yes, therapy helps!
Differences between dementia and Alzheimer's

Differences between dementia and Alzheimer's

May 23, 2024

There is a fairly widespread confusion between the term "dementia" and Alzheimer's disease. Although it is the most common within this group of disorders associated with pathological cognitive deterioration, it is necessary to clarify in a specific way which ones differences between Alzheimer's disease and the other types of dementia that exist.

In this article, we will analyze what distinguishes the most frequent cause of dementia from the three that follow it in prevalence: vascular dementia, dementia with Lewy bodies and frontotemporal dementias. A fourth very common type is mixed dementia, which combines the signs of Alzheimer's with those of vascular dementia.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Alzheimer's disease: main features

The DSM-IV defines dementia as a set of Cognitive deficits that include a significant deterioration of memory , in addition to aphasia, apraxia, agnosia and / or alterations in executive functions, such as planning and sequencing. Although many of the diseases that cause dementia have a progressive character, this is not always the case.


Dementia due to Alzheimer's disease is the most common of all. At physiopathological level, it is characterized by presence of neurofibrillary tangles (conglomerates of tau proteins) and neuritic plaques or senile, deposits of beta-amyloid peptides whose presence is associated with neuronal degeneration and hyperproliferation of glial cells.

From a symptomatic point of view, the main peculiarity of Alzheimer's disease with respect to other causes of dementia is that it starts affecting the temporal and parietal lobes of the brain. This explains the early signs of Alzheimer's: learning and recent memory problems, personality changes and depressive symptoms.


Cognitive deterioration continues to progress irreversibly. Between 3 and 5 years after the onset of the disease the judgment capacity is altered, the disorientation is noticeably worsened (especially spatial, which causes affected people to be lost in the street) and psychotic symptoms may appear as hallucinations and delusions.

The final phase of Alzheimer's disease is characterized, among other signs, by autopsychic disorientation, lack of recognition of relatives, complete loss of language and increasing difficulties to walk until apraxia of walking. As in many other dementias, In the final phase, the affectation is global and causes death .

  • Related article: "Alzheimer's: causes, symptoms, treatment and prevention"

Differences between Alzheimer's and other dementias

Next we will describe the main characteristics that distinguish Alzheimer's disease from the following three most common causes of dementia.


1. Vascular dementia

We speak of vascular dementia or multi-infarct when the cerebral deterioration -and therefore cognitive- is given as consequence of repeated strokes . It is usually diagnosed in the presence of arteriosclerosis, which is defined as a hardening of the arteries that obstructs blood flow.

In these cases the symptoms and signs vary depending on the regions of the brain that are affected by heart attacks, as well as the intensity of these. It is usual that the onset is sudden, coinciding with a stroke, and that later the deterioration progresses in a staggered manner, unlike the linearity of Alzheimer's itself.

However, vascular dementia very often occurs simultaneously with Alzheimer's disease. When this happens we talk about mixed dementia or Alzheimer's disease with vascular component . In these cases the signs also vary, but the temporoparietal involvement makes the mnesic symptoms central.

  • You may be interested: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

2. Dementia with Lewy bodies

This type of dementia is characterized by the presence of Lewy bodies, structures derived from the degeneration of cellular cytoplasm proteins, in the frontal, parietal and temporal cortex of the brain, as well as in the substantia nigra. Neuritic beta-amyloid protein plaques are also found, as in Alzheimer's.

The hallmarks of this type of dementia are visual hallucinations , attentional deficits (which cause sudden access to confusion), alterations in executive functions and parkinsonian symptoms such as rigidity and resting tremors. The deterioration of memory is less serious than in the case of Alzheimer's.

Another relevant difference between Lewy and Alzheimer's disease is the fact that in the first there is a deficit in the levels of the neurotransmitter dopamine.This characteristic explains to a large extent the similarity of this disorder with Parkinson's disease.

3. Frontotemporal dementias

That term includes primary progressive aphasia and semantic dementia . Frontotemporal dementias begin with an involvement in the frontal and / or temporal lobes; Sometimes the frontal lobe is injured from the beginning in Alzheimer's disease (and in particular the limbic region, associated with emotions), but this is not always the case.

In these dementias the alteration of memory is less obvious than in those due to Alzheimer's disease, especially during the initial phases. On the other hand, linguistic problems and behavioral disinhibition are more pronounced in this group of disorders.

Frontotemporal dementias are associated with mutations in the gene from which the tau protein is synthesized , which causes neurofibrillary tangles similar to those of Alzheimer's. However, neuritic plaques are absent. Both pathophysiological features also characterize dementia due to Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease.


Difference Between Alzheimer's and Dementia (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Différences entre démence et Alzheimer

Différences entre démence et Alzheimer

Octobre 25, 2021

Il existe une confusion assez répandue entre le terme "démence" et la maladie d'Alzheimer. Bien qu’il soit le plus fréquent dans ce groupe de troubles associés à une détérioration cognitive pathologique, il est nécessaire de préciser de manière spécifique différences entre la maladie d'Alzheimer et les autres types de démence qui existent.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons ce qui distingue la cause la plus fréquente de démence des trois causes suivantes: démence vasculaire, démence à corps de Lewy et démence fronto-temporale. Un quatrième type très courant est la démence mixte, qui combine les signes de la maladie d’Alzheimer à ceux de la démence vasculaire.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Maladie d'Alzheimer: principales caractéristiques

Le DSM-IV définit la démence comme un ensemble de Déficits cognitifs comprenant une détérioration significative de la mémoire , en plus de l’aphasie, de l’apraxie, de l’agnosie et / ou de modifications des fonctions exécutives, telles que la planification et le séquençage. Bien que beaucoup de maladies qui causent la démence aient un caractère progressif, ce n'est pas toujours le cas.


La démence due à la maladie d'Alzheimer est la plus répandue. Au niveau physiopathologique, il est caractérisé par présence d'enchevêtrements neurofibrillaires (conglomérats de protéines tau) et plaques neuritiques ou séniles, des dépôts de peptides bêta-amyloïdes dont la présence est associée à une dégénérescence neuronale et à une hyperprolifération des cellules gliales.

D'un point de vue symptomatique, la principale particularité de la maladie d'Alzheimer par rapport aux autres causes de démence est qu'elle commence à toucher les lobes temporaux et pariétaux du cerveau. Cela explique les premiers signes de la maladie d’Alzheimer: problèmes d’apprentissage et de mémoire récents, changements de la personnalité et symptômes dépressifs.


La détérioration cognitive continue de progresser de manière irréversible. Entre 3 et 5 ans après le début de la maladie la capacité de jugement est modifiée, la désorientation est sensiblement aggravée (surtout dans l'espace, ce qui entraîne la perte des personnes touchées dans la rue) et les symptômes psychotiques peuvent apparaître comme des hallucinations et des délires.

La phase finale de la maladie d'Alzheimer se caractérise, entre autres signes, par une désorientation autopsychique, le manque de reconnaissance des membres de la famille, une perte totale de la langue et des difficultés croissantes à marcher jusqu'à l'apraxie de la marche. Comme dans beaucoup d'autres démences, Dans la phase finale, l'affectation est globale et cause la mort .

  • Article connexe: "Alzheimer: causes, symptômes, traitement et prévention"

Différences entre la maladie d'Alzheimer et les autres démences

Ensuite, nous décrirons les principales caractéristiques qui distinguent la maladie d’Alzheimer des trois principales causes de démence suivantes.


1. démence vasculaire

On parle de démence vasculaire ou de multi-infarctus lorsque la détérioration cérébrale - et donc cognitive - est donnée comme conséquence de coups répétés . Il est généralement diagnostiqué en présence d'artériosclérose, définie comme un durcissement des artères obstruant le flux sanguin.

Dans ces cas, les symptômes et les signes varient en fonction des régions du cerveau touchées par les crises cardiaques, ainsi que de l'intensité de celles-ci. Il est habituel que le début soit brutal, coïncidant avec un accident vasculaire cérébral, et que la détérioration progresse ensuite de manière échelonnée, contrairement à la linéarité de la maladie d’Alzheimer elle-même.

Cependant, la démence vasculaire survient très souvent simultanément à la maladie d'Alzheimer. Quand cela arrive, on parle de démence mixte ou maladie d'Alzheimer à composante vasculaire . Dans ces cas, les signes varient également, mais l'implication temporopariétale place les symptômes mnésiques au centre.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

2. Démence à corps de Lewy

Ce type de démence se caractérise par la présence de corps de Lewy, structures dérivées de la dégénérescence des protéines du cytoplasme cellulaire, dans le cortex frontal, pariétal et temporal du cerveau, ainsi que dans la substantia nigra. On trouve également des plaques de protéines bêta-amyloïdes neuritiques, comme dans Alzheimer.

Les caractéristiques de ce type de démence sont des hallucinations visuelles. , déficits de l'attention (causant un accès de confusion soudain), altérations des fonctions exécutives et symptômes parkinsoniens tels que rigidité et tremblements au repos La détérioration de la mémoire est moins grave que dans le cas de la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Une autre différence importante entre la maladie de Lewy et la maladie d’Alzheimer réside dans le fait que, dans la première, il existe un déficit du neurotransmetteur dopamine.Cette caractéristique explique dans une large mesure la similitude de ce trouble avec la maladie de Parkinson.

3. Démences frontotemporales

Ce terme comprend l'aphasie progressive primaire et la démence sémantique . Les démences frontotemporales commencent par une atteinte des lobes frontaux et / ou temporaux; Parfois, le lobe frontal est atteint dès le début de la maladie d'Alzheimer (et en particulier de la région limbique, associée aux émotions), mais ce n'est pas toujours le cas.

Dans ces démences, l'altération de la mémoire est moins évidente que dans celles dues à la maladie d'Alzheimer, en particulier pendant les phases initiales. En revanche, les problèmes linguistiques et la désinhibition comportementale sont plus prononcés dans ce groupe de troubles.

Démences frontotemporales sont associés à des mutations dans le gène à partir duquel la protéine tau est synthétisée , qui provoque des enchevêtrements neurofibrillaires similaires à ceux de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Cependant, les plaques neuritiques sont absentes. Les deux caractéristiques physiopathologiques caractérisent également la démence due à la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob.


Alzheimer et démence : Les différents symptômes et le Diagnostic - Conseils Retraite Plus (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes