yes, therapy helps!
Microglia: main functions and associated diseases

Microglia: main functions and associated diseases

June 21, 2024

The human immune system is made up of many different structures and processes. In this function are involved organs such as the bone marrow, the thymus, the spleen or the lymph nodes, which are essential for the production of immune cells.

In this article we will describe functions and diseases related to microglia , one of these cells.

  • Related article: "Glial cells: much more than the glue of neurons"

What is microglia?

Microglia is a type of glial cell that is found in the central nervous system. The term is used to talk about a set of cells that perform similar functions, mainly related to immune defense and phagocytosis of potentially harmful elements for neurons.


The term "microglia" was coined in 1920 by Pío del Río Hortega, a disciple of the neuroscience pioneer Santiago Ramón y Cajal. The immune functions of these cells are known from the time of their discovery, although knowledge about their characteristics has advanced in recent decades.

It is a very versatile type of glia: the structure of the microglia varies according to the functions that each cell fulfills , the place where you are and the chemical signals you receive from neighboring neurons. We speak of "phenotype" to refer to the concrete form that each microglia adopts.

They originate from progenitor cells of the same lineage as those that make up the blood, probably located in the bone marrow or in the yolk sac attached to the embryo. Some of these cells migrate to the brain during intrauterine development; once they have reached this structure they differentiate as microglia.


The glial cells

Glial cells or glia are located in the nervous system , that is, in the brain, in the spinal cord and in the cranial and spinal nerves. They support neurons in different ways: they give them physical support, nourish and eliminate pathogens, damaged tissues and waste products, favor the transmission of neuronal impulses through the formation of myelin ...

Among the cell types that are classified as glia, the astrocytes are fundamental for the structure and functioning of the blood-brain barrier, the oligodendrocytes, which create the myelin sheaths of the central nervous system, and the Schwann cells, which do so in the peripheral.

Functions of these cells

Microglia is known primarily for its immune and hygienic roles ; however, it also fulfills other varied functions, such as maintaining the balance of the extracellular environment of the nervous system or the repair of damaged tissues.


1. Phagocytosis (waste disposal)

These cells phagocytose ("devour") different types of compounds of the central nervous system: injured and dead cells, residues, viruses, bacteria, neurofibrillary tangles , neuritic plaques ... After phagocytosis both the microglia and its target are inactive, thus decreasing the risk of altering the functioning of the nervous system.

2. Maintenance of homeostasis

Microglia send signals through cytokines to other cell types, such as neurons, astrocytes and T lymphocytes, which are also involved in the immune system. Among the consequences of this function is the regulation of the homeostasis of the extracellular medium, as well as the promotion of inflammation.

3. Inflammation and repair of damages

When a tissue of the central nervous system is damaged or infected , the microglia facilitates inflammation; In this way, the repair process of the injured cells begins, along which these cells are very important.

In addition, if damage to the spinal cord occurs, the microglia removes the affected neuronal branches, allowing new nerve connections to be created.

4. Presentation of antigens

When a tissue is inflamed, the T lymphocytes cross the blood-brain barrier and enter the central nervous system. Once here they unite with microglia cells that have phagocytosed antigens (particles from which antibodies are produced); This enhances the elimination of threats and the recovery of injuries.

5. Cell destruction (cytotoxicity)

Microglia have the ability to destroy bacteria, viruses, infected neurons and other cell types by releasing hydrogen peroxide and nitric oxide. Sometimes this response is excessively aggressive and damages significant amounts of healthy tissues, causing even greater brain damage.

Diseases related to microglia

The dysfunctions in the microglia are associated to very diverse alterations. These cells seem to be involved in a relevant way in neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's , in which neuritic plaques and neurofibrillary tangles accumulate in the brain: the cytotoxicity of the microglia attacks healthy neurons adjacent to the damaged tissue.

Microglia cells play a similar role in the development of dementia due to HIV infection, the AIDS virus. In fact, this disease also directly affects the microglia, infecting it and promoting neurotoxicity. Microglia also intervenes in other infectious diseases, such as herpetic encephalitis and bacterial meningitis.

The investigation reveals that the glia is important in the appearance of neuropathic pain , which manifests itself in alterations such as allodynia or phantom limb syndrome. This is because they are activated in response to nerve damage and promote the chronic release of chemical compounds associated with the sensation of pain.


Microglia | Nervous system physiology | NCLEX-RN | Khan Academy (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Microglie: principales fonctions et maladies associées

Microglie: principales fonctions et maladies associées

Janvier 7, 2023

Le système immunitaire humain est composé de nombreuses structures et processus différents. Dans cette fonction, des organes tels que la moelle osseuse, le thymus, la rate ou les ganglions lymphatiques sont essentiels pour la production de cellules immunitaires.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire fonctions et maladies liées à la microglie , une de ces cellules.

  • Article connexe: "Les cellules gliales: bien plus que la colle des neurones"

Qu'est-ce que la microglie?

La microglie est un type de cellule gliale qui se trouve dans le système nerveux central. Le terme est utilisé pour parler d'un ensemble de cellules qui remplissent des fonctions similaires, principalement liées à défense immunitaire et phagocytose d'éléments potentiellement nocifs pour les neurones.


Le terme "microglie" a été inventé en 1920 par Pío del Río Hortega, disciple du pionnier des neurosciences, Santiago Ramón y Cajal. Les fonctions immunitaires de ces cellules sont connues dès leur découverte, bien que leurs caractéristiques aient évolué au cours des dernières décennies.

C'est un type de glie très polyvalent: la structure de la microglie varie en fonction des fonctions que chaque cellule remplit , l’endroit où vous vous trouvez et les signaux chimiques que vous recevez des neurones voisins. Nous parlons de "phénotype" pour désigner la forme concrète que chaque microglie adopte.

Ils proviennent de cellules progénitrices de la même lignée que celles qui composent le sang, probablement situées dans la moelle osseuse ou dans le sac vitellin attaché à l'embryon. Certaines de ces cellules migrent vers le cerveau au cours du développement intra-utérin; une fois qu'ils ont atteint cette structure, ils se différencient en microglies.


Les cellules gliales

Les cellules gliales ou gliales sont situées dans le système nerveux , c’est-à-dire dans le cerveau, dans la moelle épinière et dans les nerfs crâniens et spinaux. Ils soutiennent les neurones de différentes manières: ils leur apportent un soutien physique, nourrissent et éliminent les agents pathogènes, les tissus endommagés et les déchets, favorisent la transmission des impulsions neuronales par la formation de myéline ...

Parmi les types de cellules classées dans la glie, les astrocytes sont fondamentaux pour la structure et le fonctionnement de la barrière hémato-encéphalique, les oligodendrocytes, qui créent les gaines de myéline du système nerveux central, et les cellules de Schwann, qui le périphérique.

Fonctions de ces cellules

La microglie est connue principalement pour ses rôles immunitaires et hygiéniques ; Cependant, il remplit également d'autres fonctions variées, telles que le maintien de l'équilibre de l'environnement extracellulaire du système nerveux ou la réparation des tissus endommagés.


1. Phagocytose (élimination des déchets)

Ces cellules phagocytent ("dévorent") différents types de composés du système nerveux central: cellules blessées et mortes, résidus, virus, bactéries, enchevêtrements neurofibrillaires , plaques neuritiques ... Après la phagocytose, la microglie et sa cible sont inactives, ce qui réduit le risque de modification du fonctionnement du système nerveux.

2. Maintien de l'homéostasie

Les microglies envoient des signaux via des cytokines à d'autres types de cellules, tels que les neurones, les astrocytes et les lymphocytes T, qui sont également impliqués dans le système immunitaire. Parmi les conséquences de cette fonction, il y a la régulation de l'homéostasie du milieu extracellulaire, ainsi que la promotion de l'inflammation.

3. Inflammation et réparation des dommages

Lorsqu'un tissu du système nerveux central est endommagé ou infecté , la microglie facilite l'inflammation; De cette façon, le processus de réparation des cellules blessées commence, le long duquel ces cellules sont très importantes.

De plus, si la moelle épinière est endommagée, la microglie élimine les branches neuronales touchées, ce qui permet la création de nouvelles connexions nerveuses.

4. Présentation des antigènes

Lorsqu'un tissu est enflammé, les lymphocytes T franchissent la barrière hémato-encéphalique et pénètrent dans le système nerveux central. Une fois ici, ils s'unissent à cellules de la microglie ayant des antigènes phagocytés (particules à partir desquelles des anticorps sont produits); Cela améliore l'élimination des menaces et la récupération des blessures.

5. Destruction cellulaire (cytotoxicité)

Les microglies ont la capacité de détruire les bactéries, les virus, les neurones infectés et d'autres types de cellules en libérant du peroxyde d'hydrogène et de l'oxyde nitrique. Parfois, cette réponse est excessivement agressive et endommage des quantités importantes de tissus sains, provoquant des lésions cérébrales encore plus importantes.

Maladies liées à la microglie

Les dysfonctionnements de la microglie sont associés à des altérations très diverses. Ces cellules semblent être impliquées de manière pertinente dans maladies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer , dans lequel des plaques neuritiques et des enchevêtrements neurofibrillaires s’accumulent dans le cerveau: la cytotoxicité de la microglie attaque les neurones sains adjacents au tissu endommagé.

Les cellules microgliales jouent un rôle similaire dans le développement de la démence due à l'infection à VIH, le virus du SIDA. En fait, cette maladie affecte également directement la microglie, l'infectant et favorisant la neurotoxicité. La microglie intervient également dans d'autres maladies infectieuses, telles que l'encéphalite herpétique et la méningite bactérienne.

L'enquête révèle que la glie est important dans l'apparition de la douleur neuropathique , qui se manifeste par des altérations telles que l’allodynie ou le syndrome du membre fantôme. En effet, ils sont activés en réponse aux lésions nerveuses et favorisent la libération chronique de composés chimiques associés à la sensation de douleur.


Le microbiote intestinal humain : de la santé à la maladie. Philippe Sansonetti Institut Pasteur (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes