yes, therapy helps!
Manic depression: symptoms, causes and treatments

Manic depression: symptoms, causes and treatments

May 26, 2024

Manic depression: this concept, barely used today, refers to one of the most common mood disorders and acquaintances after the depression.

It is one of the old denominations that is currently known as bipolar disorder. Although for some this denomination can have romantic connotations, the truth is that it is a disorder that generates a high suffering and that can cause serious alterations in the daily life of those who suffer from it, and its treatment is essential.

In this article we will see what is manic depression , what causes are attributed to it and some of the main treatments applied.


  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is manic depression?

Manic depression, manic-depressive psychosis or bipolar disorder. These different denominations have arisen in different historical contexts in which different orientations and currents of thought also prevailed, although in practice they refer to the same disorder.

Specifically, in all cases reference is made to a mental disorder categorized within mood disorders and characterized by the presence of one or more episodes of mania and / or hypomania in alternation or absence of depressive episodes .


Thus, in this disorder the state of mind can pass from episode of maximum exaltation and increase of activity and energy to a state of deep sadness, despair and passivity. Such fluctuation can occur followed or separated by an asymptomatic period , and the passage from one pole to another can occur in short periods of time.

  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

Types of bipolar disorder or manic depression

There are two basic types of bipolar disorder: in type 1 there is at least one manic or mixed episode, which may occur preceded or followed by a major depressive episode. However, the latter is not essential for diagnosis. With regard to bipolar disorder type 2, the diagnosis of the presence of one or more major depressive episodes is required along with at least one hypomanic episode, without any case of a manic or mixed episode.


In the manic episodes appears an expansive mood , euphoric or even irritable in that there is a high level of agitation and activity for almost the entire day for at least a week. In this state usually appears feeling of grandiosity (can reach delirium), logorrhea, flight of ideas or feeling that you lose the thread of thought, tachypsychia, distractibility, disinhibition, aggressiveness, hallucinations and risk tendency and not value the consequences of the acts themselves. The hypomanic symptoms are similar, but they are not so serious, symptoms such as hallucinations and delusions can not occur and they occur for at least four days.

In depressive episodes there is a low mood and / or loss of interest and the ability to feel pleasure along with other symptoms such as hopelessness, lack of energy and passivity, disturbances of food and sleep, fatigue or thoughts of death or suicide for at least two weeks.

Effects of symptoms

The symptoms referred to above, alternate or not manic and depressive episodes, generate a large number of repercussions in the subject that can alter and limit a great variety of elements and vital domains.

At the academic and labor level, the existence of episodes can affect the ability to develop and follow plans, reduce performance or generate conflictive or unproductive behaviors, as well as decrease the ability of the subject to concentrate. You may also have difficulties when assessing aspects such as the value and use of money due to the extreme impulsiveness that may occur .

The social sphere can also be affected. In a manic phase the subject can show an uninhibited sexuality and / or be irritable and even aggressive, present delusions of greatness and antisocial behaviors, as well as in depressive phases you may lose interest in relating .

In any case, one of the aspects with which more care should be taken is with the possibility of suicide. In fact, manic depression is one of the mental disorders in which there is an increased risk of suicide.

  • Related article: "Suicidal thoughts: causes, symptoms and therapy"

Possible causes

Although the origin of manic depression is not entirely clear, the proposed explanations usually start from factors of biological origin very similar to those of depression.The existence of imbalances in the synthesis and reuptake of neurotransmitters is proposed.

Specifically, it has been observed that noradrenaline levels decrease during depressive episodes and increases in maniacs. The same thing happens with dopamine. As far as serotonin is concerned, it is found in lower proportions than usual in both types of episodes.

Structures such as the amygdala are altered, and hypoperfusion is also observed in different brain areas in the different types of episodes (less blood comes to the frontotemporal in mania and left prefrontal in depression). It has also been proposed that bipolar or manic-depressive symptoms may be related to problems in the transport of the nerve signal.

The environment also participates in its genesis, destabilizing stressful events the biological rhythm. In addition, it is also proposed, as in depression, the existence and influence of Cognitive distortions that generate dysfunctional schemes . The cognitive triad of thoughts about oneself, the world and one's own future would oscillate between depressive and other expansive and glorified negative thoughts.

Treatments

The treatment of manic depression or bipolar disorder requires a multidisciplinary approach. The main objective of the treatment is to keep the mood stable. For it At the pharmacological level, mood stabilizers are used , the main one being lithium salts. This substance has a mechanism of action little known but as a general rule of great efficiency, based on its modulation of synaptic transmission. Once the subject is stabilized, it is necessary to establish a maintenance dose that allows new crises to be prevented.

However the pharmacological treatment it can lead to annoying side effects . It is therefore necessary to apply strategies such as face psychoeducation to favor adherence. You can also teach self-assessment strategies of the state and the symptoms that can warn of the arrival of a crisis and prevent them from occurring.

Work with the environment is also essential, so that the affected family members know the reason for certain attitudes and behaviors, relational problems are solved and can help to help the affected and know how to identify possible symptoms. The subject with manic depression can benefit from other psychological treatments used in depression, like Beck's cognitive therapy .

Also, there is interpersonal therapy and social rhythm as a treatment based on the regulation of biorhythms and personal relationships that may be helpful for subjects with this disorder.

In some especially serious cases, and especially in cases where there are severe manic symptoms, psychotic symptoms or imminent suicide risk, Electroconvulsive therapy has been successfully applied (which is currently applied in a controlled manner, with sedation and monitoring).

  • Related article: "Aaron Beck's Cognitive Therapy"

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. McGraw-Hill. Madrid.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Welch, C.A. (2016). Electroconvulsive therapy In: Stern TA, Fava M, Wilens TE, Rosenbaum JF, eds. Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier

Symptoms of Manic Depression (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maniaco-dépression: symptômes, causes et traitements

Maniaco-dépression: symptômes, causes et traitements

Novembre 17, 2022

Manic dépression: ce concept, peu utilisé aujourd'hui, fait référence à l'un des troubles de l'humeur les plus courants et connaissances après la dépression.

C'est l'une des anciennes dénominations connue actuellement sous le nom de trouble bipolaire. Bien que, pour certains, cette dénomination puisse avoir des connotations romantiques, la vérité est qu’il s’agit d’un trouble générant une grande souffrance et pouvant entraîner de graves modifications dans la vie quotidienne de ceux qui en souffrent et son traitement est essentiel.

Dans cet article, nous verrons Quelle est la dépression maniaque , quelles en sont les causes et quels sont les principaux traitements appliqués.


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Quelle est la dépression maniaque?

Dépression maniaque, psychose maniaco-dépressive ou trouble bipolaire. Ces différentes dénominations sont apparues dans différents contextes historiques dans lesquels différentes orientations et différents courants de pensée ont également prévalu, bien que, dans la pratique, ils désignent le même désordre.

Dans tous les cas, il est fait référence à un trouble mental classé dans les troubles de l'humeur et caractérisé par la présence d'un ou de plusieurs épisodes de manie et / ou d'hypomanie. en alternance ou en l'absence d'épisodes dépressifs .


Ainsi, dans ce désordre, l'état d'esprit peut passer d'un épisode d'exaltation maximale et d'augmentation d'activité et d'énergie à un état de profonde tristesse, de désespoir et de passivité. Une telle fluctuation peut survenir suivie ou séparée par une période asymptomatique , et le passage d’un pôle à l’autre peut se faire en peu de temps.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Types de trouble bipolaire ou de maniaco-dépression

Il existe deux types fondamentaux de trouble bipolaire: dans le type 1, il existe au moins un épisode maniaque ou mixte, qui peut survenir avant ou après un épisode dépressif majeur. Cependant, ce dernier n'est pas essentiel pour le diagnostic. En ce qui concerne le trouble bipolaire de type 2, le diagnostic de la présence d'un ou de plusieurs épisodes dépressifs majeurs est requis, ainsi que d'au moins un épisode hypomaniaque, sans aucun cas d'épisode maniaque ou mixte.


Dans les épisodes maniaques apparaît une humeur expansive , euphorique ou même irritable en ce qu'il y a un niveau élevé d'agitation et d'activité pendant presque toute la journée pendant au moins une semaine. Dans cet état, on observe généralement un sentiment de grandiosité (peut atteindre le délire), une logorrhée, une fuite d’idées ou le sentiment de perdre le fil de la pensée, une tachypsychie, une distraction, une désinhibition, une agressivité, des hallucinations et une tendance au risque, sans valoriser les conséquences de la maladie. les actes eux-mêmes. Les symptômes hypomaniaques sont similaires, mais ils ne sont pas si graves, des symptômes tels que des hallucinations et des illusions ne peuvent pas se produire et ils se manifestent pendant au moins quatre jours.

Dans les épisodes dépressifs, on observe une humeur basse et / ou une perte d'intérêt et la capacité de ressentir du plaisir en même temps que d'autres symptômes tels que le désespoir, le manque d'énergie et la passivité. troubles de l'alimentation et du sommeil, fatigue ou pensées de mort ou suicide pendant au moins deux semaines.

Effets des symptômes

Les symptômes mentionnés ci-dessus, épisodes alternés ou non maniaques et dépressifs, génèrent un grand nombre de répercussions sur le sujet qui peuvent altérer et limiter une grande variété d'éléments et de domaines vitaux.

Au niveau académique et professionnel, la présence d'épisodes peut affecter la capacité d'élaborer et de suivre des plans, de réduire les performances ou de générer des comportements conflictuels ou non productifs, ainsi que de diminuer la capacité de concentration du sujet. Vous pouvez également rencontrer des difficultés lors de l'évaluation d'aspects tels que la valeur et l'utilisation de l'argent. en raison de l'impulsivité extrême qui peut se produire .

La sphère sociale peut également être touchée. Dans une phase maniaque, le sujet peut montrer une sexualité non inhibée et / ou être irritable et même agressif, présenter des illusions de grandeur et de comportements antisociaux, ainsi que dans des phases dépressives. vous pouvez perdre intérêt à raconter .

En tout état de cause, l’un des aspects avec lequel il faut prendre plus de précautions est la possibilité de suicide. En fait, la dépression maniaque est l’un des troubles mentaux dans lesquels le risque de suicide est accru.

  • Article connexe: "Pensées suicidaires: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Causes possibles

Bien que l'origine de la dépression maniaque ne soit pas tout à fait claire, les explications proposées partent généralement de facteurs d'origine biologique très similaires à ceux de la dépression.L'existence de déséquilibres dans la synthèse et la recapture de neurotransmetteurs est proposée.

Plus précisément, il a été observé que les taux de noradrénaline diminuaient au cours des épisodes dépressifs et augmentaient chez les maniaques. La même chose arrive avec la dopamine. En ce qui concerne la sérotonine, on la trouve dans des proportions plus faibles que d'habitude dans les deux types d'épisodes.

Des structures telles que l'amygdale sont altérées et une hypoperfusion est également observée dans différentes zones du cerveau dans les différents types d'épisodes (moins de sang entre dans la manie fronto-temporale et gauche dans la dépression). Il a également été suggéré que les symptômes bipolaires ou maniaco-dépressifs pourraient être liés à des problèmes de transport du signal nerveux.

L'environnement participe également à sa genèse, en déstabilisant les événements stressants du rythme biologique. En outre, il est également proposé, comme dans la dépression, l’existence et l’influence de Distorsions cognitives générant des schémas dysfonctionnels . La triade cognitive de pensées sur soi-même, sur le monde et sur son propre avenir oscillerait entre les pensées dépressives et les autres pensées négatives expansives et glorifiées.

Traitements

Le traitement de la dépression maniaque ou du trouble bipolaire nécessite une approche multidisciplinaire. L'objectif principal du traitement est de maintenir l'humeur stable. Pour cela Au niveau pharmacologique, des stabilisateurs de l'humeur sont utilisés , le principal étant les sels de lithium. Cette substance a un mécanisme d'action peu connu mais en règle générale très efficace, basé sur sa modulation de la transmission synaptique. Une fois le sujet stabilisé, il est nécessaire de définir une dose d'entretien permettant d'éviter de nouvelles crises.

Cependant le traitement pharmacologique il peut entraîner des effets secondaires gênants . Il est donc nécessaire d’appliquer des stratégies telles que la psychoéducation du visage pour favoriser l’observance. Vous pouvez également enseigner des stratégies d’auto-évaluation de l’état et des symptômes qui peuvent prévenir de l’arrivée d’une crise et les prévenir.

Travailler avec l'environnement est également essentiel pour que les membres de la famille affectés sachent la raison de certaines attitudes et comportements, les problèmes relationnels sont résolus et peuvent aider à aider les personnes affectées et permettent d'identifier les symptômes possibles. Le sujet souffrant de maniaco-dépression peut bénéficier d'autres traitements psychologiques utilisés dans la dépression, comme la thérapie cognitive de Beck .

En outre, il existe une thérapie interpersonnelle et un rythme social en tant que traitement basé sur la régulation des biorythmes et des relations personnelles qui peuvent être utiles aux sujets atteints de ce trouble.

Dans certains cas particulièrement graves, et en particulier dans les cas de symptômes maniaques graves, de symptômes psychotiques ou de risque suicidaire imminent, La thérapie électroconvulsive a été appliquée avec succès (qui est actuellement appliqué de manière contrôlée, avec sédation et surveillance).

  • Article connexe: "Thérapie cognitive d'Aaron Beck"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. McGraw-Hill. Madrid
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
  • Welch, C.A. (2016). Thérapie électroconvulsive Dans: Stern TA, Fava M, Wilens TE, Rosenbaum JF, éds. Psychiatrie clinique globale du Massachusetts General Hospital. 2e éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier

Maniaco dépression, troubles bipolaires (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes