yes, therapy helps!
14 movies and documentaries about Bipolar Disorder

14 movies and documentaries about Bipolar Disorder

January 25, 2022

Bipolar disorder can be one of the mood disorders that most myths circulate and, certainly, can be difficult to understand.

However, the world of cinema and documentaries has several examples that help to understand what this kind of mental and behavioral problems consist of.. They can be a good way to learn the way in which bipolarity arises and how it is presented through the acts of the person who experiences it.

Movies and documentaries about bipolarity

Below you can see a list of documentaries and films about Bipolar Disorder , that capture different facets of your symptom picture. They are not ordered by quality or by seniority.


1. Biutiful

A Mexican and Spanish production directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu and starring Javier Bardem. In her The relationship of a young man with death is narrated with a melancholy and subtle tone .

2. Crazy love

This film starring Drew Barrymore and Chris O'Donell narrates the romantic relationship between two young people, marked by the emotional ups and downs typical of Bipolar Disorder and the way in which they flee from the family and mental health institutions.

3. The Flying Scotsman

A review of the story of Graeme Obree, a well-known Scottish cyclist who presents Bipolar Disorder and, despite the problems that this entails, he managed to become an elite athlete.


4. Mr Jones

One of the clearest descriptions of Bipolar Disorder that can be found in a movie , thanks to the work of Richard Gere. Here, he represents a man with strong emotional ups and downs and sudden mood swings that maintains a complex relationship with his psychiatrist (Lena Olin).

5. Stephen Fry: The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive

A television documentary divided into two parts, about the way in which this English comedian, writer and actor lives his mental disorder . This, in particular, is a mood disorder known as cyclothymia, which is a mild form of Bipolar Disorder.

6. Van Gogh: painted with words

A docudrama on the life of the famous Dutch painter, embodied here by the famous actor Benedict Cumberbach . The way in which the phases of a tormented life of Van Gogh are presented are a good description of the symptoms of Bipolar Disorder.


7. Hours

A vertebrate film through 3 different eras and 3 different women who star in each one of them and who, in some way, are united by the work of the writer Virginia Woolf.

8. Normal Life

Like other films about Bipolar Disorder like Mad Love, it focuses on the relationship of two people, one of whom experiences bipolarity . In this case it is a policeman and a young woman whose mental stability is compromised.

9. Wilbur wants to kill himself

Wilbur is a man who, at first glance, seems to lack charm or humor. But nevertheless, the idea of ​​committing suicide is gaining more and more strength in his life , product of a pessimism that pursues him wherever he goes.

10. Michael Clayton

It's not a movie about Bipolar Disorder, but one of the characters that appear in it presents this mood disorder . This is one of the lawyers, Arthur Edens.

11. Blue Sky

This film talks about a marriage formed by a woman with mental instability that evolves in depression (Jessica Lange) and a US Army soldier who, in addition to suffering strong pressures in his work, is increasingly isolated socially.

12. The good side of things

A story that explores the personal side of those who experience this disorder firsthand. Two people with problems to relate meet each other and, without realizing it, they see that despite being very different the experiences they have had to go through make them find themselves in adversity.

13. Two worlds

A metaphor about the unstable character that occurs in people with bipolarity.

14. For all

This film, shot in the 80s, reflects the stigma of the disorder and adds the doses of humanity that patients had to squeeze to deal with a hostile environment .

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
14 films et documentaires sur le trouble bipolaire

14 films et documentaires sur le trouble bipolaire

Avril 15, 2021

Le trouble bipolaire peut être l’un des troubles de l’humeur véhiculés par la plupart des mythes et peut certainement être difficile à comprendre.

Cependant, le monde du cinéma et des documentaires compte plusieurs exemples qui aident à comprendre en quoi consiste ce type de problèmes mentaux et comportementaux.. Ils peuvent être un bon moyen d'apprendre comment naît la bipolarité et comment cela se présente à travers les actes de la personne qui en fait l'expérience.

Films et documentaires sur la bipolarité

Ci-dessous vous pouvez voir une liste de documentaires et de films sur le trouble bipolaire , qui capture différentes facettes de votre image symptomatique. Ils ne sont pas classés par qualité ou par ancienneté.


1. Biutiful

Une production mexicaine et espagnole réalisée par Alejandro González Iñárritu et mettant en vedette Javier Bardem. En elle La relation d'un jeune homme avec la mort est racontée avec un ton mélancolique et subtil .

2. amour fou

Ce film avec Drew Barrymore et Chris O'Donell raconte la relation amoureuse entre deux jeunes, marquée par les hauts et les bas émotionnels typiques du trouble bipolaire et la manière dont ils fuient les institutions familiales et de santé mentale.

3. L'écossais volant

Une critique de l'histoire de Graeme Obree, un cycliste écossais bien connu qui présente le trouble bipolaire et malgré les problèmes que cela entraîne, il a réussi à devenir un athlète d'élite.


4. M. Jones

Une des descriptions les plus claires du trouble bipolaire que l’on puisse trouver dans un film , grâce au travail de Richard Gere. Il représente ici un homme aux hauts et aux bas émotionnels et aux sautes d'humeur soudaines qui entretient une relation complexe avec son psychiatre (Lena Olin).

5. Stephen Fry: La vie secrète du dépressif maniaque

Un documentaire télévisé divisé en deux parties, sur la manière dont ce comédien, écrivain et acteur anglais vit son trouble mental . Il s'agit notamment d'un trouble de l'humeur appelé cyclothymie, forme bénigne du trouble bipolaire.

6. Van Gogh: peint avec des mots

Un documentaire sur la vie du célèbre peintre hollandais, incarné ici par le célèbre acteur Benedict Cumberbach . La manière dont les phases d'une vie tourmentée de Van Gogh sont présentées est une bonne description des symptômes du trouble bipolaire.


7. heures

Un film vertébré à travers 3 époques et 3 femmes différentes qui jouent dans chacune d’elles et qui, d’une certaine manière, sont unis par l’œuvre de l’écrivaine Virginia Woolf.

8. vie normale

Comme d'autres films sur le trouble bipolaire comme Mad Love, il met l'accent sur la relation de deux personnes, dont l'une connaît la bipolarité . Dans ce cas, il s’agit d’un policier et d’une jeune femme dont la stabilité mentale est compromise.

9. Wilbur veut se tuer

Wilbur est un homme qui, au premier abord, semble manquer de charme et d'humour. Cependant, l'idée de se suicider gagne de plus en plus de force dans sa vie , produit d'un pessimisme qui le poursuit partout où il va.

10. Michael Clayton

Ce n'est pas un film sur le trouble bipolaire, mais l'un des personnages qui y figurent présente ce trouble de l'humeur . C'est l'un des avocats, Arthur Edens.

11. ciel bleu

Ce film parle d'un mariage formé par une femme instable qui évolue dans la dépression (Jessica Lange) et un soldat de l'armée américaine qui, en plus de subir de fortes pressions dans son travail, est de plus en plus isolé socialement.

12. Le bon côté des choses

Une histoire qui explore le côté personnel de ceux qui vivent ce trouble de première main. Deux personnes ayant des problèmes à relier se rencontrent et, sans s'en rendre compte, constatent que, malgré leur différence, les expériences qu’elles ont vécues les font se retrouver dans l’adversité.

13. Deux mondes

Une métaphore sur le caractère instable qui survient chez les personnes bipolaires.

14. Pour tous

Ce film, tourné dans les années 80, reflète la stigmatisation du trouble et ajoute les doses d'humanité que les patients ont dû serrer pour faire face à un environnement hostile .


Bipolarité : à quoi ressemble leur quotidien ? - Ça commence aujourd'hui (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes