yes, therapy helps!
What are third-generation therapies?

What are third-generation therapies?

June 14, 2024

It is estimated that, throughout his life, one in four people will suffer from some type of mental disorder , being the most frequent those linked to anxiety and depression. The treatment of these problems and disorders can be addressed in many ways from the psychology, one of the most common being the use of behavior modification techniques.

Within these techniques, the use of third-generation therapies is becoming more frequent , which modify the behavior while working aspects such as the patient's relationship with the problem and the context in which the aforementioned lives.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Behavior modification therapies

When we talk about third generation therapies, we are talking about one of the most recent types of behavior therapy, elaborated taking into account the limitations of its predecessors. To understand what they are, it is necessary to first remember what a technique or behavior therapy is


The person with a mental disorder usually experiences a deep discomfort due to the realization or the effects of the realization of behavioral and thought patterns that do not efficiently serve to explain or interact with the world, resulting in a non-adaptive behavior and being limited in work and / or thought.

Behavior modification or behavior techniques are based on the idea that it is possible to modify a person's behavioral and cognitive patterns by applying different techniques based on learning . Although the past is taken into account when analyzing how the current situation has been reached, the work to be done focuses on the current problems and symptoms and how to change them.


Modifying such patterns or acquiring others will allow the subject can have a more adaptive behavior, fighting and facing the symptoms of his problem in a more or less direct way and allowing the relief of the suffering of the subject and the optimization of their abilities and functionality as a human being.

  • Related article: Behavior Therapies: first, second and third wave

What are third-generation therapies?

The therapies of third generation or the third wave of behavioral therapies are those set of therapies and treatments created for the purpose of performing a modification of the patient's behavior but from a global approach and close to the person rather than the problem, taking into account the patient's experience of their problem and how the social and cultural context have produced that their behavior is not very adaptive.


Unlike other behavior modification techniques, third-generation therapies are based on the power of context and dialogue to achieve this modification through the acceptance of the problem by both the patient and the therapist.

His objectives

The main objective of this type of therapies it happens to change the way to perceive the problem on the part of the treated individual , without trying extreme control or extirpating their behaviors as if they were something to be ashamed of, but helping them to observe and rethink the relationship between these behaviors and the functionality that has been given to them, as well as their own connection with their habitual functioning, modifying them from the acceptation.

That is to say, there is a need to see treatment not as a struggle against symptoms, but rather as a vital reorientation that allows generating significant, real and permanent changes.

The third generation therapies they fill in some of the shortcomings of their predecessors , such as the lack of focus on the specific aspects of treatment that produce improvement, the provocation of rigid behaviors that in turn may be less adaptive and the little attention given to the patient's habitual communicative context, as well as the perception of one's own suffering .

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

Some relevant aspects of these therapies

Third generation therapies have a series of characteristics of great interest in the treatment of psychological problems .

In the first place, they consider that the behavior of an individual is not fully explicable if its context is not taken into account. If the treatment is reduced to treat symptoms directly without taking into account the variables that make the behavior something useful or necessary for the patient, the generalization of the treatment to real life will be complicated for the individual in treatment.

Another aspect to consider is that third-generation therapies they take into account the modulating influence of language , the fact that what other people tell us and what feedback they give us regarding our behavior will make us see the behaviors carried out in one way or another.

The therapeutic relationship

Linked to the previous point, it is remarkable the fact that third generation therapies give a fundamental role to the therapeutic relationship .

Although this is common to all or almost all types of psychological therapy, in the case of third-generation therapies, this relationship is seen as an element or instrument of change per se, as a communicative and social interaction takes place that can modify the conduct directly or indirectly. Other types of therapy, although they consider the therapeutic relationship fundamental, see it more as the means by which the patient applies the techniques and not as something that produces a modification by itself.

Beyond the symptoms

Finally, and as we have seen previously, treatment from third-generation therapies involves working with deep aspects of the person, going beyond the presence of symptoms to act in subjectivity and personal perception in order to act on aspects such as life goals, self-perception or feelings and emotions caused by both the problem situations and other life circumstances that may have led to the disorder.

Three third-generation therapies

Although they are not the only ones (there are also others such as cognitive therapy based on Mindfulness, behavioral activation therapy or integrated couples' behavioral therapy), three examples of third-generation therapies are briefly explained below.

Functional Analytic Therapy

This therapy focuses on the functional analysis of behavioral patterns , exploring not only the problem behavior but also the purpose of the behavior and that other behaviors are carried out for the same purpose and with special emphasis on the therapeutic relationship and verbal communication, while taking into account that the behavior is determined by a lot of variables.

Is about help the client identify clinically relevant behaviors , help analyze what is behind, provoke such behaviors and adaptive alternatives, genuinely reinforce those that imply an improvement and help to explain and interpret the behavior so that it can be applied to other vital contexts.

Acceptance and commitment therapy

This technique is one of the best known among third generation therapies, its main objective being to help the patient to discover the fundamental values ​​of the patient and help him accept the pain of the search for a happy life. It focuses mainly on work on values ​​without evading or pathologizing suffering .

Through self-acceptance, the observation of what we think and what beliefs are provoked by these thoughts and the focus on what is current, we seek to guide the patient to become involved and commit to follow their own values ​​regardless of what society dictates, living as one believes that one must live.

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy

Another of the best known therapies within the third generation, dialectical behavioral therapy has been designed in order to help patients with serious emotional problems that induce them to self-destructive behaviors, such as self-mutilation or suicide attempts.

Currently one of the therapies of choice when dealing with the Personality Disorder, is based on the acceptance and validation of the patient's suffering to work dialectically and through various modules the control and management of extreme and unstable emotions. The patient is helped to trust their emotions and thoughts and is helped find factors that push you to want to move forward and to improve their skills regarding emotional self-regulation, tolerance to discomfort, self-observation and management of interpersonal relationships.

Bibliographic references:

  • Almond, M.T. (2012). Psychotherapies CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Hayes, S.C. (2004). Acceptance and commitment therapy, relational frame theory, and the third wave of behavioral and cognitive therapies. Behavior therapy, 35, 639-665.
  • Mañas, I. (s.f.). New psychological therapies: The third wave of behavior therapies or third generation therapies. Psychology Gazette, 40; 26-34. University of Almería

Amazon Echo Dot 3 review: Bigger, better, still 50 bucks (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que sont les thérapies de troisième génération?

Que sont les thérapies de troisième génération?

Mai 16, 2022

On estime que, tout au long de sa vie, une personne sur quatre souffrira d'un trouble mental , étant les plus fréquents ceux liés à l’anxiété et à la dépression. Le traitement de ces problèmes et troubles peut être abordé de nombreuses manières de la part de la psychologie, l’une des plus courantes étant l’utilisation de techniques de modification du comportement.

Au sein de ces techniques, l'utilisation de thérapies de troisième génération devient de plus en plus fréquente , qui modifient le comportement tout en travaillant, tels que la relation du patient avec le problème et le contexte dans lequel vit la personne susmentionnée.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Thérapies de modification du comportement

Lorsque nous parlons de thérapies de troisième génération, nous parlons de l’un des types les plus récents de thérapie comportementale, élaboré en tenant compte des limites de ses prédécesseurs. Pour comprendre ce qu’ils sont, il faut d’abord se rappeler ce qu’est une technique ou une thérapie comportementale.


La personne atteinte d'un trouble mental éprouve généralement un profond malaise en raison de la réalisation ou des effets de la réalisation de schémas comportementaux et de pensées qui ne servent pas efficacement à expliquer ou à interagir avec le monde, ce qui entraîne un comportement non adaptatif et est limité dans le travail et / ou la pensée.

Les techniques de modification ou de comportement du comportement reposent sur l’idée qu’il est possible de modifier les schémas comportementaux et cognitifs d’une personne en appliquant: différentes techniques basées sur l'apprentissage . Bien que le passé soit pris en compte lors de l'analyse de la manière dont la situation actuelle a été atteinte, le travail à effectuer est axé sur les problèmes et symptômes actuels et sur la façon de les modifier.


Modifier de tels modèles ou en acquérir d’autres permettra au sujet peut avoir un comportement plus adaptatif, se battre et faire face aux symptômes de son problème de manière plus ou moins directe et permettant le soulagement de la souffrance du sujet et l'optimisation de ses capacités et de sa fonctionnalité en tant qu'être humain.

  • Article associé: Thérapies comportementales: première, deuxième et troisième vagues

Que sont les thérapies de troisième génération?

Les thérapies de troisième génération ou de la troisième vague de thérapies comportementales sont ces thérapies et traitements créés dans le but de réaliser une modification du comportement du patient mais à partir d'une approche globale et proche de la personne plutôt que du problème, en tenant compte de l'expérience du patient face à son problème et de la façon dont le contexte social et culturel a fait en sorte que son comportement n'est pas très adaptatif.


Contrairement aux autres techniques de modification du comportement, les thérapies de troisième génération reposent sur le pouvoir du contexte et du dialogue pour parvenir à cette modification grâce à l'acceptation du problème par le patient et le thérapeute.

Vos objectifs

L'objectif principal de ce type de thérapies il arrive de changer la façon de percevoir le problème de la part de l'individu traité , sans essayer d’exercer un contrôle extrême ni extirper leurs comportements comme s’ils avaient quelque chose à avoir honte, mais en les aidant à observer et à repenser la relation entre ces comportements et la fonctionnalité qui leur a été donnée, ainsi que leur propre lien avec leur fonctionnement habituel, en les modifiant l'acceptation

En d'autres termes, il est nécessaire de considérer le traitement non pas comme une lutte contre les symptômes, mais plutôt comme une réorientation vitale permettant de générer des changements significatifs, réels et permanents.

Les thérapies de troisième génération ils comblent certaines des lacunes de leurs prédécesseurs , comme le manque de concentration sur les aspects spécifiques du traitement qui produisent une amélioration, la provocation de comportements rigides qui peuvent être moins adaptatifs et le peu d'attention accordée au contexte de communication habituel du patient, ainsi que la perception de sa propre souffrance .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-elle basée?"

Quelques aspects pertinents de ces thérapies

Les thérapies de troisième génération ont une série de caractéristiques d'un grand intérêt pour le traitement des problèmes psychologiques .

En premier lieu, ils considèrent que le comportement d'un individu n'est pas pleinement explicable si son contexte n'est pas pris en compte. Si le traitement est réduit pour traiter directement les symptômes sans prendre en compte les variables qui rendent le comportement utile ou nécessaire pour le patient, la généralisation du traitement à la vie réelle sera compliquée pour l'individu suivi du traitement.

Un autre aspect à considérer est que les thérapies de troisième génération ils prennent en compte l'influence modulante de la langue , le fait que ce que les autres nous disent et les réactions qu’ils nous donnent au sujet de notre comportement nous fera voir les comportements adoptés d’une manière ou d’une autre.

La relation thérapeutique

Lié au point précédent, il est remarquable que les thérapies de troisième génération donner un rôle fondamental à la relation thérapeutique .

Bien que cela soit commun à tous ou presque tous les types de thérapie psychologique, dans le cas des thérapies de troisième génération, cette relation est considérée comme un élément ou un instrument de changement en soi, dans la mesure où une interaction communicative et sociale se produit qui peut modifier le comportement directement ou indirectement. Les autres types de thérapie, bien qu'ils considèrent la relation thérapeutique comme fondamentale, la considèrent plutôt comme le moyen par lequel le patient applique les techniques et non comme quelque chose qui produit une modification par lui-même.

Au-delà des symptômes

Enfin, et comme nous l’avons vu précédemment, le traitement à partir de thérapies de troisième génération implique de travailler avec les aspects profonds de la personne, aller au-delà de la présence de symptômes pour agir dans la subjectivité et la perception personnelle afin d'agir sur des aspects tels que les objectifs de la vie, la perception de soi ou les sentiments et les émotions causés à la fois par les situations problématiques et par d'autres circonstances de la vie pouvant avoir conduit au désordre.

Trois thérapies de troisième génération

Bien qu'ils ne soient pas les seuls (il en existe d'autres, tels que la thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience, la thérapie d'activation comportementale ou la thérapie comportementale intégrée des couples), trois exemples de thérapies de troisième génération sont brièvement expliqués ci-dessous.

Thérapie analytique fonctionnelle

Cette thérapie se concentre sur l'analyse fonctionnelle des schémas comportementaux , en explorant non seulement le comportement problématique, mais aussi le but du comportement et le fait que d’autres comportements sont mis en oeuvre dans le même but et en mettant un accent particulier sur la relation thérapeutique et la communication verbale, tout en tenant compte du fait que le comportement est déterminé par: beaucoup de variables.

Il s'agit de aider le client à identifier les comportements pertinents sur le plan clinique , aident à analyser ce qui se cache, à provoquer de tels comportements et alternatives adaptatives, renforcent véritablement ceux qui impliquent une amélioration et aident à expliquer et à interpréter le comportement afin qu’il puisse être appliqué à d’autres contextes vitaux.

Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement

Cette technique est l’une des plus connues parmi les thérapies de troisième génération, son objectif principal étant d’aider le patient à découvrir ses valeurs fondamentales et de l’aider à accepter la douleur de la recherche d’une vie heureuse. Il se concentre principalement sur travailler sur des valeurs sans éluder ou pathologiser la souffrance .

Par l’acceptation de soi, par l’observation de ce que nous pensons et des croyances suscitées par ces pensées et par la focalisation sur ce qui est actuel, nous cherchons à guider le patient pour qu’il s’engage et s’engage à respecter ses propres valeurs, indépendamment de ce que la société dicte on croit qu'il faut vivre.

Thérapie comportementale dialectique

Une autre des thérapies les plus connues de la troisième génération, la thérapie comportementale dialectique, a été conçue pour aider les patients ayant de graves problèmes émotionnels qui les poussent à adopter des comportements autodestructeurs, tels que l'automutilation ou les tentatives de suicide.

Actuellement, l’un des traitements de choix face au trouble de la personnalité repose sur l’acceptation et la validation de la souffrance du patient afin de travailler dialectiquement et au travers de différents modules le contrôle et la gestion d’émotions extrêmes et instables. On aide le patient à faire confiance à ses émotions et à ses pensées et on l'aide trouver des facteurs qui vous poussent à vouloir aller de l'avant et d'améliorer leurs compétences en matière d'autorégulation émotionnelle, de tolérance à l'inconfort, d'observation de soi et de gestion des relations interpersonnelles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amande, M.T. (2012). Psychothérapies Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Hayes, S.C. (2004). Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement, la théorie du cadre relationnel et la troisième vague de thérapies comportementales et cognitives. Thérapie comportementale, 35, 639-665.
  • Mañas, I. (s.f.). Nouvelles thérapies psychologiques: La troisième vague de thérapies comportementales ou de thérapies de troisième génération. Gazette de psychologie, 40; 26-34. Université d'Almería

SVT - cours - La transmission du programme génétique de génération en génération (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes