yes, therapy helps!
Psychology of color: meaning and curiosities of colors

Psychology of color: meaning and curiosities of colors

November 29, 2021

The color psychology It is a field of study that is aimed at analyzing how we perceive and behave towards different colors, as well as the emotions that these tones arouse in us.

There are certain subjective aspects in the psychology of color, so do not forget that there may be certain variations in interpretation and meaning between cultures . In spite of everything, there are certain accepted principles that we are going to review in this article and that apply fundamentally to western societies.

Psychology of color: influence on emotions and mental state

Did you know that the colors around you may be influencing your emotions and your mental state? Did you know that certain tones can irritate you or, on the contrary, relax and calm you? Well, you should know that the colors that surround you can have an effect on you.


This statement is not new. In fact, many companies design their logos taking into account the colors they use, because in this way they send a message or another to the consumer. When a store is decorated, it is also valued what colors are used, since it is almost a necessity that people feel the desire to buy when they are in the store. But not only the psychology of color is used to obtain an economic benefit. In art therapy, color is associated with the emotions of the person and is a way to influence the patient's physical and mental state. For example, studies have shown that red increases the heart rate, which, in turn, causes an increase in adrenaline and makes individuals feel energetic and excited.


  • Related article: Art therapy: psychological therapy through art

Source: ovacen.com

The psychology of color in everyday life

The fact that colors provoke an emotional effect on us does not sound strange at all. In fact, it is part of our everyday language. In other words, it's common to talk about warm colors , like red, yellow or orange, which can provoke different reactions, from positive (warmth) or negative (hostility and anger). Or, on the other hand, we also usually talk about cold colors , such as green or blue, which usually cause a sense of calm but also sadness.

Since we are all familiar with these concepts, the psychology of color is used in everyday life. For example, when you paint your house and consider what colors you want for your home because you are going to spend many hours in there. When you do that, you usually keep in mind how the different shades will make you feel: an elegant gray for the living room? A green kitchen that is associated with spring and freshness? Maybe you like yoga and meditation and you want a white room because you know it has a relaxing effect. These are just some examples of how we use the psychology of color almost without realizing it.


Emotional and psychological colors marketing

Perhaps the area in which the psychology of color is most applied is in marketing. It is usual to believe that the decisions we make when buying are based on a rational analysis, but, on many occasions, our emotions are the ones that decide for us.

Since a time ago. and as far as decision-making is concerned, even modern neuroscience had focused only on the cognitive aspects of the brain, forgetting emotions. All this changed with Antonio Damasio's book called "The error of Descartes". A text of highly recommended psychology that provides scientific evidence on the importance of emotions in our decisions.

And how do we get to the customer's heart? Well, through the senses, basically thanks to hearing and sight . That's why, when you enter a fashion store, it plays energetic music and you can appreciate a decoration and a colorful one that says: "buy, buy, buy". According Color Marketing Group, a company specialized in the use of colors, almost 85% of the reasons why a person chooses a product over another has to do with the perception of color.

The psychology of color is also applied in branding. Did you know that red stimulates the appetite? Well that's true, according to different investigations. So it's no wonder that well-known fast food chains like McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC and Wendy's use this color in their logos and installations.

  • Recommended article: "Emotional Marketing: reaching the heart of the client"

The symbolism of colors and how they affect the human mind

The symbolism of colors is a territory that is certainly ambiguous and that, sometimes, it is not completely accepted in the scientific field. As already said, the color has many readings depending on the context in question.However, next we will identify the most important colors with their meanings more or less accepted (at least in the West).

White

In Western cultures (and also in some Eastern cultures, such as Hindu), the white color represents the pure and innocent , as well as cleanliness, peace and virtue. In Eastern and African cultures it is the color of death: the pure soul that goes away.

Yellow

Yellow represents light and gold. It is usually related to happiness, wealth, power, abundance, strength and action . However, researchers consider it one of the most ambiguous colors, because it also represents envy, anger and betrayal. The excessive presence of intense yellow can irritate a person, since we are usually used to seeing it on relatively small surfaces.

Red

The Red it is associated with stimulation, passion, strength, revolution, manhood and danger . Probably, this has a lot to do with the fact that red is the color of blood, which we also associate with a certain notion of vitality, aggressiveness and extreme sensations. It is one of the colors with the greatest consensus among experts and, in fact, wearing this color leads us to behave in a slightly more assertive and extraverted way.

Orange

Orange is associated with enthusiasm and action. As well can relate to lust and sensuality, with the divine and the exaltation . In the world of political marketing, it is often said that orange is the most optimistic color of all, at least in Western societies.

blue

The blue it is the color of the sky and the water, and represents tranquility, freshness and intelligence . In the world of marketing, it is used in many logos such as Facebook or Twitter. It is an elegant and corporate color, one of the most used by companies. It transmits trust and purity.

Green

The green represents youth, hope and new life, but also represents action and the ecological . Interior decorators agree that a room painted with a soft green color encourages relaxation and well-being.

Purple

Purple is highly valued in the world of marketing, since represents sophistication and elegance . In addition, this color is usually associated with mystery, nostalgia and spirituality. It is a color widely used in anti-aging products, precisely because of that touch of glamor it gives off.

pink

Pink is a color with well-defined attributes: it is the color of sweetness, delicacy, friendship and pure love . Our cultural heritage also associates it with the feminine.

Gray

Gray has somewhat different connotations depending on the culture. While some people perceive this color as indeterminacy or mediocrity, experts in color psychology give it a different meaning: peace, tenacity and tranquility .

Black

The black has negative connotations because it is associated with death, evil or destruction . In contrast, in ancient Egypt it represented fertility and growth. Due to its relationship with darkness, black symbolizes mystery and the unknown. In the world of fashion, black is the color of elegance, formality and sobriety.

Bibliographic references:

  • Heller, Eva (2004). Color psychology. How colors act on feelings and reason. Ed. Gustavo Gili.

What Does Your Favorite Color Reveal About Your Personality? (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie de la couleur: signification et curiosités des couleurs

Psychologie de la couleur: signification et curiosités des couleurs

Mai 22, 2019

Le psychologie des couleurs C’est un domaine d’étude qui a pour objectif d’analyser notre perception et notre comportement vis-à-vis des différentes couleurs, ainsi que les émotions que ces tons suscitent en nous.

Il y a certains aspects subjectifs dans la psychologie de la couleur, donc n'oubliez pas qu'il peut y avoir certaines variations d'interprétation et de signification entre les cultures . Malgré tout, il y a certains principes acceptés que nous allons examiner dans cet article et qui s'appliquent fondamentalement aux sociétés occidentales.

Psychologie de la couleur: influence sur les émotions et l'état mental

Saviez-vous que les couleurs autour de vous peuvent influencer vos émotions et votre état mental? Saviez-vous que certaines tonalités peuvent vous irriter ou au contraire vous détendre et vous calmer? Eh bien, sachez que les couleurs qui vous entourent peuvent avoir un effet sur vous.


Cette déclaration n'est pas nouvelle. En fait, de nombreuses entreprises conçoivent leurs logos en tenant compte des couleurs qu’elles utilisent, car elles envoient ainsi un message ou un message au consommateur. Lorsqu’un magasin est décoré, les couleurs utilisées sont également appréciées, car c’est presque une nécessité que les gens ressentent le désir d’acheter lorsqu’ils se trouvent dans le magasin. Mais non seulement la psychologie de la couleur est utilisée pour obtenir un avantage économique. En art thérapie, la couleur est associée aux émotions de la personne et constitue un moyen d'influencer l'état physique et mental du patient. Par exemple, des études ont montré que le rouge augmente la fréquence cardiaque, ce qui entraîne une augmentation de l'adrénaline et incite les individus à se sentir énergiques et excités.


  • Article connexe: Art-thérapie: thérapie psychologique à travers l'art

Source: ovacen.com

La psychologie de la couleur dans la vie quotidienne

Le fait que les couleurs provoquent un effet émotionnel sur nous ne semble pas étrange du tout. En fait, cela fait partie de notre langage quotidien. En d'autres termes, il est courant de parler de couleurs chaudes , comme le rouge, le jaune ou l’orange, ce qui peut provoquer différentes réactions, positives (chaleur) ou négatives (hostilité et colère). Ou, d'autre part, on parle aussi généralement de couleurs froides , comme le vert ou le bleu, qui provoquent généralement un sentiment de calme mais aussi de tristesse.

Puisque nous connaissons tous ces concepts, la psychologie de la couleur est utilisée dans la vie quotidienne. Par exemple, lorsque vous peignez votre maison et considérez les couleurs que vous souhaitez pour votre maison, car vous allez y passer de nombreuses heures. Lorsque vous faites cela, vous gardez généralement à l’esprit ce que les différentes nuances vous feront sentir: un gris élégant pour le salon? Une cuisine verte associée au printemps et à la fraîcheur? Peut-être que vous aimez le yoga et la méditation et que vous voulez une salle blanche parce que vous savez que cela a un effet relaxant. Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples de la manière dont nous utilisons la psychologie de la couleur presque sans nous en rendre compte.


Marketing des couleurs émotionnelles et psychologiques

Le domaine dans lequel la psychologie de la couleur est la plus appliquée est peut-être celui du marketing. Il est courant de croire que les décisions que nous prenons lors de l’achat reposent sur une analyse rationnelle, mais souvent, nos émotions sont déterminantes pour nous.

Depuis un certain temps. et en ce qui concerne la prise de décision, même les neurosciences modernes se sont concentrées uniquement sur les aspects cognitifs du cerveau, oubliant les émotions. Tout cela a changé avec le livre d'Antonio Damasio intitulé "L'erreur de Descartes". Un texte de psychologie hautement recommandée qui fournit des preuves scientifiques sur l'importance des émotions dans nos décisions.

Et comment pouvons-nous atteindre le cœur du client? Eh bien, à travers les sens, essentiellement grâce à l'ouïe et à la vue . C'est pourquoi, lorsque vous entrez dans un magasin de mode, il joue une musique énergique et vous pouvez apprécier une décoration colorée qui dit: "achetez, achetez, achetez". Selon Groupe marketing couleur, entreprise spécialisée dans l’utilisation des couleurs, près de 85% des raisons pour lesquelles une personne choisit un produit plutôt qu’une autre sont liées à la perception de la couleur.

La psychologie de la couleur est également appliquée dans la stratégie de marque. Saviez-vous que le rouge stimule l'appétit? Eh bien c'est vrai, selon différentes enquêtes. Il n'est donc pas étonnant que les chaînes de restauration rapide bien connues telles que McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC et Wendy's utilisent cette couleur dans leurs logos et leurs installations.

  • Article recommandé: "Marketing émotionnel: atteindre le cœur du client"

Le symbolisme des couleurs et leur impact sur l'esprit humain

Le symbolisme des couleurs est un territoire certainement ambigu et que, parfois, il n'est pas complètement accepté dans le domaine scientifique. Comme déjà dit, la couleur a beaucoup de lectures en fonction du contexte en question.Cependant, nous allons maintenant identifier les couleurs les plus importantes avec leurs significations plus ou moins acceptées (du moins en Occident).

Blanc

Dans les cultures occidentales (et aussi dans certaines cultures orientales, telles que l'hindouisme), la couleur blanche représente le pur et l'innocent , ainsi que la propreté, la paix et la vertu. Dans les cultures orientales et africaines, c'est la couleur de la mort: l'âme pure qui s'en va.

Jaune

Le jaune représente la lumière et l'or. Il est généralement lié au bonheur, à la richesse, au pouvoir, à l'abondance, à la force et à l'action . Cependant, les chercheurs la considèrent comme l’une des couleurs les plus ambiguës, car elle représente aussi l’envie, la colère et la trahison. La présence excessive de jaune intense peut irriter une personne, car nous avons l'habitude de la voir sur des surfaces relativement petites.

Rouge

Le rouge il est associé à la stimulation, la passion, la force, la révolution, la virilité et le danger . Cela tient probablement au fait que le rouge est la couleur du sang, que nous associons également à une certaine notion de vitalité, d’agressivité et de sensations extrêmes. C’est l’une des couleurs qui fait l’objet du plus grand consensus parmi les experts et, en fait, le port de cette couleur nous amène à adopter un comportement légèrement plus affirmé et extraverti.

Orange

Orange est associé à l'enthousiasme et à l'action. Aussi peut se rapporter à la luxure et à la sensualité, au divin et à l'exaltation . Dans le monde du marketing politique, on dit souvent que l’orange est la couleur la plus optimiste, du moins dans les sociétés occidentales.

Bleu

Bleu c'est la couleur du ciel et de l'eau, et représente la tranquillité, la fraîcheur et l'intelligence . Dans le monde du marketing, il est utilisé dans de nombreux logos tels que Facebook ou Twitter. Il s’agit d’une couleur élégante et professionnelle, l’une des plus utilisées par les entreprises. Il transmet la confiance et la pureté.

Vert

Le vert représente la jeunesse, l’espoir et une nouvelle vie, mais représente aussi l’action et le contexte écologique. . Les décorateurs d'intérieur s'accordent pour dire qu'une pièce peinte en vert tendre favorise la détente et le bien-être.

Violet

Le violet est très apprécié dans le monde du marketing, car représente la sophistication et l'élégance . De plus, cette couleur est généralement associée au mystère, à la nostalgie et à la spiritualité. C'est une couleur largement utilisée dans les produits anti-âge, précisément à cause de la touche de glamour qu'elle dégage.

Rosa

Le rose est une couleur avec des attributs bien définis: c'est la couleur de la douceur, de la délicatesse, de l'amitié et du pur amour . Notre patrimoine culturel l’associe également au féminin.

Gris

Gray a des connotations quelque peu différentes selon les cultures. Si certaines personnes perçoivent cette couleur comme une indétermination ou une médiocrité, les experts en psychologie des couleurs lui donnent un sens différent: paix, ténacité et tranquillité .

Noir

Le noir a des connotations négatives parce qu'il est associé à la mort, au mal ou à la destruction . En revanche, dans l’Égypte ancienne, il représentait la fertilité et la croissance. En raison de sa relation avec les ténèbres, le noir symbolise le mystère et l'inconnu. Dans le monde de la mode, le noir est la couleur de l'élégance, de la formalité et de la sobriété.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Heller, Eva (2004). Psychologie de la couleur. Comment les couleurs agissent sur les sentiments et la raison. Ed. Gustavo Gili.

Traité des couleurs - Libero Zuppiroli - ppur.org (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes