yes, therapy helps!
Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia: the irrational fear of long words

Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia: the irrational fear of long words

October 5, 2022

In our article "The 15 rarest phobias that exist" we echoed the strangest phobias that may suffer some individuals. Definitely, one of the most atypical and curious phobias is the hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia or phobia of long words . And is that people who suffer from this phobia should feel great discomfort just by hearing the name of the disorder they suffer.

As with all phobias, hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia is an irrational fear, which causes great discomfort and causes those affected with this pathology tend to avoid situations in which they come into contact with the phobic stimulus, ie, long words.


A very strange phobia

The truth is that this phobia is rare, like other strange phobias such as arachibutyrophobia, which is the fear that peanut butter sticks to the palate, and may appear, for example, when a child is about to drown Eat some peanut butter toast.

This type of phobias, which are caused by specific stimuli, are called specific phobias. These include: fear of spiders or arachnophobia, fear of clowns or coulrophobia or fear of flying or aerophobia, among others.

  • There are other types of phobias that you can know in our article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Classical conditioning and its relationship with phobias

Fear is an emotion that can be adaptive just like anxiety; However, fear does not always have an objective and real cause, because people are capable of developing an irrational fear of practically everything that can be perceived or imagined: clowns, spiders, food, etc.


Phobias are usually learned, that is, unconsciously we can associate a stimulus (which originally did not produce fear) to a negative emotion. This may occur due to the intensity of the negative emotion, which converts that originally neutral stimulus into a phobic stimulus. If we suffer a phobia, every time we see the feared stimulus or imagine it we feel an intense discomfort, which is cause an associative learning called classical conditioning.

  • Related article: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

Causes of hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia

Generally, hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia occurs in people who have suffered a childhood trauma related to long words . They may have had a bad experience in a spelling bee, or they may have spent a great deal of embarrassment in front of the class when they were asked to read a word they did not understand or could not pronounce well. A traumatic event like this is enough to start the development of a phobia.


Research makes it clear that associative learning is behind phobias, either directly or indirectly (for example, watching a movie about murderous clowns and developing clown phobia), although there are also those who claim that genes play a determining role, because some people are more prone than others to suffer from phobic disorders.

symptom

Phobias belong to the group of anxiety disorders, because irrational fear causes great discomfort and people suffering from these diseases suffer a lot. This suffering is such that they tend to avoid the feared situations, objects and thoughts.

Therefore, the symptomatology of phobias is characterized by great fear or panic, accompanied by a great feeling of anguish, anxiety and discomfort, which can make the person feel stomach pain, headache, rapid pulse, and so on. When the subject has to face a situation in which, for example, he has to pronounce a long word, he will try not to have to face that feared stimulus to avoid feeling bad.

The vast majority of phobias share physical, cognitive and behavioral symptoms. In summary, they are the ones shown below:

  • Accelerated pulse and increased heart rate
  • Feeling short of breath and choking. Hyperventilation
  • Excess sweat
  • Anxiety and anguish
  • Dry mouth
  • Catastrophic thoughts
  • Loss of concentration and disorientation
  • Great fear or terror
  • Stomach ache
  • Headache and muscle tension
  • Avoidance of the feared stimulus

Treatment

The treatment of this phobia is the same as that of other phobic disorders. Different methods can be used, for example, hypnosis or mindfulness, the latter to accept one's experience as a person suffering from a phobia and, in this way, reduce the intensity of the symptoms.However, the techniques most used for the treatment of phobias belong to cognitive behavioral therapy, which help cope with feared situations and substitute irrational thoughts for more adaptive ones.

Expository techniques are the most used, specifically systematic desensitization . This method consists of the patient being exposed gradually to the phobic stimulus and, at the same time, acquiring more useful coping skills. Thanks to the different therapeutic sessions, the patient is facing the phobic stimulus, and little by little he can pronounce those words that previously caused him great anxiety.

Other fundamental techniques of treatment are relaxation and breathing techniques. In addition, those people who suffer more severe cases can consume some drugs (if so advised by a therapist or psychiatrist) to reduce anxiety, but always in combination with psychological therapy.

New technologies applied to the treatment of phobic disorders

Cognitive behavioral techniques have been applied for several decades to treat phobias , but the new technologies also begin to have prominence as psychological therapy. Virtual reality and augmented reality have proved to be very effective for the treatment of phobias, since they allow to simulate those phobic stimuli that patients fear. Virtual reality, for example, can be useful for the patient to be in a room where larger spiders appear every time, which would belong to the exhibition therapy.

In recent years, in addition, applications for mobile phones aimed at the treatment of phobias are appearing. You can learn more about these apps in our article: "8 apps to treat phobias and fears from your smartphone"

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia: la peur irrationnelle des mots longs

Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia: la peur irrationnelle des mots longs

Octobre 25, 2021

Dans notre article "Les 15 phobies les plus rares qui existent", nous avons évoqué les phobies les plus étranges qui peuvent nuire à certains individus. Sans doute, Une des phobies les plus atypiques et les plus curieuses est l’hypopotomonstrosequipedaliofobia ou phobie des mots longs. . Et est-ce que les personnes qui souffrent de cette phobie devraient se sentir mal à l'aise juste en entendant le nom du trouble dont ils souffrent.

Comme toutes les phobies, l’hypopotomonstrosequedaliofobia est une peur irrationnelle, qui provoque un grand inconfort et incite les personnes atteintes de cette pathologie à éviter les situations dans lesquelles elles entrent en contact avec le stimulus phobique, c'est-à-dire des mots longs.


Une phobie très étrange

La vérité est que cette phobie est rare, à l'instar d'autres phobies étranges telles que l'arachibutyrophobie, qui est la peur que le beurre d'arachide colle au palais et puisse apparaître, par exemple, lorsqu'un enfant est sur le point de se noyer. Mangez des toasts au beurre de cacahuète.

Ce type de phobies, causées par des stimuli spécifiques, sont appelées phobies spécifiques. Ceux-ci incluent: la peur des araignées ou de l'arachnophobie, la peur des clowns ou de la coulrophobie ou la peur de voler ou de l'aérophobie, entre autres.

  • Il existe d'autres types de phobies que vous pouvez connaître dans notre article: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Le conditionnement classique et sa relation avec les phobies

La peur est une émotion qui peut être adaptative au même titre que l'anxiété. Cependant, la peur n'a pas toujours de cause objective et réelle, car les gens sont capables de développer une peur irrationnelle de pratiquement tout ce qui peut être perçu ou imaginé: clowns, araignées, nourriture, etc.


Les phobies sont généralement apprises, c'est-à-dire que nous pouvons inconsciemment associer un stimulus (qui à l'origine ne produisait pas de peur) à une émotion négative. Cela peut se produire en raison de l'intensité de l'émotion négative, qui convertit ce stimulus initialement neutre en un stimulus phobique. Si nous souffrons de phobie, chaque fois que nous voyons le stimulus redouté ou l’imaginons, nous ressentons un inconfort intense, ce qui provoque un apprentissage associatif appelé conditionnement classique.

  • Article connexe: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Causes de hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia

En règle générale, hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliofobia se produit chez les personnes qui ont subi un traumatisme infantile lié à des mots longs . Ils ont peut-être eu une mauvaise expérience avec un orthographe, ou ont passé beaucoup de gêne devant la classe quand on leur a demandé de lire un mot qu'ils ne comprenaient pas ou ne pouvaient pas bien prononcer. Un événement traumatisant comme celui-ci suffit pour déclencher le développement d'une phobie.


La recherche montre clairement que l’apprentissage associatif est directement ou indirectement à l’origine des phobies (par exemple, regarder un film sur des clowns meurtriers et développer une phobie des clowns), bien que certains prétendent que les gènes jouent un rôle déterminant, car certaines personnes sont plus susceptibles que d’autres de souffrir de troubles phobiques.

Les symptômes

Les phobies appartiennent au groupe des troubles anxieux, parce que la peur irrationnelle provoque un grand inconfort et que les personnes souffrant de ces maladies souffrent beaucoup. Cette souffrance est telle qu’ils ont tendance à éviter les situations, objets et pensées redoutés.

Par conséquent, la symptomatologie des phobies est caractérisée par une grande peur ou une panique, accompagnée d'un grand sentiment d'angoisse, d'anxiété et de malaise, pouvant provoquer des douleurs à l'estomac, des maux de tête, un pouls rapide, etc. Lorsque le sujet doit faire face à une situation dans laquelle, par exemple, il doit prononcer un mot long, il essaiera de ne pas avoir à faire face à ce stimulus redouté pour éviter de se sentir mal.

La grande majorité des phobies partagent des symptômes physiques, cognitifs et comportementaux. En résumé, ce sont ceux indiqués ci-dessous:

  • Pouls accéléré et fréquence cardiaque accrue
  • Sensation d'essoufflement et d'étouffement. L'hyperventilation
  • Transpiration excessive
  • Anxiété et angoisse
  • Bouche sèche
  • Pensées catastrophiques
  • Perte de concentration et désorientation
  • Grande peur ou terreur
  • Maux d'estomac
  • Mal de tête et tension musculaire
  • Eviter le stimulus redouté

Traitement

Le traitement de cette phobie est le même que celui des autres troubles phobiques. Différentes méthodes peuvent être utilisées, par exemple l'hypnose ou la pleine conscience, cette dernière permettant d'accepter son expérience en tant que personne souffrant de phobie et de réduire ainsi l'intensité des symptômes.Cependant, les techniques les plus utilisées pour le traitement des phobies appartiennent à la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, qui aide à faire face aux situations redoutées et remplace les pensées irrationnelles par des pensées plus adaptatives.

Les techniques d'exposition sont les plus utilisées, en particulier la désensibilisation systématique . Cette méthode consiste à exposer progressivement le patient au stimulus phobique tout en lui permettant d’acquérir des capacités d’adaptation plus utiles. Grâce aux différentes séances thérapeutiques, le patient est confronté au stimulus phobique et peut prononcer peu à peu les mots qui le préoccupaient auparavant.

Les autres techniques de traitement fondamentales sont les techniques de relaxation et de respiration. De plus, les personnes qui souffrent de cas plus graves peuvent consommer certains médicaments (si un thérapeute ou un psychiatre le leur conseille) pour réduire leur anxiété, mais toujours en combinaison avec une thérapie psychologique.

Nouvelles technologies appliquées au traitement des troubles phobiques

Les techniques comportementales cognitives sont appliquées depuis plusieurs décennies pour traiter les phobies , mais les nouvelles technologies commencent également à occuper une place importante en tant que thérapie psychologique. La réalité virtuelle et la réalité augmentée se sont révélées très efficaces pour le traitement des phobies, car elles permettent de simuler les stimuli phobiques que les patients craignent. La réalité virtuelle, par exemple, peut être utile pour le patient dans une pièce où apparaissent chaque fois des araignées plus grandes, qui appartiendraient à la thérapie d'exposition.

De plus, ces dernières années, des applications pour téléphones mobiles destinées au traitement des phobies apparaissent. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ces applications dans notre article: "8 applications pour traiter les phobies et les peurs de votre smartphone"

Articles Connexes