yes, therapy helps!
What is Ethology and what is its object of study?

What is Ethology and what is its object of study?

June 21, 2024

It is not uncommon for different branches of knowledge to cross to create hybrid disciplines. This is the case of Ethology, a branch of biology that deals with the how and why of animal behavior .

It is impossible to understand human behavior without first being familiar with the behavior of animals, for this reason the study of ethology is fundamental in the training of any psychologist who wants to have a holistic vision of human development.

What does ethology consist of?

Ethology emerged as a different discipline in the decade of the 20s of the last century through the efforts of Konrad Lorenz, Karl von Frisch and Niko Tinbergen, who in 1973 received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly for their contributions to the study of behavior. They took influences from the founding work of, among others, the ornithologist Oskar Heinroth and the student of the ants William Morton Wheeler, who popularized the term "ethology" in a 1902 article.


Ethologists use comparative methodology to study behaviors such as cooperation, parental investment, conflict , sexual selection, and aggression in various species. Today, ethology as a label has been progressively replaced by others such as behavioral ecology or evolutionary psychology. These areas of knowledge tend to put more emphasis on social relationships instead of the individual; however, they still maintain the tradition of fieldwork and are based on the theory of evolution.

The students of the ethology almost always work in the own means of the animal to carry out experimental investigations based on hypotheses. The combination between laboratory and field work reflects a very important underlying concept of the discipline: that behavior is adaptive, that is, that it allows an animal to better fit in its environment and is more likely to survive and reproduce.


The ethology method

Ethologists, like most scientists, generate hypotheses about animal behavior. To test them empirically, Tinbergen proposes that any researcher should bear in mind the following four questions when formulating hypotheses if a complete explanation of the phenomenon is to be provided:

1. Function

The researcher must ask how the behavior is adaptive . Which aspects facilitate their survival and, therefore, that is more likely to pass their genes to the next generation.

2. Mechanism

The researcher has to answer the question of what stimulus or stimuli triggers the behavior to study . Also, if the response has been modified by some recent learning.

3. Development

How does this behavior change throughout the life cycle of the animal? The experimenter must elucidate if there are early experiences that are necessary for the animal to acquire this behavior.


4. History of evolution

The researcher must find the answer to whether the behavior under study resembles in any way some of the behavior exhibited by other species. In this sense, must also be formulated how the behavior may have evolved through the development of the species or group itself .

Key concepts of ethology

One of the fundamental ideas of ethology is the existence of modal action patterns (MAP) . MAPs are stereotyped behaviors that occur in a rigid sequence, in situations determined in response to a specific stimulus. A kind of "behavioral reflex" that happens inevitably and always in the same way.

For example: the goose, whenever it sees one of its eggs outside the nest, will roll the egg back to its place with the beak. If we removed the egg, the goose would continue to roll an imaginary egg. Also, try to move any object with a shape similar to the egg as a golf ball, a knob or even eggs too big to have put a goose. You can not avoid doing it reflexively because PAM is imbued in your brain like a circuit.

Behavior as adaptation

Since ethology is born as a branch of biology, ethologists are very concerned with the evolution of behavior in terms of the theory of natural selection . It is important to keep in mind that this approach is purely speculative. It is not possible to find fossilized behaviors nor can we examine geological data to locate it throughout history.

The most concrete evidence about the theory that behavior is evolving is limited to small instances of evolution that occur within a species, but we have never been direct witnesses of a behavioral change between chained species. There is a certain level of extrapolation when ethology deals with these issues.

Animals use PAMs to communicate

Above we have talked about what ethology calls patterns of modal action and how it resembles a reflex. Once the MAPs have been identified, they can be compared from species to species to compare similarities and differences in similar behaviors.

A well-known example of how PAMs intervene in animal communication are bees. These fascinating insects communicate with each other through aerial dances in the form of eight. When dancing, taking the "axis of the eight and the sun as points of reference, they form an angle that indicates to the other bees of the colony where there is nectar, and its duration indicates how far it is.

The imprint is a type of learning

A related concept of ethology is that of imprinting. This is a type of special learning that occurs during a critical period, outside of which it can no longer occur, during which the young animal will learn some pattern of social behavior toward its parents or siblings. Learning can not occur outside of this critical period.

For example, Konrad Lorenz observed that since they are born, birds such as ducks, geese and swans are able to identify their parents and follow them spontaneously . He demonstrated how the ducklings born in an incubator could form an imprint with the first stimulus they perceived at birth, for example, Lorenz's own footwear.


Ethology and Evolutionary Psychology contrasted what is the object of study (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'éthologie et quel est son objet d'étude?

Qu'est-ce que l'éthologie et quel est son objet d'étude?

Mai 20, 2022

Il n'est pas rare que différentes branches du savoir se croisent pour créer des disciplines hybrides. C'est le cas de l'éthologie, une branche de la biologie qui traite du comment et du pourquoi du comportement animal .

Il est impossible de comprendre le comportement humain sans connaître au préalable le comportement des animaux. C'est pourquoi l'étude de l'éthologie est fondamentale pour la formation de tout psychologue qui souhaite avoir une vision globale du développement humain.

En quoi consiste l'éthologie?

L’éthique est apparue comme une discipline différente dans les années 20 du siècle dernier grâce aux efforts de Konrad Lorenz, Karl von Frisch et Niko Tinbergen, récipiendaire en 1973 du prix Nobel de physiologie ou de médecine pour leur contribution à la étude du comportement. Ils s'inspirèrent des travaux fondateurs de l'ornithologue Oskar Heinroth et de l'élève des fourmis William Morton Wheeler, entre autres, qui popularisa le terme «éthologie» dans un article de 1902.


Les éthologues utilisent une méthodologie comparative pour étudier les comportements tels que la coopération, l’investissement parental, les conflits , sélection sexuelle et agressivité chez diverses espèces. Aujourd'hui, l'éthologie en tant qu'étiquette a été progressivement remplacée par d'autres, telles que l'écologie comportementale ou la psychologie de l'évolution. Ces domaines de connaissance tendent à mettre davantage l'accent sur les relations sociales que sur l'individu; cependant, ils conservent la tradition du travail sur le terrain et sont basés sur la théorie de l'évolution.

Les étudiants en éthologie travaillent presque toujours avec les moyens propres de l'animal pour mener des recherches expérimentales basées sur des hypothèses. La combinaison entre le travail en laboratoire et le travail sur le terrain reflète un concept sous-jacent très important de la discipline: ce comportement est adaptatif, c’est-à-dire qu’il permet à un animal de s’intégrer mieux à son environnement et a davantage de chances de survivre et de se reproduire.


La méthode d'éthologie

Les éthologues, comme la plupart des scientifiques, émettent des hypothèses sur le comportement des animaux. Pour les tester de manière empirique, Tinbergen propose que tout chercheur prenne en compte les quatre questions suivantes lors de la formulation d'hypothèses si une explication complète du phénomène doit être fournie:

1. fonction

Le chercheur doit demander comment le comportement est adaptatif . Quels aspects facilitent leur survie et, par conséquent, sont plus susceptibles de transmettre leurs gènes à la génération suivante.

2. mécanisme

Le chercheur doit répondre à la question de savoir quel stimulus déclenche le comportement à étudier . En outre, si la réponse a été modifiée par un apprentissage récent.

3. développement

Comment ce comportement change-t-il tout au long du cycle de vie de l'animal? L'expérimentateur doit élucider s'il existe des expériences précoces nécessaires à l'animal pour acquérir ce comportement.


4. Histoire de l'évolution

Le chercheur doit trouver la réponse à la question de savoir si le comportement à l’étude ressemble de près ou de loin au comportement d’autres espèces. Dans ce sens, il faut également préciser comment le comportement peut avoir évolué à travers le développement de l'espèce ou du groupe lui-même .

Concepts clés d'éthologie

L’une des idées fondamentales de l’éthique est l’existence de modèles d’action modaux (MAP). . Les MAP sont des comportements stéréotypés qui se produisent dans une séquence rigide, dans des situations déterminées en réponse à un stimulus spécifique. Une sorte de "réflexe comportemental" qui se produit inévitablement et toujours de la même manière.

Par exemple: l'oie, lorsqu'elle voit l'un de ses œufs hors du nid, roulera l'œuf à sa place avec le bec. Si nous retirions l'œuf, l'oie continuerait à rouler un œuf imaginaire. Essayez également de déplacer tout objet ayant une forme semblable à l’oeuf comme une balle de golf, un pommeau ou même des œufs trop gros pour avoir mis une oie. Vous ne pouvez pas éviter de le faire par réflexe, car le PAM imprègne votre cerveau comme un circuit.

Comportement comme adaptation

Depuis que l'éthologie est née comme une branche de la biologie, Les éthologues sont très préoccupés par l'évolution du comportement en termes de théorie de la sélection naturelle . Il est important de garder à l'esprit que cette approche est purement spéculative. Il n'est pas possible de trouver des comportements fossilisés ni d'examiner des données géologiques pour les localiser à travers l'histoire.

Les preuves les plus concrètes de la théorie selon laquelle le comportement évolue se limitent à de petits cas d'évolution qui se produisent au sein d'une espèce, mais nous n'avons jamais été témoins directs d'un changement de comportement entre espèces chaînées. Il existe un certain niveau d'extrapolation lorsque l'éthologie traite de ces questions.

Les animaux utilisent les PAM pour communiquer

Nous avons parlé ci-dessus de ce que l'éthologie appelle des schémas d'action modale et comment elle ressemble à un réflexe. Une fois que les PAD ont été identifiées, elles peuvent être comparées d’une espèce à l’autre pour comparer les similitudes et les différences de comportements similaires.

Un exemple bien connu de la façon dont les PAM interviennent dans la communication animale avec les abeilles. Ces insectes fascinants communiquent les uns avec les autres par le biais de danses aériennes en forme de huit. Lorsqu'ils dansent, prenant "l'axe des huit et le soleil comme points de référence", ils forment un angle qui indique aux autres abeilles de la colonie où se trouve le nectar et dont la durée indique la distance.

L'empreinte est un type d'apprentissage

Un concept connexe d'éthologie est celui de l'empreinte. Il s'agit d'un type d'apprentissage particulier qui se produit pendant une période critique, au-delà de laquelle il ne peut plus se produire, au cours duquel le jeune animal apprend un certain type de comportement social envers ses parents ou ses frères et sœurs. L'apprentissage ne peut avoir lieu en dehors de cette période critique.

Par exemple, Konrad Lorenz a observé que, depuis leur naissance, des oiseaux tels que les canards, les oies et les cygnes peuvent identifier leurs parents et les suivre spontanément. . Il a montré comment les canetons nés dans une couveuse pouvaient former une empreinte avec le premier stimulus perçu à la naissance, par exemple les propres chaussures de Lorenz.


LE CORBEAU... L'INTELLIGENCE ANIMALE LA PLUS ETONNANTE !!! :-) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes