne une inflammation , avec son rougissement, sa chaleur, son œdème et ses démangeaisons, qui ne sont qu’une conséquence indésirable d’un processus nécessaire pour maintenir un bon état de santé ou au moins pour essayer.

2. Régulation du sommeil

Les neurones histaminergiques, c'est-à-dire qui libèrent de l'histamine, sont situés dans l'hypothalamus postérieur et le noyau tuberomamilaire. À partir de ces zones, ils s'étendent dans le cortex préfrontal du cerveau.

En tant que neurotransmetteur, l’histamine prolonge l’état de veille et réduit le sommeil , c’est-à-dire qu’elle agit en opposition à la mélatonine. Il est démontré que lorsque vous êtes éveillé, ces neurones sont activés rapidement. En période de relaxation ou de fatigue, travaillez moins et sont désactivés pendant le sommeil.

Pour stimuler l'éveil, l'histamine utilise les récepteurs H1 tout en l'inhibant au moyen des récepteurs H3. Ainsi, Les médicaments agonistes H1 et les antagonistes H3 sont un bon moyen de traiter l'insomnie . Inversement, les antagonistes H1 et les agonistes H3 peuvent être utilisés pour traiter l'hypersomnie. C'est pourquoi les antihistaminiques, antagonistes des récepteurs H1, ont des effets de somnolence.

3. réponse sexuelle

On a vu que pendant l'orgasme, une libération d'histamine se produit dans les mastocytes situés dans la région génitale . Certains dysfonctionnements sexuels sont associés à l'absence de cette libération, tels que l'absence d'orgasme dans la relation. Par conséquent, un excès d'histamine peut provoquer une éjaculation prématurée.

La vérité est que le récepteur utilisé pour cette fonction est actuellement inconnu et fait l’objet d’une étude; C'est probablement un nouveau et l'un d'entre eux devra être connu plus avant que les enquêtes dans cette ligne avancent.

Troubles majeurs

L'histamine est un messager utilisé pour activer de nombreuses tâches, mais Il est également impliqué dans les anomalies qui affectent notre santé .

Allergie et histamines

L’un des principaux troubles associés le plus souvent à la libération d’histamine est la Hypersensibilisation de type 1, un phénomène mieux connu sous le nom d'allergie .

L'allergie est une réponse exagérée à un agent étranger appelé allergène , que dans une situation normale ne devrait pas provoquer cette réaction. C'est exagéré, car il ne faut que très peu pour générer la réponse inflammatoire.

Les symptômes typiques de cette anomalie, tels que des problèmes respiratoires ou une baisse de la pression artérielle, sont dus aux effets de l'histamine sur les récepteurs H1. Pour lui, les antihistaminiques agissent au niveau de ce récepteur, ne permettant pas la liaison de l'histamine à ceux-ci .

Intolérance alimentaire

L'intolérance alimentaire est une autre anomalie associée à l'histamine. Dans ce cas, le problème se produit parce que le système digestif est incapable de dégrader le messager présent dans les aliments En raison de l’absence de l’enzyme responsable de cette tâche, la DiAmina Oxidase (DAO). Cela peut avoir été désactivé par un dysfonctionnement génétique ou acquis, de la même manière qu'une intolérance aux produits laitiers.

Ici les symptômes sont similaires à ceux d'une allergie , et on pense qu’il se produit parce qu’il ya un excès d’histamine dans le corps. La seule différence est l'absence d'IgE, car les mastocytes et les basophiles ne participent pas. L'intolérance à l'histamine peut survenir plus fréquemment si vous souffrez de maladies liées au système digestif.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Blandina, Patrizio; Munari, Leonardo; Provensi, Gustavo; Passani, Maria B. (2012). "Les neurones histaminiques dans le noyau tuberomamillaire: un centre entier ou des sous-populations distinctes?". Frontiers in Neuroscience Systems. 6
  • Marieb, E. (2001). Anatomie humaine et physiologie. San Francisco: Benjamin Cummings. p. 414
  • Nieto-Alamilla, G; Márquez-Gómez, R; García-Gálvez, AM; Morales-Figueroa, GE; Arias-Montaño, JA (novembre 2016). "Le Récepteur Histamine H3: Structure, Pharmacologie et Fonction". Pharmacologie Moléculaire. 90 (5): 649-673.
  • Noszal, B .; Kraszni, M .; Racz, A. (2004). "Histamine: principes de base de la chimie biologique". Dans Falus, A .; Grosman, N .; Darvas, Z. Histamine: Biologie et Aspects Médicaux. Budapest: SpringMed. pp. 15-28.
  • Paiva, T. B .; Tominaga, M.; Paiva, A.C.M. (1970). "Ionisation de l'histamine, de la N-acétylhistamine et de leurs dérivés iodés". Journal de chimie médicinale. 13 (4): 689-692.

Les 10 risques que vous encourrez si vous ne buvez pas assez d’eau (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes