yes, therapy helps!
Music therapy and its benefits for health

Music therapy and its benefits for health

June 20, 2024

Music affects the brain and also the body , since it activates certain brain areas related to mood and mood.

What is Music Therapy?

The Music therapy it is a therapy that uses music to improve the state of health and well-being of the patient. Stimulating the mind is essential since it is the operational center where all the sensations and emotions that human beings perceive and express are processed, understood and brought together.

Music is a sensory experience that can activate all brain areas simultaneously . Therefore, it is useful in therapy because it triggers the functioning of the brain in the emotional, cognitive and physical sense. With the new research that has emerged on Music Therapy, it has been shown to be useful both in rehabilitation, education and in programs to improve well-being.


This type of therapy is effective to treat certain disorders or improve the quality of life of the patient, and acts in two ways: active (playing instruments, singing, interpreting the music) and receptive (use music to induce relaxation states). Other techniques and artistic forms are also used simultaneously with music, such as dramatic art, dance or painting.

How does Music Therapy work?

The Music Therapist works on different aspects of the person, such as:

  • Sensory aspects : working on the ability to respond to sensory stimuli received.
  • Motor aspects : the coordination, balance and mobility of the patient.
  • Cognitive aspects : memory, learning, imagination or attention.
  • Socio-emotional aspects : works intelligence and control of emotions, as well as emotional expression or self-knowledge of one's own emotions.

Music Therapy Utilities

Since music is an accessible and attractive stimulus, it has a great influence on patients and they receive therapy in a pleasant way. The professionals of Music Therapy select and apply music in a way that provides psychological and physical benefits .


This type of therapy works perfectly to solve psychological problems, rehabilitate drug addicts, reduce pain in terminal diseases, improve self-esteem, or treat learning difficulties.

7 reasons why to use Music Therapy

  • Music is a basic function of our brain . At early ages mothers often calm their children with "nanas" (lullabies). This shows that the brains of young children already tolerate music and its benefits very well.
  • Music entertains our body . Our body is entertained with music in a natural way, and it is easy to perform rhythmic movements. When we listen to music, it enters our brain to process it, but it also has an effect on our motor system. That's why music therapists use this tool to help people who have had a stroke to regain mobility.
  • We have physiological reactions when we listen to music . Whenever breathing is accelerated, the heart rate increases and one feels that the music travels along the spine. Music therapy can help stimulate a person who is in a coma or can help a conscious person relax.
  • Babies and children respond to music . Any parent will know that at early ages it is natural for children and babies to respond to musical stimuli. From small they dance and enjoy the musical sounds. On the other hand, children learn easily through art and music, making it a great educational tool.
  • Music penetrates emotions . Since music stimulates the amygdala, it can make you feel sad, happy, energetic, motivated, and so on. The way music accesses emotions is very useful for music therapists.
  • Music helps improve learning. Many teachers of children use methods such as learning the alphabet or colors through songs. Music is effective to memorize and to evoke past memories.
  • Music therapy is a non-invasive and motivating therapy . We all like music, and this is one of the most important reasons why Music Therapy works.

Music Therapy │ Children’s National Health System (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La musicothérapie et ses bienfaits pour la santé

La musicothérapie et ses bienfaits pour la santé

Juillet 26, 2022

La musique affecte le cerveau et aussi le corps , car il active certaines zones du cerveau liées à l’humeur et à l’humeur.

Qu'est-ce que la musicothérapie?

Le La musicothérapie c'est une thérapie qui utilise la musique pour améliorer l'état de santé et le bien-être du patient. Stimuler l’esprit est essentiel car c’est le centre opérationnel où toutes les sensations et les émotions que l’être humain perçoit et exprime sont traitées, comprises et réunies.

La musique est une expérience sensorielle qui peut activer simultanément toutes les zones du cerveau. . Par conséquent, il est utile en thérapie car il déclenche le fonctionnement du cerveau au sens émotionnel, cognitif et physique. Grâce aux nouvelles recherches sur la musicothérapie, il a été démontré qu’elle était utile à la fois en rééducation, en éducation et dans les programmes visant à améliorer le bien-être.


Ce type de thérapie est efficace pour traiter certains troubles ou améliorer la qualité de vie du patient, et agit de deux manières: actif (jouer des instruments, chanter, interpréter la musique) et réceptif (utilisez la musique pour induire des états de relaxation). D'autres techniques et formes artistiques sont également utilisées simultanément avec la musique, telles que l'art dramatique, la danse ou la peinture.

Comment fonctionne la musicothérapie?

Le musicothérapeute travaille sur différents aspects de la personne, tels que:

  • Aspects sensoriels : travailler sur la capacité à répondre aux stimuli sensoriels reçus.
  • Aspects moteurs : la coordination, l'équilibre et la mobilité du patient.
  • Aspects cognitifs : mémoire, apprentissage, imagination ou attention.
  • Aspects socio-émotionnels : travaille l'intelligence et le contrôle des émotions, ainsi que l'expression émotionnelle ou la connaissance de soi de ses propres émotions.

Utilitaires de musicothérapie

La musique étant un stimulus accessible et attrayant, elle a une grande influence sur les patients, qui bénéficient d’une thérapie agréable. Les professionnels de la musicothérapie sélectionner et appliquer de la musique de manière à procurer des avantages psychologiques et physiques .


Ce type de thérapie fonctionne parfaitement pour résoudre les problèmes psychologiques, réhabiliter les toxicomanes, réduire la douleur causée par les maladies en phase terminale, améliorer l'estime de soi ou traiter les difficultés d'apprentissage.

7 raisons pour lesquelles utiliser la musicothérapie

  • La musique est une fonction fondamentale de notre cerveau . Aux premiers âges, les mères calment souvent leurs enfants avec des "nanas" (berceuses). Cela montre que le cerveau des jeunes enfants tolère déjà très bien la musique et ses avantages.
  • La musique divertit notre corps . Notre corps s’amuse naturellement avec la musique et il est facile de réaliser des mouvements rythmiques. Lorsque nous écoutons de la musique, celle-ci entre dans notre cerveau pour la traiter, mais elle a également un effet sur notre système moteur. C'est pourquoi les musicothérapeutes utilisent cet outil pour aider les personnes ayant subi un AVC à retrouver leur mobilité.
  • Nous avons des réactions physiologiques lorsque nous écoutons de la musique . Chaque fois que la respiration s'accélère, le rythme cardiaque augmente et on sent que la musique se déplace le long de la colonne vertébrale. La musicothérapie peut aider à stimuler une personne qui est dans le coma ou peut aider une personne consciente à se détendre.
  • Les bébés et les enfants réagissent à la musique . Tous les parents sauront qu’à un âge précoce, il est naturel que les enfants et les bébés répondent aux stimuli musicaux. De petite taille, ils dansent et apprécient les sons musicaux. D'autre part, les enfants apprennent facilement à travers l'art et la musique, ce qui en fait un excellent outil pédagogique.
  • La musique pénètre les émotions . Comme la musique stimule l'amygdale, elle peut vous rendre triste, heureux, énergique, motivé, etc. La façon dont la musique accède aux émotions est très utile pour les musicothérapeutes.
  • La musique aide à améliorer l'apprentissage. De nombreux enseignants utilisent des méthodes telles que l'apprentissage de l'alphabet ou des couleurs par le biais de chansons. La musique est efficace pour mémoriser et évoquer des souvenirs du passé.
  • La musicothérapie est une thérapie non invasive et motivante . Nous aimons tous la musique, et c’est l’une des raisons les plus importantes pour lesquelles la musicothérapie fonctionne.
Articles Connexes