yes, therapy helps!
Programmed Teaching according to B. F. Skinner

Programmed Teaching according to B. F. Skinner

February 21, 2024

In 1954 Burrhus Frederick Skinner, the famous behaviorist who developed the paradigm of operant conditioning, began to design a "teaching machine" that could promote learning more effectively than traditional educational methods, which the author considered ineffective and criticized. with remarkable success.

In this way Skinner created a programmed teaching method based on operant conditioning that would have a great impact on the educational context of the second half of the 20th century. In this article we will explain exactly what the programmed Skinnerian teaching consisted of.

  • Related article: "The theory of B. F. Skinner and behaviorism"

Skinner's criticisms of traditional teaching

Skinner thought that traditional teaching was based on excess in punishment ; in operative terms, he affirmed that the behavior of the students in the classroom was controlled mainly by aversive stimuli. This means that children learned to act in a way that avoided bad grades, criticism from adults or teasing from classmates.


However, the investigations of Skinner and his followers demonstrated clearly that reinforcement is more effective than punishment for learning new behaviors . In this sense, he not only identified an excessive use of punishment but also a low frequency of reinforcement; attributed this fact to the excessive number of students per teacher.

In addition, according to this author, on the rare occasions when reinforcers were administered to students this usually happened with a lot of time delay with respect to the execution of the relevant answers. Another of the basic principles of operant conditioning is that reinforcement is most effective when it appears immediately after the behavior.


The last of the key shortcomings of traditional teaching noted by Skinner was the lack of systematization in educational programs . The father of operant conditioning believed that teaching should be based on the method of successive approximations, by which responses are reinforced closer and closer to the objective.

  • Related article: "Radical behaviorism: theoretical principles and applications"

Principles of Programmed Teaching

Skinner's method is probably the most famous in the field of programmed teaching; however, it is not the only one that exists.

It is characterized by its linearity, since it follows a fixed sequence of contents (which differentiates it from Crowder's branched programming), as well as its four basic principles.

1. Establishment of clear objectives

Unlike many of the predominant educational methods of the time, Skinner's programmed teaching placed great importance on establishing the objectives of the educational program to be designed. In this way it was possible to optimize the tasks and the presentation of the contents according to different aspects, mainly the difficulty.


2. Division of educational content

In Skinner's method, successive divisions of educational material are made: first the programs are separated into modules, and these into frames or frames with concrete contents. As we will see in the next section, the teaching was carried out through a linear succession of texts (or other types of materials) and evaluation exercises.

3. Increasing difficulty of learning

Another central aspect of programmed Skinnerian teaching is that the learning material is presented gradually according to the relative difficulty of each of the segments. Given that we situate ourselves in the context of the operating paradigm, we can speak specifically of the molding or method of successive approximations .

4. Active participation of students

The fourth basic principle of Skinner's educational model is the relevance given to the active participation of students in their own instructional process. This clashes frontally with the techniques of receptive and rote learning characteristic of traditional teaching, which do not promote at all motivation on the part of the student.

Skinnerian teaching machines

Skinner named "GLIDER" the teaching machine he designed . It was a mechanical device that allowed automatic control of the learning process, since it was strictly planned following a linear progression. In this way he developed programs for the teaching of spelling, mathematics and other academic subjects.

Teaching through these machines consisted of a reinforcement program typical of behavioral guidance.We say that it had a linear character because texts and exercises were presented following a fixed sequence, determined mainly by the difficulty of the segments of material that the students had to learn.

Individually, students read a short segment of material (a frame or picture). Next they have to answer a question; the answer is in absent word format, which consists of filling in a blank space. The teaching machine immediately informs the student if it has failed or succeeded , which is a reinforcement.

When the student responds correctly to the evaluation exercise of a specific content, it goes to the next frame and possibly receives another type of reinforcement. If it fails, you can revisit the learning material until you succeed and continue with the training program.


B.F Skinner. Teaching machine and programmed learning (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Enseignement programmé selon B. F. Skinner

Enseignement programmé selon B. F. Skinner

Septembre 22, 2020

En 1954, Burrhus Frederick Skinner, le célèbre comportementaliste qui développa le paradigme du conditionnement opérant, commença à concevoir une "machine à enseigner" capable de promouvoir l'apprentissage plus efficacement que les méthodes pédagogiques traditionnelles, que l'auteur jugeait inefficaces et critiquées. avec un succès remarquable.

De cette façon Skinner a créé une méthode d’enseignement programmée basée sur le conditionnement opérant cela aurait un impact important sur le contexte éducatif de la seconde moitié du 20e siècle. Dans cet article, nous expliquerons exactement en quoi consistait l’enseignement programmé de Skinnerian.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de B. F. Skinner et le behaviorisme"

Critiques de Skinner sur l'enseignement traditionnel

Skinner pensait que l'enseignement traditionnel était basé sur l'excès de punition ; sur le plan opérationnel, il a affirmé que le comportement des élèves en classe était principalement contrôlé par des stimuli aversifs. Cela signifie que les enfants ont appris à agir de manière à éviter les mauvaises notes, les critiques d'adultes ou les moqueries de leurs camarades.


Toutefois, les enquêtes de Skinner et de ses partisans ont clairement montré que le renforcement est plus efficace que la punition pour apprendre de nouveaux comportements . En ce sens, il a non seulement identifié un recours excessif à la punition, mais également une faible fréquence de renforcement. attribué ce fait au nombre excessif d’élèves par enseignant.

En outre, selon cet auteur, lors des rares occasions où des renforçateurs étaient administrés à des étudiants, cela se produisait généralement avec beaucoup de retard par rapport à l'exécution des réponses correspondantes. Un autre des principes de base du conditionnement opérant est que le renforcement est plus efficace lorsqu'il apparaît immédiatement après le comportement.


La dernière des principales lacunes de l’enseignement traditionnel relevées par Skinner était le manque de systématisation dans les programmes éducatifs . Le père du conditionnement opérant estimait que l’enseignement devrait être basé sur la méthode des approximations successives, par laquelle les réponses sont renforcées de plus en plus près de l’objectif.

  • Article connexe: "Comportementisme radical: principes théoriques et applications"

Principes de l'enseignement programmé

La méthode de Skinner est probablement la plus connue dans le domaine de l'enseignement programmé; Cependant, ce n'est pas le seul qui existe.

Il se caractérise par sa linéarité, puisqu'il suit une séquence de contenu fixe (ce qui la différencie de la programmation en branches de Crowder), ainsi que de ses quatre principes de base.

1. Établissement d'objectifs clairs

Contrairement à beaucoup des méthodes éducatives prédominantes de l'époque, l'enseignement programmé de Skinner accordait une grande importance à l'établissement des objectifs du programme éducatif à concevoir. De cette manière, il était possible d'optimiser les tâches et la présentation du contenu selon différents aspects, principalement la difficulté.


2. Division du contenu éducatif

Dans la méthode de Skinner, des divisions successives du matériel pédagogique sont faites: les programmes sont séparés en modules, et ceux-ci en cadres ou cadres avec des contenus concrets. Comme nous le verrons dans la section suivante, l’enseignement a été dispensé selon une succession linéaire de textes (ou d’autres types de matériel) et d’exercices d’évaluation.

3. Difficulté croissante d'apprentissage

Un autre aspect central de l’enseignement programmé skinnerien est que le matériel d’apprentissage est présenté progressivement en fonction de la difficulté relative de chacun des segments. Étant donné que nous nous situons dans le contexte du paradigme opérationnel, nous pouvons parler spécifiquement de la moulage ou méthode d'approximations successives .

4. Participation active des étudiants

Le quatrième principe de base du modèle éducatif de Skinner est la pertinence accordée à la participation active des élèves à leur propre processus pédagogique. Cela se heurte de front aux techniques d'apprentissage réceptif et par cœur caractéristiques de l'enseignement traditionnel, qui ne favorisent en rien la motivation de l'élève.

Machines à apprendre skinneriennes

Skinner a nommé "GLIDER" la machine à enseigner qu'il a conçue . C’était un dispositif mécanique qui permettait un contrôle automatique du processus d’apprentissage, puisque celui-ci était strictement planifié suivant une progression linéaire. De cette manière, il développa des programmes pour l'enseignement de l'orthographe, des mathématiques et d'autres matières académiques.

L’enseignement par l’intermédiaire de ces machines consistait en un programme de renforcement typique de l’orientation comportementale.Nous disons que cela avait un caractère linéaire car les textes et les exercices étaient présentés suivant une séquence fixe, déterminée principalement par la difficulté des segments de matière que les étudiants devaient apprendre.

Individuellement, les élèves lisent un court segment de matériel (un cadre ou une image). Ensuite, ils doivent répondre à une question. la réponse est au format mot absent, qui consiste à remplir un espace. La machine à enseigner informe immédiatement l'étudiant si elle a échoué ou réussi , qui est un renfort.

Lorsque l'élève répond correctement à l'exercice d'évaluation d'un contenu spécifique, il passe à la trame suivante et reçoit éventuellement un autre type de renforcement. En cas d'échec, vous pouvez revoir le matériel d'apprentissage jusqu'à ce que vous réussissiez et poursuivre le programme de formation.


Le conditionnement opérant skinnerien S/T (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes