yes, therapy helps!
Is it normal to feel dizzy when smoking?

Is it normal to feel dizzy when smoking?

May 26, 2024

Although in recent years the consumption of tobacco has been reduced to a general level, smoking continues to be a common occurrence today and a habit that, although harmful and long term dangerous to health, continues to be carried out by a large number of people. .

For the most part, smokers find a certain pleasure and sensation of tranquility in the consumption of this substance, being also something socially accepted and traditionally associated with maturity or virility / femininity. However, it is an exogenous substance to our body that will have different effects on the body. For example, many people have reported on occasion that they have reached feeling dizzy when smoking . Is this normal? Because it happens? In this article we will try to answer these questions.


  • Related article: "The two faces of tobacco dependency (chemical and psychological)"

Nicotine: type of substance and effects on the body

One of the main substances that are part of the snuff (although in a cigarette can be many other substances, many of them toxic) is nicotine.

This substance has psychoactive properties, and is the main responsible for the tobacco to generate physical addiction. It is considered a psychostimulant substance , despite the fact that continued consumption ends up causing depressant effects. That is why most habitual smokers feel relaxation sensations when consuming it and they tend to smoke more frequently when they feel nervous.


The mechanism of action of nicotine is based on its action on acetylcholine receptors , specifically to nicotinics. It acts as an agonist of this substance, having an effect on the central nervous system (in the cortex, limbic system and basal ganglia, among others) and peripheral, as well as on the cardiovascular and adrenal system. However, with long-term consumption ends up having a blocking action of this neurotransmitter.

At low doses, initially generates an increase in cholinergic activity, causing an increase in the level of activation and alertness. Higher doses generate sensations of pleasure by helping to activate the limbic system through the synthesis of dopamine. It also has an effect when it comes to increasing cortisol levels , ACTH, prolactin, vasopressin and growth hormone. At the cardiovascular level nicotine causes vasoconstriction, so that the blood goes faster and with greater pressure. This causes the functioning of the heart to accelerate, and at the same time, to carry less oxygen, also increasing the inhalation frequency.


In the adrenal cortex, nicotine acts generating a stimulation that results in the release of adrenaline. Finally, it hinders the action of the pancreas, causing the release of insulin (which allows us to degrade blood sugar) to be reduced.

Dizziness when smoking: is it normal?

Smoking, as indicated by the different advertising campaigns that we can see today, can have serious long-term harmful effects, especially at the respiratory level. Emphisems, injuries and lung diseases or different types of cancer (such as lung or trachea) have been significantly associated with the continued use of tobacco .

But in addition to these effects, it can also cause various discomforts and unpleasant effects during the act of doing so or after it. Among them are the presence of nausea, vomiting and dizziness, the latter being something relatively frequent.

Why do we feel dizzy when smoking?

Generally, the presence of dizziness is more common in people who begin to have their first consumption of snuff or in people who return to smoke after a long time without doing so, as well as in those people who quit smoking abruptly. These dizziness can occur due to various circumstances.

First of all, we must take into account the fact that smoking is, mainly, repeatedly inhaling a substance that is going to enter the lungs, this substance being irritating and making it difficult for the respiratory system to integrate enough oxygen into the brain. Likewise, the vasoconstrictor effect of nicotine causes blood vessels to be compressed , passing the blood at much more speed than usual and can generate hypertension. All these effects are some of the reasons why in the first consumption or after spending long periods without smoking the body reacts producing dizziness.

Another reason can be found in poisoning if the amount that has been consumed is excessive, or when they have consumed other substances such as alcohol that could interact with the effects of snuff. The internal balance you are used to our body suffers an alteration that can cause various symptoms to manifest .

Likewise, dizziness due to lack of oxygen It does not have to occur only in smokers who have just started. Taking into account that this substance harms the respiratory system, if you get to suffer from any lung disease for this or other reasons the consumption of snuff can generate these effects more commonly.

Another time that dizziness usually appears is when a person who has acquired tolerance and dependence on nicotine ceases its consumption abruptly . And is that the body has become accustomed to a certain balance that suddenly undergoes a change. We would find ourselves in this case with a symptom of withdrawal syndrome.

The blockade of the cholinergic action generated by long-term exposure to nicotine and the increase in the number of nicotinic receptors generated by habituation would in this case be responsible for the organism not being balanced and generating symptoms.

Bibliographic references

  • Pozuelos, J .; Martinena, P .; Monago, L .; Viejo, D. and Pérez, T. (2000). Pharmacology of nicotine. Integral Medicine, 35 (9): 409-417. Elsevier

Why Do I Get Dizzy When I Smoke | Is It Normal To Feel Dizzy After Smoking | Smoking | Cigarette (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Est-il normal de se sentir étourdi en fumant?

Est-il normal de se sentir étourdi en fumant?

Octobre 3, 2022

Bien que ces dernières années, la consommation de tabac ait été réduite à un niveau général, le tabagisme continue à être un phénomène courant et une habitude qui, bien que nocive et dangereuse pour la santé à long terme, continue à être pratiquée par de nombreuses personnes. .

Pour la plupart des fumeurs, la consommation de cette substance procure un certain plaisir et une sensation de tranquillité. Elle est également acceptée par la société et est traditionnellement associée à la maturité ou à la virilité / féminité. Cependant, c'est une substance exogène dans notre corps qui aura des effets différents sur le corps. Par exemple, de nombreuses personnes ont signalé à l'occasion qu'elles avaient atteint sensation de vertige en fumant . Est-ce normal? Pourquoi ça se passe? Dans cet article, nous allons essayer de répondre à ces questions.


  • Article connexe: "Les deux facettes de la dépendance au tabac (chimique et psychologique)"

Nicotine: type de substance et effets sur le corps

La nicotine est l'une des principales substances qui font partie du tabac à priser (bien que la cigarette puisse contenir de nombreuses autres substances, dont beaucoup sont toxiques).

Cette substance a des propriétés psychoactives et est la principale responsable de la dépendance physique du tabac. Il est considéré comme une substance psychostimulante malgré le fait que la consommation continue finit par avoir des effets dépresseurs. C'est pourquoi la plupart des fumeurs habituels ressentent des sensations de relaxation lorsqu'ils en consomment et ont tendance à fumer plus fréquemment lorsqu'ils se sentent nerveux.


Le mécanisme d'action de la nicotine est basé sur son action sur les récepteurs de l'acétylcholine , spécifiquement aux nicotiniques. Il agit comme un agoniste de cette substance, agissant sur le système nerveux central (dans le cortex, le système limbique et les noyaux gris centraux, entre autres) et périphérique, ainsi que sur le système cardiovasculaire et surrénalien. Cependant, avec la consommation à long terme finit par avoir une action bloquante de ce neurotransmetteur.

À faible dose, génère initialement une augmentation de l'activité cholinergique, entraînant une augmentation du niveau d'activation et de vigilance. Des doses plus élevées génèrent des sensations de plaisir en aidant à activer le système limbique par la synthèse de dopamine. Il a également un effet sur l'augmentation des niveaux de cortisol , ACTH, prolactine, vasopressine et hormone de croissance. Au niveau cardiovasculaire, la nicotine provoque une vasoconstriction, de sorte que le sang va plus vite et avec plus de pression. Cela provoque une accélération du fonctionnement du cœur et, en même temps, un transport moindre d'oxygène, ce qui augmente également la fréquence d'inhalation.


Dans le cortex surrénalien, la nicotine agit en générant une stimulation qui entraîne la libération d'adrénaline. Enfin, il entrave l'action du pancréas, entraînant la libération d'insuline (ce qui nous permet de dégrader la glycémie).

Vertiges en fumant: est-ce normal?

Le tabagisme, comme l'indiquent les différentes campagnes publicitaires que nous pouvons voir aujourd'hui, peut avoir de graves effets néfastes à long terme, notamment au niveau respiratoire. Emphisèmes, blessures et maladies pulmonaires ou différents types de cancer (comme le poumon ou la trachée) ont été associés de manière significative à la consommation continue de tabac .

Mais en plus de ces effets, cela peut également causer divers inconforts et des effets désagréables pendant ou après l’action. Parmi eux figurent la présence de nausées, de vomissements et de vertiges, ces derniers étant quelque chose de relativement fréquent.

Pourquoi avons-nous la tête qui tourne en fumant?

En général, la présence de vertiges est plus fréquente chez les personnes qui commencent à avoir leur première consommation de tabac à priser ou chez les personnes qui recommencent à fumer après une longue période sans le faire, ainsi que chez celles qui cessent de fumer brusquement. Ces vertiges peuvent survenir en raison de diverses circonstances.

Tout d'abord, nous devons tenir compte du fait que le tabac inhale de manière répétée une substance qui va pénétrer dans les poumons, cette substance étant irritante et empêchant le système respiratoire d'intégrer suffisamment d'oxygène dans le cerveau. De même l'effet vasoconstricteur de la nicotine provoque la compression des vaisseaux sanguins faire passer le sang beaucoup plus rapidement que d'habitude et peut générer de l'hypertension. Tous ces effets sont parmi les raisons pour lesquelles, lors de la première consommation ou après de longues périodes sans fumer, le corps réagit en produisant des vertiges.

On peut trouver une autre raison dans l’empoisonnement si la quantité consommée est excessive ou si elle a consommé d’autres substances, telles que l’alcool, susceptibles d’interagir avec les effets du tabac à priser. La balance interne à laquelle vous êtes habitué notre corps souffre d'une altération qui peut provoquer divers symptômes .

De même vertiges dus au manque d'oxygène Il n'est pas nécessaire que cela se produise chez les fumeurs qui viennent juste de commencer. Étant donné que cette substance nuit au système respiratoire, si vous souffrez d’une maladie pulmonaire pour cette raison ou pour d’autres raisons, la consommation de tabac à priser peut générer ces effets plus fréquemment.

Un autre moment d'apparition de vertiges est généralement celui d'une personne qui a acquis une tolérance et une dépendance à la nicotine cesse brusquement sa consommation . Et est-ce que le corps s'est habitué à un certain équilibre qui subit un changement soudain. Nous nous retrouverions dans ce cas avec un symptôme de syndrome de sevrage.

Le blocage de l'action cholinergique générée par une exposition prolongée à la nicotine et l'augmentation du nombre de récepteurs nicotiniques générés par l'accoutumance seraient dans ce cas responsables du déséquilibre de l'organisme et de l'apparition de symptômes.

Références bibliographiques

  • Pozuelos, J .; Martinena, P .; Monago, L .; Viejo, D. et Pérez, T. (2000). Pharmacologie de la nicotine. Integral Medicine, 35 (9): 409-417. Elsevier
Articles Connexes