yes, therapy helps!

"I want to change my life": 23 steps to start over

April 28, 2024

Everyone, at some point in our life, we wanted to change. Either because the couple left us and we had a lot of the blame or because we were doing a university career that, in reality, was not what we wanted.

Change is normal for humans and nature, but it is not always easy. From these experiences it is very normal and understandable to reach the following conclusion: "I want to change my life" .

Keys to change life

Change or transformation is an individual process that begins in oneself, therefore, we are the main drivers of our change. But it is frequent that our own beliefs or the fear to change can interfere in the change of life that we so much imagine.


If you are determined to change, in the following lines you will find the necessary steps to carry out the change process.

1. Know yourself

At the time of beginning again, the first step is to know oneself . Know what your wishes are, what are the qualities you have and what direction you want to follow. The first step to change is self-reflection and self-knowledge.

  • Recommended article: "Personal Development: 5 reasons for self-reflection"

2. Find a purpose in your life

Self-knowledge is the key to being able to find out what one's purpose in life is. Having a vital goal is key because it keeps us motivated: it is the force that helps us move and that structures our day to day. Now, changing not only consists in visualizing the purpose, but in enjoy the road while pursuing .


3. Do it for you

To do the above effectively, it is necessary to connect with oneself, that is why it is so useful to know oneself thoroughly. Because many times we think we want to change, but it is the opinion of others that influences us in such a way that We believe that what they impose on us is what we want . The goals to pursue must be genuine, otherwise it will be difficult to change.

4. Open to change

The previous point leads us to make the decision to change, and therefore, it is necessary to have a good dose of will. Opening to change means being willing to transform and pursue goals through a certain amount of effort.

5. Plan the change

Once we are clear about our desire to change and we know what we want to change, it is necessary to plan the change. If it is even possible to have it written on paper, it is easier to visualize and allows us to make less effort when it comes to the mind when we need it. Hand that to go fixing small sub-objectives and to put them date.


6. But ... set short-term goals

It is not only worth setting long-term goals, but we need to take short-term goals into account as well, as it is the only way we are motivated during the change process and that we do not forget our commitment.

7. Get out of the comfort zone

The comfort zone is an intangible place where we feel protected and comfortable , and leaving this area means that we have to make an effort to put to the test mental schemes that, despite appearing adaptive, are not always so.

  • Related article: "How to get out of your comfort zone? 7 keys to achieve it"

8. Do not be afraid of uncertainty

And is that leaving the comfort zone can cause a degree of anxiety , largely because of the fear of uncertainty. Not knowing what awaits us when we change can produce fear if we do not have enough confidence in ourselves or if we only visualize the negative consequences of the transformation. That is why we must put aside this irrational fear and seek Analyze risks calmly and analytically .

9. Be aware that there may be ups and downs

Accepting that we can fail is also positive . That does not mean that we should give up if things do not go as we wish, but we must be prepared to improve ourselves and get up as soon as possible after a fall.

10. Automotívate

Knowing how to become self-motivated is also one of the keys to change, and it is one of the best qualities that a person can possess.

  • If you want to know how to do it, you can read this article: "The 10 keys to motivate oneself"

11. Do not compare yourself with anyone else

Change is an individual process: it is you who says "I want to change my life", not another person subject to a context very different from yours. That is why you should not compare yourself with others, but remain faithful to yourself and your desires and fight with all your strength.

12. Do not ignore the opinions of others

Nor should you listen to all the opinions of others, because Some people tend to project their own fears on you . If someone does not have the will to change, he probably does not believe that you can do it either.

13. Think of the reward

To continue self-motivated during the change process it is important that you visualize the reward or the positive consequences of achieving the change. However, it is important not to forget that the process of transformation is in itself a reward.

14. Love yourself

It is also important that you do not be too hard on yourself and accept that things may not go exactly as you planned. Of course, you can rectify and learn from failures. If you do not have empathy with you, who will have it?

15. Be realistic

The objectives and goals that we propose must always be realistic, otherwise, we may find ourselves with false expectations that can interfere in the process of change and lead to frustration, which is not only unpleasant but also takes away the desire to strive .

16. Challenge your limiting beliefs

The limiting beliefs are those irrational thoughts that do not allow us to change and that they interfere with our individual growth . For example, "I am not able to do this because I always have bad luck." Overcoming this type of thinking is necessary to not stay halfway to change.

17. Take responsibility

Taking responsibility means empowering oneself in the face of change. It is the ability to respond to the events that occur around us with sufficient self-leadership capacity, which allows us to overcome adversity. You must be clear that you are the person responsible for your decisions.

18. Give up victimhood

The opposite of taking responsibility for the change is to become the victim. While responsibility is action, Victimization is paralyzing .

19. Get help

Accept the help of others If you think that the urge to lend a hand is genuine . If among your friends or family there is nobody able to help you in certain things, you can consider the option of hiring coaches, teachers or coaches. Coaches are experts in personal development and help people improve their self-knowledge, plan realistic goals, empower themselves against change and self-motivate. Hiring a professional in this field can be useful to maximize your chances of transformation.

20. Do not lose sight of the present

Keeping your feet on the ground is vital to carry out the process of change, that's why it's important to be in the here and now , connected with oneself. It is good to have change in mind, but to get change you have to work daily and do not forget where you are on a day to day basis.

21. Take the road to learn

When things do not go as planned It is necessary to learn from experience and take the course again , that is, re-engaging in the change. Successful people are those who learn from failures and get up again and again after falling.

22. Practice detachment

Detachment, understood as emotional liberation, is key to the process of change. This does not mean getting rid of important people in our lives, but it helps us visualize things from a much more realistic and less emotional perspective.

  • You can know more about detachment in this article: "5 laws of detachment to be free emotionally"

23. Learn to manage emotions

Both the excess and lack of motivation can interfere in the process of change, and although some think that the excess of motivation is positive, can cause us too high expectations in the process of change, which can lead to frustration. Being aware of our emotions and learning to manage them is a determining factor in personal transformation.

Start again is let go

In conclusion we can highlight the idea that to change you have to learn to make decisions, accept commitments and accept the idea that it is better to get rid of certain elements of our day to day.

In this way, personal development will be carried out effectively and there will be no demotivating and frustrating setbacks.


5 Steps To Change Your Life - Mindset Monday (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"Je veux changer de vie": 23 étapes pour recommencer

Août 8, 2022

Tout le monde, à un moment de notre vie, nous voulions changer. Soit parce que le couple nous a quitté et que nous avons eu beaucoup de reproches, soit parce que nous faisions une carrière universitaire, ce n’était en réalité pas ce que nous voulions.

Le changement est normal pour l'homme et la nature, mais ce n'est pas toujours facile. De ces expériences, il est très normal et compréhensible d’atteindre la conclusion suivante: "Je veux changer ma vie" .

Des clés pour changer de vie

Le changement ou la transformation est un processus individuel qui commence en soi. Nous sommes donc les principaux moteurs de notre changement. Mais il est fréquent que nos propres croyances ou la peur de changer puissent s’immiscer dans le changement de vie que nous imaginons tant.


Si vous êtes déterminé à changer, vous trouverez dans les lignes suivantes les étapes nécessaires pour mener à bien le processus de changement.

1. Connais-toi toi-même

Au moment de recommencer, la première étape se connaitre . Sachez quels sont vos souhaits, quelles sont vos qualités et quelle direction vous souhaitez suivre. La première étape du changement est la réflexion sur soi et la connaissance de soi.

  • Article recommandé: "Développement personnel: 5 raisons de réfléchir sur soi"

2. Trouver un but dans votre vie

La connaissance de soi est la clé pour pouvoir savoir quel est le but de sa vie. Avoir un objectif vital est essentiel car cela nous permet de rester motivés: c'est la force qui nous aide à bouger et qui structure notre quotidien. Maintenant, changer consiste non seulement à visualiser le but, mais aussi à profiter de la route tout en poursuivant .


3. le faire pour vous

Pour faire ce qui précède efficacement, il est nécessaire de se connecter avec soi-même, c'est pourquoi il est si utile de se connaître à fond. Parce que nous pensons souvent vouloir changer, mais c’est l’opinion des autres qui nous influence de telle manière que Nous croyons que ce qu'ils nous imposent est ce que nous voulons . Les objectifs à poursuivre doivent être sincères, sinon il sera difficile de changer.

4. Ouvert pour changer

Le point précédent nous amène à prendre la décision de changer et, par conséquent, il est nécessaire d’avoir une bonne dose de volonté. S'ouvrir au changement signifie être disposé à transformer et à poursuivre des objectifs en déployant un certain effort.

5. Planifiez le changement

Une fois que nous sommes conscients de notre désir de changer et de ce que nous voulons changer, il est nécessaire de planifier le changement. S'il est même possible de l'écrire sur papier, il est plus facile de visualiser et nous permet de faire moins d'effort quand il s'agit de l'esprit lorsque nous en avons besoin. Het que d’aller fixer de petits sous-objectifs et les mettre à date.


6. Mais ... fixer des objectifs à court terme

C’est non seulement la peine de fixer des objectifs à long terme, mais nous devons également tenir compte des objectifs à court terme, car c’est le seul moyen de nous motiver pendant le processus de changement et de ne pas oublier notre engagement.

7. Sortez de la zone de confort

La zone de confort est un lieu immatériel où nous nous sentons protégés et à l'aise , et quitter ce domaine signifie que nous devons faire un effort pour mettre à l’épreuve des schémas mentaux qui, bien qu’ils semblent adaptatifs, ne le sont pas toujours.

  • Article connexe: "Comment sortir de votre zone de confort? 7 clés pour y parvenir"

8. N'ayez pas peur de l'incertitude

Et est-ce quitter la zone de confort peut causer une certaine anxiété , en grande partie à cause de la peur de l’incertitude. Ne pas savoir ce qui nous attend lorsque nous changeons peut engendrer la peur si nous n’avons pas suffisamment confiance en nous-mêmes ou si nous ne visualisons que les conséquences négatives de la transformation. C’est pourquoi nous devons mettre de côté cette peur irrationnelle et chercher Analyser les risques calmement et analytiquement .

9. Soyez conscient qu'il peut y avoir des hauts et des bas

Accepter qu'on puisse échouer est aussi positif . Cela ne signifie pas que nous devrions abandonner si les choses ne se passent pas comme nous le souhaitons, mais nous devons être prêts à nous améliorer et à nous lever le plus tôt possible après une chute.

10. Automotívate

Savoir comment se motiver est aussi l’une des clés du changement, et l’une des meilleures qualités qu’une personne puisse posséder.

  • Si vous voulez savoir comment faire, vous pouvez lire cet article: "Les 10 clés pour se motiver"

11. Ne te compare pas avec quelqu'un d'autre

Le changement est un processus individuel: c'est vous qui dites "je veux changer ma vie", pas une autre personne soumise à un contexte très différent du vôtre. C'est pourquoi vous ne devriez pas vous comparer aux autres, mais rester fidèle à vous-même et à vos désirs et combattre de toutes vos forces.

12. Ne pas ignorer les opinions des autres

Vous ne devez pas non plus écouter toutes les opinions des autres, car Certaines personnes ont tendance à projeter leurs propres peurs sur vous . Si quelqu'un n'a pas la volonté de changer, il ne croit probablement pas que vous puissiez le faire non plus.

13. Pensez à la récompense

Pour continuer à vous motiver tout au long du processus de changement, il est important de visualiser la récompense ou les conséquences positives de la réalisation du changement. Cependant, il est important de ne pas oublier que le processus de transformation est en soi une récompense.

14. aime-toi

Il est également important de ne pas être trop dur envers vous-même et d’accepter que les choses ne se déroulent pas exactement comme prévu. Bien sûr, vous pouvez rectifier et apprendre des échecs. Si vous n'avez pas d'empathie avec vous, qui l'aura?

15. Soyez réaliste

Les objectifs que nous proposons doivent toujours être réalistes, sans quoi nous pourrions nous retrouver avec de fausses attentes qui pourraient interférer dans le processus de changement et conduire à une frustration, ce qui est non seulement désagréable, mais enlève également le désir de lutter .

16. Défiez vos croyances limitantes

Les croyances limitantes sont ces pensées irrationnelles qui ne nous permettent pas de changer et que ils interfèrent avec notre croissance individuelle . Par exemple, "je ne suis pas capable de faire cela parce que j'ai toujours la malchance". Surmonter ce type de réflexion est nécessaire pour ne pas rester à mi-chemin pour changer.

17. prendre des responsabilités

Prendre des responsabilités, c'est s'autonomiser face au changement. C'est la capacité de réagir aux événements qui se produisent autour de nous avec une capacité suffisante d'auto-leadership, ce qui nous permet de surmonter l'adversité. Vous devez indiquer clairement que vous êtes la personne responsable de vos décisions.

18. Abandonner la victimisation

Le contraire de prendre la responsabilité du changement est de devenir la victime. Alors que la responsabilité est l'action, La victimisation est paralysante .

19. obtenir de l'aide

Accepter l'aide des autres Si vous pensez que l'envie de donner un coup de main est authentique . Si parmi vos amis ou votre famille, personne ne peut vous aider sur certains points, vous pouvez envisager la possibilité de recruter des coachs, des enseignants ou des coachs. Les entraîneurs sont des experts en développement personnel et aident les gens à améliorer leur connaissance de soi, à planifier des objectifs réalistes, à se prendre en charge contre le changement et à se motiver. L'embauche d'un professionnel dans ce domaine peut être utile pour maximiser vos chances de transformation.

20. Ne perds pas de vue le présent

Garder les pieds sur terre est essentiel pour mener à bien le processus de changement, c'est pourquoi il est important d'être ici et maintenant , connecté avec soi-même. Il est bon d’avoir un changement d’esprit, mais pour obtenir un changement, il faut travailler au quotidien et ne pas oublier où on en est au jour le jour.

21. Prendre la route pour apprendre

Quand les choses ne se passent pas comme prévu Il faut apprendre de l'expérience et reprendre le cours , c’est-à-dire s’engager de nouveau dans le changement. Les personnes qui réussissent sont celles qui tirent les leçons des échecs et se lèvent encore et encore après une chute.

22. Détachement de pratique

Le détachement, compris comme libération émotionnelle, est la clé du processus de changement. Cela ne signifie pas se débarrasser des personnes importantes dans notre vie, mais cela nous aide à visualiser les choses d'un point de vue beaucoup plus réaliste et moins émotionnel.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le détachement dans cet article: "5 lois du détachement pour être libre émotionnellement"

23. Apprendre à gérer ses émotions

L'excès et le manque de motivation peuvent tous deux interférer dans le processus de changement, et même si certains pensent que l'excès de motivation est positif, peut nous causer des attentes trop élevées dans le processus de changement, ce qui peut conduire à la frustration. Être conscient de nos émotions et apprendre à les gérer est un facteur déterminant de la transformation personnelle.

Recommencer est laisser aller

En conclusion, nous pouvons souligner l’idée que pour changer, il faut apprendre à prendre des décisions, accepter des engagements et accepter qu’il vaut mieux se débarrasser de certains éléments de notre quotidien.

De cette façon, le développement personnel sera effectué efficacement et il n'y aura pas de revers démotivant et frustrant.


Comment changer de vie 9 clés (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes